Raising traffic fines won’t reduce accidents – MIROS

Cop-shop

The police have said that raising the quantum of traffic fines might well deter drivers from breaking the law, thus reducing the rate of fatal accidents, but the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) says an increase in fines by itself is not likely to reduce accidents unless accompanied by stricter enforcement and more road safety campaigns, The Star reports.

According to MIROS chairman Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye, 140,000 traffic summonses have been issued by police since Ops Selamat 8 began on February 1, which showed that the public were cavalier about traffic compounds.

“Malaysia may have good traffic laws but the enforcement is poor and needs to be strengthened. The disrespect for traffic rules and road safety is deep-seated and some road users in the country tend to accept the behaviour as ‘normal’ simply because everybody else is doing it,” he said via a statement.

He said that the idea of harsher deterrents should be contemplated. ““Besides maintaining the RM300 on-the-spot fines for traffic offenders, we should also consider the proposed community work such as collecting rubbish and sweeping the roadside as a form of punishment for the offenders,” Lee said.

Crash-accident-collision

Lee stressed on increasing the level of road safety education to change the public’s mentality. While lauding the efforts of weaving these topics into language lessons, he said more should be done, especially for teenagers and young adults.

“Children, starting from pre-school level, need to be educated on road safety practices and the serious implications of reckless driving, and disobeying traffic rules and regulations. This will instil road safety awareness in the children and help them to be responsible and considerate road users when they grow up,” he said.

He added that such education should be given greater emphasis during secondary and tertiary education. “I believe that the road safety education should not stop at secondary three level. It should continue in college and university as school-leavers, diploma holders and university graduates should always be reminded of good road safety practices,” Lee stated.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Polis Raja Di Malaysia (PRDM) on Feb 15, 2016 at 10:25 am

This clearly shows the Government contradicting the IGP. In other words, Government is saying that IGP is bodoh.

Such a stupid statement, you increase fines, less accidents will happen.
    Soon the IGP will say, if you put little money in the handbag, less snatch thieves will snatch handbags.

Cannot believe our IGP has nothing in his head

Hello PDRM and IGP, ask your polis officers to chase the motorbike who beat raffic lights daily. Infront of 4 or 5 officers manning 4 way junctions also, polis officer in 30 minutes can see about 100 motorbikes beating the red light. this alone can cause major accidents.

PDRM, please do your job. Saman or chase the motorbikes.

• ben yap on Feb 15, 2016 at 10:28 am

sudah cakap, gantung sampai mati… jangan tak gantung.

• MIROS, now i know that my love for you was not in vain

• Open Letter to IGP on Feb 15, 2016 at 10:53 am

Hello abang IGP, I got saman before, I go to balai to pay fully at payment counter, the seargeant call me aside to back room and told me he will settle it for me for RM50. He said got no receipt thought.

This is why Malaysians are not scared of saman. Don’t even have to bribe polis officer who saman you. When you go balai also, no need to beg or appeal for reduction. Polis themselves come and offer you their “services”.

This is why, even RM1000 saman also, we Malaysians will be cool about it.

• The only ways are Perodua close shop will immediately reduce numbers of accidents.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 15, 2016 at 8:07 pm

MIROS’ Mr. Lee Lam Thye just nailed it. Fear (raising fines) is not the solution to worsening road manners, education and commitment to education (enforcement) is.

• PEng Wong on Feb 15, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Road hogs must be punished as well. How can a vehicle be allowed to be driven at 60kmh on a 110 kmh highway forcing other vehicles to zig zag in out of into the fast lane to overtake these turtles.