Proton aims to resolve, improve upon quality issues

Proton_Suprima_S_vs_Preve_ 011

The public’s negative perception towards Proton has long extended towards the quality of its vehicles produced. Briefly, the term “QC” and its association with Proton do not attract the kindest of words. Moving forward however, the company aims to enhance its quality management and revert those thoughts.

Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah, CEO of Proton, said, “what we need to do next is to enhance our quality management. The problem is, when we have thousands of components coming in before we start assembling our cars, we tend to miss certain parts during the inspection.”

“This is one of the main reasons why we started to have all the bad parts coming in. Some of our vendors, as you know, we had started grooming since 20, 30 years ago,” he added.

Harith then outlined the company’s next steps, “what we’re doing now is to intensify our inspection programme, so we can filter all these issues out before we assemble the vehicles. This is about enhancing the processes on the operations side.

“We have started on this, and we also have a new head of quality. We have Mr (Masazumi) Ogawa who has joined us, and to show our seriousness, he has over 30 years of experience with Nissan. We will instil a new discipline into our workplace to make sure that the quality management is better enhanced,” assured Harith.

What do you think of the measures taken by Proton to enhance its quality? A sign of a promising turnover, or something else? Let us know what you think in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kickurs on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:16 pm

If still using same old vendors who produce sub standard parts, inspect for countless time wont improve the part quality.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 1
    • Improve songlap skills baru improve part quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:56 am

We have heard this every 5 years with a big lanuch. Each time also say Proton sudah bertaubat. Each time also say we are changing.

I am 60 yrs old. I have seen this said in 1988, 1993, 1997, 2001, 2005, 2008, 2013……

Same words, same promises….

My advice to Malaysians, you cannot trust a company who has lied to many times

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Albert on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:48 pm

Kickurs, not only inferior crony supplied parts.the bladdy service stinks.
      My son sent the saga for checking high fuel consumption.The bladdy mechanic said” Tak payah complain.Its like that what.”
      F…them.This bladdy organisation deserves to be under receivership.If MMC decides to terminate national service,this hell product can bungkus.
      Come 31st March….there will be at least rm 500 juta losses again for last financial year.If Tun is not there,the banks have already attached their office and factories.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • maman on Feb 17, 2016 at 7:22 am

boss, if u using saga 1.3, then yes it consumes oil. the car is heavy for the car boss.

• Crony is the Problem No 1 on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:06 am

Datuk, Proton cannot change unless it changes all its crony vendors.

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies.

And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control.

That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.

So, CEO can say all he wants about quality being raised and how Proton is going to Bertubat, but until ALL Proton’s vendors are changed, how can the quality go up?
        Mahathir won’t do this. All his buddies have got the contract to be vendors to Proton. Mahathir will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives, so why upset his relatives when he can continue his past misgivings?
        Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.
        Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

• marlos on Feb 23, 2016 at 3:31 pm

Correct! you hit the nail on the head! As usual Malaysia’s problems are due to cronyism and corruption. As long as there is cronyism and corruption there can be no advancement and Proton is but only one glaring example of this.

• lilytan on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:59 am

To improve quality Proton needs to check and test on every single parts meticulously. Every single item need to be engineered well or even better over engineered. The mindset should be correct from the start.

• Moving Forward on Feb 17, 2016 at 3:12 pm

I would say give both Proton and Masazumi a chance. If he quitted, it proved he doesn’t see a hope with Proton even under his influence. We all know Japanese take self pride very seriously. It’s like, (1) don’t do it at all or (2) strive for perfection.

• Petrodollar on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Yeah..we’re the customers hv heard that long long time ago.. But still end up with shitty product. Ask current owners of preve, suprima S, iriz n exora..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 13
    • Owned a suprima s. Great car. 190kmh at highway following a VW Golf effortlessly. What wrong . Did you own one??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 85
      • Maslan on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:36 pm

If you think by driving 190km/h is enough to justify your car, then you are wrong.

I admit that Suprima has the best ride and handling among others. But the engine…that is the cancer in Proton. Too noisy and after 5 years you own it, you surely regret.

