Proton’s GDI/TGDI engines will not replace CamPro

Proton’s announcement of its upcoming new engine line-up has made many curious on the future of its current CamPro engines. The engine first debuted on the Gen2 in 2004, and since then, has received a series of updates leading right up to the VVT mill found in the Iriz. With more than a decade of employment, the engine’s continued existence is heavily dependant on market conditions, according to Proton chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa.

“As you know, [Proton’s new GDI and TGDI engines] will not work with fuels with excessively low RON ratings because it is a very efficient engine,” he said. “So it’s dependent on the market. There are other considerations like cost and what not. With countries that have lower regulatory requirements and are more cost sensitive, the VVT [engine] will be most suitable for that market.” It has to be mentioned, however, that the new direct-injection engines will still be able to run on RON 95 petrol.

Rashid added that conversely, countries with higher regulatory requirements and higher emissions standards like the forthcoming Euro 6c standard will require the use of the new GDI and TGDI mills. “So that’s the reason why we are not scrapping [CamPro], as it depends on the market we are entering and its suitability – be it in terms of technology or cost – so we need to have the solution for both.

“Therefore, we need to address the market accurately rather than just sell what we have. If the target market is more sensitive to price, then we need to offer the appropriate technology that is most competitive and attractively priced compared to the new technology,” he said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• hailthepurist on Feb 03, 2016 at 5:56 pm

‘Cam tak Pro’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 18
    • George Abdul on Feb 03, 2016 at 7:18 pm

To Proton BOD’S: If continue use Campro as Proton car engine in coming future…. get ready to “close shop and gets left behind in local (Malaysia) market again” !!! Please treat your own customer in Malaysia “Rakyat” BETTER !!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
      • lilytan on Feb 04, 2016 at 11:30 am

Moral of the story: Countries with higher regulatory requirements and higher emissions standards like euro, aussie and singapore will get GDI and TGDI. Countries with lower regulatory requirements and lower emissions standards like Malaysia and Indonesia will stick with campro. History will repeat itself as Malaysian will again eat protons scraps.

• Sam Loo on Feb 04, 2016 at 10:06 am

U see? local market still use campro, overseas market GDI & TGDI engine..
      So go for Toyota.. Toyota got VVT-i! Good RV.. mark my word!

• proton? on Feb 03, 2016 at 6:02 pm

“If the target market is more sensitive to price, then we need to offer the appropriate technology”

i bet the protons with GDI engine will cost the same as imported cars

• Rinnegan on Feb 03, 2016 at 6:32 pm

@proton? :- I also bet that you never read any of those self-help motivational books.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • shawal on Feb 03, 2016 at 6:02 pm

I think it is best that proton try to recapture home ground first, then think elsewhere

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • I agree, that’s at least a basic strategy they have to learn.

• we will not get the timing chain..

• Albert on Feb 03, 2016 at 6:22 pm

still want to keep the outdated noisy,lousy,underperforming Campro?
    Proton ‘s last car on bankruptcy day will still be fitted with this NOBODY WANTS ANTIQUE engine.
    Somepeople are so nostalgic.They cant see recession is looming,and the buying frenzy has died.
    2016 will be triple depresssing,not doubly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
    • Ur god kompeni 1NZ-FE is in use for 3 vios generation and will still in use until 4040 u dun complain? topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 20
      • George Abdul on Feb 03, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Go tell your cronies UMW boss and ajib that support AP owners !!! GO and don’t waste on your parent time rasing you as lousy BN supporter !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
        • But hohh, why najib-crony naza can gip value for money peugeots & kias, why najib-crony P1 can gip majority cars with value for money, why najib-crony honda can gip city E above with value for money? Is it cuz UMW knows Party Hard will suppork them and make toyota official cars? So meaning UMW toyota is Party Hard-crony is it?
          So why dun u ask ur PH crony kompeni to at least gip safety for Vios G and above, hmm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Plain Man on Apr 20, 2016 at 4:59 am

Send your car to Zordaq for full power and response enhancement.
      Now feel the underpowered CamPro to alive, responsive engine

• firdaus on Feb 03, 2016 at 6:22 pm

‘received a series of updates leading right up to the VVT mill found in the Iriz’

if i remember correctly, it was on this website that was reported that the IRIZ engine is totally new from head to toe….!!!!

and i commented that this is a load of bull!!
    now, who’s right?
    it was campro all along!
    even this gdi is a campro engine!!
    wanna bet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
    • Mimau on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:20 pm

You are hallucinating. CFE and it’s cousin NFE(VVT) was never reported as “all-new” engine. It’s still a heavily updated Campro architecture.

• Petrodollar on Feb 03, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Don’t be surprised if Proton will sell its local customers with Cam-X-Pro while overseas market will get all the tgdi & gdi engine with better built quality car for overseas market as what had happened in the past..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Aero (Member) on Feb 03, 2016 at 7:01 pm

What Proton can do with the old CamPro family is to license its production to Chinese, Indian or South American car companies. Proton will make millions in royalty payments.

Engine licensing is something Mitsubishi is very, VERY good at. They are smart, they use their newer, more advanced engines in their own cars, and they license their old engines to other companies. Countless brand new Chinese cars today have old Mitsubishi engines, most of which are built under license in China. Previously, Hyundai used Mitsubishi engines too, as late as the 1990s.

Proton has licensed their CamPro engine to Youngman in the past, for use in Youngman’s rebadged GEN-2 and Persona models, as well as Youngman’s own self-designed models (which used a modified GEN-2 platform). However, I don’t know if Youngman actually built the CamPro engines in China, I’m guessing not.

