Proton lost value for money proposition to foreign makes due to longer loan tenures – CEO

Proton-COE-press-conference-5

Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah has said that over the years, the national carmaker has lost its value for money advantage over foreign brands, as the recent popularity of longer loan tenures – stretching as long as nine years – has enabled customers to stretch to more expensive vehicles.

Harith told the media that back when loan periods were shorter, Proton garnered a big advantage in sales – capturing as much as 60% of the domestic market – but the relative affordability of more expensive cars nowadays, in addition to its failure in capturing the lucrative B-segment market, has eroded that advantage.

“We’ve lost that value for money factor because the affordability of cars has spread,” he said. “We failed to capture this segment, as it would demand better attention from the brand.”

He also lamented the fact that people were buying vehicles from other brands despite their inferior safety kit and lower equipment levels. “We need to analyse that. We are giving the best in terms of performance, safety and equipment. Six airbags, five-star ANCAP safety rating – all this, since 2012. We put everything in the car,” he said.

proton-kuala-terengganu 061

Harith added that because of the brand’s negative perception, buyers do not even want to test drive Proton models, let alone buy them, so they do not actually know what the brand’s newest vehicles like the Preve, Suprima S and Iriz are like to drive. “You need to test drive these models, because it’s proven, when you test drive, the conversion to buy is very high,” he said.

This sentiment is the driving force behind the company’s new It’s in the Drive campaign, encouraging people to drive its new cars to experience them for themselves, rather than relying on long-held prejudices. It’s also why the company is currently holding a Test Drive and Win contest, with those who take a Proton for a spin being eligible to win prizes, including a Suprima S if they end up booking.

Harith said that the company was struggling under the National Automotive Policy (NAP), as well as the maximum car hire purchase period being increased from five years to nine. “If the government or Bank Negara decides to shorten car financing to a maximum of five years, you will see a big drastic change of our sales figures. I’m quite certain about that.

“I do not think car hire purchase plans should be stretched to nine years. If the payment is stretched that long, when you decide to sell the car after two years, you’ll have to pay more to the bank before you can change your car,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Nasi goreng kampong on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:31 pm

Hello Paultan,
    Stop reporting news bout this P brand car maker ok! From a national brand to national shame . Even poor ppl can afford p2 rather than this piece of junk. Dun waste the reader time pls.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 230 Thumb down 75
    • Betol Tak? on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:44 pm

Let it be lah. No matter how much news given Proton still keep on losing sales.

Good car sells by itself.

Junk car always syok sendiri.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 180 Thumb down 17
      • Another BS from the CEO. Proton was never ‘value for money’. The only thing that P1 excels is in cheating the rakyat with the NAP policy. So when the policy is not effective, Proton CEO now whines that nobody buys their car? Just step down and let others with the caliber to be the CEO

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 18
        • shick on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:17 pm

This CEO must be smoking too much VAPE…
          is Perodua is only 5 years ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 10
          • jinggo on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:14 pm

WTF perodua u talk about? itu lahanat perodua mana bikin kereta, tukar logo saja la maslan! kanena..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 29
          • Dr. M on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:19 pm

You think i’m happy when this CEO speaks? Look at my face

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
          • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:51 am

Such a disgrace to blame the banking system, Such utter disgrace from a CEO. It is your products that are lousy, that is why it is a failure. This can be seen overseas, Proton failed miserably. This is because in overseas markets, there is no Malaysian Government protectionism and it is fair play.

Proton CEO should resign with making such absurd excuses. Hello Proton CEO, stop blaming the long tenure loans and all that, even your tuan besar songlap RM2.6 billion, that you are too scared to comment but on banking loans, you talk big.

Proton is a disgrace. It is the only car company in the world with that large number of staff to ONLY sell 100,000 cars in one year. That also, 90,000 were taken by Spanco and Government departments ie such as JKR, Bomba, TLDM, TUDM, KDRM, PNB, Askar Darat, Immigresesion etc.

Proton real sales only 10,000 cars last year. And that to tanggung 30,000 staff.

