SPIED: 2016 Proton Perdana – clearest rear view yet

2016 Proton Perdana rear spyshot

Spyshots of the 2016 Proton Perdana just keep coming. This latest one by reader Alex Leong shows the clearest view of the rear of the national flagship D-segment sedan – based on the previous-generation Honda Accord – yet, with much of the disguise stripped off the car.

From here, the shape of the rear diffuser is clearly apparent, and match the one shown in the official preview. The rather tall rear lip spoiler also loses the previous box-like cover, showing the actual, more rounded profile of the bootlid addendum. Elsewhere, the L-shaped LED tail lights can be seen clearer here, as is the chrome bar linking the two lamp modules.

Last week, we saw the interior of the car, which featured a black-and-beige colour scheme with brown wood trim (as opposed to the all-black palette with grey wood veneer of the Accord 2.4 sold here) along with a new infotainment system with what appears to be a touchscreen.

2016-Proton-Perdana-04

To be built at Proton’s Medium Volume Factory in Shah Alam (current government-only Perdana is made by Honda Malaysia in Melaka), the 2016 Perdana is expected to launch in the first quarter of this year, retaining the Accord’s 154 hp/189 Nm R20A3 2.0 and 177 hp/222 Nm K24Z2 2.4 litre i-VTEC engines and five-speed automatic transmission.

A revision is slated to arrive by the end of 2017, with the Perdana set to receive a new NE01 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, acquired from Petronas in 2012. Also being considered is Proton’s new 1.5 litre turbocharged, direct-injected TGDI engine, claimed to be able to produce 180 hp and 250 Nm. Whichever powertrain ends up being slotted in, a new torque converter CVT automatic is expected to become standard fare come end-2017.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana teased

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana rendered

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• old horse on Feb 15, 2016 at 7:40 pm

when Camry also having difficult time to sell their Camry, what Accordana can do?

Camry been throwing price now shows how bad the reputation and market for Toyota been damaged…Proton is worst..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Proton Penipu on Feb 15, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Instead of trying to cheat the rakyat, Proton now has a new strategy to cheat the Government by providing fake wood interior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
      • Congrats to Proton for thinking of new way to cheat, LGE smart lah won’t kena tipu. It’s a Honda but not really a Honda. What will Japanese ambassador think of our national car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:58 am

Proton the best and Tun DrM comfirm “Proton don’t make the Malaysia car getting expensive !!!” Proton are innocent and “don’t cheat on NCAP again”. Proton not like VW super cheater !!!

• Syukur lah.
            Tun would be first to drive it like he did with Iriz.

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:39 am

If Proton rebadge whole Accord bulat-bulat and sold at RM70k i will book one NOW. Proton’s forte is still rebadging… The less it modify, the more reliable the car is. Inspira is good example.

• Forgip my RBA clonetrooper aka Albert Yong, for he onli got kindergarten education in reverse pyschology by DAP Institute. I have sent a formal complaint to highest tokong so they can slap’em around.

• AMMAR on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:52 pm

OMG.. dont tell me you believe in Japans or Kimchi car wood interior are woods..

• Best looking interior of the 90’s. welcome back to 20 century!

• Master Sifu on Feb 15, 2016 at 7:47 pm

Me said already, at tis rate, next year sure not yet launched…

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Feb 15, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Brace yourself to read:

1) “Clearest Clearest View Yet” for tomorrow
    2) “Super Clearest View Yet” for this weekend
    3) “Super Clearest Clearest View Yet” for next week
    4) “Super Duper Clearest View Yet” for 1st week of March
    5) “Super Duper Mega Clearest View Yet” for 2nd week of March
    6) “Super Mega Hyper Clearest View Yet” for 1st week of April
    7) “Super Mega Hyper Giga Clearest View Yet” for 2nd week of April
    8) “Super Mega Hyper Giga Godzilla View Yet” for 3rd Week of April 9) “Super Mega Hyper Giga Godzilla Superman Batman Clearest View Yet” for May
    9) “Super Mega Hyper Giga Godzilla Superman Batman Ironman Clearest View Yet” for June

…………… And the list goes on (YAWN)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 12
    • biggie on Feb 15, 2016 at 11:23 pm

Then why you are here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 30
      • john is otak batu on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:42 am

Dear Biggie, this to et everybody know a repeated post over & over again.
        Bottom line = Same Sh!t Different Day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Then… clearest view of the floor mat plus windscreen viper material revealed.

• Albert on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:09 am

PROTONG is doing multiple strip tease over the last 6 months.
      Start selling the bladdy damn car if it is damn good as claimed.All we know is,it is a REBADGE,rebadge,celup job.
      Anyway,Protong and honda have a common daddy..dRB.ThatS why Honda Japan allows an outdated Accord to be rebadged as ACCORDANA.

