PEDA says TPP will open up market access for Proton

Proton_Iriz_ 001

Earlier in the week, it was reported that the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement was set to benefit Malaysia’s automotive sector. According to consulting firm Frost & Sullivan, being part of the 12-nation trade pact will allow the country to have a competitive advantage as an auto parts export hub for the ASEAN region.

This sentiment has been echoed by Proton Edar Dealers Association Malaysia (PEDA), as Bernama reports. The association says it is confident that the arrival of the TPP will provide a wider market access for Proton within the 12 participating countries.

“Our local market will eventually benefit through more competitive pricing as a result of the economies of scale attained,” PEDA president Armin Baniaz Pahamin said, adding that the association’s committee unanimously supports the TPP move, provided that Proton cars can enter the member countries freely with minimal restrictions.

“We believe the TPPA will liberalise these restrictions to make it as easy for us to export our cars to member countries, as it is for foreign companies to enter Malaysia,” he said. He added that without the TPPA, Proton will continue to face stringent import restrictions on its cars in foreign markets.

In December, an economic study released by General Motors said that the removal of non-tariff measures in the automotive industry that prevent free trade within ASEAN would create up to 500,000 new jobs as well as increase economic output. It was also reported that the TPP and other FTAs would bring about cheaper cars in the next few years, though not everyone is confident of that happening, at least not in the immediate future.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Jan 22, 2016 at 11:26 am

Hello PEDA, are you dreaming? Proton cars in the past 30 years failed in every market big time. And this was the super high quality export versions sent to Europe. We Malaysians lagi teruk, if export versions failed big time, imagine what jamban we got?

Proton just waste money. Even when sales were so bad, int he UK for instance, Proton was still maintaning their posh location showroom, paying the monyets from Malaysia to get a free holiday, give them five star posh apartments etc.

And the UK branch will just make 1 or 2 sales per month. Same with Australia also.

But Proton Malaysia will still pay the staff manning the UK branches in sterling (expat pay) and bleed bleed bleed.

Get real PEDa. Get real Proton. If your local market also you fail big time, how you want to succeed overseas?

Also, every Mat Salleh car magazine has rated Proton the most dangerous car in the world. How are we going to run away from this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • Jaguh global on Jan 22, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Proton now on par with BMW, minister said.

• Alamak on Jan 22, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha….I didn’t know that happy hour started already. So fast people drunk.

• Manusia on Jan 26, 2016 at 6:42 am

How can the 5 star ANCAP cars will be the most dangerous car in the world? My father have one proton wira and still alive. I have read the articles about Proton and they said its look cheap only, but not dangerous. You are lying around.

Yes in UK and Australia Proton has a very low sales because Proton need to compete with another brand. Proton can survive in Malaysia because there is a tax for imported car.

• AFTA - Apa Sudah Jadi??? on Jan 22, 2016 at 11:29 am

AFTA also was supposed to give Malaysians cheap cars. But somehow, dirty Malaysian government cheated Malaysians and asked for extensions and all sorts of leeway to circumvent AFTA.

By right, we should be getting cheap cars from any ASEAN country, but our dirty Government been playing dirty since year 2000 when AFTA came into effect.

Infact car prices went up so much since year 2000. It never went down. Some doubled.

So how to trust PEDA, Malaysian Government and TPPA??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • arock on Jan 22, 2016 at 1:44 pm

for automotive need to wait another 12 years before zero tariff under TPPA

• Open up market access for Proton?

Will it make any different? They can’t even compete in heavily protected market in home country, what makes you think they can survive out there?

• Easy. Do what they did in the past. Use better quality (export quality) parts and slash the price like gila. then they can boast sales numbers while absorbing loss in the name of brand promotion/establishment. Meanwhile we the blighters back home are expected to carry their balls and foot the bill in the name of patriotism.

• old dog on Jan 22, 2016 at 9:39 pm

the give free also cannot pass the safety regulation, and Co2 emission..

