Honda Thailand celebrates Civic heritage in a video – 10th-generation FC mentioned as coming soon

Well, the build-up to the introduction of then 10th-generation Honda Civic in Thailand has begun – Honda Thailand has come up with a heritage video celebrating the previous nine generations of the Civic, with a mention at the end that the tenth is coming soon.

Initially unveiled in the US in September 2015, the C-segment offering was caught testing in the Kingdom as early as November last year, and was again sighted on Thai roads last month.

Thailand isn’t the only hub of regional activity where the new FC is concerned. Earlier today, it was reported that the car – and more importantly, the automaker’s 1.5 litre turbocharged engine – is undergoing trials in Indonesia.

2016 Honda Civic Sedan

In the US, the 1.5 litre turbo unit delivers 174 hp at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm from 1,800 to 5,000 rpm. There’s also a 2.0 litre, naturally-aspirated, four-cylinder engine, that one offering 158 hp and 187 Nm of torque. Both mills are paired with an updated CVT automatic transmission.

According to an Indonesian source familiar with the matter, the turbo is due to be sold in the republic, and closer to home, we understand that the 1.5 turbo has been earmarked for deployment in Malaysia. Word on the grapevine also suggests that the 2.0 litre unit is also set to feature locally, but no idea as to how the engines will sit in relation to variants in the model range. Guess we’ll know soon enough.

For now, enjoy the nostalgia – which was your favourite Civic, the one you “grew up with” and the one you wanted? No need to be shy, most of us have probably wanted one of the oldies before!

GALLERY: Tenth-generation Honda Civic (FC)

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Civic X on Feb 02, 2016 at 5:46 pm

May Civic X 1.5T be my baby ‘old’ memory

• Zoom Zoom on Feb 02, 2016 at 6:36 pm

Wow launching in Thai soon. quite fast..

9th Generation launched in Thai on 21/5/12 and Msia on 1/7/12 which is less than 3 Months. Hopefully Msia will get this new 1.5T Civic by June 16..

• Any idea what will happen with current unsold civic model once this new model launched? Sell for extra discount?

• Anyone know what will happen with current unsold civic model once this new model launched? Will it sell for extra discount?

• jinggo on Feb 02, 2016 at 7:10 pm

Berapa harga ini civic?

• horrayooi on Feb 02, 2016 at 7:58 pm

At least it have proper temperature gauge not like City which only have blue and red idiot lights and only activate when it reaches certain temperature. Not very practical for drivers. How much can the car manufacturer save on a simple temperature gauge. They ( manufacturers ) have some kind of conspiracies or agreements. Vios which is of same segment also don’t have temperarue gauges. Hope those stupid idiot automotive engineers who design car instrument dashboard read this. Bring back the temperature gauge. Not idiot lights.

• Proton TGDi 180HP 250NM
    Good job Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
  • Syukur lah.

• plainbullshit on Feb 03, 2016 at 9:44 am

Don’t you worry, I have credible source that Honda Malaysia 100% will bring in the all new Earth Dream 1.5 turbo by this year. They really want kill the Altis once and for all.

• sohhai on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:41 am

Then Honda Malaysia also need to bring in the EDT 2.0 DI engines with 6 speed/CVT to kill the Camry once and for all

• plainbullshit on Feb 03, 2016 at 2:33 pm

I don’t think Honda will bring in the EDT 2.0 DI engines because that will affect the sales for Honda Accord as well.
        At the end, it is just business.

• bullet on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:04 am

The Gen 4 Civic – 2 doors (bullet) was one of my favorite. In the early 90s, I drove in one of the civic bullet around in Kota Bharu and what a feeling it was at that time…It was and still is a legend he he he…

• FD2 still the best…
    CVT transmission ? aiyoo..spoil the whole picture

• 4 year life span only for FB? They are getting crazier.
    Later it wont be impossible if they replace model after 2 years only.

• symusty on Feb 04, 2016 at 10:15 am

I’ve seen the new Civic here in NA. Sat inside it.

If its anything like that, I’ll be impressed.