Hopefully the new Proton engine manage to save it. But i’m afraid it might be too late for Proton by the time it is in mass production.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 10
        • driver on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:21 am

speculation… great!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • vecko on Feb 17, 2016 at 7:58 am

CFE / campro turbo is not noisy, you are dreaming!

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 18, 2016 at 3:55 am

Tailing at 19km/h of course effortless, pity him didn’t even know his speedometer is spoilt. Lol!! Don’t play play with Proton quality:- whatever could break down, 110% confirmed guaranteed break down.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:18 am

Don’t trust Proton lah. Really dont trust them. You will regret. I have seen Proton from 1985 and their lies until today

• camtakpro on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:01 pm

lol follow VW Golf? Are both of you moving in the first place or waiting for tow trucks?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
        • Petrodollar on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:19 am

Or perhaps they are after the coffins!

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:19 am

I think most Malaysians gave Proton many chances. Now they are so fed up. See the facebook comments, it is all negative

• loler on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Liar, you must be mistakenly seeing Toyoda facebook!
            Haha!

• Jajaja on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:42 pm

Good one bro. I’m also a suprima s owner. Pernah follow and overtaking a highspeed lexus rx270 (the new one) at 190kmh-200kmh. Good job proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 43
        • Hadi75 on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:57 pm

Wow….qc is confirmed by driving very fast and tailgating or following behind foreign cars……and here i thought qc usually meant the qualities of fitting..material used…etc but it seems for proton it’s different…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
          • nojaps on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:02 am

Then what is quality? Even Japs cars got pedalgate suspensiongate enginegate ate ate ate many issues

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:57 am

Indeed, it’s good job of tailgating and excessive illegal speed with your Suprima. Once your Suprima got wrecked (if lexus RX270 decided to ‘purposely’ slam the brakes while tailgating) and if possible, exploded and burst into flames (you will get free cremation as well), then i will offer few claps of my hand to those dickhead drivers.

Honestly, this kind of driving attitude need to be taken off from the road before someone or even themselves got killed. No wonder what Same Lorrrr said was true although we dislike him, proton drivers like him test their so-called ‘qc’ by smoking everyone and tailgating on the road.

• Op vs mod on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:22 am

What to do. Pernah naik suprima s? If you drive 180kmh in suprima machiem drive 110kmh only. Stable and solid. If drive 120kmh machiem 60kmh only. So boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 18, 2016 at 4:01 am

Every new car can speed up to 180km/h, it will just accelerate the wear and tear, that’s why you see so many proton break down at roadside. Don’t play play with Proton quality. After the tow truck and fuel money lessons, Proton drivers will drive slow automatically. Don’t you see a lot of Wira Waja Iswara Saga CRAWLING with loud exhaust pipe on the road? This is Proton drivers Sendiri Syok life cycle.

• Ollie on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:02 am

Please take note and get licences of all Suprima drivers revoked WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT.

• Diesel Power!!! on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:16 am

This is the mentality of Poton driver . “190kmh at highway following a VW Golf effortlessly”. Plz dont do that, if a lambo can skid wat is ur Suprima??? Dont risk others road user, follow the speed limit..Maz-lan!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Petrodollar on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:18 am

Myb handling and speed isn’t much of an issue but the built quality is way below par bro.. See other makes in C-segment such as Mazda3, better quality material is being used and won’t creaks and gaps spacing out after yrs of ownership. Think about that.

• power rangers on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:02 am

this tell you which type of owners is for Suprima..LOL

• Proton JUNK on Feb 17, 2016 at 11:01 am

To Rrrr

I never own protong supima s.
        But I will never ever own supima s,uselesss lousy junk!!don’t waste money on such this junk!

You see new City,a great car to drive,when see from far,the design is sporty especially front design,thats why I choose City V in 2015.

After Honda City,my next target is new Mazda 2.

