Police propose raising traffic fines to curb accidents

Cop-shop

In view of the rising number of fatal and other road accidents, the police is contemplating raising the quantum of traffic fines. Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar said the proposed increase is in the hopes of detering drivers from breaking the law, especially speeders.

“It is also to prevent reckless and inconsiderate driving along highways, especially during festive seasons where fatal accidents are high which is seen during the ‘Op Selamat 8/2016’, held in conjunction with the Chinese New Year celebration,” said Khalid in a report in The Sun.

Khalid lamented the fact that errant road-users were not deterred by the current compound rate, saying that RM300 was nothing to them. “We might increase the compound but the rate needs to be discussed later,” he said.

Sarawak-Road-Traffic-01-e1447927708973-850x573

According to Khalid, last year’s Chinese New Year Ops Selamat saw a 18.8% increase in traffic accidents with 17,632 cases recorded compared to 14,836 cases the year before. The number of fatal accidents rose by 22.4% to 186 cases compared to 152 in 2014.

“Anyone who breaks the law will face the maximum compound. It’s high time we become strict with motorists. No more advocacy on the road from us,” said Khalid. He added that Ops Selamat would end on Feb 16.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Azahari on Feb 10, 2016 at 6:08 pm

They should propose jail for those who purposely take over at high speed on the left emergency lane, go against the traffic, purposely run over red lights. I dont feel safe driving on our road anymore. Expensive tickets won’t do anything to these offenders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • Duit saman naik, duit kopi ikut naik.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
    • policeman on Feb 10, 2016 at 9:08 pm

Expensive tickets generate income.
      Jail incurs expenses.
      Money talks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
    • MeToo on Feb 11, 2016 at 10:36 am

Sigh…

Means the ‘fines’ will be raised from the current RM50 to maybe RM80~100?

• Fines need to be accompanied by point deductions. I am not sure why it takes so long to bring back the point system. An improper emergency lane use during a peak period deducts 50 points, which means license suspension for two years. See how many drivers still want to do that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • After license suspension, need to retake the driving test again, in order to have the driving license again. It definitely will have serious impact on the driving attitude.

• redidiot on Feb 11, 2016 at 3:18 pm

Plus a mandatory reinstatement of 1 year probationary status.

• Coolguru on Feb 10, 2016 at 6:30 pm

Two things:
    1. Review the speeding limit. Some seriously not made for today’s road choice and car. Remember we’re paying a lot of money for tolled road but limited by some 80 or 90 – why?
    2. How are the money (fines) being used today?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • policeman on Feb 10, 2016 at 9:03 pm

1. Today’s cars – mainly MyVi, Viva, Axia and Vios.
      These cars lack stability at higher speeds and are not equipped with electronic stability control and should not be driven above 90kph.

2. Money from fines are used for:
      – Military
      – Free healthcare
      – Free education
      – Road maintenance
      – MRT

3. Would you like free tolls, free food, petrol, free water, free pleasure and free internet? If so, you should pay more taxes and not try to weasel your way out and con the government when you do your taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 58
      • policewoman on Feb 11, 2016 at 6:49 am

1 – Blame the car makers.
        2 – military – yeah sure. (Scorpene Scandal)
        – Free Healthcare – okay.
        – Free Education – (are you serious ?)
        – Road Maintanance – some improvement.
        – MRT – can provide the proof ?
        3 – Seems to be a die-hard NJAIB/Gov supporter are you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • fake policeman on Feb 11, 2016 at 9:02 am

1. Even a Volvo should not be driven above 90kph. Public roads are meant for convenient travelling, not for any high speeds. Even if your car is equipped with mega safety specs does not warrant any reasons to go faster than those without.

2. Military – where were they when MH flight turned around and over Peninsular?
        Free healthcare – is it really zero?
        Free education – quotas?
        Road maintenance – this must be a joke. Even on NKVE I managed to hit a POTHOLE
        MRT – let’s not get there…

3. This is a serious accusation towards Coolguru, implying that he’s underdeclaring his/her taxes. Btw, what more taxes to pay when the above are not even fulfilled yet? Look at our economy, for goodness sake..how is the additional tax of GST helping it? And now you want more? Ppl like you are the reason democracy is lost; ever so blinded and naive towards little things they shower upon you when election comes..

