2016 Proton Perdana – initials details of 2.4L vs 2.0L

2016 Proton Perdana full media preview 7

Following our early preview of the new 2016 Proton Perdana, we now have some preliminary details on the equipment that will be offered. Two variants will be presented to customers – 2.4L and 2.0L, with bookings now open for the national carmaker’s flagship sedan.

The 2.4 litre model that bears the Honda-derived K24Z2 i-VTEC engine will get a bodykit that includes front and rear spoiler lips, plus side skirts. Also included are xenon projector headlights and 17-inch wheels. Meanwhile, the base 2.0L model (R20A3 2.0 litre i-VTEC engine) will lose out on the bodykit, paired with halogen projector headlights and different-design 17-inch wheels.

As for the Perdana’s interior, the 2.4L gets seats that are upholstered in beige leather (confirming our earlier spyshots), accompanied by various pieces of wood trim. The car will also receive two separate screens, with one acting as the head unit, and the other serving as a display for among other things, the navigation function. Electric-powered seats are fitted on the driver’s side as well.

2016 Proton Perdana full media preview 1

The base 2.0L on the other hand, gets black leather for its seats instead, with silver trim on various parts of the cabin. It also gets a different head unit along with manually adjustable driver and passenger seats. On both variants, keyless entry will not be offered.

On the safety side of things, four airbags come as standard on both the 2.0 and 2.4 litre variants. The only catch is, electronic stability control (ESC) will only be available on the 2.4L, while the 2.0L will have to make do without it.

Keep in mind that these are merely initial specifications of the new 2016 Proton Perdana. More details and final specifications of the sedan will be released during its launch, which is scheduled to be in Q1 of 2016. For now, does it have what it takes to impress? Let us know.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana teased

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana rendered

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• shawal on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:15 pm

preve was sold with 4 airbags, then, after backlash, sold with 6, i’d say with all protons, never be an early adopter

wait for updated specs, freebies and discounts…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • OMG…i think P1 dah nyayuk….Kiss goodbye to P1…will see further drops in sales and profits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 35
      • P1 of course dah nyayuk like his founder, Dr. M. Keep on criticizing Bijan for nothing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 20
        • Close Down Jamban Proton on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Proton sales are so bad. 100k figure is false. In actual fact, 90% of sales went to Spanco, Bomba, Tentera, TUDM TLDM, PDRM, JKR, every kementerian in Putrajaya etc etc. Spanco alone buys berpuluh ribu cars to lease back to the Government. With all this help, still Proton cannot survive.

Most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of dying Proton to live. Proton sucks billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).
          They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.
          Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.

Which is better? 300,000 jobs created by car companies setting up plants in Malaysia or to sustain the existing 30,000 Proton employees that have been living off us the past 30 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 44
          • DonkeyKong on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:05 pm

So many words, yet so little sense & logic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 45
          • Haih Proton… For what i support u? Better move your production plant to Zimbabwe lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 29
        • Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:47 pm

Guess the engine would be the most reliable part in the new Perdana.

Proton quality control principle: As long as it is not from proton, it will have reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
    • VSC VSC where are you? on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:44 pm

A car costing Rm100k got no VSC? Seriously? Already the same Government GLC UMW cheats the public with no VSC in Vios, Altis and RM160k Camry.

Now, another GLC, DRB Hicom, cheats the public with no VSC.

In Europe and US, no matter how cheap a car is, even a Fiat Panda has VSC compulsory as it is one of the most important safety features.

In Malaysia, the Proton CEO gives bullshit about how they are improving Proton image and service and now, you give the rakyat a car that has no VSC?

VSC is so important that even our Paul Tan has written a long article on VSC. Once you read it, you will fear for your life driving a car with no VSC.

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

Come on Proton, Gomen protects you 30 years, we rakyat support you 100% the past 30 years and now, you give us a car with no VSC?

We Malaysians cannot even complain because Proton is the Government. Who to complain to? In other countries, the Government is the enforcing body who makes things like VSC comulsory.

