Uber driver service now in Ipoh, fourth city in Malaysia

Uber-Ipoh

Uber is now in Ipoh, the fourth city in Malaysia that the private driver app service is operating in. The company, which is fast expanding despite opposition from certain quarters, has announced that Uber cars will be available in Perak’s capital city from February 1 to 28.

“We know that many of you will be travelling back to your hometowns over this period, and Uber is here to provide you with a smarter mobility option, and alleviate the increased burden of congestion, parking and also reducing the risk of drink driving incidents,” said Uber in a statement.

Uber-Ipoh-Fare

“Uber’s goal is to provide safe, affordable, reliable transportation at the push of a button, everywhere for everyone. This is true not just in the bustling city centre of our nation’s capital, but also in suburban areas and smaller cities which lack a formal public transit infrastructure and which have for decades been underserved by existing transportation options,” it added.

The fares are listed above. Uber cautions that availability may be limited initially and waits might be longer than usual as the service is just hitting the streets in Ipoh. Take me to Kong Heng, please.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Suber on Jan 29, 2016 at 7:07 pm

How come Ipoh base fare is higher than KL one? Per minute higher too? KL partners kena con

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 30, 2016 at 8:41 am

I would assume this is because they anticipate less UBER drivers available, which means drivers may travel a longer distance to get to you, and that the trips are shorter in distance and in time taken (no jam).

• Muahahaha! on Jan 30, 2016 at 10:01 am

Go go go Uber…. Our taxi services are worst in the world and its controlled by nasi lemak management… Lets demolish them forever ever!

• Brian on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:42 pm

We 3 brothers are looking for a reasonably priced car and driver to take us to see the Kinta sights for half a day in the next few days (13-16 Feb’16). Any willing drivers out there? Can you give me a price for say 4 hour trip.

• Hi whr is ipoh uber office?

• Jeyasingam Ratnasingam on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Good morning.

Is Uber already operating in Ipoh as I am contemplating in hiring for a trip from home in Meru Gerbanh Indah, Ipoh to the Ipoh Airport on 1st March 2016 with a return trip on 3.3.2016.

Could you give an estimated cost so that I can do a cost comparison with a normal taxi.

Is there a telephone # I can call to inquire.

Thank you and Kind regards
    Jeya

• how ah meng on May 22, 2016 at 9:14 pm

Please may I know your contact number so that I can call grab car service when need arise.Tq

• Meng wei on Jun 06, 2016 at 6:45 pm

Good

• SHILA on Jul 19, 2016 at 11:38 am

Hi Happy day
    i just want to know about the service i need the service from Kuala Sepetang to Ipoh airport.
    can i know about the fare as soon as possible
    i need the service on 24 july 2016 morning or can contact me at this number 05 2438 388 thank you so much. i hope you guys will call me as soon as possible.

• Tharma on Apr 21, 2017 at 5:05 pm

From Greentown to jalan kuala kangsar

• Isra Weeraratna on Apr 22, 2017 at 9:48 pm

It is very good news for me about Uber operated in Ipoh because I have a plan to go to Ipoh by bus from KL this coming July and was wondering that how canI go to hoel from Armanjaya bus terminal. Last month I used service from Uber from Melaka Sentral to hotel in and out and very appriciated . Looking foreward to riding Uber car in Ipoh this July