PLUS offers 30% rebate for electronic toll payments done on NSE, ELITE, NKVE highways this CNY

Toll

Good news for those who will be making the long trip back to their hometown this Chinese New Year. PLUS Malaysia has announced that it will be offering a 30% toll rebate for road users who pay toll electronically, and travel on the North-South Expressway (NSE), the ELITE highway and the New Klang Valley Expressway (NKVE) on February 4, 11 and 15.

PLUS managing director, Datuk Noorizah Hj Abd Hamid said the 30% toll rebate will be given to Class 1 highway users (light vehicles with two axles and three or four wheels, except taxi) travelling more than 100 kilometres and paying toll electronically (via PLUSMiles card, Touch ‘n Go card or SmartTAG) on the above-mentioned dates.

However, the rebates will not be given on the spot, as the public paying toll electronically will still be required to pay the full toll charges first. The 30% toll rebate will have to be redeemed (in a form of toll reload) at any PLUS customer service centre between March 15 and June 14, 2016.

TnG SmartTag

PLUS Malaysia also provided a few examples of the 30% toll rebate coming into effect. For instance, a highway user travelling between the Jalan Duta toll plaza and Ipoh Selatan toll plaza will be able to save RM7.95 in a form of toll reload. Similarly, those travelling between the Sungai Besi and Skudai toll plazas will be eligible for a RM12.39 rebate.

“The rebate is offered to users travelling on off-peak days and is aimed at helping us to distribute traffic,” Noorizah explained. “The toll rebate can be enjoyed throughout the day on the above dates and is not restricted to a particular time,” she added.

PLUS anticipates that traffic on the NSE will spike by 20% to 1.6 million vehicles per day on peak days on February 5, 6, 7, 9, 13 and 14. “As such, we are also issuing a travel time advisory (TTA) to help the public plan their journey and avoid traffic congestion on peak days during the holidays,” Noorizah said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• sewell on Jan 27, 2016 at 12:48 pm

choose only those off peak day to give rebate. shame on you.
    they should give the rebate on peak period to compensate of the jamming on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • JB_KIA on Jan 28, 2016 at 8:20 am

Rebate on peak periods? U wanna see the roads more jammed up? Obviously u do not know the purpose behind.

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 27, 2016 at 12:58 pm

Haha, how many of the balik kampung folks during CNY will be bothered to redeem after that? Somemore must do it at PLUS service center. Want give redeem, give lah in the spot, don’t put all kinds of stupid T&C to make yourself looks as if so “generous” for some cheapo public relation stunt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • yup.. agree wif u. dumb stupid.
      to claim our money back oso got T&C.. else, burn. Masuk perut sapa? That card got registered number & owner.. what the hell burn itu mcm aja.
      Used to redeem previously, system down. lu org ingat aku ada masa ke hari2 nak jilat alas kaki counter lu org.
      ini negara makin hari makin nonsence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • mystvearn on Jan 27, 2016 at 2:23 pm

I have an auto-reload TnG card which is linked to my bank account. I am not sure how the rebates are going to go back into my account later on. I think this is mostly for prepaid users.

If you need your IC to register TnG and can charge users wirelessly, why can’t the rebates be given back wirelessly as well? Why cannot give 30% at the toll booth itself.

Macam tak nak bagi balik jer duit. Nak apply hassle, also off-peak.

• StewPeedComment on Jan 27, 2016 at 3:17 pm

You asking stupid question which you already know the answer. If people make stupid contest and win a stupid looking bear, still people will be excited to win it.

Same goes for the thing. They are lots of ppl will work it out and claim whatever rebates they could. I know you’re a lazy dumb ass. Not many ppl like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
      • Kip Kip on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:04 am

You are the one stupid.
        If only can rebate less than RM20, who want to travel so far to the service centre and redeem it? Not to say the slow service respond.
        Petrol fee for travel also cant compensate.
        Redeem on the spot only can satisfy our need.

• Facebook on Jan 27, 2016 at 1:38 pm

30% rebate??? Just because a few RM claim, u need to spend an hour or more to wait and travel to PLUS service centre??? Please don’t pretend to be kind… All these highway corporation are just bunch of cronies who pretend to be kind…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on Jan 27, 2016 at 1:41 pm

MACC being first , this TouchNGo discounts is the next useless thing we have..

• TheDuh on Jan 27, 2016 at 1:43 pm

PLUS
    Don’t be an insincere ass-hole and ask people to go to your service centre to redeem.
    Are you stupid? Cannot give rebate on the spot?

• Jason Lim on Jan 27, 2016 at 2:37 pm

they want u to pass their toll again to claim for the money
    hahaha!

• jinggo on Jan 27, 2016 at 2:48 pm

Banyak pulak syarat nye.. nak bagi ke tak? Cam siot je plus ni.. puihh!

• ae101 on Jan 27, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Claim back? Seriously? Some more only on these 3 stupid days? This kind of offer can keep to your family, anak, cucu and cicit la. We Malaysian seriously don’t need your big heart discount.

• 3 off peak date? on Jan 27, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Why discount given on the day less people travel?
    Why discount not given start from 4th till 15th Feb.
    Why odd date?
    Why?
    Why?
    Why?

• Alan Tan on Jan 27, 2016 at 11:30 pm

what??? the rebate is only for selected date only, and it’s not a sincere rebate. it seem to get the publicity attention only.

• Kip Kip on Feb 03, 2016 at 11:06 am

It is ok for the selected dates, the purpose is to encourage ppl back on the selected dates and reduce the crowd on the peak hour.
      However, redeem at service centre by 14 March – June is a lousy decision.

• RADZUAN MOHD NOR on Jul 12, 2016 at 12:47 pm

mohon penjelasan tentang toll rebate