• I’m enjoying my turbo kick in suprima, solid and no goyang2, no floating feeling, conti lotus ride and handling, and most important when bus pass by my car not swing. And also enjoying my multi link suspension in suprima s. Why should I buy 80k 1.5NA engine when I can get turbo 1.6 with 205nm of torque higher than 2.0NA civic??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • Proton JUNK on Feb 17, 2016 at 1:29 pm

1.5 i-vtec vs 1.6 lousy turbo

save fuel vs drink fuel like no tomorrow

Smart people will invest their 80-90k on:Honda City/Mazda 2

Only stupid and super shiok sendiri like you that smoke here smoke there will buy super tin milo lousy junk!!

even Vios can smoke you if they want.

• Sp33d3mon on Feb 17, 2016 at 5:04 pm

Lol with a turbo the size of a garden snail what turbo kick? You obviously haven’t driven a proper turbo car.

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 18, 2016 at 4:07 am

That’s why you see so many outdated Wira Waja Satria Iswara still on the road. After the money spent on fuel and repair in garage, Proton drivers hardly have any saving to change car.Poor Proton RV make upgrading car a real-life Mission Impossible. You will see Rrr still using his Suprima S in 2030 (but in much slower speed to avoid break down). Proton is a dead trap to all your income and saving. Mark my words.

• yushu on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:50 pm

I own Iriz..it is superb car..great handling.. otherwise, only minor defect that I also found on my sister’s Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
      • lilytan on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:48 am

Driving an Iriz 1.6. Superb car to drive. Even better than Fiesta. Refinement could be better though.

• maman on Feb 17, 2016 at 7:21 am

funny, i’ve an exora cfe, first batch. it has been 5 years. still going strong.

i also own a preve exec. its a lot more comfy than my sisters polo sedan.

• Proton JUNK on Feb 17, 2016 at 11:09 am

See all those bullshit comments about junk supima taigating Lexus Volkswagen etc.
        super shiok sendiri drive so fast on supima super tin milo car.

I drive Honda City when Volkswagen Lexus and other nice cars I will give way to them.

But if supima priiv sorry lah see my Honda City nice rear design until i exit the highway.

• Rrrrr on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:31 pm

SUPRIMA S 5Star Ancap with 6 Airbag. And also 1.5NA CVT build for city and Eco want to smoke 1.6Turbo KP39 same turbo unit as in ford 1.6 ecoboost? Really ?? Suprima ftw

• Rrrrr on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:33 pm

And also plss don’t hogging right lane . Gv way if car in your back is faster than you.

• Proton JUNK on Feb 17, 2016 at 1:21 pm

I only give way to those European/Conti and those Japs and Korean cars that drive faster than me.

But proton??Hell no!

• Ok.if you hogging right lane I will cut left .

• loler on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:35 pm

@Proton Junk
            Your junk car surely too slow, lol

• proton main problem is not about QC, but related to the corruption culture between executive proton worker in proton holding and all rubbish vendor supplier who related to someone big guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • Maslan on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Let me tell you, most vendors (local) that are supplying part / component also the same vendors that are manage to supply to other car manufacturers in Msia.

Honda, Toyota, Nissan, Mazda, VW, Kia etc. Most of their parts already localized. Only the component technical drawings and standard are controlled by their own home maker country eg Japan / German.

Now it is time for you to think. Who is the problem here?

For others who want to know the answer, it is Proton that failed to abide the QC (even set by them).

The other car makers in Malaysia doesn’t have major QC issue because their local staff are very strict in following the standard as a global player. The vendors manage to follows the global standard set by the car manufacturer staff.

Who is the global player here and who is the culprit here.

Proton = Global Player?
      Local Vendors = Global Player?

Now stop linking everything to cronyism.

I rest my case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
      • Everything is not related to cronyism, but cronism is still one of the big factors. Are you even Malaysian to not know this? Cronyism, attitude and lousy tidak-apa work culture. Go to most government offices (although KWSP has improved), police stations and you can see this first hand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
        • Exactly, cronyism in this case and corruption generally are always the no.1 problems! If you can eliminate or greatly reduce corruption and cronyism you have resolved half of all problems!

• Basher on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:37 pm

Frens, this quality are not only about inspection and testing. In fact quality comes in during design stage example from material selection process. Quality is technology! Hopes those in above articles realise this. Coz technology means knowledge, which is sometimes money could never pay.