No offense intended

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Myvi Axia, Vios etc etc… and don’t forget VIP and VVIP’s son’s grandson’s granddaughter’s (aka brats) Mercedes, Lambo and such like too… Maybe be driving a Lambo but skills like Lembu oso kenot drive more than 100….

• Duit kopi donation akan dinaikkan dari RM10 ke RM100 untuk kesalahan tak pakai topi keledar di kawasan kampung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Hmm... Much Hmm... on Feb 11, 2016 at 7:09 am

If duit kopi increase to a minimum of RM100 then wouldn’t that mean errant driver/riders would follow the law and make the road safer as well? Since paying summons or duit kopi will seriously hurt their wallet… If so maybe they should add a few zeros to the summons?

• mauis on Feb 10, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Something wrong somewhere. To reduce the no of accidents not just by stricter enforcement of the laws but also to re-educate the drivers. Malaysian drivers are more selfish, bad tempered, ignorance, etc

• policeman on Feb 10, 2016 at 10:31 pm

Siapa mau bayar education cost? Bayar dari duit saman? Itu macam saman kena naik banyak-banyak.

• “Khalid lamented the fact that errant road-users were not deterred by the current compound rate, saying that RM300 was nothing to them” i’m like…WTF??

• policeman on Feb 10, 2016 at 10:25 pm

RM300 buys an entry level Samsung phone. It’s 2 days’ salary for the average person. Get’s you an hour and half of pleasure.

Somewhat nothing to the middle income group. Absolutely nothing to the high income group.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • Sorchai Albert on Feb 11, 2016 at 1:24 am

Actually he meant its nothing to him as he easily earns Rm3000 per hour

• Speeding saman rm3,000 sudah lah.

• redidiot on Feb 11, 2016 at 3:23 pm

I suggest rm300 for every km/h over thelimit. And a special 300% increase for S’pore cars.

• zainal a othman on Feb 10, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Check the driving school on how they issue the license. As for the police please check you enforcement process. back to basics guys. Why you authorities seeing only money as the solution???

• nabill (Member) on Feb 10, 2016 at 7:27 pm

Higher fines =higher discounts….
    I wd love to know a list of accomplishments police have done in the last TEN YEARS to reduce accidents n educate the road users..
    They have done NOTHING, ZERO….
    Wen we suck in our jobs,we get fired,bt those guys…

• Wayang2 on Feb 10, 2016 at 7:40 pm

Ni polis wayang2 aje… After raise summon, they can ask more duet kopi… Dats y they want to increase. Apa lagi enjai la!

• policeman on Feb 10, 2016 at 10:19 pm

The purpose is to stop you from committing the offence in the first place. If you decide to bribe then that’s your second offence.

When the giving stops, the receiving will stop too.

If you’re too weak to resist the urge to bribe, then this will benefit the corrupt police.

• All good and dandy but first get rid of “Kopi lesen” and “all donation of any kind” and when all driving license holder are truly and properly trained before getting their driving license, two things will happen (1) those idiots not fit for driving won’t get to clog and congest our roads or make in more dangerous to drive (2) the mentality that we can pay off the cops via “donation” won’t happen too often ((only for the desperate)) – when the Kopi lesen stops so will the taking of donation by the authorities…which will also means less accident and deaths on the road…. my two cents ;-p

• Anti CO2 on Feb 10, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Raise the fine… and discount 50% during “promo period”… Adoi, what’s wrong with our PDRM

• labix7 on Feb 10, 2016 at 8:46 pm

pdrm/jpj should increase no. of enforcement activity. No point to increase the fine if lack of enforcement. Better stop the dangerous driver before accident happen.