But in Malaysia, the Government is Proton and Proton is the Government. Who to complain to?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 17
      • Esc is the other name of it sir..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • Bonboncak on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Most proton already have VSC lah, it is called ESC. PREVE have one, Iriz too iinm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • Itikipedia on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Esc = Vsc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • aikon on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:40 pm

The previous Accord 2.0 that was sold in Malaysia didn’t have that and since this car is based on that previous Accord, it is most likely that Honda said they couldn’t spec it in for the new Perdana. So, there you have it. Honda can’t give Proton the very best of what they’ve got right? Still, if the price is right…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • DonkeyKong on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Bashers don’t care about facts. If Japanese 2.0 D-segment cars came with only 2 airbags and no VSC at RM140-RM150k, no one bats an eyelid.

A much larger Proton 2.0 D-segment car comes with 4 airbags but no VSC at less than RM105k, everyone loses their minds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 14
          • Slevin on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Of course all Honda don’t have vsc. Ever heard vsa? Honda use vsa, not vsc/esc. Old 2.0 accord do have vsa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Slevin on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:30 pm

Honda accord have vsa. Try googling what’s that mean.

• kzm (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:19 pm

VSA, VSC, VDC, ASC, DSC, MSP, ESP, AT, ST, PCS n ESC moreless same thing different names

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Kubar on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Esc=vsc…..numbnuts

• DonkeyKong on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:08 pm

That’s Honda’s fault, because the Accord platform that formed the basis for this Perdana didn’t have VSC for the 2.0 model.

But then again, among the previous-generation Accord, Camry and Teana, none of them had VSC for the 2.0 models. They also only have 2 airbags typically for the 2.0 model. Even a foreign car like the previous-generation non-Ecoboost Mondeo 2.3 didn’t come with VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
    • hailthepurist on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:08 pm

why no v6…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • DonkeyKong on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:04 pm

Pretty disappointing that they’re merely carrying over the Japanese-spec components, namely no ESC/VSC and a maximum of 4 airbags. The generation of D-segment sedans that the Perdana is based on, such as the Camry, Accord and Teana, typically have a maximum of 4 airbags and the base models do not have VSC.

Despite the major re-working of the chassis and sheet metal, Proton should have replaced the airbag modules with what they’ve been sourcing for the Preve and Suprima and provide 6 airbags. Same goes for the ESC. Instead, the first batch of Perdana seems to maintain the primary electronics and body control systems of the donor platform, right down to barebones safety spec for the base 2.0 model. That could also mean they’re using crappy Takata airbags instead of the Bosch units that are in their other models?

Looks like it’s more worthwhile to wait for the GDI version at the end of 2017. With new powertrains come new electronics and body control systems, which opens up the possibility of having Bosch airbags (with increased count of 6 or 8 airbags, hopefully), ABS+EBD and ESC systems across the range and a total departure from the Japanese spec systems of the donor platform.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
      • 4 airbags are still ok when consider all Camry only has 2. But all variants shud come with VSC. Bad move by P1. They cud use wire harness & BCU from 2.4 version into 2.0.
        Then pricing is just diff of bodykit, bigger rims, better trims & equipment, engine and headlights. They shudnt compromise their USP in market: safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • Slevin on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:29 pm

Do your homework. Honda accord base model do have it. It’s called vsa

• OMG…WTF p1. NO VSC for 2.0 model? another alien on the road. PPl will just rather buy Jap c-segment cars with >RM 100K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • 4G63T DSM on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:17 pm

Big fail.

4 airbags. And no VSC for the 2.0L.

So much for safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • DonkeyKong on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:05 pm

It’s a carry-over from the Honda donor platform. If Proton had a free hand at replacing all the electronics, I think they would have swapped out all the Jap crap including Takata airbags with Bosch components that they’re using for the rest of their models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • Proton so smart better build the whole car from scratch then, why use the donor platform?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • I believe that’s what partnership in result. if don, then proton better develop new chassis under RnD budget then.

• kazanixm on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:18 pm

ESC & ABS should have been standard for all variants. For Airbags, 6 airbags should also be standards. I thought Proton already knew this?