• Maslan on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:53 pm

This is the thing that what Mahathir always said, Proton are not competing with other car makers at the same ground level.

Other car manufacturers has their support in their homeland. Where in Malaysia, they do not need to do any major R&D with huge sum of money.

They just fabricate the design and voila, just sell it here. That’s why they can sell cheap in Malaysia.

However, Proton need R&D. This require a lot of money. And they need to transfer their R&D cost to their buyer.

BUT..

This is a matter of chicken and egg.

When the rakyat (once upon a time) have their support on Proton, Proton should start to adapt the technology and stop wasting money on stupid car model (esp during Mahaleel <– this guy is so f**kup.)

And now, end-up Proton still need to do R&D, need to sell their price high. But not many gonna buy them.

Poor Proton.. (Poorton).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • You know, actually BMW quality sucks also. But their customer service and driving experience is good. For Proton, customer service bad, driving experience with lackluster engine. Too little too late. Only themselves to blame. Unless they embrace the pain of change.

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 18, 2016 at 4:12 am

Who care about R&D? Why bother it while the Proton can’t even cross border to Thailand and Singapore. R&D is purely for Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. Malaysian buyers only want CHEAP & RELIABLE cars. Who cares about local R&D? No one!

• Stupid Manat on Feb 18, 2016 at 12:55 am

If you can’t afford RnD then you can’t be a car manufacturer.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:42 pm

Lost count how many times they said this yet still produce carbon copy shit products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • You can’t check all but you can change vendor….get oversea vendor already…those vendors are parasites….

• Maslan on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:55 pm

LOL..

While other car manufacturers are racing to have their part localized and manufactured by local vendors (yet the quality is global standard), you want Proton to get rid of local vendors?

It is not vendor problem dude. It is how each car manufacturers CONTROL their vendors.

Get your fact right.

• Why use Japanese as head of quality? Don’t trust our local people?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • sepul on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:39 pm

Exactly your own point. He was from Nissan so it is a good start.

• That Japanese guy was with NISSAN for 30 yrs? Remember… NISSAN almost went bankrupt by the end of 1990s. Until Renault came to the rescue. Meaning he was part of the problem and did have some contribution to it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • Quality wasn’t the issue. Nissan was the very definition of ho hum cars back then, no body wants them.

• Littlebear on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:51 pm

They’ve been talking about improving their car quality since 25 years ago. Fast forward to now, it’s still about the same.

• Excuses, excuses and excuses. Don’t P1 get tired of spewing the same unconvincing story?

A good manufacturer would have Kaizen the QC immediately and not washing the same dirty laundry in public. Never buy a P1 ever again.

• hamboldt on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:12 pm

Why need Japanese to show how serious you are with the quality management?
    Any company can hire any serious quality personnel or quality team to manage the quality assurance.

• Junior on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:28 pm

A owner with Saga (first car), later wira aeroback, waja and now Suprima-S. Sure, we have others on the road too.
    Will a new quality head joining to make it better ? I am quite sure Quality cant be a division responsibility. it must everyone toward the same concept and direction.
    Will their marketing strategy really up-to-date ? I will really suggest them really to review it the consumer behavior/psychology,the local/region/world market trends and really capture the customer/products/company position. Pricing is a concern but not all.
    Will the customer service in perform? I think the quality of their service always in doubt. Ensure there is always be customer orientation, execute the customer service SOP in each service center, no matter is proton owing or franchise or whatever. I assume, each service center we go will have different “entertainment”. This is bad.
    Why I bought proton? Ealry is bcos financial concern. And Suprima-S is fully safety concern. Much lower pricing but full safety equip. For my son. Enjoy it, sure he is. Many friends are still asking will the safety equip is not saftey ? Frankly speaking, I dont know. But I do understand the customer perception is a real business. Proton need to review the strategy and set the new vision and mission. It must start from here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • camtakpro on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:04 pm

Yes perception. For Proton, all those 6 airbags and VSC might not even functioning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • karam singh on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:28 pm

Maybe just tesco plastic bags inside… Not airbags

• camtakpro on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:44 pm

At least Tesco plastic bag works as intended.

