VIDEO: Lotus Evora 400 taken to the limit in Malaysia

Evora 400 vs Exige S – 31 January 2016

Who says you can’t drift with an automatic transmission? Gavan Kershaw (Evora 400) and Tengku Djan – Prince of Drift (Exige S Auto) prove it's possible as they battle it out at the Speedway PLUS Go-Kart Circuit! #LotusCarsMalaysia #PureDriving

Posted by Lotus Cars Malaysia on Wednesday, 3 February 2016

The Lotus Evora 400 only just made its launch debut here in Malaysia. However, Lotus Malaysia, along with its loyal customers from the Lotus Official Club Malaysia (LOCM), wasted no time in bringing the car out for a shakedown with a drive up to Genting Highlands, followed by some sideways action at the Speedway PLUS go-kart circuit.

With British racing driver Gavan Kershaw behind the wheel of a bright yellow Evora 400, and Malaysian Prince of Drift Tengku Djan Ley piloting an Exige S, the pair led the members of LOCM on a scenic drive up to Genting Highlands. Although both cars featured automatic transmissions (a bane for purists, apparently), the second part of the outing would quell any notion that “automatics can’t drift”.

Evora 400's First Genting Drive

Here's a video of the Evora 400's first drive up to Genting for your viewing pleasure! Special thanks to GoPro Malaysia for providing their equipment for this special event! #MYEvora400

Posted by Lotus Cars Malaysia on Tuesday, 2 February 2016

At the Speedway PLUS go-kart circuit, both Kershaw and Tengku Djan unleashed their inner “hoonigan” by making their way around the track mostly sideways, accompanied by the sweet sound of tortured rubber and loads of tyre smoke. If that isn’t enough, we get to hear the Evora 400’s free-flow exhaust system in all its glory, while the Exige S put on a good show as well.

If the videos have got you all fired up to own a Lotus, particularly the Evora 400, Lotus Malaysia is offering a discount to the first 30 buyers of said car, with the base manual model going for RM539,999 and the base automatic at RM552,999. All models are powered by an uprated 3.5 litre V6 that produces 400 hp (55 hp more than the Evora S) and 410 Nm of torque.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• who cares on Feb 04, 2016 at 4:13 pm

Good example set to all of us, now we can speeding up the Genting. Who cares the safety of other drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Lotus dashboard a bit like Saga, LOLX

• The Truth About Lotus on Feb 04, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Lotus and Proton are irresponsible comapnies. Encouraging people to speed and race up Genting. Djan and Kershaw also both highly irresposible to encourage Lotus/Proton stupidity. Now the Kesas Mat Rempits will think this is cool

Honestly the LOCM also syiok sendiri. They think spending Rm550k on a car with a Toyota engine is such an achievement and want to show they have made it.

Can I remind you guys one thing, Lotus died 20 years ago lah. Lotus had its glory when the Lotus Esprit Turbo was famous, and it was everybody’s pin up poster, after that, Lotus became a Pariah. Every car after that failed.

And then, when Malaysia bought Lotus, somemore it become a pariah. And to make matters worse, when Proton bought Lotus, Lotus really died.

Now, Lotus is just a syiok sendiri car company for Proton to fool the kampung people by putting emblems on their Protons saying “Engineered by Lotus”. This creates a gian and syiok amongst the Proton buyers.

But in truth, Lotus is just loss making with ZERO tech and ZERO results. Proton has benefitted from ZERO tech transfer from Lotus and Lotus is just a big drain on Proton and our LHDN money which indirectly goes to Lotus through Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 54
      • Dato, no nd to pusing2 la, why aston martin db9, jaguar, range rover, toyota mr2, de lorean, tesla roadster, chevrolet corvette n even nissan GTR co-develop w lotus engineering oo?

• Toyota Engine Crap on Feb 05, 2016 at 8:52 am

Only a bodoh will buy a Lotus when you can get a good 2007 Ferrari F430 for RM400k now.

• stasta on Feb 05, 2016 at 2:40 pm

ferrarri 430 starts from 600k

• 2006 Ferrari F430 - RM390k on Feb 08, 2016 at 12:56 pm

I am negotiating for a 2006 F430, accident free for RM390k. Go to mudah and see lah, all prices are about RM420k and above

• Ferrari crap on Apr 10, 2016 at 10:25 am

F430 only for stupid drivers….this lotus was a bit faster than the ferrari mentioned and its quite ugly for me….seriously….n lotus got better rv too

• alex chan on Feb 05, 2016 at 9:00 am

so much negative aura..so much lie from one keyboard warrior that repeatedly lie by using different name to post the repeated posts..hahaha
        must be salesperson from the competitor .
        i believe most people who drives continental cars wont have times to read the long winding negative comments.
        They are wise enough to understand what they want and product quality.
        your comments are not true and telling lies wont help your company to achieve more sales.
        making bad stories (lie) to influence others will not be a success due to this category of people will practically go for a test drive and decide.
        We rakyat can see clearly that it is the same person using different names and repeatedly post the same big lie stories. We are not dumb like you.
        Which ever car news or certain brand, this same person will post & repeat & post and spreading lies and stories of his fren lah,,uncle lah..neighbour`s grandmom step son lah..
        Please lah stop. We rakyat can easily recognise you.
        more constructive comments are most welcome and DONT keep bad mouthing and telling lies of other brand for the sake of your company sales.
        God bless your company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • only fraud is you brother. Alex Chan who cut and paste everywhere defending his company but pretend to write long long to manipulate people

• At least they did the drift on a circuit, not on a public road like u-know-who

• 2008 Porsche Carrera S - Rm220k on Feb 04, 2016 at 4:55 pm

I advice all those clowns wanting to buy this RM550k junk, pls go buy a Porsche Carrera S. A real sports car.