• albert on Feb 10, 2016 at 8:56 pm

You can increase the fines to Rm 700 or even rm1K. But with corruption still being an issue,the bad motorist will resort to” saya mau settle” /kaotim instead of paying a Rm 1k compound.
    Until we are near corruption free,why not tow the bladdy car to the nearest balai polis,make the motorist pay for the fine plus towing charges at the balai.
    In this way,tow truck operators got business and the balai collect funds for our wrecked economy.The cops on duty at the” crime”spot,got no chance to ask for cash.All ‘salah’ cars,got to be towed.The errant motorist got to call for extra cash to be brought to the balai,if he has insufficient cash.This will ruin his travel plan,he will think twice if he wants to commit traffic violations.
    In Down Under,if a motorist is caught 4-5 times committing” excessive and dangerous” speeding,the car will be towed to a yard and crushed.
    Increasing the fines will not work if corruption is still rampant.In fact it can increase corruption.

• William on Feb 10, 2016 at 9:36 pm

Mandatory jail term would be a bigger deterrent than any value of summon. Just try to get through 5 days in jail for starters…

• Sr Ahmad on Feb 10, 2016 at 9:55 pm

Idea orang pandai : “kecewa dengan sikap pemandu maka naikkan kadar saman”
    Feedback aku : Ni mekaniske bawah tempurung, alasan padahal nak tolong kerajaan dapatkan duit dr rakyat, byk lagi cara lain utk menghajar org yg degil di jalan raya, buat mcm negara luar iaitu paksa dia attend khidmat masyarakat atau rehab, by doing this kerajaan actually “kill two birds at a time”, means:
    1. Kerajaan ajar org ni jadi baik,
    2. masa yg sama dia buat kerja utk berbakti pd masyarakat,
    3. boleh kurangkan risiko rasuah kautim denda.
    Tp cara yg dato buat ni sebenarnya menggalakkan lagi budaya rasuah utk elak saman dan juga kita menjadi masyarakat money oriented “alah saman bayar je if kene lagi bayar lagi if x leh apa lg hulur je”
    – Idea keyboard community di kedai kopi tepi jalan –

• the driver on Feb 10, 2016 at 10:14 pm

Yes, increase the fines to deter the would be bad car drivers but aren’t the main offenders motorcyclists? How do you catch when the police officers are nowhere to be seen (enforcement) and usually policing opposition demos, spying on the rakyat and guarding the general interests of politicians instead?

• normal_user on Feb 10, 2016 at 10:36 pm

In a nutshell, any amount imposed will be useless to reduce accident unless the following are implemented:
    1. Attitude & mindset overhaul – Dads & moms should lead by example in inculcating good driving manners to their kids. Indicate before changing lanes/direction, stop when lights turned red, prioritize pedestrians at zebra crossings, don’t abuse emergency lane & special parking, dont queue jumping & tailgating, etc.
    2. Cheaper access to accident-preventive technology – Tax should be exempted for costs incurred by manufacturers in providing active & passive safety technology to their cars: airbags, ABS, EBD, ESC/VSC, autonomous emergency braking, sign recognition etc. These technologies are costly, and should be made available as standard in bread-butter cars instead of luxury cars. Lives can be saved. MAI, MIROS and MAA should take note of this and pressure the government of doing so. The amount of tax that the government surrender for this effort is so small compared to the losses of GDP productivity caused by death and serious injury of thousands of motorists. Just google for recent Japanese research on the reduced number of accidents involving Subaru vehicles with eyesight technology .

• gberd on Feb 10, 2016 at 10:42 pm

remove speed limit , let natural law to remove those incompetent driver. then road will be more safe !!!

• hamidon on Feb 11, 2016 at 2:14 am

No use barking when motorbike is
    blindly beating the traffic lights and even riding
    on the federal highway when motorbike lane is provided practically everyday and everywhere.
    Where is your enforcement?

