Honda Civic – carryover 1.8, 1.5 Turbo RS for Thailand

Honda-Civic-Thailand-01

It’s getting closer now, the new Honda Civic. Following Honda Thailand’s through-the-generations Civic heritage video to usher in the tenth-generation model and the spotting of lightly disguised units roaming the streets, Thai journalists have been given the chance to briefly sample the new Civic on track ahead of its official launch. Initial specs have been confirmed, along with the release of these four on-location shots.

The tenth-gen Civic, looking very striking in this dark shade of grey, will be powered by a 1.8 litre engine carried over from the previous generation. The SOHC i-VTEC unit has an unchanged 141 PS and 174 Nm of torque, but the R18A is now paired to a CVT gearbox in place of the current car’s five-speed torque converter automatic.

But the powertrain you’re more interested in is the 1.5 litre turbocharged engine, which replaces the 2.0 litre NA in the Civic line-up. The downsized, direct injection VTEC Turbo unit, with intake and exhaust valve timing control (Dual VTC), is claimed to have the performance of a 2.4 litre naturally aspirated engine, but without the big NA’s fuel consumption.

Honda-Civic-Thailand-02

Rated at 173 hp at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 5,500 rpm, this Euro IV L15B7 DOHC motor is paired to a CVT automatic with steering paddle shifters. Thailand used to have a manual transmission base variant, but the 10th gen Civic is automatic-only. Honda is currently testing a 1.5L turbo + 6MT combo in the US, but such a variant is unlikely to reach our region.

Other under the skin points include EPS steering, front MacPherson struts, rear multi-link suspension (stabiliser bars at both ends) all round disc brakes (fronts are drilled, ventilated), twin tailpipes (strangely hidden) and 17-inch alloys with 215/50 rubber.

Available equipment on the range topping 1.5 Turbo RS include LED headlamps, LED rear signature lamps, front electrically adjustable seats (eight-way for driver, four-way passenger), dual-zone auto air-con, keyless entry with push start, cruise control, Honda LaneWatch, engine remote start, seven-inch touchscreen audio with Apple CarPlay, navigation, reverse camera and six airbags, among other things.

Honda-Civic-Thailand-03

First revealed in October last year, it didn’t take long for the 2016 Civic to win its first award, the 2016 North American Car of the Year. We’ve already detailed the tenth-gen, and you can dive deep into the new model’s dimensions, construction, chassis, powertrains, safety and even accessories.

By the way, the “best ever Civic” wasn’t just benchmarked against traditional rivals like the Toyota Corolla, Nissan Sentra/Sylphy, Mazda 3, Hyundai Elantra, Kia Cerato, Ford Focus and Volkswagen Jetta; but also “luxury compact class vehicles” like the BMW 3 Series, Mercedes-Benz C-Class and Audi A4. The premium-badged Europeans were used as benchmarks for ride, handling, steering and NVH, as well as interior quality and refinement.

The Civic FC’s Thai launch is just around the corner (next month’s 2016 Bangkok Motor Show would be a fitting stage), and we’re expecting the radical-looking C-segment sedan to surface in Malaysia later this year. Excited yet?

2016 Honda Civic

Honda Civic through the years

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Our dirty government will never allow the 1.5 engine in. As you can see from the Ford Focus, even when the 1.0 Ecoboost was Ford’s No 1 seller for Focus in Europe, Malaysian government insisted on 2.0

Why? it is to screw the rakyat for more money. 1.5 engine has lower taxes. they will have to sell it for RM90k. But if sell RM90k, habis lah new Perdana.

Songlap lah Rakyat Demi Masa hadapan Songlap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 31
    • machan on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Euro-4 1.5 turbocharged, comes to papa. As long as our RON97 is cheap as RM2.10

• Ekorboot on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:37 pm

for Ford’s case, the ecoboost didnt came in last time because Thailand plant does not have the technology to assemble the engine(the rest of the ecoboost range Fords are not made in thailand), the new 1.5 litre ecoboost will be available on the new facelifted focus

• Basher Must Hv Brain on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:59 pm

Obviously Songlap Songlap Malaysia don’t hv knowledge.Just bash bash bash! No brain! Kudos to Ekorboot

• Kevin on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Sorry to disappoint you but we will get the 1.5L Turbo engine too, same as Thailand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • US$12k car becomes RM130k on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:40 pm

Current Civic 2.0 is about RM130k. This 1.5 will be sold here for RM140k.