Don’t you think it is time to close shop? We Malaysians are subsidising and paying billions to support a company that has failed and is failing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
          • Songlap Songlap Tipu Malaysia on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:07 am

All of us have given Proton chances. Infact many chances. My first car was an Iswara. Many times I sent my car to Proton Glenmarie to do full service, even though they sneakily leave an empty cartoon of Petronas oil in my car, when I go home, I check, got NO black oil in my engine and oil tak cukup. Many times complained, SC just say, “Ini Proton lah, what do you expect”

Then my second car, was a Wira. I bought it because I was patriotic and I said, I will support my country. Same thing happened so many times. SC say change this and that, I check, it has not been changed. Even power windows, when I sent outside, they said it was still the original motor and Proton has lied to me making me pay for fun. Again, many times oil was not changed. Despite me sending the car for normal service. Oh btw, service took me from 8am to 7pm in the night! Many times they tipu on the oil. I complained many times, everytime complain, they say, “Ini Proton lah, what do you expect”

My third car was a Waja, again I said, let me be patriotic and love my national car. In first 3 months, 2 absorbers kaput. Sent the car in, Proton made me pay for it saying that it was not under warranty. I was troubled. if 3 months kaput, and only City Driving, tak masuk lubang, the least Proton should do, is replace it. they did not. Anyway, I sent many times for service, many times oil was not changed despite they charging me for it. Also I complained a few times, but answer was the same….”Ini Proton lah, what do you expect”

Proton, above is 10% of the lies I went through. With all these lies, how to trust your car and your service?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
        • JB_KIA on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:47 am

Banks, plz listen to what Mr Harith said and implement max 5 yr tenor. Can’t wait to see which maker gulung tikar first….

• Mati Katak on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:26 am

With Najib and DrM at each others throat… Banks avoid DRB like a plague. DRB will find it difficult to grow
          Its the position of power that dictates, not the person.

• Albert on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:36 pm

Betol tak,you are 3000 percent correct.
        This MD tokok a lot.If bank tightens lending from 3 to 5 years,many Protong fanboys will be cursing Zeti.Why?They are the ones asking for 9-10 years max loan,without downpayment,not knowing HP interest is killing them.
        Protong is catering to a group of buyers who failed their maths.They think O downpayment ,max 10 year loan is the best package.
        Their sales will drop by 50 percent if banks tighten lending criteria and shorten the repayment period.Another MD with same quali as the new Kedah taikor?SRP kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
        • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:01 am

It is the fault of your tuan and his songlapping and his party songlapping for 30 years that our money has become has so small and no value. Most Malaysians earn so little.

According to EPF, 78% of people earn only RM1200. this is your tuan’s fault cause look at Singapore. Started same time as Malaysia but their GDP Per Capita is 2nd highest in the world.

Our GDP per capita, because of Songlapping, is one of the lowest in the world. Infact, Singaporeans earn 5x what we Malaysians earn on a one to one basis in any job. Their purchasing power is so high.

So don’t blame Malaysians being poor and no choice but to take 9 year loans. It is BN Songlapping that has caused our money to be so small

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:21 am

you should see the facebook page of this link. It is all negative comments. Imagine, a CEO earning 6 figure per month can come out with a joke statement like this (bonus also 12 months)

• Gold Avanza on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:25 am

Proton cry baby lobbying for shorter loan tenure for competitors.

Jaguh kampung cry baby! Tak tau malu!

• tokmat on Feb 17, 2016 at 11:58 am

Jual je Proton bagi Toyota..

• Every1canTalk on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:36 pm

post the news from Potong is OK, but no need breakdown to too many posts. Combine similiar topics and let the content more compact is preferred.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
      • Guyla on Feb 17, 2016 at 7:44 am

I agree. All these can be condensed into one or two articles.

• Close Down Jamban Proton on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:04 am

Proton sales are so bad. 100k figure is false. In actual fact, 90% of sales went to Spanco, Bomba, Tentera, TUDM TLDM, PDRM, JKR, every kementerian in Putrajaya etc etc. Spanco alone buys berpuluh ribu cars to lease back to the Government. With all this help, still Proton cannot survive.

Most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of dying Proton to live. Proton sucks billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).
        They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.
        Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.
        Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.
        Which is better? 300,000 jobs created by car companies setting up plants in Malaysia or to sustain the existing 30,000 Proton employees that have been living off us the past 30 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • OMG…i think (16/2/2016)was the most P1 articles in a day so far in PT. Beh tahan lah…

• Same L0rrr on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:08 am

I already told that.. Proton bad RV.. Buy Toyota better.. Proton, want ur car have good RV? Put in Perodua engine in ur proton car, for sure Proton have good RV.. No need import honda engine anymore.. Just buy from perodua..