• Charles Chia Kwang Dong on Feb 11, 2016 at 2:17 am

Raising more fine would attract bigger DONATION. Time is bad you know. The Traffic Division in particular all in one accord throughout the land shout HALLELUJAH.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Feb 11, 2016 at 7:39 am

In a broader perspective, higher fines that leads to expensive bribes would lead to safer roads. Since either way is a dead end so might as well follow the rules. A catch-22 scenario I guess? more people follow rules, less opportunity for bribery. It’s easy for me since I’m good at following the book, I guess it’s more of a problem for people who occasionally break it?

Either way, I think it’s too early to impose higher fines especially parking is quite a significant problem in urbanised areas. I usually need to circle the area up to an hour looking for a legitimate spot, but usually I’ll just leave rather than patronising a particular shop. I know there’s a culture of double parking but being blocked before and realising how inconsiderate it was, I’ve stopped doing so. I work from home so it’s easy to see that my tolerance is still there since I don’t need to face traffic woes on daily basis.

There are also concerns of bad road planning. Occasionally I’ll miss a turn following the GPS and would be forced to drive another 5-10km to make a U-turn because of no-u-turn junctions, or miss a turn because the road wasn’t clearly marked and because the traffic light shows straight is red, turn is green, and that forced me to turn in the interest of not causing traffic disruptions. Then there are yellow boxed junctions where the views is blocked so unless I drive to the center of the junction I wouldn’t know if it’s safe to exits where occasionally I’ll end up stopping in the middle of the road. The list goes on.. and I’m pretty sure you guys have tried to be considerate and law-abiding before but being bogged down by silly road plannings.

In short- considerate driving & parking doesn’t work in Malaysia due to bad road & parking planning. So unless the real problem is resolved, whatever suggestions about better cars, better monitoring system, better drivers, etc will never work, because the core system that is the road network itself is not standardised or planned well. So a higher fine at this moment would only increase resentment from people because we would now be cornered and forced into a network that doesn’t foster consideration or toleration at all. A time-bomb scenario.

• Old dog on Feb 11, 2016 at 9:20 am

Many hit and run is being ignored due to “small case” and the PJ traffic polis department make it open that they are not going to catch those guy even if you got their IC, Car Plate picture taken….

• transformer on Feb 11, 2016 at 9:28 am

Accident do happens….. Every time, everywhere…. Doesn’t matter how expensive traffic summon is, how low speed limit is, accident still will happens…. What’s matter it’s how safe the cars is, active safety and passive safety help to mitigate the impact onto occupant that’s matter….

Try drive into a 2 tonne barrier in a Saga FLX+ or a Smart Four2, IGP you pick? Both also gets summon but in which car you will survive or injured lesser?

Don’t comment like MAA chairman….

• All car should be ban because the speedometer already breaking the law. over 110KM/ph.

• Henry on Feb 11, 2016 at 9:49 am

Idiots. Increasing fines and punishments is all they can think of. How about enforcing existing traffic laws strictly and efficiently? Reintroduce the demerit points system. Suspend or revoke the offenders’ license when necessary.

• sepul on Feb 11, 2016 at 10:02 am

Easy money. Alasan lapuk naikkan denda sebab nak kurangkan kemalangan. Ingat rakyat bodoh ke?

Enforcement is lackey at best, plus terrible road condition. And the weak safety mindset of Malaysian motorist due to lack of awareness and “lesen terbang”.

• ben yap on Feb 11, 2016 at 11:42 am

whenever I read the about “Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar”, I always have a bad vibe about him.

• Leafable on Feb 11, 2016 at 1:03 pm

Speeding – 3 demerit points
    Don’t obey traffic light – 6 demerit points
    Using mobile phone while driving – 6 demerit points
    Drink driving – Ban for driving for at least 3 years. Lock up for 6 months.

Collected more than 12 points on your license will be automatic ban for 1 year and require to re-seat the driving test again. Then Malaysia will be heading the right direction. Not just by monetary fine punishment. It mean nothing for people who have money.

• rider on Feb 11, 2016 at 3:08 pm

no point increase penalty. Its only will have minimal impact. What police department should do is placing their staff permanently in every major roads and also put their guys in every road in each major balik kampung occasion that they predict traffic jam and accident would happen. This will deter motorist against traffic laws.