SPYSHOTS: Toyota Fortuner spotted in Shah Alam!

TOYOTA-FORTUNER-SHAH-ALAM-0004

During a recent announcement on UMW Toyota’s imminent arrivals for 2016 – new Hilux, Alphard and Vellfire – no mention was made about the Fortuner (or Innova for that matter). However, thanks to Hakimin Zahid, who spotted the SUV in Shah Alam, we could soon see the seven-seater debut here as well.

Like the new Toyota Hilux that was sighted earlier, the Fortuner seen here has nearly every badge, decal and what not, taped over. That means it’s hard to tell if the example seen here carries the new GD-series turbodiesel engines or the new 2.7 litre Dual VVT-i four-cylinder petrol mill (2TR-FE).

The former is available in 2.4 (1GD-FTV) and 2.8 (2GD-FTV) litre capacities, with power outputs rated at 150 hp/400 Nm and 177 hp/450 Nm, respectively. The petrol powerplant meanwhile, churns out 166 hp and 245 Nm.

Given that the current Fortuner offered to Malaysians can be had with a 2.7 litre petrol or 2.5 litre turbodiesel, we expect the mix bag of the new engines to be present at launch as well, although it is uncertain if we will get both GD engines.

In Thailand, the engines are mated to a new six-speed automatic (previously a four-speed) with two- and four-wheel drive available. Expect our local, new Fortuner to follow suit, with 4WD being favoured.

Based on the photos, it’s hard to tell if the new slim headlights are of the LED variety although the partly-visible LED DRLs to hint at such a lighting setup. However, what is clearly evident are the 18-inch alloy wheels, body decals and door visors.

Although no interior shots were provided, we already know that the Fortuner gets a more sophisticated-looking interior that is noticeably different from the Hilux, which it is based on.

Highlights include a Camry-style Optitron instrument cluster with a large colour TFT LCD multi-info display, seven-inch infotainment display, electric-powered seats and automatic air-conditioning. However, it is yet unknown if we will get such goodies. Looking forward to the new Fortuner’s arrival?

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Fortuner

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• karam singh on Feb 12, 2016 at 6:51 pm

just dont buy underpowered petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 11
    • Sub-standard T engines

• The Truth About Fortuner on Feb 14, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Toyota Fortuner is a failure. To the public, it hardly sold few hundred units. Why it is kept alive is because Government departments are strictly told to support GLC UMW and buy the Fortuner.

Nobody buys Fortuner at all. 90% Fortuner you see on the road is Government vehicles. The other 10% you see thinking it is private buyers, it is actually Government servants given the option to buy older Fortuner cars cheaply.

the truth is, you buy this car RM180k, sell 2 years time also, to get RM80 also you are lucky cause there is really no 2nd hand market or public wanting this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • Syukurlah saya boleh beli kereta ini selepas 5 tahun kerajaan pakai. Semua staff kerajaan dapat diskaun 80%.

• OMG…this will be SAM LOO favourite new lousy car. lol

• Aaron on Feb 12, 2016 at 7:31 pm

I’m so looking forward to the Fortuner with UMW Tuning

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • karam singh on Feb 13, 2016 at 2:52 am

as usual , they use normal formula for their car
      Bodykits > safety
      so expect more bodykits rather than safety .. ;p

• syukurlah orang Malaysia semua ada Proton dan tak payah beli kete ni. Proton lagi syiok, boleh tarik awek

• Mak Esah on Feb 13, 2016 at 12:00 pm

Eee sindir ke tu??

• Sukurlah dear leader boleh pakai kete ni.
      kami bn support barang buatan malaysia, Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • Forgip my RBA clonetrooper for he onli got kindergarten education in reverse pyschology by DAP Institute. I have sent a formal complaint to highest tokong so they can slap’em around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • Don’t waste ur money on this junk, just wait for Pajero sport n it’s more advance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
  • albag on Feb 12, 2016 at 8:11 pm

JPJ is eyeing on this one for sure… the current ones can be destroyed dy

• Sammy Loo on Feb 12, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Those Santa Fe and Sorento owners will be crying to trade in their 25k junk for this nice SUV when it launch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 46
  • seancorr (Member) on Feb 12, 2016 at 8:27 pm

The front end looks weird from the side. Middle and back looks fat but the front looks small

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Nonameee on Feb 12, 2016 at 10:42 pm

That’s one fugly-looking car I will never ever cought dead driving in……

• With drum brakes at rear and uncommunicative steering? Unless you are going into the jungle. On road you better have a pair of strong hands and extra alert. It’s very stressful on tarmac. Anyway, for your family and children please choose a ride with at least 6 airbags and if possible with an Euroncap 5*.

• BeemerFreak on Feb 13, 2016 at 6:30 am

God this looks ugly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • This looks better. Bring good value and superb resale value as well. Better than crv or cx5, even BMW x5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Anonymous on Feb 13, 2016 at 10:53 am

Saw that in Rantau Panjang

• One year only sale 200 units

• Sammy Loo on Feb 14, 2016 at 6:07 pm

That is the sales figure for a month, averagely 200-250 units of Fortuner per month for Y2015. Outsale all it’s competitor in the segment.

• nabill (Member) on Feb 13, 2016 at 2:03 pm

really has no nice angle this thing..hideous…when was the last time we saw a really good looking toyota???

• Looks the business. Definitely nicer looking than the outgoing model. Only question is the engine and specs that will be offered locally. Have to compare those to the new Pajero and Santa Fe before making decision.

• my pren all said this fortuner like sampan/boat from side.

same for new harrier…like tongsan on the road.

• Maria on Feb 13, 2016 at 8:48 pm

I saw many times with new hilux at Padang Besar with thai registartion..The design for hilux is ok because it use to angkut barang and off road but fortuner the design look no more like real suv just like normal crossover available on market.UMW known for ripping good spec just leave it with 2 airbag and no VSC even for top range model.I just hope they properly give us a propper spec just like our neighbourhood.

• outalingam on Feb 14, 2016 at 11:36 pm

Yeah I have to agree – NO SEVEN airbags, no ESP/VDC, no Hill Start Assist, no Brake Assist, NO BUY!!!

• mamat on Feb 14, 2016 at 12:10 am

aku tak akan beli ini kereta.

• ikanpatin on Feb 14, 2016 at 11:25 am

In malaysia, this fortuner is OUTDATED and OVERPRICED

That I am sure of.

• Izham giffari on Feb 14, 2016 at 4:24 pm

This is toyota all new innova launches in malaysia why ?

• Fukken on Feb 14, 2016 at 4:47 pm

Kahkahkah glad I bought the xtrail. Way better looking and creature’s comfort

• Sam Loo on Feb 15, 2016 at 7:37 am

Stay away from new sushis

Get a new Tucson or Santa Fe instead

• power rangers on Feb 15, 2016 at 8:47 am

look at umw toyota website now..

1) SEDAN – vios, altis, camry, camry hybrid -> who wants to buy these cars now? so many alternatives with better spec
    2) MPV – avanza, innova -> all sub standard car for SEA
    3) SUV and 4wd – hilux, rush, fortuner -> except hilux for its purposes, all substandard car for SEA
    4) VAN – hiace -> this is ok

UMW Toyota going to sink this year for sure..

• I’d rather buy the Ford Everest instead of this stripped Toyota

• I’d rather buy Ford Everest than this stripped Toyota.

• SayNoToUMWM on Feb 15, 2016 at 9:18 am

I’d rather buy Everest instead of this stripped Toyota

• applegreen on Feb 15, 2016 at 9:58 am

Fortuner that not has fortune at all