• notakata on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:01 am

Then you must prefer killing takata airbags than p1’s autoliv

• camtakpro on Feb 17, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Then you must mean Proton is better than Mercedes.

• lexusbiscuit on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Then you must mean Lexus oso bad since sales oso bad

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 18, 2016 at 4:16 am

Ferrari sold less than Proton, so on your logic, Ferrari worse than Proton? Lexus keep on breaking past year sales record while Proton keep on breaking record on drop-of-sales percentage.

• Josie on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:07 pm

At the start, to set up the car industry is a definitely right. It helps, really help to boost the economic and create thousands jobs. However, economic scale is a key corner of the strategy. Same engine apply to millions of car, same platform for different name and design. Without the economic scale, it is just too expensive to build an engine, anything change, it cost and base on the quantity. Further more, if there is (politics) involve or need to be consideration, it will be a very challenging scenario for any CEO to make the company better. It Proton really cant “overhaul” their strategy and organization structure, Sell it may be is a better decision. The period of Proton is complete and not necessary to continue due to certain reason. Anyway, Thank you national car provide me a affordable option in 90’s. Hope Proton can make up a core call for the future.

• Mostly – improving quality then increase price.

Iriz is a good quality interior car. But its not miles far better than Saga, Suprima and Preve.

Improve a bit, then increases 2k-4k from it supposed to be? (when its already overpriced)

From someone who test driven Preve CFE, Supprima S, Iriz, Kia Rio, VW Polo MPI, Honda Jazz, Vios. (But then still chose a white Rio)

• Most Important on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:50 pm

Power Window , Power window , Power window
    Is very important so say it 3 times

• Tonghoi on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:54 pm

Time will prove what are the new CEO said today…anyway it nv too late to change it…if they really mean it…..we as a customer will see it…cheers

• BS, BS and more BS coming out of his mouth. He must really stock up on toilet paper.

• Proton only have themselves to blame for this.
    Mahathir had the right idea creating a car company because this brings the country forward and creates a lot of jobs. Most importantly, reduce Malaysia dependence of selling their natural resources.
    However, Proton is a terrible car which is why many buyers would get a Toyota or Honda even if they cost more.

• Proton JUNK on Feb 17, 2016 at 11:15 am

yes like me and most people
      what so good about turbo vsa 6 tesco Mutiara Damansara plastic bags and a tin milo body potong car??

Rather use my money buy and enjoy Honda City.

• Ckp x serupa bikin on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:45 pm

Cis…dulu ckp all Protonic cars undergo German TUV imspection and quality remeber…but all bs coz still the same story or even worse..i read the same vendor being used even though they deliver late or defective products, no fines imposed..its the same bs every new year

• Kaviselvan on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:57 pm

Proton needs to benchmark against non-national Japanese manufacturers which are doing well in local market; not because of pricing or loan tenure but for the overall package that’s offered despite the various taxes that has been imposed on them. For a non national car having show room price equivalent to a Proton model; is able to make profit and offer far superior economical cost of owning a car; stripping off the various taxes, one could only imagine the production cost of such, Proton probably needs to analyse the efficiency in manufacturing, pricing and running cost. Proton may well consider to stop the whining.

• just another driver on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:37 pm

it’s been almost 30 years and til today they still repeating the same quality improvement thing. sigh

• Aero (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:13 pm

I would like Proton to take quality control and reliability more seriously. This is a very sensitive issue to Malaysians, and indeed others in developing countries.

We are not rich, we cannot afford to spend too much on repairs and spare parts. We don’t have a lot of time to waste in service centres and workshops. In Europe and America, it’s different, reliability is not ‘the ultimate factor’. Of course, it matters too, but because they’re richer, and cars (especially used cars) are cheaper, reliability is not a foremost requirement. Reliability is a luxury to many Europeans. Why ? Because look at all the surveys, European car manufacturers tend to be at the bottom, or middle of the chart. The top half is dominated by Korean and Japanese makes.