• Nasi Lemak Management on Jan 22, 2016 at 11:35 am

Management in Proton very stupid. All eat nasi lemak and sleep the whole day. Like when they bought MV Augusta for few hundred million pounds. 2 years later, they sold it for 1 Euro. The new owner, without doing anything or pumping any capital in, 2 years later sold the company for another few hundred million Euro. Untung besar. Buy 1 Euro and sell few hundred million Euro.

That is how stupid the Proton Management is. With brains like this, how to market to the world?

• George Abdul on Jan 22, 2016 at 11:43 am

Always mention “cheaper car price” start drop fill hundreds BUT when increase price always start from thousands… Rakyat won’t believe BN cronies “empty promise” anymore !!!

• Aero (Member) on Jan 22, 2016 at 11:43 am

PEDA should shut up and fix their own problems first.

Does PEDA not realize that poor aftersales is one of the biggest factors behind Proton’s misfortunes ? Make no mistake, the Iriz is a fantastic (but sadly not perfect) car for the money, but because of PEDA’s and Proton’s inabilities to remedy their aftersales, they are continuing to lose more and more customers yearly. Why do you think the Myvi is still outselling the superior Iriz ? It’s because Myvi owners are assured ‘peace of mind motoring’ thanks to better aftersales and possibly better build quality as well. Personally, I’ve driven both the Myvi 1.5 Advance and Iriz 1.6 Premium… and I think both are built just as well. There is no obvious disparity in perception, unlike the Saga BLM/FLX vs. Myvi, prior to 2014.

Of course, there are some good Proton service centres (join the owners groups and you’ll find some recommendations)… but they’re so rare, they simply cannot make up for the lacks of the vast majority. PEDA should learn from others on how to transform their aftersales. Don’t repeat the mistakes from the EON era… look what happened to EON since… they’re a joke now, and deservedly so.

• tokmoh. on Jan 22, 2016 at 3:59 pm

PEDA jokers, blame rakyat, blame bank for low Iriz sales.

I’ve booked red Iriz for over 3 weeks, loan approved second day after booked.

I still am lost as to when my car can arrive, and a few days ago told red is finished, now forced to change to silver.

Apa salahan saya? Apa salahan bank saya? Bodo piang proton, nak orang beli, tak nak jagi hati orang.

They’re this chaotic with small sales, imagine with bigger sales. Lagi chaotic, lagi pundee.

• Imho, I think silver iriz is much sexier…

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 23, 2016 at 9:29 pm

It’s not too bad, can get inspiration from Iriz R3 mmmm

It’s just that I feel Iriz’s edgy design language makes it suitable with vibrant, daring colour like red.

• Aero (Member) on Jan 23, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Really ? You bought an Iriz, tokmoh ? Btw, I’d suggest you register your account so that others cannot impersonate you.

If what I’m hearing is true, then I’m really sorry to hear man. Which sales outlet did you book at ? Did you book 2015 or 2016 stock ? If it’s 2016, then yes, it’s likely that Proton will be a bit slow to deliver… but if it’s 2015, they have no excuse.

Hopefully they will sort it out sooner than later, but knowing most Proton Edar centres, it’s unlikely that they will compensate you for the delay (but they should). But as long as they deliver your car safely, I hope it’ll be worth the wait… especially if you booked a manual Iriz. :]

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 23, 2016 at 9:25 pm

D-d-don’t misunderstand. I-I-It’s not like I want the Iriz or s-s-something like that. I-I-It’s just, it’s got stability control and hot press form body. B-b-baka.

Sometimes I drop comments from fb’s browser, or mobile, it can be PITA to login everytime.

Word on the internet, it’s a nationwide issue, Proton is very, very low on 1.3 Iriz stock 2015. Unbelievable, I’ve been following news enough to know they’re desperate for sales, even giving huge discount. It sounds believable when I was told I can get within 2 weeks.

Do people actually suddenly buy Iriz, cuz of the big discount? Or Proton’s logistics, manufacturing, planning etc sucks so bad? Why begging for sales if they can’t supply it? Those useless monkeys do better to improve delivery than blaming me, and my bank for their low sales.

2016 less discount, and can’t qualify loyalty program (discount RM100/year age of car) IIANM.

