VIDEO: MAI explains how Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) pact will benefit the local automotive industry

TPPA dan Industri Automotif

Ketahui impak Perjanjian Perkongsian Trans-Pasifik (TPPA) kepada #MyAutoIndustry!

Posted by Malaysia Automotive Institute on Thursday, 11 February 2016

The Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) has come out with a video explaining the benefits the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement will bring to the local automotive industry.

In the two-and-a-half minute clip, MAI CEO Datuk Madani Sahari says that the pact – which Malaysia and 11 other countries signed last week – will open up trade to a market of 800 million consumers, 26 times larger than that available locally.

It will open up avenues for the local automotive industry, which could see the possibility of higher levels of exports for locally-assembled vehicles. More importantly, locally-manufactured automotive components are set to benefit from participation in the pact.

make-car-630

The institute says that the agreement will be especially beneficial to local component manufacturers. In 2005, exports of locally-manufactured components totaled RM1 billion, but this had climbed to RM12 billion in 2015, and the TPP is expected to significantly open up trade possibilities in this area.

Aside from the business aspect, the TPP is also set to provide more choices for the consumer in terms of vehicle models, and as it goes along, a more competitive pricing of cars brought about by more players as well as market forces.

What do you think? Will the TPP agreement be beneficial to the local automotive industry? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section below.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:16 pm

Yep talk kok again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:26 pm

Cakap memang cantiq.
      Cakap memang senang.
      Kelabu pun boleh dicakap sebagai putih di negara serbaboleh macam USa.

• George Abdul on Feb 12, 2016 at 11:35 pm

Benefits the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement will bring to the local automotive industry. BUT MAI never mention “Not include benefits to Rakyat” bullshit MAI CEO !!!

• The Truth About TPPA on Feb 14, 2016 at 5:18 pm

The bodohs in MAI don’t tell the public also that our market will also be open to 800 million people to. this means, Malaysians rather buy a higher quality Mat Salleh product from the other 12 countries instead of buying Barang Buatan Malaysia.

The bodohs at MAI also don’t tell you that Mat Salleh won’t even bother to buy Malaysian products cause they deem us as a corrupt regime that have ZERO sincerity and morals.

Furthermore, when they see Malaysians themselves buying Mat Salleh products, do you think the 800 million customers going to buy Malaysian products?

The white man will ask….why isn’t their own Malaysians buying their own products even? Why are Malaysains themselves laughing at their own Proton and condemning it saying it is low quality?

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 14, 2016 at 11:10 pm

Can enter the market doesn’t mean you can survive there. Proton entered UK market long time ago, and who is buying proton in the United kingdom now?

• Albert Yong on Feb 15, 2016 at 8:36 am

If every post on MAI got so many negative and abusive comments, if I were the CEO, I would resign. But in Malaysia, people are thick skin. Helo brader, bangsa you sendiri lah yang susah dengan car loan yang tinggi

• Sekarang Sudah Datuk on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Finally Madani has become a Datuk. He was faithful kuli of the Malaysian Government always trying to confuse us with all sorts of graphs and charts. Now it shows, you serve the Government to cheat the rakyat, you are rewarded!

Today, again come here and confuse people. Hello Madani 2 issues you have not settled yet, which is

1) AP crony system…..why is this still being continued? Each AP holder makes billions. 30 AP holders each making billions but 30 million people suffer with high car prices.

2) Where is Najib’s Promise to reduce car prices? Where is the 30% reduction? 2 years have gone and MAI has just kipas Najib only.

3) Are you now waiting Tan Sri ship?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 1
  • AFTA also Kena Tipu on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:36 pm

Even in AFTA, which Malaysia signed in 2000, we Malaysians were cheated. By right, if we followed AFTA, we should be getting cheaper cars. But the sneaky Malaysian Government made ways to circumvents AFTA and not only avoided giving Malaysians cheaper car prices but terbalik…car prices became higher.

If follow AFTA strictly, Altis should be RM80k and Civic should be RM70k.

Do you think this TPPA will benefit us? If AFTA we kena play out, this TPPA will be worse for us!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 1
    • Close Down Jamban MAI on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:07 pm

MAI, again tokkok here. Where is your boss Najib’s promise to reduce car prices? This MAI cannot look into. For years come here and tokkok. MAI should be closed down. They don’t do anything for the public. Just waste money. Every other month send big rombongan sambil belajar to all over the world and to various car companies but nothing happens. Business Class tickets and 5 star hotels costing hundreds of thousands wasted.

Then MAI confuse the rakyat. 2 years ago say moving towards EEV. Honda and Toyota invested billions in setting up plants to CKD the Prius and Civic in Malaysia. Then consumers also started buying Hybrids cause MAI assured consumers that the future was EEv and Hybrids.

Then suddenly Gomen say NO to Hybrid. Toyota and Honda lost billions. Consumers also lost so much cause nobody want to touch their Hybrids in the 2nd hand market.

how lah Madani?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 0
      • MAI - Sedar lah on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:19 pm

MAI clever to goreng about TPPA. But AP system 20 years also MAI scared to talk about.

Why?

AP holders are all big boys. MAI banyak takut. Screw the rakyat, so long as the AP holders are safe and happy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • Gargantia on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:19 pm

Another “BULLSHIT” by MAI CEO !!! Please stop cheating Rakyat and start transparency… this will only benefit cronies company and Rakyat will continue suffer high car price !!!

