Police identify 20 accident hotspots in Klang Valley

Crash-accident-collision

The police has listed 20 accident hotspot locations in the Klang Valley – where crashes involving deaths or serious injuries frequently occur – for motorists to look out for, reported The Sun.

The locations, which Kuala Lumpur deputy police chief DCP Datuk Law Soon Hong said had the highest accident rates according to statistics and figures, include:

• Middle Ring Road 2 (MRR2)
  • Sprint Highway
  • Jalan Kuching
  • Jalan Loke Yew
  • Jalan Cheras
  • Besraya Highway
  • Jalan Tun Razak
  • Jalan Duta
  • Jalan Ipoh
  • KL-Seremban highway
  • Jalan Klang Lama
  • DUKE Highway
  • Jalan Kepong
  • Jalan Ampang
  • Jalan Segambut
  • Jalan Genting Klang
  • Jalan Pudu
  • KESAS Highway
  • Jalan Sungai Besi
  • Federal Highway

“Motorcyclists were the most common cause of fatal accidents followed by failure to pay attention while driving,” Law said. “Last year, a total of 120 accidents were recorded compared to 119 in 2014 at the hotspots.”

He added that the Chinese New Year Ops Selamat 8/2016 will continue until February 16 – with at least 300 traffic police officers being deployed in the city.

Law also said that a total of 489,543 summonses were issued for traffic offences last year, amounting to RM9.7 million. “We plan to come down hard on those who violate traffic laws including imposing maximum fines,” he added.

Meanwhile, members of the public who are returning to their hometowns this Chinese New Year were advised to fill up the Balik Kampung information form and submit it to the nearest police station – according to Law, the information could assist the police in monitoring the areas concerned.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Perodua close shop will immediately reduce numbers of accidents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • hahaha on Feb 05, 2016 at 11:34 am

mean comment on the surface but if you take it in a light hearted manner, its funny!

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 06, 2016 at 12:05 am

With the junk proton, you are subject to anywhere anytime accident due to break down. Don’t play play with Proton quality.

• Rakyat also identify 200 donation hotspot locations set up by Polis trafik, JPJ & PDRM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • Tak buat salah, tak payahlah nak donate. RBA bodoh piang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
        • stasta on Feb 11, 2016 at 4:33 pm

forgot that your boss is the pro master of donation. so how much of his 2.6 billion did he donate to u to become his cyber trooper?

• UMW toyota too. But cannot, later Party Hard no more official car supplier. Then they will Bersih again cuz no car to use

• stasta on Feb 11, 2016 at 4:35 pm

there is always other alternatives like naza, Honda, mazda. oh wait all alternatives are also BN cronies.

• aiyooo on Feb 05, 2016 at 10:17 am

basically all major roads are accident hotspots. The police should elaborate further by specifying specific areas along those roads/highways that motorist should be more careful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Bodoh Bodoh Bodoh PDRM on Feb 05, 2016 at 10:21 am

PDRM say Motorcycle is most common cause of fatal accidents but when polis see motorbike beating red light, they just smile. So many 4 way junctions, sometimes manned by 4 or 5 PDRM officers, see every minute motorbike beating the red light but all make don’t know

So many major accidents happen becaus eof PDRM keeping quiet about motorbies beating lights.

Even their super crony AES, costing RM1 million per camera also, just saman cars. Motorbikes who beat AES lights, nothing happen to them.

And now the bodoh Polis come here and tell this. Sendiri tak buat kerja, then come here and syiok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • I couldn’t agree more to your statement. I always use federal and kl-seremban highways and motorcyclist ride very recklessly. However i am pretty sure those cameras would not catch them. DO SOMETHING TO FIX MOTORCYCLIST ACCIDENTS WHO ACCOUNTS FOR MORE THAN HALF OF OUR ROAD ACCIDENTS DEADS!!! DON’T CONSTANTLY PUNISH CAR DRIVERS WHO GOES 95KM/H AT 90KM/H SPEED LIMITS!!!

• hahaha on Feb 05, 2016 at 11:36 am

stop selling them 50-150cc motorcycles…?

• Be considerate on Feb 05, 2016 at 6:15 pm

What a stupid idea. Of course most of the motorcyclist in Malaysia speeds in between cars. Some are slow. But how do you expect them to ride in a road full of vehicle?Drive slowly behind car?
          Also dont forget some of the car driver are changing lane without giving any signals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Sammy Zaik Loo on Feb 05, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Car drivers changing lane without giving any signals… Their head seriously need to receive few full swings of helmet.

• Fat Panda on Feb 05, 2016 at 10:51 am

Yesterday I spotted a public bus using the emergency lane and true enough, there’s a few polis stopping motorists breaking the law and “saman” those drivers.

When the polis saw the bus, they just wave the bus to go through. So, what does this tell me ? Are the polis really issuing summons or just doing you know I know kinda stuff.