They need to understand that Perdana is going to be their Flagship car. They should know that safety standard should NEVER be lowered albeit it is 2.0L or 2.4L. The only thing they can play with is more likely the bodykits, rims and ICE.

Please reconsider back on the safety spec Protons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Say Something on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:18 pm

What is the logic behind when 40k base iriz has ESC but 100+k Perdana doeesn’t have?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • DonkeyKong on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:13 pm

The logic is that Proton wasn’t allowed to replace the powertrain and electronic systems by Honda, so the safety specs has to be as lousy as the Honda Accord. Even the current generation Honda Accord maxes out at only 4 airbags for our market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
      • ayamxxx on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:35 pm

Current accord after 1year launched, they add to 6 airbag instead 4 during first launch.

Proton die supporters?

• my accord 2.4 has 6 airbags duuuuh

• Pastorius1 on Feb 17, 2016 at 2:30 am

OK folks, let’s just keep things nippy and simple: Any D-segment vehicle (and classes above it) offering less than 7 airbags, no keyless entry, no ESP, no cruise control, no Hill Start Assist, no ABS for the LEAST….NO BUY!!!! (especially the current Perdana – how can it possibly fight for a FULL ANCAP 5-star rating? Buat malu aje industri kereta Malaysia!)

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:20 pm

I know so many people bought Perdana and at the same time, as a 2nd car, they bought either a Camry or an Accord.

After 12 years, the Perdana becomes Rm3000

After 12 years, the Accord still can sell RM60k

After 12 years, the Camry still can get RM60k.

That alone will show you, after 10 years, your Perdana becomes scrap metal. ZERO RV car.

Also, ask any Perdana owner, after 10 years, they would have spent a BOMB in maintenance in maintenance and repairs alone

The Perdana Owner, after 10 years, over RM100k in maintenance and repairs.

The Camry owner, after 10 years, at most RM30k in maintenance and repairs.

The Accord Owner, after 10 years, at most Rm25k in maintenance and repairs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
    • Rm100k to Service Perdana for 3 Years on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Goverment of Malaysia spent RM100k per Perdana per every 3 years just to SERVICE alone. That also with Warranty intact, maintenance should be cheaper as warranty should cover most parts.

So, your 1 years is a good figure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh. on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:39 pm

Now 2016, 12 years ago was 2004.

U buka mudah, find me 2004 Accord or Camry selling at RM60k. Only maslan would be waterfish to buy it at RM60k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 15
      • Ollie on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:40 pm

I edi buka Mudah. Accord is 40k, Camry is 35k, Perdana is RM15k. Lu mau ckp apa? Bodoh. ur happy that junk is worth more than 10k?? 15k oso cannot sell la Perdana.. Bodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
    • My ass Accord and Camry 2004 RM60k! Liar! bodo punya red bean. kasi true fact la!

Perdana 2004 still above 10k la weyyyy. kencing punya olang!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
    • Topkek on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:53 pm

What the hell are you smoking? The same era perdana v6 and accord are similarly priced in terms of rv. Stop being a whiny fella stating crap about cars if you didnt even bother to research about it. Im also sad that the perdana is less specced than the iriz but i dont spew up garbage just to rant about how crap proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • Ollie on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:43 pm

Oi. STFU. 15k perdana vs 40k accord. Dont talk c__k. Whatever you are smoking you can shove it up the other side

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
        • topkek on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Pls consider when the retail price when new la brader. 2004 Accord was 135k when new. Perdana only cheaper abit (around 110k). Logic la with the ‘problematic’ gearbox + the proton badge. Standard la if the accord RV high abit. What OP said the perdana value is 3k. Now that’s freaking crazy. Read what Op type first b4 comment on my post.

• HAHAHAHA!!!2.0 has no ESC!!!Loser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Wow, a car that cost 100k and above does not have ESC and only 4 airbags while your lower range cars have full 6 airbags with ESC. What are you thinking PROTON?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Jobless on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Tis car going to be epic fail…only gomen buy and literally forced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • really disappointed. spent too long to change the exterior but retain the interior of accord..

