VIDEO: The message behind #ViosPulseOfAction TVC

We bet you’ve watched the Toyota Vios in action, and you’ve even watched the interview with the drifters and directors too, right? But what was the main motivation behind the #ViosPulseOfAction TV ad, you may ask. Well, another interview video with Datuk Ismet Suki, president of UMW Toyota and Akio Takeyama, deputy chair of UMW Toyota, might shed some light.

“Our intention is to communicate to the people of the Vios’ advanced handling abilities and controllability. This is what we are demonstrating in this series of commercials. We want all Malaysians to know the Vios for what it truly is, a young exciting, fun-to-drive car,” explained Takeyama.

“The Vios is a wonderful car to drive and is exciting to look at and I’m sure we have conveyed that excitement well. I have no doubt they will appreciate the value, quality and sheer driving joy of the Vios,” Takeyama said.

Takeyama noted that the biggest challenge was to exhibit the “drivability” and “fun” of the Vios in the most “sensational way” possible. “To execute the drifting sequences, we needed an experienced choreographer and professional drivers. We found the right people in Team Chiba. Even though the Vios is not a rear-wheel drive car, which are preferred for drifting, they pushed the Vios’ capabilities to its limits,” he added.

So guys and gals, are you sold yet? Leave us your thoughts and comments below.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• George Abdul on Jan 21, 2016 at 6:54 pm

Lousy UMW cronies finally you show your face… Rakyat please let him know who’s the real consumers that make him(Datuk) today !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 10
    • Insider on Jan 21, 2016 at 8:18 pm

Toyota car prices up..This guy bonus alone $5mln in 2015

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Jan 22, 2016 at 11:19 am

20 years BOD Toyota reap millions in bonus per annum each of them. Their gaji also some of them 7 figures per month.

This year, one year currency jatuh, instead of taking a pay cut, the nasi lemak directors increase Toyota prices and give themselves an increase in pay

• Real message is: Honda City has tapao my Vios, i know its sub-standard but i need those brainless youths money for my bonus! Buy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jan 21, 2016 at 7:09 pm

Show us what traction control and vehicle stability control can do la.
    Why don’t put the Akio and Ismet in a Vios, ask them to drive 80km/h at a kampung road, then suddenly rain wet road. Suddenly they had to avoid a motorcycle in front, braked at a corner and then there’s a tree.
    Can they do that without TC and VCS?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 4
    • DPCraft on Jan 21, 2016 at 9:06 pm

They should advertise the advantages of not having VSC.
      “When dodging motocycle on wet road. The Vios drift and spin, this bring excitement to the driver and it’s fun to drive. Thus, driver can experience how sporty the vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
      • karam singh on Jan 22, 2016 at 3:42 am

How can it be exciting if low bhp, old engine , high FC & boring 4 speeder ? Its handling rubbish too, so as its braking.The chassis also not that good.
        It gonna be more exciting if its more power,handles well & good braking.

Toyota being exciting by Syok Sendiri & Bodykits.
        Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha.

My opinion on this segment, most fun car is the Ford Fiesta. If still prefer a sedan, go for Honda City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Alamak on Jan 21, 2016 at 8:02 pm

The message behind is…

You want to be safe in our Vios, you better have damn good driving skills and pray.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
  • horrayooi on Jan 21, 2016 at 8:16 pm

As long it is 4 speed auto there is nothing to brag. Shut up. Old tech. Selling 70 to 90k only loyal dumbheads will buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Sammy Zaik Loo on Jan 23, 2016 at 5:55 pm

Hi brother, the same taik jamban car is now RM80k to near RM100k. It’s now even worse than protaik, however still long list of tai lan ngong will buy their toyotaik cars.

• choha on Jan 21, 2016 at 8:20 pm

no, you are promoting dangerous driving among ah bengs and ah lians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • Exactly!
      Merc has AMG etc versions, BMW has “M”, Audi has “S” for those wannabe race car driver. Mighty Toyota is telling us anyone can drive like a stunt driver using their plain jane Vios . Gd luck to other road users.

• panjang on Jan 21, 2016 at 8:47 pm

People whom can think will understand that the tvc actually show the ability of the driver, not the car.
    Its like saying the winner of Race of Champion is having a more capable car during the race.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Unknown on Jan 21, 2016 at 8:57 pm

It what way a car with non communicative steering and floaty suspension fun?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • tokmoh. on Jan 21, 2016 at 9:02 pm

When overpaid pigs speak, their pig headed mentality shows.

