Proton-badged Suzuki Ertiga MPV rendered, 3 versions

Proton Ertiga facelift 01

Now that it has been confirmed that there will be a Proton-badged Suzuki Ertiga, we commissioned rendering whiz Theophilus Chin to come up with renderings of the “Proton Ertiga”. The tiger-badged MPV won’t be called Ertiga, of course, and there’s a chance of Proton giving the donor car a different face, so this serves as merely an idea of what to expect.

Theo delivered three sets with Proton badges – one of the original Ertiga that surfaced in 2012, one based on the facelifted version that debut at the Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS) 2015 show in August 2015, and another of the range topping Ertiga Dreza (below left), which has a completely different (and rather bizarre) face from the standard car.

Also included is a pic of the Ertiga’s Swift-style dashboard with Proton’s emblem on the steering boss. What do you think? Should the national car company just keep it simple as seen here, or should a “more Proton face” be used?

The confirmation of the Ertiga as a fruit of Proton’s collaboration with Suzuki came earlier today from Indonesia. News reports from the republic quoted local Suzuki arm PT Suzuki Indomobil Sales (SIS) saying that the Ertiga will be exported to Malaysia in knocked down form, from the second quarter of 2016.

SIS will export 1,500 units of the Ertiga to Proton per month, which translates to a significant 18,000 units per year. Production of the knocked down kits headed for Malaysia will start at SIS’ factory in Cikarang from May this year. Proton had previously announced that the first Proton-Suzuki joint model will enter production before the end of 2016.

Proton Ertiga Interior

Presently, Suzuki exports the Ertiga from Indonesia to various Asean countries such as the Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam and Brunei in CBU form. However, exports to the four markets are at the rate of 400 units per month combined, which pales in comparison to the Proton deal. Suzuki also produces the Mazda VX-1, a rebadged Ertiga, for the Indonesian market.

The Suzuki Ertiga is a three-row, seven-seater MPV that shares a platform with the Swift and SX4. Its 2,740 mm wheelbase is competitive with the Perodua Alza’s 2,750 mm and the Proton Exora’s 2,730 mm.

In Indonesia, the Ertiga – which competes in the Low-MPV segment against the market-leading Toyota Avanza and Honda Mobilio – is powered by a 1.4 litre engine with 92 PS and 130 Nm of torque, and the K14B motor is paired to a five-speed manual and four-speed automatic gearbox.

GALLERY: Suzuki Ertiga Facelift at GIIAS 2015

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• hope they retain suzuki’s powertrain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • rosdi on Jan 22, 2016 at 5:28 pm

Improve the interior, but keep the powertrain.. yes..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • George Abdul on Jan 22, 2016 at 6:32 pm

True PLEASE NO MORE Campro and “punch” cvt. Don’t dissapointed Rakyat & buyers again !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
        • james on Jan 22, 2016 at 8:54 pm

After 30 years still doing the same thing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 23
          • Trishaw on Jan 23, 2016 at 9:46 am

You want 2 wheels car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 25, 2016 at 2:25 pm

Proton quality golden rule: as long as it is not Proton’s part, it would be reliable and long lasting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • old dog on Jan 22, 2016 at 9:21 pm

the exist of protong is for the cronies suppliers…never for the rakyat..those are bs for those people who still believe after 30 years…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 33
    • Mimau on Jan 22, 2016 at 6:06 pm

a little bit more power would be nice tho. Put either Suzuki’s M16A VVT or Iriz’s S4PH VVT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • eims perfume on Jan 26, 2016 at 10:41 am

prefer proton 1.3L turbo + jatco cvt…

140ps 190nm over suzuki’s 96ps 130nm anytime…

• friendly neighborhood nigger on Jan 23, 2016 at 1:21 pm

nigger please, don’t change anything. so I can replace your proton logo with Suzuki. hehehe

• Badger on Jan 22, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Mitsubishi, Honda and now Suzuki. Whats next? Subaru? Just close the factory la proton. Stop wasting time, energy and money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 121
    • wdadwada on Jan 22, 2016 at 4:41 pm

hahahahaa. u jelous ka bro? Close cop close cop. i heard this word 10 years ago. But proton still not clos cop hahaha. u think car manufacture business is 10 ringgit bussiness ka? Proton sell 100,000 unit of car oso already go so many money. U try RM40k multiply by 100,000 unit. How much lerh? hahahha
      RM4000000000 yooo. hahhaha. keep ur dream to see Proton close la.

