2013-2016 Mazda CX-5 recalled in US over faulty fuel filler pipe, stop sale issued, M’sian cars unaffected

2015-cx-5_2014-laas_eu_exterior_2

Mazda has issued a recall along with a stop-sale order on all 2013-2016 Mazda CX-5 SUVs in North America. The automaker recently filed a safety defect report with the United States’ National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, indicating a concern that the fuel filler pipe could rupture in the event of a rear collision.

This could cause a fuel leakage, and subsequently a fire. However, there are currently no reports of accidents or injuries resulting from the defect. The recall is said to affect over 404,000 vehicles in the US and Canada, although no repair details have been provided.

Mazda’s recall campaign appears to be done voluntarily, and does not appear to be incited by any NHTSA investigation. Closer to home, Malaysian CX-5 owners are not affected by this recall, according to Bermaz.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Aaron on Feb 02, 2016 at 5:10 pm

HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAH lol

• hahaha on Feb 02, 2016 at 6:59 pm

Malaysia best in the world!!!

No recall ever needed.

• Yes, something is fishy.
        it seem our product is batter in quality than the USA hahaha but some of our car fail in door handle & power window.

• Ali Karim on Feb 03, 2016 at 5:50 pm

The U.S. enforces various strict requirement to penetrate their market. It is due to where reactions from salt used in melting snow on the road can come into contact with suspension and engine parts has high potential to cause rusting and/or oxidization to pipe joints and power terminals risking leaks/sparks/fire.

In the above case, Mazda may have detected some reactions to cars produced for U.S. market and taking appropriate measures. In the meantime, it is very likely that cars in some other countries (like Malaysia) don’t have snow and so far there has not been any case of oxidization on the pipe joints that warrants a recall.

• Ali Karim on Feb 03, 2016 at 5:50 pm

The U.S. enforces various strict requirement to penetrate their market. It is due to where reactions from salt used in melting snow on the road can come into contact with suspension and engine parts has high potential to cause rusting and/or oxidization to pipe joints and power terminals risking leaks/sparks/fire.

In the above case, Mazda may have detected some reactions to cars produced for U.S. market and taking appropriate measures. In the meantime, it is very likely that cars in some other countries (like Malaysia) don’t have snow and so far there has not been any case of oxidization on the pipe joints that warrants a recall.

• Just heard about a womans ford focus sport in accidentally crushed her 4 year old daughter. I dont reaaly know the details but i do know that fords dct is incredibly jerky. Will this be enough evidence to push ford to fix the dct??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Not a huge shock considering umw is also reluctant at making recalls

• George Abdul on Feb 02, 2016 at 5:15 pm

USA sikit-sikit recall, back in Malaysia aka Bolehland even NCAP scandal still can continue sell car like nothing happen… don’t even mention recall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 35
    • Becoz in amerika its legal to saman even when u bodoh like sue ur parents for gip birth to u in wrong country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 63
      • George Abdul on Feb 02, 2016 at 7:03 pm

No wonder your parents were so sad have a son like u… Please take care of your parents more instead being retarded john BN cyber troopers !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 28
        • at least I dun have to butthurt like u (literally & figuratively) :-P

• Gerald, any news for 2015 facelift. CKD version?

• khairul on Feb 02, 2016 at 7:38 pm

I’ve booked CX-5 Facelift, salesman said the CKD facelift version will be available comes March 2016

• in b4 only in Amerika cuz the part is locally made in USA.

• Syukur lah.

• farghmee on Feb 02, 2016 at 6:14 pm

hmmm….what makes the US cx-5 parts differ form My?

• Their powerful Persatuan Pengguna..

• More like their money-sniffing lawyer sharks. As long as they get 10% cut from compensation they will fight ur case

• Atilla on Feb 02, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Hehe Malaysian-based units are always unaffected. No wonder some people perasan thinking their brand is the most perfect car maker in the world.

• pk252c on Feb 02, 2016 at 10:41 pm

Malaysian always getting world class cars regardless of brands… Shall we be proud of automakers in Malaysia?

• Azhar on Feb 03, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Dun worry. All cx-5 in excellent condition