2016 Proton Saga rendered, based on current model

12604648_10201371638690613_4374422110690938240_o

It will certainly be a busy 2016 for Proton, as it plans to launch not one, but four cars, including three sedans. Perhaps the most significant one would be the 2016 Proton Saga, the replacement for the national carmaker’s most popular model – and now Mohd Taufik has rendered what the upcoming A-segment sedan will look like.

As was apparent in earlier spyshots, the car is clearly based on the current model – albeit heavily revised – and it looks like that was Taufik’s starting point as well. The basic shape of the bonnet and grille has been retained, but the latter receives an Iriz-style chrome bar on top. Reshaped headlights also make an appearance, with an upswept fanged design that is reminiscent of certain Peugeots.

12622191_10201371638810616_5127453177166801334_o

Low down, Taufik has added a smaller version of the Iriz’s trapezoidal lower grille and twin intakes alongside it. Around the rear, we can see a reshaped glasshouse with a C-pillar kink, as well as a new rear end with wraparound tail lights joined a chrome number plate garnish, along with a contrasting rear diffuser-like design for the bumper.

Technical details remain scarce right now, but the Saga could launch with the Iriz’s 1.3 litre VVT engine and a choice of a five-speed manual or a CVT. Proton’s new naturally-aspirated 1.0 litre and 1.2 litre three-cylinder engines may also make an appearance further down the line – these mills are slated to begin production by the end of 2017 – while a turbocharged version of the 1.0 litre engine could also feature.

SPYSHOTS: 2016 Proton Saga

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• yuck..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 18
    • This car is great. I thank our BN and UMNO for this car. It is such a good car. Malaysian Government is caring.

Too all those bodoh who kutuk Proton and Najib, see for your own eyes, AG already clear Najib.
      So Najib and BN are clean!

Pergi mampus RBA john. Dont come here anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 70
      • HAHAHAHAHA! Tried to troll but failed. Apparently u underestimate the support Najib has.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
        • Same L0rrrr on Jan 27, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Without 6 airbags and VSC, this is not only moving coffin for your life but also moving coffin for your wallet and other bank accounts. Everyone knows the power of Proton quality!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • T Hampden on Jul 19, 2016 at 11:11 am

Type your comment here..
            Like, how do you know quality’s bad? It’s not even on the road yet!

• Syiok Sendiri John on Jan 27, 2016 at 5:14 pm

budak bodoh john, ask his cybertrooper friends to click Like. Then syiok sendiri

• King Kong on Jan 27, 2016 at 10:52 am

Hopefully higher unit profit of RM500 and still can give RM4,000 discounts.

• Every1canTalk on Jan 27, 2016 at 11:26 am

potong did say every 5 years will have totally new car, right?
      so this is so call heavily revised, it still consider as facelift.. prrff…
      maybe potong are saying every 5 years “boleh” having totally new car, not “akan” having totally new car.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Celicazz` on Jan 27, 2016 at 12:25 pm

Macam Honda City la kan? Jazz?

• dugongx on Jan 27, 2016 at 4:15 pm

Macam dugong vios la bodoh. At least proton upgrade new engine better than moving coffin vios

• T Hampden on Jul 19, 2016 at 11:19 am

Dugong Vios pun heavily revised their cars. Mana ade total change. Myvi pun sama. But this Saga is superb …hope the inside’s the same

• P1 and p2 both are for people who cant afford a little little little bit better car so quality and image does not matter to them…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • John Beng on Jan 27, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Work harder and buy Honda City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • Seriously work harder for a cheap city?

• whatisit on May 10, 2016 at 11:26 pm

Not anyone can buy expensive car…most of them already work harder enough but yet still cannot afford…better save money for more benefits things..buying car will not making you rich…just making you become poorer..

• Asian BMW on Jan 27, 2016 at 9:38 am

For those who cannot afford real actual Bmw 3-series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
    • Latuk BN supporters on Jan 27, 2016 at 10:01 am

Please support local product… As AP owners we need to feed our wife and 3 mistress, is hard time for them in current economic “only buy single diamond ring in a month” compared to “good economic” everyday buy jewellery !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
    • Salambangi on Jan 27, 2016 at 11:12 am

I think it will be quite a good car with some problems as most cars do. Those who bash Proton do it for no good reasons.They either are jealously envious or pray that Proton failed and get decimated and nothing else Some or these bashers have not even owned the Proton. They are merely parroting the congenial bashers who are from the anti establishment group who worship money and foreign cars.

I’eve owned Iriz and other Japanese cars and Perodua and I must say that the car is good in terms of ride and handling, very solidly built and has good suspension set up that can absorb speed breaker bumps better than any Japanese D class segment. I would fully recommend any Proton new models. They really have improved a lot.Don’t listen to the noisy group who sings the same broken lyrics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
      • tokmoh. on Jan 27, 2016 at 12:56 pm

After 4 weeks of waiting, I finally got my Iriz yesterday, yay! It’s the auto CVT, cuz had to share with my family.

To be honest, I was really shocked the Punch CVT can creep almost like a torque converter. I remember it struggled to do so back when it first launched, and everywhere else, the Punch CVT felt bad, leaving extremely bad stigma to Iriz.

I still maintain manual is still the best way to go with Iriz, having absolute control is unbeatable. But I must admit, the Punch CVT now behaves good enough for average non-car users.

But of course, if can get better, Proton should. Jatco CVT should be even better, so don’t screw it up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
        • U say something gud about P1. Die lah u. Now they will say u are Donkey or me or a BN cybertrooper. Prepare urself for RBA to bash. U have been warned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • alldisc on Jan 27, 2016 at 9:46 am

Nothing new. The lines are all familiar since 5 yrs ago. The rear chrome connecting to the taillamp concept not only a copy to the new vios or Jaguar xf, it was first featured in Chevrolet aveo sedan some 10 yrs ago.

