BMW i8 Protonic Red Edition heads to Geneva 2016

BMW i8 Protonic Red Edition

A special edition of the BMW i8 known as the the Protonic Red Edition is headed for a debut at the 2016 Geneva Motor Show. The model mostly gains a unique exterior paint, and is said to be on sale for a limited time only.

The BMW i8 Protonic Red Edition will be produced in the company’s production plant in Leipzig. As mentioned, the additions here don’t include much more than a Protonic Red exterior paint with Frozen Grey accents.

Additionally, this i8 gets a set of 20-inch BMW W-spoke 470 light-wheel wheels painted in Orbit Grey metallic. Inside, the car gets red double-stitching with carbon-fibre and ceramic trim. The rest of the BMW i8 remains exactly as before.

Notably, the 2+2 seater BMW i8 features a 231 hp 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder BMW TwinPower engine paired with a 131 hp electric motor. Collectively, the two power units form a hybrid all-wheel drive system with a total system output of 362 hp and 570 Nm of torque.

BMW says that its special edition i8 was made to commemorate the model’s achievement of being the “highest-selling hybrid sports car in the world” in 2015. In all, a total of 5,456 units of the BMW i8 were sold last year.

You can also check out how the BMW i8 fared against the Jaguar F-Type and the Mercedes-AMG GT S in our latest episode of the Driven Web Series.

GALLERY: BMW i8 in Malaysia

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 12, 2016 at 1:00 pm

A bit the late right when CNY already over. Be like Apple and offer red straps for their watches for CNY!

• skatax on Feb 12, 2016 at 2:17 pm

I was hoping the i8 ‘patchwork’ body panel will grow on me over time, but after a year now, and having seen one on Sg. Besi highway, this is an ugly car. The red color just cements it further. In supercar segment, such car should not look like a toy. A Lego Technic model set is more impressive than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • Mak Esah on Feb 13, 2016 at 11:45 am

Syukurrr lah BMW dah insaf now collaborate with Proton. Ehh silap baca pulak