Proton still makes the GEN-2 in left-hand drive for select export markets. In 2015, over 500 fresh GEN-2s were built. Apparently, the Egyptian and Turkish Proton dealers keep asking for more GEN-2s and Personas (both LHD), so Proton still produces the GEN-2 exclusively for export, three years after they discontinued it locally. However, I believe Youngman went bankrupt in 2015, as there is no news whatsoever from them… and Proton has already found another Chinese partner (Goldstar).

The CamPro engine still has a lot of potential. Proton can still improve it and continue to produce the range as a low-cost option for poverty-spec models. Just look at the Rover K-Series engine… it is ancient (since the 1980s), but it’s been fine tuned over the decades and still made today (in China of course).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • Puuuiiiiii on Feb 03, 2016 at 7:16 pm

In layman terms “we dump CamTakPRO engine into 3rd world countries like Malaysia”..mcm meludah ke atas langit kena muka sindili

• Absolute Rider on Feb 03, 2016 at 7:43 pm

Proton,
    just make sure you fit all the GDI and TGDI new engines in your Proton cars starting end of 2017 and also for Malaysian! … not only for export.

I’m waiting for 1.5L TGDI very early of 2018 and with introduction of brand new hatch or hot hatch!

• Congratulations Malaysian!!! The report at the above is actually telling me that, Proton will still use CAMPRO for local productions.

• Jing Jing on Feb 03, 2016 at 7:58 pm

sekalang anjing pun kencing kat kete foreign… Animals oso know how to choose beta quality cars… So i hope proton and perodua close shop soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Plainbullshit on Feb 03, 2016 at 8:16 pm

I am pretty sure everyone will ask Proton to fk off if they dare to supply old engine to local when the new engine is out.

• Sometimes I wonder if people even read the article before they comment.

• Really on Feb 03, 2016 at 9:40 pm

So, you have met the resident Proton bashers?

• Basher rules to follow:
      If its P1, just bash
      If its made in malaysia, just bash
      If any gud new in malaysia, just bash

Bash dulu, bash sekalang, bash selamanya

• WT Fuchh on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:07 pm

Lousy engine did not get replaced. Lousy pm also not replaced. …..Good MB get replace….Malaysia boleh…loh!!

• U mean gud MB like Khalid Ibrahim? Party Hard bole lor! Hidup Party Hard! I lup Party Hard!

• Fairshare on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:17 pm

BMW service interval 20K km.
    VW service interval 15K km.
    Proton service interval 10K km.
    Japanese brands service interval 5K km.
    Proton with new engine GDI/TGDI will have service interval 20K km.
    People thinks japanese brands car are reliable, it is a myth, they need 5K km service interval.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • autodriver (Member) on Feb 04, 2016 at 9:26 am

Japanese car already in 10k km service interval started few years ago. They give option to driver to choose either 5k km (semi synthetic) or 10k km (fully synthetic).

For reliable wise Japanese brands still ahead of Proton definitely. But in term of safety feature and chassis strength then Proton is better than many Japanese brands.

• which japanese car got service interval 5k km? major brand such as honda,nissan,toyota got 10k km interval..perodua also..can u give us the price for 20k km oil?

• Ariff Azam on Apr 20, 2016 at 4:51 am

Read manual carefully. At any time ambient temp is 32c, the japs car manufacturers recommend to do oil change every 5000Km

• Are there any group of people uses these Proton engine on 20K interval?

• Tuan Muda Azrie on Feb 04, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Sy pakai persona sv manual,guna semi-synthetic Castrol Magnatec..12,500km bru tukar,lupa nk service…slalu service 10,000km,skrg dh 62,000km odo…masih ok,pakai Primax95 dlm 600km dpt pegi ulang alik tmpat keja 96km sehari…

• 20k km service interval by bmw is what caused some of its cars have sludge problems.

• Mimau on Feb 03, 2016 at 10:31 pm

Basically Campro will be a cheap low-end option in markets with not-so-strict emissions regulations. I have to say it’s a good move. There’s still many ppl that just want a simple car and don’t give much shit about emissions.

• all bashes here talk cock only. whatever proton produce even quality like Rolls Royce price like Axia they will continue to bash because their already paid to be Red Bean army lah! Bash forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • kinokuniyah on Feb 04, 2016 at 7:30 pm

hahahahahah…..last time Campro engine….but nothing Pro whatsoever….Only the car has this sticker at the bootlid.

This time, Proton’s GDI might not have GDI.

Engine kosong, tipu only….

• Ariff Azam on Apr 20, 2016 at 4:47 am

I am proud owner of CamPro.
    Powerful after fine tuning.
    Loves the cps version.
    I hate the vvt cfe engine. Rubbish, unable to fine tune.

Those yang tech savvy, tak belajar habis.
    Direct injection tak ada lubricating and cleaning properties pada valve.
    Bad for air flow.

Vvt adjuating timing secara bodoh.
    So, to the die hard fan tech savvy yang terlalu suka engine baru, teknologi baru, again I am a proud owner of CamPro S4PH 4L/100Km mixed city and highway.
    Capable of going 220Kmh easily.
    Easily left behind Toyota, Honda in terms of power and handling.
    Belum forced induction, belum 2.0L lagi.

I love Proton after fine tuned,
    I love the old CamPro CPS.

Latest tech just being latest, does not mean better.