Kuala Lumpur to be pothole-free by 2017, says DBKL

Bad road 2

By 2017, Kuala Lumpur will be a pothole-free city, according to Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) Civil Engineering and Urban Transport Department deputy senior director Sabudin Mohd Salleh. In the report by Bernama, these road deformities, which also include sinkholes and poorly resurfaced roads, have been identified as the reason behind road accidents and other problems.

“A study by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research also finds that mishaps are not only due to the human factor but also due to the condition of roads and vehicles,” Sabudin said. He added that the driving factor behind the reoccurrence of potholes on KL roads is the rapid development taking place within the city, and improper resurfacing by utility companies.

As such, his department will keep eyes on every development project in the city to ensure that roads and pavements within the project’s proximity was in good condition and safe. “The developers must be responsible, they must repair damaged roads close to project sites because it is the heavily-laden lorries that make the roads susceptible to potholes,” said Sabudin.

Utility companies meanwhile, will no longer be allowed to patch up roads that it had dug up, starting from this year. Instead, DBKL will perform the fixes themselves, and bill the companies concerned, after. A total of 24 contractors has been appointed to resurface roads dug up by utility companies.

“According to last year’s statistics, 13,612 potholed roads across the city were resurfaced and in January this year alone, 1,153 potholed roads had to be repaired,” said Sabudin. DBKL has allocated RM100 million in its 2016 budget to manage roads and drainage in Kuala Lumpur.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• FIST (Member) on Feb 10, 2016 at 9:57 am

let’s come back in december to see whether they kept their word on this

• hahaha on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:22 am

looking forward to cows jumping over the moon!

but admit it, one can still dream can’t they?

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 11, 2016 at 12:36 pm

Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.
        Just like the talkok drame “Car price drop in 3 years” and “Proton as good as BMW”.

• Comments only for the news@articles here la bodoh! on Feb 11, 2016 at 10:23 pm

Again bring up proton? Najib? Wellawei.. Potholes n dbkl news here.. Go sell more coffin vios la ahso,toyota sales drop day by day now.

• Save this announcement to next General Election.Not now here cheating people.

• Pothole free my arse. Jam also belum selesai.new LRT Awan Besar roads have serious congestion every hour of the day! when the residence of bukit jalil gives DBKL a call, they tell us we’re not in charge of the new traffic light, according to them its the contractor’s job to ensure its timing is perfect. Ini semua salah siapa?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • They should get rid of contractors instead have a division with full time employees in charge of all these (roadworks, traffic lights, street lights, signs and etc), so everyone know exactly who to blame if things doesn’t work. This will definitely ensure quality since their jobs is on the line. Now they don’t bother because they can point fingers all over the place (pretty much most of our government is like this), when they no longer has the option to blame others, that’s the time when we get better infrastructures and services.

• Toon899 on Feb 10, 2016 at 10:21 am

Some high post morons start talking c#$@ again!!! May be he/she meant the streets in front of their houses will be potholes free la….don’t take it too seriously! Bolehland famous for producing political morons!!!!

• Dolmat on Feb 10, 2016 at 10:23 am

Hahahahahahahaha

• DBKL - Kotor Kotor Kotor on Feb 10, 2016 at 10:25 am

Why wait till 2017? It should be NOW. So many people have died cause of potholes. Recently the poor motorbile dude also got paralysed from head to toe.

DBKL is so corrupted. This the Mayor cannot solve. Please clean up DBKL. Your officers are all asking money openly from people and traders. it is so dirty to the core. Also, this pothole thing also, sure some corruption will take place. Gomen give money to tampal, your staff will sapu the money and not buy the tar.

Please lah DBKL, clean up your officers. Everyday they are asking money money money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • kzm (Member) on Feb 10, 2016 at 2:18 pm

“By 2017”..it mean that all potholes will be resurface from now until 2017. When 2017 come KL suppose to be pothole free as they claim.

• areos on Feb 10, 2016 at 10:30 am

Why wait until 2017. Bukan ke Datuk Bandar dan semua staf DBKL terima gaji tiap-tiap bulan dan pengguna jalan raya memang dah kena bayar cukai.What will you do until then ? Sleep ? See and do nothing or let heavy vehicles damaging our roads or let the TNB/TM/Syabas contractors do the substandard works to resurface the roads.

• kzm (Member) on Feb 10, 2016 at 2:22 pm

The article say starting from this year utility company is not allow to patch up road that they dig up.

• It should be potholes free by yesterday!

Why set the target by 2017? Jan ? Feb? Nov? Dec 2017? So that DBKL can still take a nap in between?

• we dont want only pothole free…it should be smooth tarmac…not patchy roadwork

• MeToo on Feb 10, 2016 at 10:56 am

Pothole free by 2017?

That has about the same chance of happening as being Corruption Free by 2017..

• camtakpro on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:03 am

You all got trolled. What DBKL meant is all those pothole comes *free* of charge – they won’t charge you for creating a pothole.

• Shush….DBKL hasn’t woken up from their slumber. They are dreaming of BS.

• Mann Bell on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:26 am

LOL what a news!

• Din selangor said something liek that? And nobody dissed it? Oh becoz its by Party Hard, so cannot persoal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • nabill (Member) on Feb 10, 2016 at 12:35 pm

I dont mind the potholes as long as in 2017,the G will be axxholes free…

• Susukotak on Feb 10, 2016 at 1:28 pm

Marked. Stared. Setted. From now.

• Ah Kai on Feb 10, 2016 at 1:30 pm

Tampal the road also important. Every time tampal the quality always like shit. Also, after the road is nicely done then a week after there’s korek job going on. Then tampal like hell. Feels like slapping those stupid planner..

• The whole DBKL including the major & the FT minister can go to dig a hole then jump in for all I care…they have not been effective alleviating the traffic congestion and the potholes issue have been talked about for donkey years…only now they claim to settle by when? 2017!!! Can we stop their salary till 2017 before they start getting their dues again…what are we rakyat getting a tax free period from now till 2017? they are sweping crap daily…show me the result before I can start believing….sheesh lets not get me started on the way the issue parking summons….by racially and religiously preying on those non muslim/ malay to issue summonses to!!

• The whole DBKL including the major & the FT minister can go to dig a hole then jump in for all I care…they have not been effective alleviating the traffic congestion and the potholes issue have been talked about for donkey years…only now they claim to settle by when? 2017!!! Can we stop their salary till 2017 before they start getting their dues again…what are we rakyat getting a tax free period from now till 2017? they are spewing crap daily…show me the result before I can start believing….sheesh, lets not get me started on the way they issue parking summons….by racially and religiously segregation and preying on those non muslim/ malay to issue summonses to!! really underhanded and racist moreover they are suppose to serve all Malaysian not just one race among many…

• Port_AsreHoleeey on Feb 10, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Give me a break… DBKL can’t solve these problems – not for another 50 years. Their minds are full of poopholes + a**holes.

• rider on Feb 10, 2016 at 3:39 pm

after the patch work done pothole will become bumper.

• Joke of the year.

• miow miow on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:40 pm

Tunggu 31 December la tengok macam mana..sembang banyak pun tak guna.
    Sementara tu..save as pdf dulu news ni..simpan dlm google drive & set reminder kt henfon for 1.1.2017!
    Janji ditepat or Janji di capati..

• transformer on Feb 11, 2016 at 9:09 am

JB aka Jalan Berlobang for years, for decades…

Still need to wait his highness to voice out or you, MPJBT will get it repaired soon before damaging Shelby Cobra/Ferrari rides….

Where that JKR Apps for traffic user to road hazards? GST got apps, why road hazards don’t?

• Meanwhile, savour the potholes