• klguy on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:25 am

kenot la fren, paultan.org is more like an ambassador for proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • superman on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:33 am

I agree. Paultan has become Proton website marketing area. whatever they say and publish people are smart and know it is all nonsense. pls stop publishing too much DRB and Proton lies here.

• Anonymous on Feb 17, 2016 at 11:20 am

Heyy… don’t knock down Paul Tan… if the news isn’t reported here… you guys have no outlet to air your comments n grouses … so… think about it a while huh..?!

• Basher on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:32 pm

Well said by “smart people”. This peoples only will talk and analyze only to gain profits from ordinary people. Crony and songlap will remain rulers of Malaysia. Cukurlah!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
    • Betol Tak? on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:48 pm

Rakyat nowadays are far smarter, cautious and better informed.

That’s why they only buy Perodua, Honda or Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • Crony is the Problem No 1 on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:05 am

Datuk, Proton cannot change unless it changes all its crony vendors.

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies.

And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control.

That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.

So, CEO can say all he wants about quality being raised and how Proton is going to Bertubat, but until ALL Proton’s vendors are changed, how can the quality go up?

Mahathir won’t do this. All his buddies have got the contract to be vendors to Proton. Mahathir will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives, so why upset his relatives when he can continue his past misgivings?

Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

• Henry on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:58 am

A company is only as good as the people it has. Only good people will make a good company.

• “If the government or Bank Negara decides to shorten car financing to a maximum of five years, you will see a big drastic change of our sales figures. I’m quite certain about that.”

Nampak permainan dia tak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
      • George Abdul on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:09 pm

Is the cronies monopoly system by Tun DrM AGAIN … Rakyat time to wakeup!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
        • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:13 am

Because of UMNO songlapping our name worldwide so busuk. In overseas, cars are cheap. In Malaysia, cars expensive, fuel expensive and our money so small and no value. Overseas, even kuli canbuy brand new Civic with 6 months gaji

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:11 am

Bank Negara also takut. Rm2.6 billion also they did not see coming in and when it was returned to donor

How to trust Bank Negara?

• wolpe on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:39 pm

Well if Proton had to rely on shorter loan period to capture higher market share it would have shown that the brand isn’t sustainable to begin with. It’s about survival of the fittest, not about creating an ecosystem that deliberately favours the National brand.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 3
    • Betol Tak? on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:34 pm

Shorter loan period actually increase Perodua sales, not Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 3
  • agree 9 year loans to be reduced, they only allow banks to make more money and manufacturers to sell at higher price,reduce the automotive market cycle as owners are stuck with their cars. proton however is still getting the message right, while they think their products are up to par, they are not..perception can on;y be encountered with great products, halo models to display proton’s abilities etc..proton should stop complaining and start making up to par products

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Betol Tak? on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:38 pm

If your car is good quality fuel efficient rakyat will even pay 10 years loan for it lah.

But if your car is problematic junk give it free to rakyat also they will sell it off next day.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:19 am

This CEO should resign. Today every corporate leader is lauging so much at this CEO. Giving lame excuses despite Government buying 90% of their cars yearly

• Nap tu siapa yang mulakan?9 year loan siapa yang mulakan?bukan mamakthir ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
  • Oh wow on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:52 pm

Beggars belief.

• Nonsense logic on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:55 pm

Keep on blaming others will not gain you more sales.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
  • policeman on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:05 pm

Too much BS in one article.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Once bitten, twice shy. Too late…once the trust is gone, it’s gone forever. P1 can keep complaining but you will never regain the market share. Indirectly, it’s because of lame P1 that we end up with higher car prices and 9 years loan tenure.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
  • Jobless on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:15 pm

Losers ALWAYS BLAMES others….ALWAYS

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
    • Movingcoffin on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:36 am

Losers always believe “foreign” makes better safer than local made. Try moving coffin vios you will know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Localcoffin on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:51 pm

Losers always believe “local” makes better safer than foreign made. Rakyat already know from 30 years of moving coffin saga

• Topkek on Feb 17, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Huh? If you count 30 years ago you will find even luxury cars dun achieve 5 star NCAP and before there was no such thing as it! Not to mention after gens still no VSC. Go figure what car? Topkek

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:10 am

Please resign CEo. Before that, tell us how much we are paying you and paying Mahathir per month. A company bleeding like this should not be paying chairman and CEO so high.