• marieta on Feb 15, 2016 at 8:02 pm

Ugghhh…Why Proton is so slow…the car already looks obsolete even before its launch!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • just hope the front looks like the render…..the back thou….

• Albert on Feb 15, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Proton may garner some lost sales when this much anticipated Accordana hits our streets.
    However,not many Proton fanboys can afford the price,even if 10 year loans are PUSHED out as banks are tightening lending criteria.
    2016 will be another horrifying year for car sales.
    Proton,like MAS is still in intensive care with tubes all over.
    Just take a walk around KL’s shopping malls.Not a single retail shop is happy with lacklustre sales.Infact,many outlets have closed, cos of high costs and failing sales.
    Local giant Petronas is on the verge of chopping a portion of its inflated workforce of 50,000 employees.
    The turnaround plan for proton is a bit too late.
    Sayornara,Protong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Yawn…

• PROTON=TONS OF PROBLEM :D on Feb 15, 2016 at 8:18 pm

stupid pricing.ugly exterior.uglier interior. R.I.P PROTON

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • Latest Perdana Spyshot story. This time is another view of the rear end. How exciting.

Next Perdana story: a view of the number plate holder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Wait for it. The keyboard warriors who think they can be ceo of p1 and pro at criticizising without doing anything to actually help will be here in a minute. Lolz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • 4G63T DSM on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:12 pm

Ah, we know better now don’t we.

The problem with Proton isn’t the CEO. Its the dead weight of cronies pulling it down. How many CEOs did proton change already?

Customers don’t get what they pay for, we stop buying. Its that simple.

• Yawnz on Feb 15, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Spyspot season 5 episode 36

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • After completed the all four planned model, Proton should develop their SUV bcoz now is the time the SUV segment is blooming. Started with a small B-segment SUV (HR-V, CX-3) which is trending right now. Or they can rebadge Suzuki Vitara/Baleno since the volume will not as big as saloon car.

• john is otak batu on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:34 am

How to develop??!!! Look at the pile up of Preve, Suprima & Iriz in stock yard… overall design never evolved. This future Perdana also & WILL be add in the “pile-up”. Dear CEO & Dr.M pls check montly sales/inventory actual figures & open it to public. Not fake sales to gomen units

• alldisc on Feb 15, 2016 at 8:52 pm

That is not a diffuser. The correct name is valance. Pls do not mislead.

• Jolok on Feb 15, 2016 at 9:14 pm

Honda power window gerenti tak sangkut.

• piupiupiu on Feb 15, 2016 at 9:34 pm

I bet people will wait for the NE01 engine..

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Feb 15, 2016 at 9:37 pm

So good another view… Proton the best and Tun DrM comfirm “Proton don’t make the Malaysia car expensive !!!” Proton are innocent and “don’t cheat on NCAP again”. Proton not like VW super cheater !!!

• P2 is big cheater, u can see an accident from last year, a 4 stars Asean Ncap Myvi become satin

• Pengguna Bijak on Feb 15, 2016 at 9:38 pm

Better buy used but original 2010 Honda Accord at rm70k price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Syoik-syoik Spyshots on Feb 15, 2016 at 9:42 pm

Proton’s so-called spy shots are getting irritating, dragged too long…..Ppl eventually get fed-up with it even before the car is launched.

Even merc car don’t do such syoik sendiri overdose of spy shots…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • merc=rubbish on Feb 15, 2016 at 11:26 pm

Merc is rubbish car, no spyshot people still know they are camoed with old newspaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Mat Moto on Feb 15, 2016 at 10:23 pm

What an ugly piece of crap, my EX5 is better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • ruzman on Feb 15, 2016 at 10:27 pm

The straight line gear shifter doesnt look premium imho.still accord’s DNA inside it and we can see the not so thick plastic parts especially at the pillar and door

• Aero (Member) on Feb 15, 2016 at 10:32 pm

Heard that the launch has been delayed to May. As I’ve said many times earlier, please take your time, don’t rush anything. It’s better to fix all the problems before launching, than to launch early and face a hate-storm a year or two down the road.

Look at the Prevé, Proton rushed its launch, and it showed. I honestly think the Prevé (and Suprima S) are as unreliable and unrefined as the older Waja and GEN-2. First it was the little things like the gearshift lever breaking off, headlamp blow-outs and whatnot. Now it’s the bigger things… in other words, the oil-cooler hose fiasco. I understand that Proton has already changed the vendors for the OCH, but the damage has been done. D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
    • Andas on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:05 am

Can you confirm if they did change OCH vendor?

• Aero (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:48 am

It’s true. On February 2nd, a delegation from PREVOC (Proton Prevé Owners Club) met up with Proton’s Engineering division at COE Shah Alam. Proton’s CTO, En. Abdul Rashid Musa was present. The OCH problem is somewhat mysterious, because it could happen in any CamPro Turbo/ CFE equipped Proton. It is believed that the hot weather in Malaysia causes the hose to crack. Sometimes, owners can detect the leak in advance, but others are less fortunate. The OCH could also be behind those ‘Exora terbakar’ viral videos, but this is not confirmed.

