MAA releases 2015 Total Industry Volume (TIV) sales figures for Malaysia – 666,674 units is the highest ever

MAA-2015-TIV

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has released the official total industry volume (TIV) figures for 2015, and it appears that despite last year being a challenging one for the Malaysian car industry, it has managed to match and slightly surpass 2014 figures. The total of 666,674 units sold in 2015 is 0.03% higher than 2014’s 666,487 units, and is the highest TIV ever in Malaysian history.

“In spite of the various issues and challenges, and in contrast to the expectation expressed by some analysts, the local automotive industry remained resilient and had performed relatively well in the year under review,” MAA said in a statement.

The matching of 2014 figures was due to a late surge. Sales volume in December 2015 was 23.7% or 13,309 units higher than the previous month (November 2015), and was by far the highest monthly total in 2015.

Malaysia-TIV-trend

According to MAA, the strong December performance was attributed to aggressive promotional campaigns by industry players which had their financial year ending December 31. Of course, it was also in conjunction with the Christmas and New Year festive season where retailers provide incentives to achieve their annual sales target.

Another unique factor was that consumers were buying forward in anticipation of higher car prices in 2016. In October 2015, UMW Toyota Motor started the ball rolling by announcing that prices of Toyota and Lexus vehicles will go up from 4% to 16% effective January 2016. Honda Malaysia followed suit with a similar announcement.

2015 Mkt Share Perodua

Earlier this month, Honda, Toyota, Lexus, Kia, Peugeot, Citroen and Audi released new and higher prices, with Proton possibly raising prices after Chinese New Year. Perodua prices will stay put, for now.

MAA’s outlook for January 2016 is negative compared to last month’s bumper sales. The hangover from the promos and the continuation of more stringent hire purchase regulations by banks are cited as factors.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• MAA One BIg Liar. on Jan 21, 2016 at 12:52 pm

MAA cannot be trusted anymore. Last time Aishah used to fight for the rights of car buyers. Then Government gave her Datukship. Suddenly, she sings a different tune. Now, she promotes high car prices and also the AP system.

Also their figures cannot be trusted. Ask anyone last year and this year, everybody also holding back from buying cars. So, how can these figures be true?

Looks like the Government is trying to fool the people thinking car sales are doing so well, so, do jump into buying a car NOW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • Yaa…Perodua also gv the wrong figures. Perodua claimed 17k units per month but in actual less units exist on the road.

• kzm (Member) on Jan 21, 2016 at 1:38 pm

Almost every month paultan give monthly sales for every brand n u give conclusion that figures is a lie. Dont u read those monthly sales figure articles?

• Avoid new and buy used on Jan 21, 2016 at 2:04 pm

Bro, that Aishah person is a dude

• This is Abbey on Jan 21, 2016 at 2:13 pm

This is Abbey.
      Abbey does not want to buy new cars.
      Abbey really don’t give a shit.
      Abbey is here just to read the funny comments.
      Abbey knows the car prices here are ridiculous.
      Abbey knows the government wants people to spend.
      Abbey does not want to take long bank loans with interest.
      Abbey thinks insurance companies are evil suckers.
      Abbey doesn’t like to lose car resale value.
      Abbey doesn’t want to pay high car taxes to government.
      Abbey doesn’t want to support AP cronies.
      Abbey thinks the industry is monopolized by the elites.
      Abbey buys good used or nearly new cars.
      Abbey have reputable and trustworthy mechanics.
      Abbey do not want to support the Malaysian car industry.
      Abbey encourage Malaysians to do the same.
      Abbey is smart.
      Be like Abbey.

• Abolish MAA and MAI on Jan 21, 2016 at 12:57 pm

I have no idea why Government pays MAA salary. Wasting rakyat money. All of them eat fat salaries and all of them fly business class all over the world to “study” on cars.

Same with MAI. Both MAI and MAA will go in big rombongans all over the world in Business Class, stay in upmarket 5 star hotels just to “study on cars”

Just aget a Form 5 admin clerk to go to each car manufacturer to get their sales figures and compile and tabulate the sales figures…..all done! No need MAA and MAI.

• Ollie on Jan 21, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Good point. If their funding is from my tax money, I’d say shut them down. If privately funded, then I don’t care.

