2016 Lotus Evora 400 launched – from RM539,999

Lotus Evora 400 launch 1

The 2016 Lotus Evora 400 was launched today at the Lotus Cars Malaysia showroom on Jalan Damansara. Boasting a revised and revamped cockpit, and a retuned V6 engine, the mid-engined Evora 400 brings true supercar performance to the table.

Now pushed to 400 hp, giving the Evora its number tag, the 3.5 litre Toyota engine comes with an Edelbrock supercharger coupled with a new charge cooler that allows it to put out 410 Nm of torque. There is also a driver-activated catalytic convertor by-pass that turns the exhaust into a free-flow system.

Performance figures have taken a significant jump upward, with the Evora 400 now clocking 4.2 seconds to 100 km/h, and a power-to-weight ratio of 290 PS/1000 kg. There are visual changes to the Evora as well, with the front and rear redesigned and a spoiler that gives 32 kg of downforce at 165 km/h.

A revamped interior now offers greater comfort and luxury over the previous Evora, with three trim levels – standard, leather and Alcantara – on offer. Of note are the redesigned cockpit sills, which are now narrower and on level with the seats. This change was made after comments that the previous model’s high sills and low seat height made entry and egress difficult.

During a press conference, Tun Mahathir Mohamad said the outlook for Lotus in Malaysia has grown over the years, with the expectation of breaking even, or showing in a small profit in 2016.

Lotus Cars Malaysia will be bringing in several pre-optioned models, in both manual and automatic. The Base option has metallic and signature paint, cruise control and yellow or black brake calipers. Option One comes with the Base option plus the leather or Alcantra trim pack and the Black pack, with the roof, sills and mirror caps blacked out. Option Two sees the addition of gloss black 19-inch front and 20-inch rear forged 10-spoke wheels to the previous option package.

Prices for the 2016 Lotus Evora 400 are: manual transmission, Base – RM597,999, Option One – RM624,999, Option Two – RM640,999. With the automatic transmission, prices are: Base – RM610,999, Option One – RM637,999 and Option Two – RM653,999. Lotus Cars Malaysia is offering a discount to the first 30 purchasers of the 2016 Evora 400, with the base manual model going for RM539,999 and the base automatic at RM552,999.

Lotus Evora 400 official photos

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• No name on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:25 pm

preve – suprima side mirror…??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Fiesta mk7 side mirror control, Fiesta round shaped air-cond vent too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Now Proton drivers can dreaming they are driving this Evora 400 on road with their junk Proton.
        The power of day dreaming, you need it to survive Proton quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
    • mr1031 on Jan 29, 2016 at 7:01 pm

saga round tyre

• Way too expensive! should be around 100k because its just a another cheap potong sport car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
    • VVT-i on Jan 30, 2016 at 9:29 am

A very powerful 3.5L supercharged Campro engine indeed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • old dog on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:26 pm

launch the concept cars la….they look good even nowadays after years of design..

007 sure use lotus in their next movie if got nice car..

• Maseratista on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:32 pm

Lol the concept cars dies with dany bahar lar. Totally un-lotuslike.

• Jonn Dol on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Edelbrock supercharger? I thought they only produce carbs & headers for American V8s. Was expecting something like Eaton or Sprintex supercharger. Anyway it’s interesting to have that American Supercharger for this Lotus.

• Aero (Member) on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:37 pm

Sorry to detract from the main focus here, but could someone from Lotus, Proton or paultan.org please confirm whether the wing mirrors on the Evora 400 is indeed the same one on the Preve/ Suprima S/ Saga FLX/ Persona facelift/ GEN-2 export spec ? If so, who is the vendor ? Proreka ? APM ?

I am too curious… forgive me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • No name on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Its the same bro…made by delloyd…u can see the proton logo on the high res pic on the gallery…

• wiwiwiwiw on Jan 30, 2016 at 12:45 am

Good la if rempit whack Evora’s owner side mirror, can get easily at Protong dealer or kereta potong
        xD

• Aero (Member) on Jan 30, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Thanks man, you’re right, it’s the same !

A member from the PREVOC group also confirmed that they are the same… even the code; ‘DELLOYD 01 5 (E3) 7005’.