Proton has changed the vendor for the OCH to a South Korea-based company. The previous vendor also supplied the same OCH to other brands, and apparently, there’s been similar OCH cases in some Arab countries too, where the weather is even hotter. Proton said they tested the CamPro Turbo/ CFE + Prevé/ P3-21A combination prior to launch, but they did not encounter the OCH problem then. However, as we all know, Proton rushed the Prevé’s launch, so their claims are irrelevant. Also, Proton has changed their vendor for the headlamp bulb (from Philips to Osram), the engine mounting and various other small enhancements have been made.

Proton also said that the OCH is under Unlimited Warranty coverage, and Proton may or may not do a recall in the near future. However, the next time you take your Prevé/ Suprima S/ Exora Bold to a SC, they will check your OCH and replace it if necessary. For more details, join the PREVOC FB group, if you haven’t already. A lot of helpful owners there, and a lot of more useful info for your perusal.

I’m glad that Proton is working hard to fix the reliability problems in their older models… but I have mixed feelings. This kind of ‘amateur’ problems should not have happened in the first place… before this, it was power windows… now, it’s the OCH. This is why some Malaysians still don’t want to buy a Proton… they feel Proton ‘has never learned’. The fact that Dr. M keeps saying “Proton cars today are very good/ no problem” and “Why Malaysians don’t support Proton anymore?” makes it even worse.

• Ollie on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:45 am

my car is fully-imported CBU from South Korea, 6 years old now, and I’ve never had temperature issues.

Only Proton, a manufacturer from a TROPICAL COUNTRY can design a car not suited to hot weather.
          Repeat:
          Only Proton, a manufacturer from a TROPICAL COUNTRY can design a car not suited to hot weather.

Get it?

Change vendor for lightbulbs?? Are u friggin kidding me? Who tf cares? Preve Owners Club… haha.. what a sorry bunch of losers with nothing better to do with their time and money

• pokmang on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:57 am

preve quality seem not suit with its 72K price tag…i don’t know how much G had swallowed as the price have to be jacked up to 72K

• Ollie on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:41 am

Another classic. Rebadge pun got problems? Accord is one of the most reliable cars. Proton touch only can get unreliable. Syabas Aero, another classic.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Feb 15, 2016 at 11:10 pm

Rubbish on the run again

• syer1n on Feb 15, 2016 at 11:11 pm

i don’t know why peeps complaint so much about the spyshots. its self explanatory. its a “spy shot”. Spyshots are made by us. not Proton. else i would be called a teaser. blame the camera holder. they are the reason spyshot exist.

i have no hate for the image contributor in fact i’ll thank them if i can. i came here because i’m interested in cars. not political war so be professional at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 19
    • U forgot that bashers follow these rules:

If its P1, jush bash.
      If is made in malaysia, just bash.
      If got any gud news in malaysia, just bash.

Bash dulu, bash sekalang, bash selamanya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
      • Forgip my RBA clonetrooper aka Albert Yong, for he onli got kindergarten education in reverse pyschology by DAP Institute. I have sent a formal complaint to highest tokong so they can slap’em around.

• The basher thought is Proton make spy shot for himself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • FireAce on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:52 am

I rather proton make no change to ANY part of the original Accord. Any changes they try to do will probably make it worst. If they really have to do something to save face, just update the exterior to bring the look up-to-date and give it “Lotus” handling.

• Vincent Tan on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:48 am

I dont know why so many haters here.This car not officialy release yet but so many critics.If BMW or any car got many problem,nothing but if Proton got one problem ,everyone lose their mind
    ”Malaysian Mentality”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Marcus on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:47 am

Still using handbrake for this C segment car. Proton is destined to doom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Muggle on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:52 am

what the fish with that stone-aged hand brake type? looks so cheap. most common d-segment car nowadays already using electronic parking brake as a standard feature. if still can’t “afford”, just use a foot brake instead…

*sigh*

• cantikkan sikit interior on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:50 am

the way they arrange the gearbox and the handbrake look very old fashioned..

• paul fan on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:05 am

Postings on proton nowadays are becoming either personal attacks to Tun M or repeated political issues raised under the same agenda.

• applegreen on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:20 am

the hype is same when proton wants to ‘revolutionize’ mitsu lancer to become inspira, suddenly it didnt turn very well. I’m afraid proton make same mistake again when they launching this new perdana soon.

• Handbrake???? seriously…. what a ugly interior design
    Proton… i lost faith in it. I rather buy Korea car

• Same L0rrr on Feb 16, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Proton bad RV!