Why not be creative. Think of something new. Something different .

Even the signature Proton wings is getting old in the tooth… Almost 5 yrs now since it first appeared on preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • ya…that rear design looks like bmw1 series ^^

• Matchy on Jan 27, 2016 at 10:02 am

Based on the spyshot, the render looks nothing like it.

• You see Theo this is how you make a car render. Not photoshopping together bits of different cars to make one hideous car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • DonkeyKong on Jan 27, 2016 at 10:31 am

Being based on a platform that’s 8 years old now, the platform should be a sunken cost by now. Proton, just keep the price down at affordable levels, while improving the safety equipment e.g. at least 4 airbags for the high-spec model, and include ESC, and perhaps replacing the passenger cell stampings with 800MPa cold-stamped high-strength steel at least, if it’s too expensive to use HPF.

Forget about unnecessary features like a crappy android head unit and things like that. Keep it practical, keep it simple. That way, the buyers won’t feel ripped off.. at least they’re getting a fair deal for what they’re buying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • BN Cybertrooper on Jan 27, 2016 at 10:35 am

the donkey BN Cybertrooper is back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • frossonice on Jan 27, 2016 at 11:01 am

At least he gave constructive comments and suggestions.

Do we really need to bash anything Proton? You think by closing Proton the gomen will somehow abolish all vehicle related taxes? They’ll probably increase it for more money to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
  • nice effort.. but please Proton.. up to date design please..

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jan 27, 2016 at 10:51 am

Based on info from their R&D staff last year, its only going to target for 4-star ANCAP, mainly achieved with chassis structure revision. Therefore most likely no ESC due to cost consideration, as it goes head to head with the Axia. The future 1.0 and 1.2 engine developed with Lotus (separate from Ricardo’s Volcano GDI project) are not meant for local production, which means it will stick to 1.3 VVT.

I don’t really know if there are any changes in plan to get this car 5-star ANCAP, which I do hope so.

• applegreen on Jan 27, 2016 at 11:08 am

from images above i see pricing should be not more than rm thirty grand

• Of so many craps produced by Proton, this is the only one that can sell, not because it is good but because there is no sedan alternative at that price. Anyway the quality is aas crappy as others, especially when they want to rush to launch 4 models this year. Launching 1 model IRIZ also so many problems, now want to launch 4 models? God bless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • So where is p2 sedan?

• Own japan car proton supporters on May 19, 2016 at 9:28 am

And where is the iriz so many problem you mentioned? Owned a 2014 vios. I enjoyed more driving my brother’s premium iriz. Handling a lot more better than my vios. Also good noise insulation. Even have more safety features than my vios. I have considered buying preve before but since everyone is still not convince in proton i decided to go for japanese. Now i watch suprima s tapau me when going uphills. Poor my vios realizing it doesnt even have power to beat preve and suprima. And guess what i paid a lot more to watch those proton making fun of me

• Jobless on Jan 27, 2016 at 12:12 pm

Anoter massive error by Potong…they should have launch new Saga last time instead of wasting money wit their misadventures of Supima Preve Iriz..totally no foocus by neglecting the Saga Persona their best seller…everybody knows Malaysians pefer sedan and yet P1 launched Iriz Supima and nearly bootless Preve…should use the new iriz as basis for new Saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Justin Bradley Yong on Jan 27, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Looks very much like a Hyundai Accent 2005 model, heavily face-lifted but a rebadge job no doubt.

• Pengguna Bijak on Jan 27, 2016 at 2:50 pm

Perodua Sedan vs Proton Saga R

Mana satu kereta bakal jadi juara pilihan rakyat?

• firdaus on Jan 27, 2016 at 4:09 pm

passed by jenjarom just now..
    right in front of what used to be protons centralised logistics depot.guess what?

The place is empty and looks like hiroshima after the atomic bomb drop.

when they were talking about opening up this depot, i thought to myself, they have 2 plants running on low throughput, why do they need another place to park all the finished cars?

who do you think made money from building that depot???
    sometimes some people do idiotic stuff!!

• Vincent on Jan 27, 2016 at 4:47 pm

Please redesign the car from scratch. A total new rebuild and design for crying out loud. Stop playing with the cosmetic looks redesign only.
    The wheels has to be wider, for a stable ride and please design something which is proportionate in geometry for the entire car.

• Jobless on Jan 27, 2016 at 6:15 pm

I hope thy chg the stupid matchstick open.close door if not proved the idiocy of the management

• AiyoProton on Jan 27, 2016 at 6:31 pm

When Proton says new car model, they actually means “face lift” car.

Proton Special Edition means a same car with only (hardly noticable anyway) new sticker and “Kedai Abang” new wheelcaps.

The whole automotive world is laughing and rolling on the floor at Proton.

• LIVINA on Jan 27, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Kereta Jepun atau Korea pun ada problem masing-masing. Dan tolong jangan campuradukkan politik ruangan ini. Ini blog automotif, bukan politik

• bunny on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:32 am

New to paultan? This is the norm of malaysians.. love to politicise everything!

• kelvin on Jan 27, 2016 at 9:41 pm

Lol is this rendered by professional or kindergarten kid?

• the rear looks like bmw1 good job

• ali maju restoran on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:50 am

lampu dpn dia lansung tak sama macam yg dlm gambar yg dilukis tu….

• Design Error404 on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:15 pm

The headlamps look fugly