And wasting millions to change logo

• alldisc on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:17 pm

9 years loan is not recent. It has been almost 15 years.

No, cut the super high taxes introduced during mahathir times as PM. Or sell only new cars with tax. 2 separate price.

Example
    Suprima turbo.
    Retail price rm38,500
    Excise duty rm5,000
    GST 6%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • hamboldt on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:18 pm

It’s not about the loan tenure years, it’s about reputation, quality and consumer expectation.
    When I sit inside Preve, I got the feeling that I’m sitting inside a Wira which I used to ride 15years ago. How Proton can expect consumer to buy your product when Proton never understand what consumer want?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
  • Sgt Scoop on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:19 pm

How surprising, Proton want the Malaysian Government to change the rules to help them. How about we change the rules back to how it was before Proton poluted the Malaysian car industry and let them sink or swim on their own merits?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
    • john is otak batu on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:49 am

Yes Sarge! Rakyat just stop visit their showroom in coming years once they shorten the bank loan period. Like the old phrase “Buying stop, killing will stop”

• If you have a good product at a relatively cheap price, who wouldn’t buy it? Consumers shop for the best bang for their buck.

Perhaps try to reconstruct your model lineup. There are too many sedans currently, Saga Persona Inspira Preve and Perdana. Slash Inspira and Persona (& Gen2 as well since we have Suprima S), then you’ll have plenty of cash for another new model, such as SUV which are selling like hot cakes now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • Justin on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 138
    • karam singh on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:42 pm

That’s what I always said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 46
      • RejimKejamGanas on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:56 pm

Then UMW and NAZA will come out and beg the gomen to tolong them also. I doubt DRB wants to screw around with Honda either, Proton is not sustainable at the present and it will only make Honda look for a new GLC to partner with. If DRB gets what Proton wants, they can kiss Honda goodbye. Cekik pun susah, tak cekik pun susah. How to keep Proton and their other interests happy?

• Andrekua on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:32 pm

Patriotic? Yeah, we should buy local cars, employers should hire locals too, not foreign workers. Go figure…

• Increase Malaysian salary and lower all car price…. 1 year salary can settle car loan… then purchase power will increase…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Since proton target so many range from A to D…. sadly all consider failed…. why dont they just focus on A & B segment 1st…. A segment 6 airbags, vsc, abs about or max Rm40k. B SEGMENT Less than Rm55k….. then one hot hatch like Proton Swift sport or Satria Neo 1.5L turbo price Rm 60k…. see how the sales goes…

• Hugo Andore on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:57 pm

Justin should be dragged out to the streets and shot alive for posting that comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • Andrekua on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:15 pm

I think a lot are obsess (in Malay, we call them syok sendiri) with fairy tale stories with how Japanese and Korean support their home brands.

• Hadi75 on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:49 pm

@justin…i got a better idea….why dont the government just ban the sale of foreign cars…that way proton and perodua will own 100% share of the market…that way government dont have to impose high taxes on cars just impose the 6%gst…win win for the rakyat and government….ohhh..as for the menteris and cronies that bought foreign cars..tax them 500% plus gst….
      By the way justin….do you think by protecting proton and perodua in the local market can help them achieve economy of scale?

• please use a little of brain cell before tok on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:55 pm

Loan 9 years, the heart wants honda / toyota / kia & wallet says buy. Change loan to 2 years, the heart still wants honda / toyota / kia but wallet now says buy proton. How can any company survive in the long term like this?? U still cannot capture the heart of the consumer.

• Oh Proton, stop blaming others and take measure to improve your car and services. Please! Memalukan.

• hello Proton
    don’t let Umno politician lead proton because if I hate Umno, i will hate proton forever.

• apala on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:09 pm

Designs have been much less attractive compared to many locally assembled foreign brands; very obvious Proton failed to compete on this front.

• ben yap on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:23 pm

it’s poor management that cost the lost in value for money proposition.