In US, the Civic 2.0 after discounts, is sold for US$12,000. A McDonalds worker can buy a Civic outright with 6 months of just saving his money. Btw, the Civic comes with 10 airbags and is CBU quality.

In Malaysia, the sundal Government gives lower quality DRB crony CKD Civic to us, cuts it to 2 airbags and cuts so many other safety features. And then sells it for RM130k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 12
      • forex on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:51 pm

So you are a McD worker?
        Dun dream la, work harder. Dun blame others for your failure in life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
      • Basher Must Hv Brain on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:14 pm

R u sure mcDonald worker afford to buy civic in US after saving 6months? After pay monthly room/house,bills,transportation,f&b,family &skids cost of living,etc..can buy civic after 6months? Or u mean work 18hrs/day or buy older gen 2nd hand civic?Much more relevant i guess. Pls don’t simply write idiotic statement in future.Yes,it’s more more cheaper in the US but don’t cheat my brain pls.Ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Syoooo laiii kappp on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:37 pm

Kah kah kah proton owners mjoriti goverments servent. And their hated Mcd so much. Kikikikiki lol talk like you have good brains but same as ahmad maslan

• Ekorboot on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:39 am

FYI, Civic 2016 touring’s MSRP is 27500 USD

• RotorBiru on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:12 pm

“220 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 5,500 rpm, this Euro IV L15B7 DOHC moto”… It’s EU FOUR bro! So it’ll most probably be coming here also…

• Compared to current Mazda 3 … the power figures not that great for 1.5 Turbo and may not the value buy if price at 140k …

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:07 pm

Come Malaysia, only the body and interior are new, the drive train is still SOHC + 5AT. You want VTEC+Turbo? Dream on, as Honda slogan goes:

Honda, the power of (LETTING YOU) dream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:13 pm

In Malaysia, we are dumping ground for old technologies. For 30 years, Mitsubishi collaborated with Malaysian Government to give old outdated and fuel hungry engines.

Malaysia is always Japan’s dumping ground. Even the new Perdana, it is Honda’s leftovers. We Malaysians, including the Malaysian Government ar elike dogs beside the master’s table waiting for scraps and tulang.

Don’t be excited about any cars in Malaysia cause our Government is happy we get leftovers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • nosushi on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:54 pm

Japs also use leftovers of 1990’s Ford platform on Mazda Biante, so?

• no money no talk on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:20 pm

Honda proved as No. 1 in 2014 pc & 2015 tiv customers don’t dream.U got money go for merc or bmw la.Continue dream,u must be myvi owner.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:08 pm

i like the exterior…but i prefer mazda 3’s interior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:18 pm

From the spec and the sizes, i duno how other same class competitor can meet this standard, especially Altis. Altis has almost lose 95% of spec to this new Civic, i guess next generation Altis gonna go for 1.3l Turbo in order to compete TURBOWAR here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Where our tax goes?Own pocket ke? on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:31 pm

Toyota still lags behind in term of techs & specs generosity here in Bolehland,thx to UMW & cronies.. Seem like civic,city,accord & suv’s will keep hold the King of tiv in 2016 again.. Who want to buy 200k+ prius? 150k very small Prius C? Should i call it ‘environmental saving tax scheme?’ Whoever impose/approved this dumb tax should be slotter,cut to 50 pieces & make curry!

• OMG…love this car so much, hope the 1.5Turbo available here.

• vodka on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Yaay 1.5 turbo for Thailand means MY has a high chance of getting it too! But lower power rating vs 1.5T in USA which is running RON87? Love the black trim grills on the RS. How about some shots of the interior of the 1.5 turbo RS? Please give us some Alcantara with red stitching instead of the usual boring leather.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Funny thing here, 1.8l carryover. Now civic sold at RM123k for 1.8, and 2.0 almost closed to 135k.

means that 10th gen Civic for 1.8 will be estimated price at RM125k, and 1.5l for 138k?? could it happen? i felt 1.5l turbo will be sell close to 140k. What say u?…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Bob_B78 on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:05 pm

VW jetta 1.4 turbo or Peugeot 308/408 turbo selling below 140k. Unlikely to sell above 140k for civic turbo. If above 140k make no point to buy it if you’re looking something sporty. Reliability of CVT will be questionable when paired high torque engine.