• Oh My God on Jan 21, 2016 at 1:22 pm

if someone don’t give what you want, he/she becomes a liar, cheater, cannot be trusted, want to fool people etc etc. Before giving such “typical Malaysian Style Statement”, please do verification first.

Oh God please save Malaysia!

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 21, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Can’t help but laugh so happily when I saw that blue line plummeting to the bottom of that TIV graph. Just as I predicted in late 2014, “Tak sedar diri” manufacturer will drop to 15% of the TIV in 2015. Since then, fanboys, spin doctors, donkey ass licker came attacking me saying that my claim is baseless. Now who is proven right? Where are all those fanboys, jaguh kampung and the donkey ass licker?

Come this year, Honda is poised to overtake the “Tak sedar diri” manufacturer to be crowned as the 2nd place in the passenger vehicle category. Dah quality sudah hampeh, mau bazir wang 600 million lagi pergi bikin apa “GDI engine”? It seem the more high tech cars and new models this “tak sedar diri” manufacturer make, the more their sales will go down south! In this case, I’ll give my FULL SUPPORT TO THIS CRONY INFESTED, TAK SEDAR DIRI MANUFACTURER TO MAKE MORE NEW MODELS AND NEW ENGINES. So that they will meet their eventual fate FASTER.

I just love facts and figures, they are big IN-YOUR-FACE-SLAP to illusional fanboys, die hard supporters living in dreams and jaguh kampung who failed to understand a simple four four syllable word word – REALITY.

Lastly, my sincere advise to this “Tak Sedar Diri” car manufacturer: Please go back to the basics, learn how to screw a door panel right and tight, eliminate those cheap plastics and awful dashboard gap, that alone tells a lot of how awful and lousy your QC is. Fire all your crony suppliers and vendors, make less problematic cars so that consumer’s confidence will rise slowly to put down their hard earned money on your car again. Actually, you don’t need to be a whore going around finding new bed partners, you have competent engineers, though small in numbers, but they are very capable. Your design is fine, just the EXECUTION IS ALWAYS A BIG FAILURE, always let down by crony vendors and your politic masters, which in the end, resulted very poor quality cars and angry, dissatisfied customers. QUALITY is all what can save you now, not GDi engines, airbags, hot-press forming steel or any unsubstantial gimmick.

Your local competitor, without any R&D capacity, make cars with sampan handling, tin milo, no hot press steel, 2 airbags without ESC and they still beat you down flat for a FULL DECADE. Did you ever wonder why? Do they use GDi engines? Do they provide turbo power? Do they give top notch handling? Do they give 6 airbags with ESC? They beat you because they make better quality, more fuel efficient cars and provide better service than you, simple as that! That is all what majority Malaysian car buyers want. But you just don’t seems to get it, not even a single bit.

Please make good quality products, value your customers, give them good services just like other top-notch Japanese brand do. They used decades to built their brand power, what makes you think you can be successful by simply putting off carnival shows and syiok sendiri-self praising? Please discard those buffoonery self worshiping phrase like “BMW of Asia” and “Game Changer”, it make absolute disgusting sound to many people who knows how awfully your car is and you have yet to prove yourself.

Actually, there was a time Malaysians do cheered for you, it was a time when you used to make good cars and made great success in UK. Why things had gone so ridiculously wrong? To summed it up, it’s all about QUALITY. You may make 10 new engines, 30 new models and stuff 30 airbags in your car, non of this is going to stop your eventual demise if you don’t care about BASIC QUALITY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Ollie on Jan 21, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Excellent stuff. Well-informed comment that should be required reading for all Malaysians.

• local competitor also have NO Quality. only cheaper price. so, your whole logic is plane out wrong.

• How exactly does seeing other people buying cars influence you to buy a car? Their finances are their business. So if your neighbour buys a new car every year means you must get one too la?

• Latuk BN supporters on Jan 21, 2016 at 2:35 pm

My neighbours buy new car and park at they house and many people can see…. I go buy new house every year and no one ever know I own more then 7 properties up to date.

• bodohhilux on Jan 21, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Honda, Toyota, Pug…etc…all stakeholders are cronies already ….

Nissan is still TCM, but soon will be pushed out/sell their shares by invisible forces…

You will living and supporting cronies at the end anyway…

• Hopeful on Jan 21, 2016 at 5:22 pm

Lets see which car manufacturer is the first one to initiate retrenchment.