VIDEO: It’s all about the drive, says UMW Toyota Motor

It will be an exciting year ahead for Toyota in Malaysia, with UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) planning a couple of big launches of all-new models.

Confirmed is the arrival of the new Toyota Hilux, and the latest iteration of the best-selling pick-up truck is set to be joined by IMV mates Fortuner and Innova. Serving a very different segment, UMWT will also bring in the latest Alphard and Vellfire MPVs as official CBU imports from Japan. And the above is just what we know so far – UMWT president Datuk Ismet Suki hinted at some surprises at a recent media gathering.

The confirmation of the upcoming models was made alongside the reveal of a new focus on motorsports under the Gazoo Racing banner as well as a new tagline – It’s All About The Drive. Clearly, UMWT is attempting to inject some excitement into the brand and its range of cars, and this newly released video is part of the initiative.

“Thinking about your drive drives us to improve, so we can bring better cars and memorable moments for you. It’s all about the excitement, experience, future, performance; all about the drive,” the video proclaims, with a visual backdrop of drifting Vios cars, the Hilux and Camry Hybrid, Toyota’s Le Mans racer, the sexy FT-1 Concept and the C-HR crossover concept.

“At Toyota our goal has always been to move people, literally and figuratively. Where drivers are headed and how they get there has always been our top priority. In the spirit of continuous improvement, your experience as a driver is something that we constantly consider. Your journeys define the development of our vehicles, what you do in them determines the models we bring to our shores, and how you care for your car sets how we serve you both. In short, why you drive is what drives us,” UMWT says in Toyota’s Malaysian website.

From L-R: The CH-R crossover and sexy FT-1 concept are poster cars in UMW Toyota’s new promo video

“In the coming days ahead, we intend to make things even more exciting, to expand the boundaries of consumer vehicle technology, to keep your journeys safe and to adapt to the fast-changing lifestyle,” it adds.

So, with this new direction taken by UMWT, will Malaysia be getting more exciting technology and models from Toyota? It would be welcome, as rival Honda – which ended 2015 as the No.1 non-national brand – is in bullish mood as well, with some heavy artillery (such as this, and this) waiting to be launched. Pass the popcorn!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• horrayooi on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:02 pm

We want Vios with 6 speeds conventional auto or torque converter CVT not 4 speed auto. Bring back the temperature gauge.Don’t just install cheap idiot lights.Clear the 4 speeds stocks cheaply. Obsolete.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Jgn mimpi

• But hohh. UMW toyota is official car for Party Hard. So means UMW is cony of PH?

So shud ask Dear Leader to pressure UMW toyota to gip better safety at leeeeast on par with Najib-crony P1 & DRB-honda….

• Syukurlah kereta sangat murah d Malaysia. Jangan bising harga mahal.

• Toyota - Big Disgrace in Malaysia on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Recent Hilux launch – only those who can afford Rm125k are entitled to VSC? The people who are poor and can only afford basic Hilux are not given VSC?

Toyota aka Ismet Suki, why basic VSC not in any of your cars? In Europe and US, VSC is compulsory no matter how cheap your car is. That is how important VSC is.

In Malaysia, Toyota rips people. They overcharge their cars by 3 fold and yet, they take out the VSc in their cars endangering your life.

The chances of accident is super super super high if a car has no VSC. Go and google paultan’s article on VSC and see for yourself. Once you read it, you will never touch a car without VSC

I have no idea why UMW does this to us Malaysians. Already overcharge us 3x, then double whammy, take out airbas, take out VSC and take out about 20 other safety features available as standard in global Toyotas of the same model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • Syukurlah hotak saya penuh dengan taik khinzir

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • machan on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:16 am

No lo. My Camry hybrid suck oil like dinosaur. Unless I drive it like a kancil only got save fuel…

• Karam singh on Feb 15, 2016 at 8:43 pm

No matter what, Toyota is top selling car brand in the world. It’s all about the drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • john is otak batu on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:36 am

R u sure??!!! the drive & acceleration is so sluggish !!

• YeapyEvo on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:13 pm

It is more exciting to see UMW share drop from 14.7 to 6.7 in less than 3 years time. Still thinking Malaysians will buy your overpriced cut specs car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • tokmoh. on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:24 pm

“to keep your journeys safe”

Kedekut VSC, 6 airbags nak claim safe? Kek

• kobealex on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:28 pm

Still rather hilarious to be seeing Toyota promoting a drifting Vios. Like seriously?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • YeapyEvo on Feb 15, 2016 at 9:01 pm

To prove that their car without VSC is a good thing , sliding all around dangerously when other car with VSC just maneuver without sweating the layman driver.

• It’s all about the taufu project, sending Malaysian to coffin.

• omegle on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:33 pm

It’s all in the drive – Proton

Its all about the drive – Toyota

• Professional on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:38 pm

toyota so desperate. ask the oldman come out do video trying to push up their slacking sales

• Syukur lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • jobless on Feb 15, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Buy Toyoda and when u show up during CNY the look on yur yur mommy-in-law face who had looked down on u when u were driving Prodon, , the feeling is priceless..try it to believe it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • kesian you. got materialistic in-law

• fitri on Feb 15, 2016 at 8:25 pm

yaa…when ur mommy-in-law love her daughter to die early because of poor safety car…hurray thats what ppl like..

buy proton la…safety is better..

• old horse on Feb 15, 2016 at 7:42 pm

yup, exciting year for UMW to failed miserably and taken back by Toyota

• Johnny on Feb 15, 2016 at 7:56 pm

Pls bring in manual variant as one of the high spec model…n pls make vsc standard to all vehicle

• car lover on Feb 15, 2016 at 8:46 pm

Toyota Malaysia marketing still stay in jungle n leave happily in jungle. Now car owner not only looking for nice drive car but also n most importantly look for good specs car with all safety devices. My new CX3 have better drive compared to my new Altis that without VSC. Worse is my wife keep complaining on Altis not smooth drive especially on cornering compare to cx3. My god, my wife without any knowledge on car also comment like this n end up she choose only drive cx3. So, i keep telling myself no more Toyota if they still offer TRD package but without 6 o 7 airbag n vsc. This two was the most important safety devise must have to save our live if happen un-wanted accidence. Trust me, to buy car think about safety of you love one n family. Nothing is important then your love one n don’t get cheated by car salesman on how good is their car if without this safety devises.

• During CNY, i juz saw a new Vios upside-down at Taman. I thought the driver want to drift his car as tv ads.

• Cynical on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:59 am

Hahaa.. Epic. It’s all about the drive mah, to yourearly grave that is

• “It’s all about the profit” says UMW Toyota motor

• ben yap on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:19 am

the ad says “better cars”. i can’t recall which car is better.

• albag on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:37 am

I see the new hilux pricing, almost pengsan… would opt for Triton for better value and specs