• better get mazda3 2.0 CKD 120k fully loaded, or wait for 2.2 skyactiv-D 180hp 420NM…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • heybadigol (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Wow, didn’t see the turbo engine coming so soon. Thought Honda Thailand will wait for a facelift before introducing turbo goodies. Kudos to the Thai bosses for this. Hope Honda Malaysia follows suit (usually yes, from past experience). Too bad Thailand (and Malaysia) isn’t getting the full lane keeping assist (ie almost autonomous driving) that North America gets. Guess the tech is not quite ready for our ASEAN roads yet.

Looks like Thailand will get paddle shifters. I know its a bit silly for a CVT to get them, but hey, North America does not get them at all. Not even as an option. So this is pretty big news, other than getting turbo power of course. Can’t wait to see it here.

• DPCraft on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:29 pm

Yeah the 1.8l makes more sense, not many ppl want a 2.0l because road tax.

• Syukur lah.

• Bob_B78 on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:50 pm

1.5 turbo + CVT is not very combination. Should pair with a conventional automatic gearbox or manual instead. CVT can’t really handle high torque so reliability could be an issue later period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Don Mega on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:32 pm

Hey kid, the Civics CVT is equipped with torque converter and additional oil cooler. We care about facts, not opinions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • DPCraft on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:24 pm

Honda have mentioned that their cvt can handle 390Nm of torque.

• Bob_B78 on Feb 17, 2016 at 11:20 am

Something similar to what VW said about their DSG. So how does that ends?

• horatio on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:56 pm

If assemble in melaka plant which they will…better wait for facelift till they solve all the shit problem that might come by as many recent honda..
    hopefully just hopefully reduce gap problem in their production..
    i still believe this will sell like hotcakes..malaysia high income nation maa~
    #justsaying

• Wow VTEC 1.5Turbo? If I am not mistaken the US version deosn’t have VTEC and top of that we might get Paddle Shifter? That’s great!
    As long the price is right I’ll be more than happy to own one.

New Proton Perdana 2.4 and Civic 1.5T at RM135K…lol no-brainer decision.

• old tech on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:06 pm

peugeot 408 1.6 turbo ; VW jetta 1.4 turbo; both rated 240KNm torque are in local market 4-5 years. Honda 1.5 turbo, rated 220 KNm torque is considered old technology conmpared to its european counterpart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • vodka on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:26 pm

We should have gotten the Euro Spec 200hp Civic 1.5T. Instead we get a detuned version even when running RON95 at min. I think it’s for reliability considerations in our hot climate. Higher power output generates a lot more strain and heat on the engine and gearbox and Honda ASEAN went safe in giving us the detuned version of the 1.5T.

• Don Mega on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:38 pm

220 nm is not considered old technology, especially since it’s available from 1700 – 5500 rpm. There is a difference between usable torque and peak torque. By the way it’s nm, not knm ;-)

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Meanwhile here in Bolehland Honda will soldier on with the 2.0 NA engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • diseaser on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Much better than disease car BMW

• nolar on Feb 18, 2016 at 2:01 am

Malaysians first impression of Honda is overwhelming bro. The sales will be damn great despite ripping people off with old engines and gearboxes unlike Canadians and Americans.
      Malaysians are blinded by Honda’s Brand Image.
      Current 3rd Gen Jazz still using engine from 2009 era. Must feel like an absolute dumbass to buy one compared to JDM models in Japan and Singapore for example.

• Andrekua on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:16 pm

If Thailand will get 1.5 Turbo, then there will be chances to import them. If Thai also wont get Turbo, then Malaysia wont have any chance at all.

• shawal on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Return of the ufo/spaceship civic

• Jemput turun on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:52 pm

Any turbo engines sold here will be taxed like crazy once reached “drive it to believe it” land

• CopyCat on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:57 pm

Honda seem to follow big Toyol to carry old engine to new car.. that 1.8 dino can put into museum.

• amirul on Feb 17, 2016 at 3:57 am

hye , i just want t oask ,will malaysia get honda civic new type r ??

• philippecr on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:20 am

Wonder will we have the same LCD meter panel like the US model?

• redknapp on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:39 am

it has a K5 silhouette somehow..