Proton CFE oil cooler hose issue – CTO speaks up

CFE Engine

During a recent interview with Abdul Rashid Musa, the Proton chief technology officer also touched on a recent issue relating to the automaker’s CFE engine, which is used in models like the Proton Exora, Preve and Suprima S.

A number of Proton owners reported on social media not too long ago regarding an issue with the engine’s oil cooler hose, which broke prematurely.

He said, “oil cooler hoses are subject to high temperature and humidity, but sometimes the failure is not because of the cycle (mileage). For rubber materials, it’s normally because of time and life. Like tyres, even though the threads is still present, after two years, cracks may appear on the tyre surface because the rubber has degraded.”

cfe-features

“In our service manual – I believe other OEMs also mention – rubber parts are not subject to cycle (wear) only. Normally we do our testing of 100,000 km cycles, and subject the part to a certain number of cycles. Rubber parts are definitely not just affected by cycle, but by time (as well),” Rashid said.

“Proton is addressing the issue. Consumers are advised not to change or modify the component on their own. Please come back to us, get original parts from us. Custom jobs can void the car’s warranty,” he added. The custom job referred to in this case is the use of braided metal hoses to replace the original rubber items on the oil cooler unit.

On its official Facebook page, Proton has officially acknowledged the issue, and said that it’s currently working on a fix. Stay tuned to paultan.org for updates on this matter.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Excuse. Still thinking hard why people avoid buying your products?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 15
    • George Abdul on Jan 29, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Why selling problematic engine??? Improvement by telling customers to change hoses everytime??? Proton always goes from bad to worst !!! Hope coming “2017” new engine won’t be a dissapointment…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
      • You still hoping on them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
        • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Dare to buy this new engine ah? Don’t forget the Exora that bakar going up genting. You get free death and free cremation. 2 in 1 package.

Best part, Proton told the owner to podah and refused to layan him. That is Proton Customer Service. Even the CEO of Proton also said the customer lying.

So many other Exora bakar, Proton just cover up.

You still dare to use new engine from Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
          • DonkeyKong on Jan 29, 2016 at 7:01 pm

Wow, amazing. Another new urban legend from Mr. songlap. Now, every Proton car will catch fire spontaneously and kill the passengers, huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:16 pm

Waste your hard earned money on junk, enjoy the consequence.

• leonardo on Feb 01, 2016 at 8:07 am

So you drive a Nissan or Perodua?

• karam singh on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:21 pm

every brand has flaw, even Toyota & Honda.
        If there a problem, they gonna fix the issues & learn from their mistake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
        • Low Budget on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:48 pm

Took 30 years to learn the Power Window mistake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2016 at 8:21 pm

If Toyota got problem, we will recall and fix every issue for free.
            For Proton, you die your own problem. Good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
          • leonardo on Feb 01, 2016 at 8:08 am

For Toyota and Honda they took even longer! Their power window can short circuit and catch fire!

• cckkpr on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Proton need the same medication as what MAS needed. Get another German and and first thing is to kick out all the rentseekers masquerading as suppliers. I am sure of similar MAS nasi lemak issue in Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Every brand has flaw but not all brand admit it. A good example is Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Low Budget on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Much better for them to use back the 1st generation Saga or Wira engines. As things go, more and more will opt for Perodua despite many Proton supporters propaganda against the P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Sammy Vellu on Jan 29, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Say = no say

• Buy a proton = your nighmare begin…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
      • Low Budget on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:53 pm

Not only nightmare, your wife or your girlfriend might leave you for that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Ford_ton on Jan 29, 2016 at 7:22 pm

Stop those chemical spray engine wash. It does harden the hoses and cables
      My 9 year old car has got no leaks and not once rubber hoses been changed. It remains resiliant and no cracks whatsoever.
      Do not overdo your tender loving care towards your car.

• owh, this is new. Im going to do some reading about this. Thanks for the heads up

• Ollie on Jan 29, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Based on number of recalls, Proton is the most perfect manufacturer in the world. Only recalled for power windows? Is that a recall? Rubber also need to give excuse? Better get advice from Durex or Carex on how to manufacture rubber goods.

Bankrupt by 2017 – The Malaysian hope for Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 28
    • Mimau on Jan 29, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Actually, Proton has never done recall for power window units.

They do have done recalls for faulty Waja rims, Savvy wheel bearing, Gen2/Neo steering wheel clock spring, Inspira(Lancer) suspension bushings and V-belt, and CFE’s VVT oil valve. Probably more. All of them are safety-related. Power windows are not. But it’d better if they recall that too.

This oil cooler hose/seal issue even exists in VW, BMW, Ford, PSA engines, and some Toyota/Lexus engines. Except for Toyota (and now Proton, although a bit late), other car manufacturers just sweep this issue under the carpet and hope the customers will fork out their money.