• Malaysia can start exporting some clowns to oversea jails

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • MAI - Sedar lah on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:15 pm

Madani is now a Datuk. Same like Aishah from MAA. Last time, Aishah was so good. She fight for the rights of car buyers. the gomen give her Latuk, she now fight for higher car prices.

Now Madani sure fight for higher car prices too. Camry soon will be Rm200k from RM150k.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Is it just me or anyone else shares the same sentiment to the acronym MAI = bull sh*t? The moment I saw MAI on the video, I just couldn’t be bothered to watch it? I’m posting to see how many people here share the same sentiment, that’s all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • drMpower on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:01 pm

i think madani here is confused with opportunity and benefit
    opportunity means like an offer. its like not confirmed matter.
    benefit is what u get. confirmed already

• saya rashid on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:13 pm

tajuk cakap automotive industri… video cakap komponen industri… pandai pusing…

• 800 million consumer? wow!
    can i keep my old car? pretty please

• pokmang on Feb 12, 2016 at 4:47 pm

low production volume + high price VS high production volume + low & affordable price

who gonna win? apa pon tak boleh!

• Aero (Member) on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:06 pm

As long as Thailand and Indonesia DO NOT sign the TPPA, we may still have a chance. Malaysia and Vietnam are the only two ASEAN countries in the TPPA with sizeable automotive industries. Vietnam won’t pose a threat to our industry in the short term, they don’t have the variety nor economies of scale, and although Vietnam has a larger population than ours and indeed Thailand, much of their people cannot afford cars. Vietnam needs a strong domestic market first, before they can consider exports.

If the signatories stay this way, our automotive industry may have a chance yet, but I highly doubt that it will. Thailand has always been a pro-U.S. country, and there are huge American interests at stake in Thailand’s auto industry. Thailand is the only ASEAN country with American-aligned assembly plants (Ford, GM Chevrolet), it is likely that these American corporations will try to push the Thai government to sign the TPPA as well. And if they do, then there’s almost no hope for our industry. In the long term, CKD production (especially for Japanese badges) will disappear, and we will directly import CBU cars from Thailand. Some companies will stand with us, most likely the Koreans (if I’m not mistaken, there are no Hyundai or Kia assembly plants in Thailand), and some European names. The influx of cheaper Japanese-badged cars from Thailand will most likely drown out Perodua and especially Proton. Some components vendors will stand to gain though, as our components industry is honestly far better off and are already exporting worldwide today. It’s the production plants that will lose most, and a lot of Malaysians will be gradually laid off.

Personally, I hope Bernie Sanders wins the election, so he can stop this corporate-favouring TPPA before it becomes uncontrollable. #FeelTheBern #DumpTheTrump #SayNoToTPPA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Ollie on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:38 pm

You don’t need anything to kill Proton. Natural death is coming.

I really can’t engage with the level of nonsense in reference to production losses and laid-off Malaysians. The level of ignorance is just too great.

I’ll just request that you go to the nearest library or bookstore, pick up any textbook which says ‘Introduction to Macroeconomics’ and turn to the chapter on Trade.

Thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • torque on Feb 13, 2016 at 9:33 am

Aero, appreciate your point of view with much facts and logic fill in it. Totally agree on you in this TPPA matter, more damage to us in the future…sadly our children will face it.

• Muhammad on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:07 pm

I pray this will expedite and force all car prices to dive and force that lousy Proton to close shop. Proton is like a disease infecting Malaysian soil. So sickening!!

• Ollie on Feb 12, 2016 at 5:33 pm

The best part: Accelerating Proton’s demise

• c.p. mohan on Feb 12, 2016 at 6:16 pm

Opening the market only means that the number of potential customers just got larger for ALL, as always the hard part is translating market/production to sales, in a market where competition/economies of scale reigns.

• matdigol on Feb 12, 2016 at 6:30 pm

Welcome kerajaan menipu dan tindas rakyat yg penyokong bodoh undi mereka lagi dan lagi . Otak ada lembab tak mau fikir.dan fikir.

• ProfX on Feb 12, 2016 at 7:14 pm

Duti import dimansuhkan.. Do i heard it wrong

• Bungkus on Feb 12, 2016 at 8:47 pm

The biggest loser will be Proton eventually.

• Enuff said on Feb 12, 2016 at 8:50 pm

TPPA – Taking Proton’s Protection Away.

• MikeWong on Feb 13, 2016 at 12:40 am

Save your cock stories to your own families. Only bollocks would listen and believe all you cronies and corrupted culprits words.

• Yes MAI is correct but only half correct. The opposite is also true for other countries. And what will we find ourselves in? A situation where imported goods are cheaper than our locally produced goods. Hence, local businesses will suffer just like what is happening to Megasteel. Improve our productivity and technilogy first then only talk.

• As if the American do not manufacture vechile components. Watever factory Malaysia have, the american have. But there r many thing american have but we dun have. Car industry we r gone if sign, but also alr gone if no sign

• To be honest, I don’t believe in free market.

What I notice is businesses ganging up together to become cartels to milk the consumers as much as possible. The cartels then become too big that governments are forced to adopt policies that caters to their whim.

Not only that, their funding of politicians lead to the type of politicians we have now.

Unfortunately, it is how the world works so, like it or not, we have to play their game.

• Wow. This is actually pretty good.