Reliability is something Proton has failed to properly address since the late 1990s. Proton must develop a strong base of quality-oriented vendors, not cost/ crony/ politically-oriented ones. Reliability is something Perodua takes far more seriously, and it paid off handsomely. I do not expect Proton to make ‘bulletproof’ cars, but they should not have such petty problems like flimsy, cracking or breaking interior plastics, bulb failures etc.. Perodua is not perfect either (join the owner groups), they have some problems as well… but the difference is, for every one problem Perodua has, Proton has ten more. It’s unacceptable.

Anyway, I have driven both the Iriz 1.6 Premium and Myvi 1.5 Advance, and I feel both are just as well built. But who knows, five or seven years down the road, the Myvi may prove to be less problematic than the Iriz. This is what potential buyers are afraid of. If Proton can somehow prove that the Iriz is reasonably reliable and problem-free, many more will buy it over the milo tin, no ESC Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • How about Tata Zica? You test drive it already? Good good?

• This is very true indeed. No doubt it got nice design, safety features… But when it come to reliability. Buyer will pause and reconsider… Just go to car club forum, to see urself how much problem proton owners have, though small and minor, but hectic.

• Ollie on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:40 am

Therein lies the idiocy of Plotong-ites. Why is it that the car market in Malaysia can only compare 2 cars. Myvi vs Iriz? OPEN UP THE DAMN MARKET

• shawal on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:18 pm

My mom bought a saga, then a citroen zx manual 2.0, then wira (citroen was a pain to maintain) , tiara was given to her but gave back, waja (1.6 mitsu engine, we got ours 3 months from launch), savvy manual (was given to me), n now she drives a preve cfe (switched from honda accord sv4) with some niggles but nothing serious so far…

If proton would like us to review a long term tester 2.4 perdana, for let say….4-5 years haha l, i’d gladly participate and give them good feedback hehehe…,

So, how proton? Can ah? we have been one of your supporters lol….

• Dun tell any good about proton here or else you will be bashed like no tomorrow

• Hadi75 on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:13 am

The problem is not because you have thousands of parts…other carmakers also have thousands of parts. It start with the management and the vendors…..any vendors that are not up to the standards…give them the boots….proton also should stop playing the patriotic card….should stop blaming others…should stop whining…instead look at themselves…a company that only makes rm500 for each car sold says a lot about the management team….

• Need to improve the attitude of the employees. They need to put in more effort and concentration into their daily task.

• Proton Supporters... on Feb 17, 2016 at 1:08 am

Proton has been long used for cronies income.
    If the excise duties collected are for local car development, Proton product might turned out way more higher standard today.
    Perception or not, They have screwed up themselves, long long ago. Too late indeed….

• Kesian Proton on Feb 17, 2016 at 1:42 am

Stop the BS. Proton is rotten to the core. No amount of rhetoric will change the fact that Proton will never puts it’s customer as 1st priority. Let me blunt. Proton will die the death it’s deserved.

• Annoynimouse on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:50 am

The overall product is good with safety features and all. However, it’s the lack of attention to details that troubling the brand’s quality of perceive. E.g. compare the interior appearance of the car with that of an equivalent Korean brand. The Iriz is much better, but competitors (Korean etc) have gone another step better.
    Performance and driving experience is very good in a Proton, but these qualities are offset by problems which I think can be avoided if Proton react quickly to rectify them. Often it’s the small niggling issues that keep recurring with Proton cars whereby customers were often required to visit service centers more than once just to resolve one particular issue. People don’t get the peace of mind and they hate this! Msians get fed up easily.
    The attitude of service centers and their mechanics needs a complete overhaul. Salesmen and service personnel often contradict each other. When promoting a Proton car, the salesman tells you that the car is superior this and that, but when a trouble arises, the serviceman tells you that the problems are expected because its a Proton. Everybody will tell you that this kind of attitude will negatively affect business in any sector. You don’t see this kind of attitude with other makes even though their product is shite… I sometimes get the feeling that customers love the brand more than dealers/service centers do.

• BangGar on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:00 am

As a big corporate, those reason doesn’t make sense at all. Imagine that loss of money come from your own pocket, the will make you really work hard for it. Problem, no body in the company car and that loss again next year, never-mind la it is Rakyat money $$$.