• Jobless on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:36 pm

BS…P1 already have huge advantage vs foreign makes due to the super duper high excise duties and forced to sell at much higher prices (although in reality they can sell cheaper than P1 models)..gud example are Vios City…r u telling me Toyoda Honda cannot produce a 1.5 liter car tat is cheaper than a 1.6liter Prodon PErsona and Preve? But check the prices…even Mitsu Atrage 1.2liter car? More expensive than bigger Prodon sedans wit 1.6liter engines…if Prodon (main market local) can produce such a cheap car and at lower cost than Toyoda (worldwide) WHY on earth they are not outselling the Japs worldwide?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Dumb and dumber on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:38 pm

Stupid excuses by stupid CEO ..this insulting statement makes me HATE Proton even more and boycott them…no sales and still so arrogant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • jazee on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:49 pm

Lower the loan period. Perodua will rock.
    Proton needs to start car parts insurance.

• fefefe on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:50 pm

Shouldn’t blame on loan. Look at yourself! Improve your products.

• its always… always somebody else’s fault that proton has poor sales. Except proton company itself. Please grow a backbone.

• just another driver on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:29 pm

dear Mr CEO, people don’t buy Proton simply because the car build quality sucks. insulation wasn’t really on par, part reliability at lower side standard. engine that sips lotsa fuel. however, the proton cars ride and handling really a plus point for drivers.

• wow, today this website flooded with proton’s news… i thought i’m wrongly browse proton blogger page.

• Anonymous on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:39 pm

P1 mgmt is still in LaLaLand… with the consumuers… it is NEVER just one single reason not to buy your cars… is the CEO willing to bet his job that on the reducing from 9year financing… people will come in droves to buy ur cars…? Really…?

Perception is reality. Learn to understand it. P1 wants to change logo n rebrand but don’t change according to the fundamental needs of the consumer… all of the men want ferarris (example for speed n style – it also could be lambos n porsches) n the women want volvos (example for reliability n safety)… but they buy what they can afford… n what brings value for their money… where is P1 in the scheme of things… brand wise… market segment wise… what categoory does P1 own (…like luxury for Merc… grear engineering for BMW…)..? thats what branding counts for. Not just changing the appearance of ur logo.

If P1 is about cheap family transportation… then why is P2 Myvi the better selling model… families used to want sedans… but majority now only need a Myvi coz families are smaller… and cost of living is higher compareto when P1 was dominant in the 80’s n 90’…. so what is P1 really about NOWADAYS..?

It’s in the drive! Drive where? in the small rural road? hiways? or interior of Sabah? It all means different things to different people… and its funny that the slogan come from mouths who have other people driving them everywhere else…

Personally i dont drive any P1 coz u dont make compact SUVs of which type i’ve been driving for the past 12 years… oh yes… isn’t it ironic that almost all major car manufacturers make SUVs n crossovers in different car segments… n market tells us that its a growing market… yet P1 had talks of making one model has still not materialised…

Forgive my rant… but if P1 mgent n TunM thinks P1 cars are so great… why r u not exporting more?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • poorcomment on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:12 am

Commenting a lot but never drive p1, duh.

• Anonymous on Feb 17, 2016 at 11:26 am

excuse me… i had owned a proton saga n then a wira way back when… before switching to a compact SUV… would probably consider P1 SUV or crossover if they made one like the promoted sometime ago…

• Anonymous on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:43 pm

Oh yeah P1… look at your car price list… P1 has 64 different configurations of its cars…! That is how P1 is managed…! Trying to be evrything to evryone… where’s your focus man…?

• alldisc on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:27 am

it is ok to do so if the country has 70 million of populations and a family sedan/hatch like Ford Focus or VW Golf is only about 14 times the salary of a clerk (read = UK). of course we know the clerk will not buy a new focus since a 5 years old focus is only about 3k in pound sterling and is more affordable.

this is malaysia. where the cars are taxed highly and every tax doubled everywhere.
      1. cars are taxed by customs duties
      2. then all are taxed again by GST.
      3. then the bank loans are charged by interests. banks pay taxes to the government.
      4. then there are road tax, tolled highways and fuel taxes.

tax is everywhere around us.

• Diesel Power!!! on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:47 pm

However, at least he said the true issue about the loan tenure. I support tht loan to reduce to 7years max and 20% downpayment like during the 90s..but with a reduce car price(lower excise tax).!! Scrap car more than 20yrs old.
    It will indirectly increase the secondhand car value, also reduce bad loan, reduce number of car. Only ppl can afford will buy, no more substandard driver..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Anonymous on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:47 pm

hey… Paul Tan should do interviews with people where P1 is sold outside of M’sia… then we’ll know what people out there really think of P1..! n why they choose or not choose to purchase P1 cars…

• anoncar on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:50 pm

I did test drive the preve CFE last year, great handling but I hate the instrument cluster design, the weird dashboard texture and noisy cvt. The worse part was the sales person, unhelpful and almost unreachable when contacted. I ended up buying a similar priced used Japanese sedan.