Compared to Axia, I was told 2 months waiting list. But I hate the botak, treating customers like dirt with lackadaisal attitude on safety, so fark it. My family’s life is worth more than the few km/L Axia can yield, but Axia is crap eveything else.

I booked auto Iriz, it’s meant as family’s secondary car. I don’t bear the cost alone, so I’m ok… not, I still want a manual, sigh.

Maybe I might get one for myself, a used 1.6 exec manual, 3,4 years in the future. If Proton’s RV is as low as ever, all the better/cheaper for me.

• tinmilo on Jan 22, 2016 at 11:44 am

I beg to differ.
    If you look at the Nations in TPP, countries that offer sale volume like US and Canada, are in left-hand-drive configurations. Plus these countries have strict emission regulations that I am not optimistic the Proton engines could meet.

Japan will never need to import our Proton. What’s left is some Asean countries in the pack that without TPP, we already had AFTA before this to cover the free trades.

• arock on Jan 22, 2016 at 1:47 pm

asean only singapore&brunei, heck we could export to chile which need to compete with volkswagen coming from brazil ‘betul betul angan mat jenin’

• superman on Jan 22, 2016 at 11:54 am

market open up for Proton to do what? they cant sell or export their cars anywhere? these people are dreaming or what?

• Talk only, shiok sendiri

• Jemput turun on Jan 22, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Actually the whole universe us open for Potong to conquer, nobody stopping them..but the same idiots still steering the boat and in command so still jaguh kampung

• Crasher7 on Jan 22, 2016 at 12:33 pm

At the same time, it could also kill Proton…

• factssaysalot on Jan 22, 2016 at 1:12 pm

haha PEDA is talking as if Proton is sooooo desirable in US or other country…stop trying to sell TPP idea with all these BS stories…everyone knows the truth and fact about Proton cars…powerful ppl behind the scenes pressuring right?

• You bet … they do really think that their cars are comparable with BMW. Where do you think the terms like “Berdiri sama tinggi…”, “mencipta nama di persada dunia…”, “Bangga dengan anak tempatan….” comming from?

• johan on Jan 22, 2016 at 3:20 pm

Just boot lickers. Suckin up to their masters.
      Trying hard to whip a dead donkey.

• arock on Jan 22, 2016 at 1:42 pm

export it to where actually, chile? delusional peda!

• ss427 on Jan 22, 2016 at 2:12 pm

Well Proton sold ZERO, and I mean ZERO cars in Singapore from 2013 to 2015, with or without what TPP… hahaha…
    Yes our car prices are the most expensive in the world. Yet Korean cars are doing so damn well here, and they are generally cheaper than your POS Proton Preve CFE over here

I have said it before and I will say it again, Proton vehicles are NOT CHEAP! Once they leave the Bolehland gov protection, you will see how damn expensive and uncompetitive their products are.

• Robert mugabe on Jan 22, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Another lame excuse to justify malaysia’s joining of tppa

• nordeen on Jan 22, 2016 at 3:15 pm

PEDA stop having wet dreams.
    Wake up !!!
    Enough tea , coffee & nasi lemak breaks.
    Time to start working and try selling the
    underperforming Proton models.
    I see so many units out in the yard so
    start getting rid of the massive 2015 old stock.

• ae101 on Jan 22, 2016 at 3:39 pm

Really joke of the day. Simply taruk reason and blindly support tppa. Jaguh kampung can’t even conquer local market, apa lagi you expect from outside? Dumbest marketing strategy ever. No wonder every year also loss profit and need bail out.

• johan on Jan 22, 2016 at 4:01 pm

Only an association but making statements like they are ruling the country.
    Poor sales ? Then better start whipping your dealers rather than day dreaming & vaping.

• old dog on Jan 22, 2016 at 9:37 pm

cant even pass the regulation and talk about USA!! regardless their LHD situation!

too many katak MP and in charge in bolehland…

• Consumer on Jan 22, 2016 at 10:21 pm

There are two way that i can hope for Proton.
    1. Turn into big success and become independent then stop protection scheme then gov to stop unnecessary taxes on Malaysian.
    2. Otherwise give way to the real capabilities person to continue or just close it down.