They got new engine summore. 1.0,1.2,1.3 GDI, 1.5 GDI, 1.3TGDI, 1.5TGDI. u think they will close cop?
      they spen RM600 million for this new engine development. u think Proton no money kah?hahahaa

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 48
      • latukbandar on Jan 22, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Now sure if you are trolling or failed maths in kindergarten.

Just because someone is selling nasi lemak for RM3, doesn’t mean they untung RM3. They could be losing money selling but making money via other side business like spare parts, services, and etc.

Again, have many engine does not mean success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 41
        • whyClose on Jan 23, 2016 at 12:31 pm

I do agree the person math fail. But what u forgot to add in your formula is there are a portion of money thats basically not need Proton to sell any single of their product but still it will flow into Proton. Who want to close if have this kind of advantages?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Maria Kagawa on Jan 24, 2016 at 12:24 am

I’m pretty sure he failed maths in Kindergarten

• Be like bill,close proton and sell nasi lemak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
    • Bickering Parrot on Jan 22, 2016 at 4:42 pm

Didnt your mother teach you anything ?
      When got nothing good to say…
      Remember two words…
      “SHUT UP”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
  • kendrix lamazz on Jan 22, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Badger, so typical one, so much anger means what ah?
    bad childhood is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Regular Guy on Jan 22, 2016 at 4:47 pm

With 1.4cc engine, its clear that this model is a stakeout for the Alza. If its price at 50K or less, for sure it would be a hot model to consider. Hope PROTON still make improvement for the Exora in the future because its realy a good and efficient people carrier. Large space, powerful turbo engine and most important really cool air-cond!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
    • thepolygonal on Jan 22, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Thumbs up for the Exora comments :D They should keep improving it since not much is available to compete with it in terms of space and price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • Nazee on Jan 22, 2016 at 10:37 pm

i certainly hope this is not an exora replacement as the exora is in a whole different class with this one. the output numbers and 0-100 is more than enough to tell me this is really an anti-alza measure. if the current exora is improved with the creature comforts and perceived quality of the iriz, much more soundproofing, a jatco cvt, and a less noisy engine, it really is a fantastic sub-100k MPV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Sammy Loo on Jan 24, 2016 at 1:01 am

my kapcai got way more than 1.4cc, which engine u are using with only 1.4cc? Sad for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • kendrix lamazz on Jan 22, 2016 at 4:48 pm

I think this looks pretty good, As usual Theo does a good job of imagining the car.
    I think this car should be good for Proton, hopefully the pricing will be good enough to give the Alza a run for it’s money.

some people may ridicule this move to share the Ertiga with Suzuki but I think it is a sensible move by proton because the MPV segment is a growing segment but volume is not so huge and Proton may find it hard to recover their investment if they go alone in this segment

• kcng (Member) on Jan 22, 2016 at 5:35 pm

I have insider news saying that as part of Proton Suzuki Collaboration, Suzuki would rebadged Proton Iriz, Preve, Suprima and Exora for India and Indonesia market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • Pimai2 tang tu on Jan 22, 2016 at 5:41 pm

Joke of the year goes to

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Alza. I see more exoras than alzas on the road (hiway & city)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
        • Truth hurts on Jan 22, 2016 at 7:54 pm

Total sales ratio Alza and Exora is 5:1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
          • How do u know when MAA dun breakdown sales figure by model? U pluck from sky like George kah? or Maybe u r George dupe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Sammy Loo on Jan 24, 2016 at 1:02 am

mr john, try to do a bit homework and you will find the sales breakdown by models, atleast up to October 2015 is available.