This is on kl-seremban highway near sg besi.

• applegreen on Feb 05, 2016 at 10:53 am

PDRM also dont want to use new road name. New road name (sultan etc etc) are confusing isnt it?

• Atilla on Feb 05, 2016 at 10:53 am

I see. So the busiest roads are the most accident prone areas. No one would have guessed that.

• bjsdas on Feb 05, 2016 at 10:56 am

how do you crash on jalan tun razak and jalan ampang when 24hrs the roads are jammed?

• camtakpro on Feb 05, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Economy bad, instead of blacklisted + car lelong, just accident and insurance total lost.

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Feb 05, 2016 at 6:43 pm

True enough, most ‘new’ Toyotaik will do that because they want to dispose their taik car with so-called excellent RV after feeling hailat every day driving it, but kena tipu already.

• Taximan on Feb 05, 2016 at 11:19 am

Wat about LDP…always saw many accidents …ysterday night many cars driving like mad trying to show off their Mivi Vios Ford

• KKYee on Feb 05, 2016 at 11:52 am

Almost all the district’s of WP are considered accident. Useless,PDRM call their small prawn to issue such statement/warning. It boils down the entire nation’s attitude towards such issue. It will never change unless our tops start serious over this topic. Many more will still succumb to accidents???

• Ollie on Feb 05, 2016 at 12:06 pm

There are many simple road rules that Malaysians are ignorant about, which is why we have so many accidents.

The simplest: undertaking – passing on the left lane. Yes, its not illegal, but its uncivilised. If people didn’t do this, accidents would be much less.

Enough about slow drivers on the first lane. Precaution and safety comes first. I don’t tailgate, I don’t honk, I don’t flash my lights. Why? Because I’m civilised. The person in front will realise soon enough that they’re hogging the lane. They’ll move over. Drive like a maniac, and you’re asking for trouble.

How to overtake a slow lorry in any situation? Stupid driving schools tell you to keep as close to the lorry until you can see the tyre treads and then swing out as soon as you get the chance. Use logic: U go so close, can you see what’s in front of the lorry, and what’s ahead on the opposite lane? You only rely on right-side mirror backview to overtake? This is a major cause of accidents.

When overtaking a lorry, simple, I teach you. Keep two cars distance from the lorry in front and keep your car to the right of the lane. This way you can see behind, in front, and what’s ahead of the lorry. When all clear, stamp on the oil and go ahead of the lorry. If you don’t have at least 150bhp on tap, don’t even bother, you are putting yourself in danger. Which is why I always say, Proton is the leading cause of death in Malaysia, est. 2000 deaths a year solely due to Proton’s existence and deathtraps.

Speed is not the main cause of accidents. The main cause is lack of awareness of road etiquette: tailgating is the main cause, also miscalculating overtaking, and not using signal. Yes, Malaysians, please la, be civilised, tailgating belongs in the jungle. Patience will save your life.

PDRM? They only know speeding. All that I mentioned above will never incur summons even though those are the major cause of accidents, not speed.

• abg gagah on Feb 05, 2016 at 12:26 pm

Macam bagus

• U must be living in 90’s & just came out of cave. P2 & toyotas r the current moving coffins now.

• Ollie on Feb 05, 2016 at 12:51 pm

john, you do realise that taxpayer money is going into Proton and policies in place to ensure non-Protons are priced above Protons are the reason why unsafe cars are sold in Malaysia i.e. no airbags, stability control etc. Are you proud of Proton taking your money? Need I point you to the forums where Proton owners forced to buy due to price concerns are suffering with the repairs they have to do?

• Since u ask that. Yes, im proud that P1 took my money in exchange for my Gen2 CPS. Serving me well for 8 years and din gip me sooooo many problems like those said. Pickup is gud, stable at top speed, drinks fuel like my ‘other’ Myvi 1.3auto, timeless design, service was gud once i found a decent SC, cost of ownership is reasonable, sufficient use for my famili.
          The only issue i have is replacing my clock spring and side window arm (both done same day).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • nabill (Member) on Feb 05, 2016 at 12:55 pm

Like it or not, everywhere is hotspot, as long as u have motorcyclists drive like how they drive, and da way some ppl(90%) drive their cars on da road, heck, even in carparks is a hotspot area, dont be surprised to come back to ur car n find few dings n scratches caused by some cows who dont know how to park…

• matpet on Feb 05, 2016 at 5:36 pm

What? Just listing road name? Totaly useless info by deputy police chief DCP Datuk Law Soon Hong. Should be more specific.

• tadulako on Feb 09, 2016 at 6:50 pm

the govt wont do anything, wont consider anything…..until accident actually happened on some vip’s children, wifey or relatives….

Malaysian needs this sort of wake-up call before anything serious is carried out.