This is a solid example of a successful Malaysia-based vendor. The big money is in the parts and components industry. We have over 600 vendors, but too few of them have reached global standards.

Anyway, I give my dua tangan thumbs up to Delloyd for their achievements !

• Bajet on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:46 pm

600K. Evora, 7Series, Q7 or S400 Hybrid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo said Toyota engine got RV, should go for Evora

• olio benzina on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:40 pm

Depends on what you want. One will make you feel alive, the others are snoozemobiles.

• Carefree on Jan 29, 2016 at 11:01 pm

You are comparing a sportscar to limousines and SUVs because you can only afford one of them? You must be a ‘just there’ millionaire only because the millionaires I know can afford limo for daily use AND sportscar for the weekend.

• spongewai on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:47 pm

RM600k i would get a Porsche Macan S or Merc GLE or Porsche Cayman GTS or Land Rover Evoque lol

Lotus with Toyota engine, erhem no thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • Alifzz on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Then later go wait months of time just to get spare parts from Singakpoh..

• Ganesh on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:55 pm

I am so shocked at the price. RM650k? Seriously? Only the ultra rich can buy. But the ultra rich don’t even look at Lotus at all. Its Ferrari, Lambo, McLaren and Ferrari for them.

So who will buy RM650k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Rubbish need as 600k ?

• Bristol on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:59 pm

No wonder can’t see any Lotus on the road bcos of using Toyota engine

• You got any problem with toyota engine? Have you ever heard about toyota supra?

• Bristol on Jan 29, 2016 at 6:24 pm

Yaa…I got one Toyota engine in Myvi, cause a lot problems to me.

• Carefree on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:09 pm

If you’ve read reviews of the Evora by motoring journalists, the one thing they complain about the most is the Toyota 2GR-FE V6 engine. Complains ranging from it being bland to it being characterless.

• got what safety features?

• Be honest, how many of you open this post just to check out the gorgeous model? I know i did it..

• Give it a try first before you critics. Its the world best car handling. tomorrow they are having some test drive do come by. then you can critics. btw proton follow the design of lotus.

• shawal on Jan 29, 2016 at 6:15 pm

a tough sell , since the 718 cayman is will be unveiled in geneva soon….
    last cayman came to malaysia shores 6-7 months? after unveiling..?

outgoing cayman S is going for 610k , GTS 700k

• nabill (Member) on Jan 29, 2016 at 6:49 pm

In isolation, it does look expensive, but actually this is to compete with da 911 and the gt4 variant, thn it looks alot more affordable…ppl curse it bcos its related to p1, bt overseas reviews are all gushing over it…

• mig29_ria on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:18 pm

Originally Evora design to compete with Ferrari and Porsche. The others is alternative for both brand who could not afford to. They change form time to time due to change of leaderships.

• Consumer on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Dear Tun, get bored with Exora, when is Proton Evora?

• Carefree on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:02 pm

Just like Vios drivers dreaming they can drift their Vios like a 86. But they quickly realise they are ‘Moving Forward’ towards a tree because Vios handling sucks and have no ESC. Please tell them high RV (allegedly) only applies to a good condition Vios, not a Vios wrapped around a tree.

• ToyotaManyaktipu on Jan 30, 2016 at 10:34 am

Expensive?? Nah…
    BN cronies can buy this car easily…

• Unknown on Jan 31, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Use Toyota engine, you guys say not good. Use the same side mirror as Proton also not good. Wow, so many “professional” people of automotive world here. Everything is not good for you guys.

• superman on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:44 am

I was there and saw this car in LOTUS showroom. I must say this car is not bad but the main drawback is that when someone buys it they support DRB and their money goes to their pocket, also it will never be ab;e to compete with likes of Porsche ot GT-R. that is the problem with LOTUS perception in Malaysia, under DRB badge they will not do well, also I bet almost all senior team in DRB will have one as their Weekend company car… while car looks more aggressive they used basically all switches and interior parts from current Proton saga and side mirrors are all from Proton replacing the original ones which I believed looked way better.
    Pls let LOTUS be itself, I hope some investor come and buy Lotus so it can survive without DRB evil badge on it.