• limbu on Jan 22, 2016 at 5:35 pm

I went to youtube to see the acceleration video,

for auto it is 15-16 seconds from 0 to 100km/h

slow and lack of power , imagine u carry goods ,

i just stick to the exora turbo sv line ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • iskhalifah (Member) on Jan 22, 2016 at 11:32 pm

Yes, the 1.4L petrol is quite sluggish at 50-80kmh (based on reviews). But I do appreciate engine refinement, well-built interior plastics, plush ride & frugal fuel consumption, which I think are the advantages of Ertiga over the Exora.

Perodua should be very very worried.

• Please rebadge SUV

• sepul on Jan 22, 2016 at 5:55 pm

Keep the powertrain and interior design, but change the steering wheel and exterior design.

• Jobless on Jan 22, 2016 at 7:10 pm

Pls name this model “Suku-Tiga”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • iskhalifah (Member) on Jan 22, 2016 at 7:35 pm

1. The Ertiga will be imported in CKD packs and assembled here. I doubt there is any change to the brown-beige combination (as manufactured in India & Indonesia) as they are rushing for early release this year.
    2. The horizontal grille suits Proton’s existing design theme, although I really like the older one (swift style grille).
    3. Expect the four-pot 1.4L engine to be refined & quiet, with low 12-15km/L FC.
    4. Expect the ride to be softly damped (its a budget family-oriented people mover).

• Nishida Katsumi on Jan 22, 2016 at 8:48 pm

All the best Proton.Even Yasumitsu Morita doesnt want you to close shop. Pls do necessary action to survive. By the u dont deserve my RM

• Sammy Loo on Jan 24, 2016 at 1:04 am

your RM is equivalent with toilet paper, there is no value

• firdaus on Jan 22, 2016 at 9:18 pm

malulah…rebadge!!!
    mana machai proton skarang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
    • Toyota rebadge BRZ – malulah wei!
      Aston Martin rebadged iQ – malulah wei!
      Subaru rebadge D.Boon – malulah wei!
      Benz rebadge Navara – malulah wei!
      Fiat rebadge Triton – malulah wei!
      Die-hatsu rebadge avanza – malulah wei!
      Chrysler rebadge Attrage – malulah wei!
      Mazda rebadge Ertiga – malulah wei!
      Toyota rebadge Mazda 2 – malulah wei!

Apalagi u mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
      • moerjangkoeng on Jan 26, 2016 at 10:50 pm

actually, Avanza is a rebadge from Die-hatsu Xenia. not the opposite.

same like die-hatsu ayla (perodua axia) rebadged as toyota agya.

• Archangel on Jan 23, 2016 at 4:51 pm

Perodua rebadge Die-hatsu – malulah wei!

• nobody on Jan 22, 2016 at 11:21 pm

Proton.please considee have long cushion for driver seat ,just like alza model.

• bukapintubayartol on Jan 23, 2016 at 3:17 am

I find it ironic that Ertiga = R3

• Gagal Lagi on Jan 23, 2016 at 8:48 am

How to prevent this Proton Ertiga from another failure:

1. Choose the blue colour design. Looks more modern and up-to-date.

2. Black, dark grey interior and seats please.

3. Chrome door handles. Premium look.

With correct pricing and specs Proton may have chance to beat Alza but Exora bye bye being cannibalised.

• panjang on Jan 23, 2016 at 8:50 am

I would rather see a rebadge Suzuki Jimny…I know,its not feasible. Still i want one.