Now you can get a great 2008 Porsche Carrera S for RM220k. Low mileage and well maintained. Then you will save RM330k cash from buying the junk Lotus.

As the Porsche has already depreciated from its RM1 million price tag, you can use the car few years and still sell it for Rm150k after 3 or 4 years.

The Lotus, you buy today RM550k, next year, you sell also, to get RM200k also is like a lottery!

And don’t forget, which car you can pull girls, Porsche or Lotus? Ask any girl what is Lotus, they will tell you it is a restaurant in Jalan Gasing PJ.

Ask any girl what is a Porsche, they will tell you that you are cool!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 34
    • montana on Feb 04, 2016 at 10:16 pm

this evora will make your carrera s feels like mpv on the track

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Toyota Engine Crap on Feb 05, 2016 at 8:55 am

Go to autotrader in the UK. Go and see how many Lotus on sale there. You will get shocked. Only a few units. you know why, people in UK and Europe don’t buy Lotus anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • damian on Feb 06, 2016 at 12:28 am

I’m from Europe, UK. The sales figures of lotus have grown recently. Though the company is still in debt, but strongest sales figures in recent years don’t lie and lotus is coming back.

• Lotus salesman Damian from Malaysia! Thank you!

• alex chan on Feb 05, 2016 at 9:03 am

so much negative aura..so much lie from one keyboard warrior that repeatedly lie by using different name to post the repeated posts..hahaha
      must be salesperson from the competitor .
      i believe most people who drives continental cars wont have times to read the long winding negative comments.
      They are wise enough to understand what they want and product quality.
      your comments are not true and telling lies wont help your company to achieve more sales.
      making bad stories (lie) to influence others will not be a success due to this category of people will practically go for a test drive and decide.
      We rakyat can see clearly that it is the same person using different names and repeatedly post the same big lie stories. We are not dumb like you.
      Which ever car news or certain brand, this same person will post & repeat & post and spreading lies and stories of his fren lah,,uncle lah..neighbour`s grandmom step son lah..
      Please lah stop. We rakyat can easily recognise you.
      more constructive comments are most welcome and DONT keep bad mouthing and telling lies of other brand for the sake of your company sales.
      God bless your company.

• montana on Feb 05, 2016 at 11:02 am

Are u mean vios is much better car than ferrari as there a lots on motortrader ??serously??get a review from purest motorsport blog.see what profesional driver rate about evora,exige s

• stasta on Feb 05, 2016 at 2:41 pm

u must be retarded to compare a brand new car with a 7 year old car.

• proton = tons of problems on Feb 04, 2016 at 5:25 pm

i prefer gtr

• kinokuniyah on Feb 04, 2016 at 7:20 pm

552k for this outdated dinosour???

Why is it that anything related to Proton, surely takboleh pakai one???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • holofanboi on Feb 04, 2016 at 7:26 pm

I just do not get what is with this egoistical attitude regarding manual vs automatic. Who says one won’t be able to have fun in any transmission?

I myself am able to drift perfectly regardless of 90 degree angles or to make 180 turns. And I attribute that to the simple operation of the transmission. Yes, I am THAT GOOD….With my Crazy Cart :P.

For those wondering, it costed me approx ~3.5k including customs duty :/. My bad for ordering just before xmas -.-. Aih.

• Where are you chris harris on Feb 04, 2016 at 7:40 pm

Excellent handling with pure involvement in driving! Lotus is always the car for purists. Love it!

• This video is just to demonstrate the performance of the car. I dont know whats wrong with you people..whenever u see a Malaysian based/link company, the first thought is by giving negative comment blindly. If they make a video to demonstrate performance, u people say Lotus not responsible..Proton this..Proton that..Proton close shop..Lotus promote street racing..WTF man??!!But when it comes to Toyota Vios commercial video on TV..u worship like its ur god..i cant brain this type of people. This type of people shouldnt talk about automotive at all.

• Lotus fanboys are an endangered species now.

• Malaysians are so stupid to buy a toy car like this for Rm600k. Pakai hotak lah Malaysians. Dia bikin kereta ini pun tak sampai US$20k. Habis nak jual RM600k

• leonardo on Feb 05, 2016 at 11:27 am

John, care to share how you came up With the figure of US20k to build the car?

• salim on Feb 05, 2016 at 9:41 am

The time is right to hive off this company.
    Sell while its on the road to recovery rather than when its bleeding.
    Proton needs to bring in new investors with new ideas and at the same time a better direction.

• Another moving coffin.

• Mr. Kershaw smoked Tengku…^^