I think you don’t even know what you’re talking about.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 7
      • Mesti nak include BMW sekali…

Anyway these manufacturers sell more cars and give more confidence to the people than Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
        • bizdatech on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:11 pm

u maybe have to get it right. BMW f10 they told u no problem easy fix on their gb..

they dont fix they exchange.

and welcome HARLO 10K from 1st year of release.

lucky shiate the insurance still there if nope.. wooppieeeee u hope your 20K exchange Gearboxx weeee alot of new BMW face a few also on GB . same goes to the vw alll 1.2 and 1.4 engine

• Ollie on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:02 pm

Well, I suppose I’m not an expert on rubber seals. The car I drive has an insulated cooler hose, i.e. wrapped with reflective heat-proof cover. Its what’s known as a Kimchi brand. The BMW E39 had this issue in its earlier models, and changed the position of the hose in later iterations. Obviously, comparing with unreliable models is a benchmarking tool for Proton. A common problem, you say, but one that Proton overlooked? Can pusing 360 or 1080 degrees, fail is fail. As long as people like you defend them, obviously the love of our nation – Proton, will never improve. Keep supporting them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
      • My CBU Mazda 6 suspension problem started from day 1..no, nothing serious but it’ll shame me in front of my passenger every time you go over the hump with ‘squeaking’ sound especially when it was raining.

Been to the service centre more than once and the mechanic will return the car in the evening after tightening certain component. The problem will return after few days. The mechanics said it was a known problem as it was not confined to my car only. Now after almost two years, the problem still persist and the mechanic plan to change the bushing when the part is available.

The point is – all car brands local or foreign have their own strength and weaknesses and they’re continuously improving. But through my observation, we’re super critical to our own product. Sad but true.

• camtakpro on Jan 31, 2016 at 12:46 am

If defect is to be expected 100% for all cars, then squeaking suspension problem is infinitely better than an unmovable car, and it is many times better than any random-drop down window defect.

You will be shamed by your passengers more with random drop down window, or even worse, a non-moving car. And when they want to open your door, the door handle just crippled off – still more shame than squeaking suspension.

• Years ago Mitsubishi was fined by Japanese government for keeping quiet about brake hose on Pajero bursting and losing braking power. So does that means Mitsubishi is worst than Proton?

• Jemput turun on Jan 29, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Ckp mcm ahli politik…sini pusing sana pusing…never admit anyting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
    • Self screwed on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Instead of giving free parts replacement and admiting failure of not enough R&D, now it cause even more people avoid Proton cars. Talk about screwing itself.

• FIST (Member) on Jan 29, 2016 at 1:05 pm

Free recall please

• This is why ppl don’t choose Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • Atilla on Jan 29, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Only in Malaysia you can avoid recalls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Shamgti on Jan 29, 2016 at 1:22 pm

Aduh…my proton preve 2013 exec no value la,bought 63k now rv only 32k.2nd hand car dealer said this car have a lot of problem.That’s why i want to sell it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • limbokini on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:21 pm

U sell ur car based on 2nd hand dealer words ?(persuasion)

Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Sam Loo on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:27 pm

Go for Sushi Car.. avoid Proton, Kia & Hyundai bro.. can have a nice sleep & dream..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • alldisc on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:52 pm

The exec model is lacking on power. 110bhp not enough to pull 1.4 tonne. That’s all.

• U seem like a very ‘bright’ chap. Let me intro u to my fund manager. His name is Zhang Jian and he says his mission is to make u the future 2nd most richest man in the world after him.

• camtakpro on Jan 31, 2016 at 12:49 am

I give you 1k for Preve ok? That’s the highest amount to test Proton car.

32k Preve? I rather gen 2nd hand Avanza at least guaranteed to move and no buttons, gearknob or power windows falling off.

• It will never be their fault. It’s either the people not patriotic, loan not approved, other brands flooding our market and all other excuses but never their problem.

It’s 2016 and you are still giving excuse on rubber wearing? Have you heard of industrial grade parts? You bought the part from MR.DIY ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Hunky Dory on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:09 pm

If this happens to cars in other countries sure kena recall. Then ppl like donky john will say ‘see itu kereta jepun jahanam’. But the fact is proton is sheltered from real world issues.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Proton has had numerous recalls over the years. This OCH issue is not affecting every single car that came out. There are CFE vehicles that have been running fine since 2012-2013 without any of these issues. Just check out the CFE & CVT Facebook group, where the OCH issue was first made viral. There are many others who have vouched that their engines haven’t encountered this problem despite running for over 100,000km without replacing the cooler assembly. Proton and the affected customers are still figuring out how to fix the issue since it’s statistically small, which makes it hard to pinpoint if it affected an entire batch, or only certain vehicles. Only if it’s been confirmed that it’s due to material specifications will it make sense to issue a recall so that they know the replacement will prevent this problem from happening again. Otherwise, it’ll just be a duct tape solution which will need to be addressed again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • Ollie on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Technical Service Bulletin (TSB). These are issued for problems that affect a model range but don’t appear for all the cars. Companies issue TSBs so that the service centre will provide a free replacement/remedy but its not a full recall.

