IGP believes in higher traffic fines, will propose to govt

Cop-shop

The Inspector-General of Police (IGP) Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar will soon officially propose to the government to increase traffic fines, The Star reports.

“I believe that increasing the fines can deter road users from violating traffic rules and change their driving attitude,” he told reporters in George Town yesterday. Khalid said it is needed to curb the increase in accidents due to recklessness and poor driving attitude.

The IGP is keen to stick to the force’s plan to increase traffic fines despite Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai saying last Friday that he considered the current level of fines adequate, and that education, the Kejara demerit points system and Automatic Enforcement System (AES) will be more effective in encouraging road safety.

AES_Camera

Kejara and AES are more effective because the amount of fine depends on individuals. A RM150 fine is high to me, but to others, it is still low. Enforcement of Kejara and AES involves suspending the licence of errant motorists, regardless who they are if they continue to violate regulations. If their points reach a level where their licence has to be suspended, then it is a more effective method,” Liow said.

The Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) has also weighed in on the issue, saying that an increase in fines by itself is not likely to reduce accidents unless accompanied by stricter enforcement and more road safety campaigns.

“Besides maintaining the RM300 on-the-spot fines for traffic offenders, we should also consider the proposed community work such as collecting rubbish and sweeping the roadside as a form of punishment for the offenders,” MIROS chairman Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye suggested, adding that Malaysia’s traffic laws are good, but not the enforcement.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Why are there so many asses talking??? Higher fines don’t make sense and will not deter offender.. It will cause more duit Kopi changing hands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • hello Abang IGP on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:51 am

This clearly shows the Government contradicting the IGP. In other words, Government is saying that IGP is bodoh.

Such a stupid statement, you increase fines, less accidents will happen.

Soon the IGP will say, if you put little money in the handbag, less snatch thieves will snatch handbags.

Cannot believe our IGP has nothing in his head

Hello PDRM and IGP, ask your polis officers to chase the motorbike who beat raffic lights daily. Infront of 4 or 5 officers manning 4 way junctions also, polis officer in 30 minutes can see about 100 motorbikes beating the red light. this alone can cause major accidents.
      PDRM, please do your job. Saman or chase the motorbikes.

PDRM got the tendency of ignoring crime and catch offenders when suka hati.

• rider on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:18 pm

can you tell me how many major accidents happened or you saw because of motorbikes beating traffic lights when traffic police controlling of the junction like u said above?

• Open Letter to IGP on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:55 am

Hello abang IGP, I got saman before, I go to balai to pay fully at payment counter, the seargeant call me aside to back room and told me he will settle it for me for RM50. He said got no receipt thought.

This is why Malaysians are not scared of saman. Don’t even have to bribe polis officer who saman you. When you go balai also, no need to beg or appeal for reduction. Polis themselves come and offer you their “services”.

This is why, even RM1000 saman also, we Malaysians will be cool about it. Go to Balai, officer will now ask RM100.

Clean your polis first lah IGP. Then come and talk big about increasing saman.

• another open letter to IG on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:24 pm

how to clean the force if the head remain the same? let put some challenge.
        “If the accident figure did not improve after increase the fines, i would like to chopped off my head, or at least resigned”.
        i think most malaysian will agree with our brightest IGP ever.

• George Abdul on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:08 am

Once a new year must come out a “statement” if not Putrajaya will complain. Any statement will do as long as not “unrealistic bullshiting”.

• hailthepurist on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:25 pm

‘pay saman = duit Kopi’

• I believe on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:45 am

And this is how we’ll fix the whole country, blind faith. No need empirical prove. Just believe

• I was thinking the same thing, no data or facts to back up the opinion, just his own gut feel.

Higher fines will just lead to people being more willing to let the traffic policeman “settle” on their behalf. Agree with MIROS Chairman, more enforcement is the better solution.

• Albert on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:01 am

If the fines are increased to rm 1,000….wahliao……..crooked cops will dare ask for at least rm300 bribes,to “settle” on the spot.
    Since corruption is still” perceived” to be rampant ,increasing fines will infact increase corruption.
    Imagine,the crooked cop catches 20 errant cars.The fines total rm 20,000 for gomen.What if he decides to accept rm200-300 each for 10 cars,and summon the other 10 cars (wayang je),dont you think a daily income tax free of rm2000plus will make him laugh all the way to the bank?
    Now our dear top cop and transport taikoh are at loggerheads….what a shambolic state of affairs.
    They should iron out their strategies before going to the press.Plain SHAMBOLIC.

• thepolygonal on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:09 am

Can I suggest that traffic police force be entitled to commission based + basic. Just like how sales people get their commission… the more you tangkap, the more you get. In that way their hard days work will be their earnings (with a commission ceiling of course). Will it be an encouragement to them and improve enforcement?

• MeToo on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:26 am

Ofcourse HE would believe in higher fines…

I also believe in higher salary for me…

• Ravi Kumar on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:31 am

Sometimes some people just don’t get it. It is not a matter of higher fines. It all boils down to enforcement. We have lembap people enforcing the law. Just look when you stop at the traffic lights, how many motorcycles, cars etc just sneak and go when there is no traffic. Why because they know the cops are sleeping waiting somewhere else for low grade criminals like Banglas and Indons with no work permit so that it can be “settled”!!! I ask one question what is the value of the summons ISSUED and how much you managed to collect???? Current also cannot collect want to implement brainless idea!!! Someone needs a brain transplant.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:38 am

He’s talking through his arse again. In every country out there they use the point please system to penalize motorists and it works. Money can be earned anywhere anytime but points stick to you until the time is up. Seriously which hole did the IGP came from?

• kazanixm on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:12 pm

yep. Totally agree with you.

The demerit system is already good enough IF it was done CORRECTLY. Higher fines will not make it good, it will make it worse.

IF the demerit system works as IT should, then the driving licenses will be revoked and the driver will be have difficulties to drive his/her car safely as he/she will always be on look out for police/jpj officers that are patrolling around/blockade.

just my unpopular opinion though

• arsengal on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:39 am

Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye’s statement is the only one worth reading. Others are pure garbage

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:40 am

Dari pucuk pimpinan sampai ke akar umbi semua serupa, semua songlap, semua makan suap.

• albag on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:40 am

LEL… the ego can be clearly seen… walaupun salah tetap hentam je…

higher fines so have higher income, can buy more new police cars to enjoy and wasting taxpayers money

• shawal on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:00 am

fines should be based on one’s salary,
    Altho demerit Points would be better, no exchange of money whatsoever, instead we get to keep irresponsible drivers off the roads, regardless of financial background…..

fancy car, but….. unable to drive it…
    satisfaction for other drivers and police officers

• Ahmad on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:12 am

Mmg bodoh. I cant seem to notice any difference when AES went online few years ago except for drivers slowing down before they hit the sensors. There are still drivers thinking they own the road. Education is key, not by raising fines.

• nabill (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:13 am

This is fun, there are like 10 people in da department, everyone contradicting each other publicly with statements in the media…
    Too much intelligence overflowing out of them. …

• Ok. Go ahead n increase. Wait and see

• Martha on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:19 am

Their brainless heads can only think about $$$. They failed to see that effective enforcement is a better option. Sometimes when one travels on the highway one will be considered lucky if one can see a traffic police on the road.

• Kenneth Fook on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:31 am

IGP doesnt not believe in anything. He is just a follower. Not a leader.

• saladin on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:16 pm

You are law enforcer. Not policy maker. You now start to confuse on what u are now.