• the accord 2.4 it was based on has both driver and front passenger electric seats. The Perdana is supposed to be their flagship sedan, I don’t understand why they need to omit so many things compared to the donor car.

• tokmoh. on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:35 pm

“electronic stability control (ESC) will only be available on the 2.4L”

Kata nak jadi Volvo of Asia, apa kemaslanan ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • jinggo on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Ape la bengong gelabah sgt korang ni.. spec tu belum konfem lagi.. tak reti bahasa ke? Sabar sikit bole tak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • tokmoh. on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Tabouli ini machiem.

Volvo betul2 mau buat kereta tada sapa bole mati atau cedera parah sebelum 2020, itu wawasan 2020 Volvo.

Volvo of Asia ni pula mau cadang jual keter rm100k tada ESC. Mak dia hijau nak orang bayar mahal2, kedekut safety. Poi

• Ini saya setuju. Mak dia hijau macam ‘The Hulk’ akibat Proton

• Proton Supporter on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:05 am

Aku sebenarnya setuju ape cakap jinggo. Spec nya belum konfirm dah mula nak ckp tu lah tu ni lah …..tapi sepatutnya Proton patut letak ESC+ABS+EBD+6 airbags paling maximum bagi kedua2 variant. Tapi aku harap yang terbaik dari Proton.

• hashim on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Now John will have to swallow his ego
    and accept that Perdana is a
    premium moving coffin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Onli slight less, cuz still has 4 airbags. Camry is still D-segment king of coffin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • john otak batu on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:46 pm

No ESC is no ESC. Still want to be arrogant? No wonder Proton is doomed to fail

• Not arrogant. Just stating the facts that 4 airbag Perdana better than 2 airbag Camry. Even an idiot can count. Unless u r worse than an i…

• john otak batu on Feb 17, 2016 at 6:23 pm

Hey smartass, you forgot one thing. There’s one version of Camry that comes with 7 airbags. How many airbags does your top range Perdana comes with? Still 4? Confirm you are worse than an i…

• “On the safety side of things, four airbags come as standard on both the 2.0 and 2.4 litre variants. The only catch is, electronic stability control (ESC) will only be available on the 2.4L, while the 2.0L will have to make do without it.”

Let’s all say it together…. Proton BODOH!!! Your crap Iriz ada ESC and your 2.0 Perdana tak ada? BODOH!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • It is still an Accord. Nothing surprising with the interior design and spec

• Ollie on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:55 pm

When you don’t have the brains for strategy, this is what happens.

Why do people buy 2.0 over 2.4? Power is sufficient with 2.0 but 2.4 you’re paying road tax of RM780 vs RM380 for 2.0.

Do you really need Einstein to tell you that 2.0 will be the ‘better’ (by this i mean it will probly be sold to around 1000 proton suckers vs 500 for the 2.4) yet dont put ESC and other specs. pandai..mmg pandai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Syukur lah.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Haha still on 4 airbags even though it’s a FLAGSHIP sedan for them and keyless entry is standard for such a car. They really like those nails in their coffin don’t they?

• Tak boleh tahan on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:48 pm

So slowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

• Kia Picanto 1.2 has 6 airbags, keyless start, etc.
    Never understand these people in Proton. Halogen lamp for Persona 2.0, what….

• henry on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:39 pm

ESC on the 2.0 model should be a must. Can do luxury feature like the black leather seat but why drop ESC?

• lcmbryan on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:31 pm

Save your money and wait for Honda civic 2016

• KennyL on Feb 17, 2016 at 3:00 am

Proton huh? Just forgot about it !

• Raju Beng Abu on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:31 am

I’am malaysian and only buy proton car.

• newbierookie on Mar 19, 2016 at 6:59 am

PROTON is the best car in Malaysia !!!
    Cheap + Affordable + Good Service + Best Value(LOSS)
    To show our patriotism towards our country and support the crony government company we should just buy Proton and boycott all those Jap/Conti/Kimchi car !!!

1Malaysia !! Wawasan 2020 !! #PROTON best car maker forever#