Sorry, just can’t resist; PROTON INI PUN MAU AJAR KAA?? LU BRP TAHUN BUAT KEETA SAMPAI SKRG PUN TAK TAU TSB KAA?? BOLOH. cc: Kambing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • DonkeyKong on Jan 29, 2016 at 7:11 pm

Hasn’t Proton already informed the customers that the OCH will be inspected at 40,000km and 80,000km service intervals?

• Semukhitam on Aug 07, 2023 at 11:42 am

No need to wait 40k km..my exora milage just 50+k KM…and 2nd time that OCS hose koyak within less 3k km…speechless..

• Ekzora on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Though not every CFE affected so far, failure of that part is catastrophic. A new engine may not be the worst case. What if the hose burst while on the highway at 110kmh? 4 litres of slippery oil suddenly dumped on the tarmac for unsuspecting motorists behind to face while your MPV with seized engined suddenly grind to a halt with no brake light to warn traffic behind.

• A recall cannot be so easily made cuz need cooperation from supplier. 99% of recalls are charged to them. So for sure need to pinpoint which batch is affected, unless is related to safety (ie exploding airbags).

For this failure, at most will caused the vehicle to suffer overheat and warning the driver to stop. If he still dungu, then engine kaput but still can slow down to stop.

• Ollie on Feb 03, 2016 at 2:30 pm

Utter stupidity. Defect causing you to breakdown at 12am on a highway is acceptable? Spoken like a true Proton idiot.. Oi Kambing idiot, if they are monitoring, why are they charging people for repair??

Stop your nonsense as long as my taxpayer money is being given to this sorry excuse for a car company. If they are fully independent I have no Fs given.

• anang on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:30 pm

proton forever (proton aje yang mampu dibeli)

• worldoftruth on Jan 29, 2016 at 2:36 pm

everything today are designed and made to be replaced, not to last..they can make it last, but they won’t..

• Abang…guna la besi.

• Bullshit, that’s no wear n tear. It is design defect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • alldisc on Jan 29, 2016 at 10:59 pm

Proton should have known this better. Many manufacturers are based in cold weather countries. Europe, USA, china, Japan.

Our weather is extremely hot. They are not aware of that?

• manusia pon wear n tear kawan

• Kenneth Chiam on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Unfortunately this issue happen to my Exora Bold CFE after over warranty for 1 month. Engine cooler hose leaking and cause the engine oil leaking when my mother driving. This problem cause timing belt snapped and now i have to buy a new cylinder head set, full overhaul kit for the engine and repair the Turbo cost me more than rm8000.00

MY EXORA Bold done 30k km mileages and previously did major big service from Proton service center.

NO MORE PROTON NEXT TIME and currently i own proton saga BLM and this EXORA. Proton <—disappoint brand for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Azhar on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:00 pm

Your mother is driving means she never check the engine if theres a sound coming frm engine. If a guy he will open the hood

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Ollie on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Typical Prowrong – sexist racist low-life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • Kenneth Chiam on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:16 pm

Yeah… Heard a sound from engine, car cannot move, towed back to workshop, timing belt snapped and advised wanna overhaul. RM8000 ++..That’s it.

• zaidi on Jan 29, 2016 at 3:36 pm

I’m using Exora CFE.
    I’m ok if Proton put this part as wear and tear, but please be reasonable on the price.

The hose set cost about RM400 for hose that is just about less than 1 feet and 1 inch diameter. It’s just rubber hose, not metal braided, not high temp silicon.

Even my michelin tyre is cheaper than this unreliable rubber.

I hope Proton wake up and support the users. Exora is good product, but with unreliable component, this will turn to another lemon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Comment = like

Dont scroll without bashing proton

• dali82 on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:12 pm

Sorry, this will be my last car with Proton.

• Best solution on Jan 29, 2016 at 4:50 pm

Proton should give Life Time warranty for its car. Unlimited mileage, free labour charges, free parts. Forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 29, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Why just Proton? Why not demand it from every single car manufacturer, and see who bothers entertaining this brainless request?

Purchasing a car is purchasing a liability. Every car has its risk. The manufacturer has the responsibility to sell you a decent product for the price you pay, but other than that they don’t owe you anything.