• CrazyMobilo on Jan 23, 2016 at 9:42 am

How good will its rebaged model’s going to be? I think its gonna do preety well…
    Existing legends of rebaging would be Wira = Evo 2, Perdana = Eterna & even the Inspira = Lancer (gotta say this was a preety dumb move since they were sales of Lancer here in Malaysia)…
    Ultimately, evry1 do good with
    Even Perodua has been at it since its existence ..
    BUT
    How good are the specs & product is going to be!? Thts the main concern..
    You guys rebagde a car & just go on striping it naked.. Thus there would otha parties that sells all this added up parts for high prices!
    As Malaysian, we do wanna support barangan Malaysia
    But its a highly priced junk? Whos gonna be supporting? If any of the CEO’s are reading this pages.. Take all of our thoughts into idea.. Don’t sell us junk please…

• Dodge Viper on Jan 23, 2016 at 11:44 am

Rebadging is not true collaboration. Repeat many many times.

• Xiumxium on Jan 23, 2016 at 12:50 pm

Though they want to rebadge grand vitara….

• RickD on Jan 23, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Heavier curb weight with double blower air-cond. 99ps was not enough to drive this horses, under power expected hence don’t expect better fuel efficient. Further more alza will came out with Dual DVVT model soon, it wont able to compete if selling same price.

• after Mitsubishi for so many years, then citreon, then honda, now suzuki and what will be next on 2020….

• Silthice on Jan 24, 2016 at 11:56 am

Time for Exora to grow to accommodate 8 seaters and compete with Innova meanwhile this Ertiga compete with 7 seaters Alza, Avanza & Grand Livina…. But need more powerful Engine for Ertiga…

• winwin on Jan 24, 2016 at 5:31 pm

Ertiga in overseas also using the same 1.4L petrol. No more better petrol engine for this model. Unless Proton go berserk and bring in the 1.3L turbo diesel which very popular in India, which has 200NM of torque. More than enough for a small people mover.

• Maruah melayu on Jan 24, 2016 at 4:07 pm

habis lah, Maruah Proton. All these while claimed they are world class player, with glabal car product, etc.

Now, probably doing re-badging Suzuki. Just like so many donkey years ago, re-badging Mitsubishi.

Mana maruah Melayu????? aduiiiii….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Martian on Jan 24, 2016 at 8:59 pm

Toyota rebadge BRZ – malulah wei! Aston Martin rebadged iQ – malulah wei! Subaru rebadge D.Boon – malulah wei! Benz rebadge Navara – malulah wei! Fiat rebadge Triton – malulah wei! Die-hatsu rebadge avanza – malulah wei! Chrysler rebadge Attrage – malulah wei! Mazda rebadge Ertiga – malulah wei! Toyota rebadge Mazda 2 – malulah wei!

Mana maruah ….feel free to fill in the blank

• passerby on Jan 24, 2016 at 5:17 pm

proton king of rebadge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • winwin on Jan 24, 2016 at 5:27 pm

Ertiga is a low budget MPV meant to be sold in developing countries.This is no better than Exora, Proton should not bring this in. Instead nowadays Malaysians like SUV, so should re-badge the Grand Vitara instead. Come-on Proton, listen to your potential customers, bring SUV first instead of MPV. Now Kembara no replacement model, so this is your golden opportunity !!

• Jeffrey Chew on Jan 24, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Why compete with Alza??? Look at the Iriz sales…

• Personally I think this is a right move by Proton.. small mpv has a huge market in country like Malaysia and Indonesia where young family with 2-4 children would prefer this type as their “upgrade” vehicle.
    Alza is good.. but it has no rear passenger ac vent.. so proton will have a strong selling point here.
    while looks can be subjective, an upgrade of interior to improve this car can really gives proton additional turnover and huge turning point of it’s exora problem.
    As long as proton can price it around or below alza, this model can really sells.

• savvykl on Jan 26, 2016 at 10:04 am

1.4L a bit under power, not sure can bring 7 people to Genting or not. hofully Proton tested before bring in.
    I thinking better they use Suzuki M16A 1.6 engine which more suitable to our local market.
    Also i wish Proton can CKD Vitara 2WD/4WD version.

• oko000 on Jan 27, 2016 at 9:52 am

after iriz, then comes this one. i think proton is competing with perodua now. what a lousy competitor selection.

• ckkkkkkk on Feb 06, 2016 at 2:22 pm

yucks, potong? no thankQ