Honda HR-V RS announced for Japanese market

Honda HR-V Vezel RS 1

If you need ideas on how you can make your HR-V look even better, Honda Japan has got you covered by revealing an RS variant for the Honda Vezel (its domestic market name). The more stylish model will join the Style Edition versions that are already offered in the country, along with the standard car.

Based on the labels on these official photos, it appears there will be a Honda Vezel Hybrid RS variant as well as a more standard Honda Vezel RS. Regardless, the RS gets black spoiler lips, side skirts, wheel surrounds and door mirrors.

Elsewhere, there are now LED fog lights at the front, and there are new 18-inch alloy wheels. Inside, the interior gets black trim pieces to match those of the exterior as well. Purely an enhancement in aesthetic, no changes appear to take place under the hood.

Therefore, the same hybrid powertrain consisting of a 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC four-cylinder petrol engine (132 PS/156 Nm) that is assisted by an i-DCD electric motor (30 PS/160 Nm), with power sent through a seven-speed CVT. The non-hybrid Vezel (HR-V) drops the electrification on its powertrain.

No prices for the Honda Vezel RS has been announced for now, nor has the final specifications of the crossover been revealed. The RS is set to go on sale in Japan by the end of this month, with more to be revealed then.

GALLERY: Honda HR-V (Malaysian-spec)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I just wait new HRV with 1.5 turbo engines….that will be awesome ;)

• This hybrid nvr be coming to Malaysia. If really come proton will be worst..dun need sell alr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • ben yap on Feb 11, 2016 at 11:37 am

when i read HRV RS, i had an impression that this will be a high performance unit.

i was disappointed.

• Zika Virus on Feb 11, 2016 at 2:18 pm

Any RS from Honda line up is not a high performance edition.

• camtakpro on Feb 11, 2016 at 9:56 pm

They never mentioned HRV Type-R, why would you associate it with high performance in the first place.

• This RS model definitely should be sold in Malaysia. It will attract even more potential HR-V buyers. Looks great too.The LED fog lights look beautiful on this model. Many Malaysian drivers will buy this model for sure if sold here by Honda Malaysia…..

• samng on Mar 20, 2016 at 9:46 am

Buying a new car Honda HRV is a nightmare, from the first day collecting the dreamed car last September , it is haunting my nephew, even until at this very moment..the problems never ends..the main frame at the back got noises