• BangGar on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:00 am

As a big corporate, those reason doesn’t make sense at all. Imagine that loss of money come from your own pocket, the will make you really work hard for it. Problem, no body in the company car and that loss again next year, never-mind la it is Rakyat money $$$.

• “The problem is, when we have thousands of components coming in before we start assembling our cars, we tend to miss certain parts during the inspection.”

Macamlah ko seorang je yang buat kereta kat dunia ni.

• power rangers on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:00 am

already said from Day 1, Protong is for cronies suppliers and its confirmed by CEO here with all his BS.

who is the power windows supplier all the while? failing parts can supply for 20 years says it all. Do they dare to banned that company to supply to protong? That company alone damage protong more than others.

its not “perception”, its FACT!

unless those idiot CEO admitted that, things wont change.

• old horse on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:08 am

30 years ago,
    we slogan do not throw rubbish on the road
    give proton a chance

30 years later,
    we still slogan do not throw rubbish on the road
    still ask to give proton a chance

• man jojo on Feb 17, 2016 at 1:20 pm

Everytime new model going to launch Proton will sing the same old song over and over again….Once I use Gen2 in 2004 and until now still I read people complaining the quality part from Proton’s car….you think they’re serious?? for me NOT!! they just playing the game because new model will going to launch in near future….the trend is the same since 2004 and I will not forget my Gen2 quality

• Proton don’t forget your Proton Savvy was TUV German approved, so what happened to that??? Guess u will never learn by blaming your corny supplier. List them up if you dare.

• jobless on Feb 17, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Wow, Supima owners proud they tailgating VW or Lexus at 190kmh…so typical Proton drivers mentality…almost every car can go 190kmh on a highway nwadays..they tink they vely top but pobably no money in the bank taking full loan 9 years while the VW or Lexus few hundred thousand or million in their account and paid the car in cash…

• Stupid Manat on Feb 18, 2016 at 1:03 am

That’s the saddest thing about pro proton bangsats. Stupidity is in their genes.

• a pendatang to head QC? will proton staff listen to him?

• just sell maybe 60% to foreign brand.. new foreign CEO.. apa amacam?

• WT Fuchh on Feb 17, 2016 at 7:57 pm

I personaly had experience supplying parts to proton. To be a vendor, one needs to grease The BN cronies. The biggest problem therefore P1 has all the worst vendors in the world. They supply the lousiest parts due to high cost of greasing the BN cronies. First step, pls fire all current vendors and get the real actual cost of purchasing.

• Alex Wong on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:06 pm

I own a Suprima S, now for 1.5 years. So far, no complain from me. Pick-up is superb and handling is very good and stable even at high speed.
    In fact before I plan to buy the new car, I went to test drive a few cars. I actually did not plan to go to Proton, but because it was “on-the-way” to other car centers, I just drop by Proton.
    So, all in all, I test drive 3 cars on that day, ie Polo Sedan, Honda City and Suprima S.
    And very unexpectedly, I found that Suprima S gives me the most driving pleasure.
    Therefore, please go for a test drive, even for Proton cars, before you decide to purchase a new car. You may, unexpectedly end up buying a Suprima, like me!! And until today, I never regretted my decision.

• Stupid Manat on Feb 18, 2016 at 1:00 am

Some people know nothing about cars … Pick up is superb ??? 9.8 seconds lol …. So sad when experts like you tries to be savvy ….. Savvy ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • Alex Wong on Feb 18, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Stupid Manat
        You are right. Toyota Vios is better with superb pick up 0-100km at 12 seconds. Polo sedan at 12.3 seconds and City at 10.2 seconds. Suprima at 9.8 seconds. Go figure it out.

• I suggestion to Proton to improve the quality. Hire the Japanese to be your QC.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:20 am

Ha..ha…all this writeups appearing for Proton is part of their effort to drive up sales of existing models after the price increase. The other part is hoping to create some excitement for the coming new models & to justify the high price tag that comes along with it. I remember Dr M said you have to pay more for better quality during launch of Iriz. So I went to test drive & feel the new improved quality. I ended up buying another make after that…..to me as a buyer, the “improvement” in Iriz could not justify the price tag. Now that the prices have increased, proton sales must be worst than the situation of our ringgit.