VIDEO: New Toyota Hilux proves it can pull 170 tonnes

While we await the arrival of the new Toyota Hilux in Malaysia, said to be in Q2 of 2016, the people in the Land of Smiles are busy pushing the pick-up truck to its limits. In Toyota Thailand’s “Hilux Revo challenge” video, the automaker showcases the power and utility of its new GD family of turbodiesel engines. How? By pulling 170 tonnes of weight of course.

Performing this herculean feat is the duty of a white Toyota Hilux Revo Smart Cab, specifically the 4×4 2.4E variant (Thai-spec). It has at its disposal Toyota’s new 2.4 litre inline four-cylinder turbodiesel engine. The engine outputs 150 PS at 3,400 rpm, and more importantly, has 400 Nm of torque available from 1,600-2,000 rpm.

As a warm up, round one sees the Hilux Revo Smart Cab being attached to a 30 tonne lorry (with accompanying cargo trailer). Suffice to say, the Hilux manages to pull the lorry without a hitch, easy peasy lemon squeezy.

Time for round two then, where four additional lorries (each with its own cargo trailer) are tagged on for a combined weight of 150 tonnes. To make the Hilux’s attempt even more challenging, four tonnes of sand is added to each lorry, bringing the combined total weight to 170 tonnes. Did the Hilux manage to do it? Well, you’ll just have to watch the video to find out, but we think you know the answer already.

Now all we need are the Hilux’s competitors – Ford Ranger, Mitsubishi Triton, Nissan NP300 Navara, Isuzu D-Max, Mazda BT-50 and Chevrolet Colorado – to get together and have a pick-up truck equivalent to the World’s Strongest Man competition. Who’s your winner?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Marvellous, cannot wait to buy one :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
  • wiwiwiwiw on Feb 05, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Of course it can, most 4x4s with that amount of torque can.
    The king pick up truck is still the Ford Ranger 3.2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 11
    • yup its the king if you can get the parts for it :p a true king is about durability and reliability not just the cc ;)

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Feb 05, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Good but not big surprise as some humans are able to pull a jet .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • I think the main point is to show the pickup able to pull 170 tonnes with an idle mode, see the RPM below 1k. Beside a man can pull an aeroplane with just an ear

• TurboMan on Feb 06, 2016 at 2:32 pm

On a flat road over short distances at low speed, it is not much of an issue.

You are right, even a man is able to pull a plane with his ear.

The real test is can the truck do this over a 10percent incline? Or how long can it do this feat without burning the gearbox/overheating the oil assuming the gear box TC is not locked?

Impressive as a marketing act, does make me feel good driving one knowing it can pull 170 tones if need to, but if you understand the physics behind it, its not that impressive after all.

• Enuff said on Feb 05, 2016 at 5:04 pm

Proton Arena Raptor > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • wajunk on Feb 05, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Did u saw Malay car tuner magazine,
      4g93t gsr 1.8 can plonk in proton arena…

• At least its better than protong

• Better at sending their occupants to an early grave? Yes, i agree.

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 09, 2016 at 12:10 am

Proton has the most Malaysians died in their cars. Swallow the fact!

• JB_KIA on Feb 05, 2016 at 5:35 pm

why all the lorries are heavily tinted? are we suspecting the same thing? hahha…

• Powerful on Feb 05, 2016 at 5:52 pm

Definitely Chevrolet Colorado.. 2.8 Duramax Diesel, 200hp / 500nm torque..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Pull Sam Away on Feb 05, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Still can’t pull Sam Loo and his bs away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • Hmm... Much Hmm... on Feb 05, 2016 at 6:25 pm

O… So this truck can pull more than a Touareg? Touareg V10 vs Boeing 747 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WmM-635RR6o). Yeap, Hilux can pull more than a V10 Touareg.

• God Car Hilux on Feb 05, 2016 at 7:22 pm

” white Toyota Hilux Revo Smart Cab, specifically the 4×4 2.4E variant (Thai-spec). It has at its disposal Toyota’s new 2GD-FTV 2.8 litre inline four-cylinder turbodiesel engine” I thought the 2.4E would have the new 2.4 engine?

• SabunLux on Feb 08, 2016 at 11:54 am

Toyota Hilux Revo has 2 spec of engines in Thailand. To correct your spec, 1GD-FTV is 2.8. And…2GD-FTV is 2.4, not 2.8 lol :)
      Not bad already 2.8 hav 177hp and 2.4 hav 150hp. No need too high tune la Toyota, later engine not tahan long term. :)

• Hilux precrap bullkrap a Cup b cup….lol

• myvialsocanlikethat on Feb 05, 2016 at 9:16 pm

now remove the tire. see whether still can pull or not.

• Jacky on Feb 05, 2016 at 11:04 pm

Who care… in malaysia pulling is illegal…

• give it a week or two..

sure it runs at 1000nm torque with 300-400hp in thai drag strips..

• Ranger on Feb 06, 2016 at 10:17 am

Ranger already did it 4 years ago;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RE94bFK9CAU

http://gas2.org/2011/01/09/video-not-for-america-ranger-diesel-tows-160-ton-train/

• I wish the language was less vague, a 2.4E with a 2.8 liter engine “at its disposal” ??? Never mind the misleading writing, a 2.4 liter engine making 150 bhp and 400NM isn’t much to shout about which explains the publicity stunt. The Ford Ranger makes that much power with a 2.2 liter engines since at least 5 years ago. The Nissan even earlier. Toyotas are so conservation. Hopefully the new version is also more stable.

• hailax single cab vnt on Feb 06, 2016 at 3:41 pm

you sure is 4×2?like 4×4 in low range in 1st gear, because the speed is just like you walk

• god car hilux on Feb 06, 2016 at 5:03 pm

“… a white Toyota Hilux Revo Smart Cab, specifically the 4×4 2.4E variant (Thai-spec). It has at its disposal Toyota’s new 2GD-FTV2.8 litre inline four-cylinder turbodiesel engine.” I thought the 2.4E comes with 2.4l diesel engine?

• Bugbear1986 on Feb 06, 2016 at 8:24 pm

People just dont get it, buying a pickup truck is all abt reliability… look at the Ranger T6 n Navara’s case, all with premature engine failures (Ranger T6’s Turbo intercooler issues, Navara’s Turbine problem)….

• tadulako on Feb 09, 2016 at 6:44 pm

toyota and their cheap publicity….as always.

• Troll Driver on Feb 15, 2016 at 11:40 pm

Still can’t pull jibby off stage.