Give VSC would’ve been cheaper and far more effective than silly misleading ads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
  • DPCraft on Jan 21, 2016 at 9:14 pm

Vios – Increase your pulse rate and gives you high blood pressure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Gold Avanza on Jan 21, 2016 at 9:30 pm

Bad advertising strategy. Datuk you are exactly the opposite of YOUNG and SPORTY. How desperate is UMW selling cars like selling Qu Puteh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • The message behind is we are sending ppl to coffin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • AlanChin on Jan 21, 2016 at 9:55 pm

The awkward moment when Toyota’s Japanese Deputy Chairman speaks better English than their Malay president. The president cannot even sit properly, which shows just how seriously and lazily he takes this interview.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • kaizen on Jan 22, 2016 at 2:26 am

u are definitely biased in ur judgement! or ur english is nothing much better than them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • Donkeybrainsjohn on Jan 22, 2016 at 10:33 am

Edit AlanChin’s statement with correct English. Right. Didn’t think so.

• Plainbullshit on Jan 21, 2016 at 10:17 pm

Just give vsc as standard and priced it competitively, dumbass UMW. We don’t need a drift toy car here, we need a proper car like Honda City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Normal Guy on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:07 pm

This is everything that is wrong with a company. Instead of having class and promote safe driving, these jokers justify the ah bengs and kakimotors driving their tasteless mods like retards on our jam-filled roads. Sickening. Those idiots in Marketing should be ashamed of yourself. The next time you see a wannabe rally driver’s vios in the ditch, it’s because of you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • bomoh mas jokok on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:41 pm

so this is the face who price toyota more than 100 000 but only give two air bag. I will use my bomoh power to make his testical inflated like two giant airbag. just wait everyone

• DPCraft on Jan 22, 2016 at 8:25 am

Later UMW need to spend 1billion to have “his airbag” recalled.

• Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Jan 22, 2016 at 12:32 am

Those stunt drivers were trained by me

• noreasonwhy on Jan 22, 2016 at 12:43 am

Wasn’t it much more easier to put in VSC than this inpersuasive marketing?

• why still dual airbags?

• leonardo on Jan 22, 2016 at 8:56 am

Because the UMW Toyota bigwigs don’t drive a Vios. They would probably be driving a Camry with 6 airbags or more. I don’t think they genuinely cared for their customers, else they would have put in VSC and at least 4 airbags in the Vios. Even the cheaper Iriz has 6 airbags and VSC! No wonder they are losing sales to Honda City and thier top position as the most popular non national car.
      Toyota, you have rested on your laurels for far too long. Now buyers are looking at other options.
      No, not even the drifting stunts will help. It is like asking a Tortise to skate.

• Ahmad on Jan 22, 2016 at 7:44 am

Dont get why this would be a good strategy. Advertising car stunts on public roads (albeit ‘closed circuit’ and ‘professional stunt driver’ tags) is just sending the wrong message whence why we have too many road accidents and road rage due to such attitude.

Seems like the only way to sell cars here are to make it look ‘sporty’ and advertise as a ‘drift machines’ more than trying to sell practicality and safety. Shows how malaysians buy their cars.

• MissSam Loo on Jan 22, 2016 at 8:41 am

Where is Sam Loo hiding? LoL…!

• Idiot on Jan 22, 2016 at 9:11 am

what we want is safe car ! not a drift car ! brainless

• Most vios drivers drives their vios like that anyways.

• macromedia on Jan 22, 2016 at 10:50 am

I tried to be kind and all, but this thing keeps going on and on and on is getting on my nerves. Please la, it is a VIOS la. Get a grip!

• Toyota vios krok krok sound on Jan 22, 2016 at 10:59 am

Boss Umw, please solve the krok krok sound before publish this TVC, and the drifter like kena suap money, positive sentence only, should like this
    Fun to drive
    Good NVH, cancel out outside sound with krok krok sound

• good handling my foot, absorbers and mountings all die easily

• Chung on Jan 24, 2016 at 3:03 pm

This is common sense fact :
    A car that drifts cannot have VSC !
    A car that has VSC cannot do drifting !
    Why so many people do not understand this ??

Go ahead ..
    Please ask a professional driver / stunt driver to drift on the car that has VSC ?!
    ish..