Say the same thing to anyone of the older generation who are used to driving Opel Kadetts, Mitsubishi Sigmas and Ford Escorts, and they’ll probably say you’re a dumbass faggot who doesn’t even know how to check your dipstick and brake fluid levels every weekend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Ekzora on Jan 29, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Probably has something to do with the X1R lubricant additive that every authorized Proton SC put in by defauit unless customer specifically declined. It gums up all the extra oil piping in a turbo engine.

BTW, for the Proton CFE turbo engine, manual states 10-30W engine oil. Funny thing is I have sent my Exora to 4 different Proton service centres and none stock such a multigrade. All offer Petronas Syntium 1000 if you want synthetic oil and that is 10-50w. One refuse to use Mobil 0-30w that I brought myself insisting I only use the oil they have.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 29, 2016 at 7:10 pm

That’s exactly the sort of issue that they’re looking into. Did the rubber component fail because of the usage condition (i.e accelerated wear and tear from daily traffic jams?), from the environmental conditions (heat + humidity, which also caused accelerated wear for other manufacturers’ rubber hoses), or from additives and certain lubricant brands which may contain compounds that wear out the rubber.

Only after the actual cause has been identified will it be viable to issue a recall, and provide a proper fix. If it’s an issue with material quality, e.g. rubber eroded at a rapid pace from regular elevated temperatures + humidity, it would be an easy fix. However, if it was due to externally added additives, providing a one-size-fits-all solution would be impossible and Proton can only provide higher-spec parts while insisting that the customers do not add any non-approved additives.

• Tracks on Jan 29, 2016 at 6:13 pm

I totally disagree with the CTO statement with regards to the testing. Proton is using PES or MS Engineering Specification. Both specification would include reliability and endurance testing whereby the test are conducted up to 100,000km or a stipulated time hours. Normally, testing would include high temperature test and temperature endurance test. So I don’t believe that they miss out the required testing that it would have be able to detect such a premature failure, but I maybe wrong.

The CTO also quoted “For rubber materials, it’s normally because of time and life. Like tyres, even though the threads is still present, after two years, cracks may appear on the tyre surface because the rubber has degraded.” I am not sure if anyone from the tyre manufacturing industry is in reading or not as most of them are giving 5 years manufacturing warranty. If cracks appears after 2 years from its production date and investigation shows no abuse or abnormalities, tyre manufacturer will honour the warranty claims. Bear in mind that tyre warranty claims is prorated based on the amount of thread left. Anyway, what I am trying to say is by right the rubber should not have deteriorated prematurely.

Now, someone mentioned about X1-R additives. Please check whether is any Proton Service Center still using or not. If not, try asking why?

• 1malaysia! on Jan 29, 2016 at 6:47 pm

So sorry to say….Proton nie memang taboleh pakai…..

• Unhappy Proton Owner on Jan 29, 2016 at 11:10 pm

It’s okay to classified it as wear and tear but for me it is ridiculous as mine happen after 1 week of collecting the car. last proton car for me

• wwalabi on Jan 30, 2016 at 9:45 am

For a person in his position, it is downright stupid and unprofessional comment. His ass should be fired.

• Rwong on Jan 30, 2016 at 10:07 am

Had a wira. Good car. Had a waja. Nightmare. Avoided Proton for some time. Then tried Exora. Again nightmare. Turbo hose pecah, back windscreen pecah for no reason, oil valve change, terrible soundproofing, bad cvt (compared to my hcity), now aircon bunyi. Only 50K mileage now. I want to support Proton but tell me HOW?

• hafiz on Jan 30, 2016 at 4:34 pm

We want action no talk. How come this problem started with exora… Then Proton still come out new design car after that..preve..Suprima..using same defect part. How come just a part problem .. Taking so so long to solve and 2 car model can come out without solution. Not cheap to replace. Almost 1k the part only.. Not include labour. Plus some car need major overhaul.. Which cost more then 2k. Poor using proton car. Poor Proton buyer..same as me.. Been fool by Proton since my first savvy.

• Google “Motor company cover up” and you get plenty of results. Recall happens all the time so it’s ridiculous seeing some people here thinking only Proton having this problem. So immature.

• bking rider on Oct 22, 2018 at 8:14 am

i sometimes drive my wife preve cfe..its a good car,the handling at speed is surprising good.it doesnt drink petrol long distance,town driving is slightly thirsty if i may say so…
    got no complain at all except dumbfounded why PROTON took too long to acknowledge the issue of oil cooler hose…it is of inferior quality..if want to save cost dont do it on important or critical component sir..i was told it was suppled by a local vendor.
    my wife’ car had its hose burst twice.the first one was as early at abt 40,000km….i was really pissed this….though its a good car we will never support proton ever again…our next car wont be a proton..
    fyi,a recall letter was received early 2016, too late if i may add..i do know of at least two cars that have wrecked engine due to sudden loss of engine oil….it doesnt leak brother,it just spill everything,thats what a burst oil hose does !