Volkswagen CEO wants unrealistic NEDC test fixed

2015-volkswagen-matthias-muller

Embroiled in a dieselgate saga that continues to tear at his company’s reputation and financial situation, Volkswagen Group CEO, Matthias Mueller, has urged European authorities to improve its emissions tests.

According to Automotive News Europe, the CEO believes that the New European Driving Cycle (NEDC), which all European vehicles are subjected to, doesn’t correctly depict real-world emissions and consumption figures. Mueller has called for a more accurate system that would close the gap between laboratory and real-world results.

“The industry-wide discrepancies between official test results and actual usage is no longer tolerable. We, the industry, need to take a new path,” said Mueller. In a ground-breaking development, PSA Peugeot Citroen announced last October (2015) that it will be publishing fuel economy figures for its “main vehicles” based on actual real-world testing conditions.

Volkswagen Tiguan-07

One such possible solution for Europe has been identified as Emissions Analytics’ on-the-road testing programme, which is said to closely match real-world tests. The planned World Light Test Procedure (WLTP), developed under the workings of the UNECE WP29 forum, targets a more realistic representation of fuel economy and pollutant/CO2 emissions.

As previously reported, Volkswagen itself has openly admitted to illegally manipulating its vehicles’ performance in official tests. Under the previous stewardship of former CEO Martin Winterkorn, Volkswagen has been found guilty of using cheating software and hardware in several of its diesel-powered vehicles to falsify emissions claims across the globe.

This week, it has been confirmed by the company’s new CEO that it will begin recalls for some 8.5 million vehicles in Europe. The new Volkswagen boss, busy trying to rectify the company’s global image, has also pledged to make Volkswagen more environmentally-friendly.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• james on Jan 26, 2016 at 4:17 pm

We are only interested in real-world test result. Not some fairy tale Pinocchio turns-out to be the most honest man in Malaysia.

• bUMNO on Jan 26, 2016 at 4:43 pm

Ajib? Not to say 2 billion. If I receive 2 million donation also wont give back la.

• u gip 3Billion to Dear Leader to songlap from 1 state only, u no complain? Topkek

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 26, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Now you see the advantage Proton can’t even cross the border to sell Thailand Singapore Indonesia Philippines: they are not affected by these regulations at all.

• Shame on Jan 26, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Everybody with a sane mind knows lab testing is done with ideal conditions. And ideal conditions, as the word implies, will never reflect real-world conditions.

But it provides a relatively simple, measurable, and most importantly reproducible test results. The results are then bench marked among it’s peers and a target figure can be set.

However Volkswagen, you deliberately introduced a feature to get the figures you want when it goes into testing. This is cheating, plain and simple. Shame on you VW, shame on you.

• If u fail to pass the exam, protest to have the grading lowered.