• seman on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:53 pm

kereta mahal sgt tu la masalah sebenar sampai pembeli kena tarik loan panjang smpi 9 tahun, purata pendapatan tak setara dgn harga kereta. siapa yg nak buat loan 9 tahun kalau boleh selesaikan hutang kereta dlm masa 2 atau 3 tahun?

• Good of Proton on wanting to improve but taking away the means for people to choose proven reliability is just evil. What more does Proton want? The people’s blood?

• IMHO, one of the failure of Proton is they never want to listen or see what the consumers actually want but rather what they think the consumers want.

• Notakata on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:38 am

Consumers want foreign badge. Rather die in it than saved in p1

• malaysian on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:09 pm

You are not suitable to be a CEO. CEO does not whine.

• Richard on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:09 pm

If Proton are so good, mintak all the gomen agency uses Proton. Dont let JPJ/Imigresen/others to use Xtrail, Hilux, or even FORTUNER.mintak ur own kementerian support back ur own car. ask all minister pakai preve / inspira / suprima, but not the accordana.

• anonymous on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:10 pm

Hi P1,

Is not about longer tenure of loan that captures consumer to buy P1 brand. It is indeed the quality against the value of the car price and its features.

Firstly, the quality needs to be on par with other Korean or Japanese. Do some research on Toyota and Honda forum, understand what people complains about those cars, and make sure that P1 improve and you can proudly tell all Jap owners that P1 cars does not have such problem.

Secondly, the features. Don’t follow the same as other cars features. If Jap provide 6-airbags, P1 needs to put in more like 8-air bags. Nowadays, everyone is talking safety, like Lane watch assist, Adaptive Cruise control, TPMS (Tire pressure measuring system), all this safety features only available in highend model of foreign cars. If P1 can put all this features in their normal range with good QC, I believe this will capture more consumer. Make 1.0 Turbo engine with better fuel comsumption without compromising performance. There are many things P1 can do just to capture the market. Don’t blame others because your sales is not good. Take charge of your strategy and don’t create something that force people to buy P1. You need to attract and not force. Forcing them with lower loan is stupid strategy. This means people buy P1 not because of its good quality and nice features of the car, but due to government dirty tricks forces consumer out of choices

• Loan? on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:19 pm

Well, please ask… who set the interest rate? why local car hire purchase interest mostly are higher than overseas brand? 3% plus or above? Only special occasion or clearance events can get lower than 2%?

Why not reduce the hire purchase interest for local car below 1% or just give 0% interest to survey whether local brand car sales will hike in next few months? I doubt Perodua = YES.

Or just remove the GST and whatever tax to local car (or just for Proton :)). This will totally meet “Rakyat didahulukan” slogan.

Agree?!

• Isn’t Proton now owned by DRB? Why should we be paying for its protection from competition which gives choice to the public? Quality and value for money isn’t what Proton is associated with. The car buyers have been screwed since its inception.
    If it dies, I won’t be shedding a tear.

• mat yun on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:26 am

Put the signal stick back on the right side…

• mat yun on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:27 am

Put the signal stick back to the right side…

• Bryan on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:33 am

The fact that majority of the people rather pay a few hundred percent more tax, SUFFERING from incredibly long loan periods, just to buy something Mr. CEO here thinks as inferior, says everything.

• Kamisah on Feb 17, 2016 at 7:20 am

Oiii CEO, shut your mouth and go to sleep. Your garbage don’t deserve Malaysians pity. You made us suffered and now you pay the price.

• skyfall on Feb 17, 2016 at 7:38 am

If your product is good, it will sell. Dont give excuses.

• horrayooi on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:01 am

The major reason our loan is streched to 9 years you can blame it on the old culprit fool on your right ( Harikh ). The car prices of foreign brands are bumped up so Proton prices are also up to make them look cheaper. Compare to USA and other developed countries our prices our 2 times higher. Specs are also downgrade. Stop talking nonsense Harikh.

• Rockstar on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:02 am

Proton should sell better product la…not just complaining about loan tenure or what so ever. Instead of complaining and try to force people to buy their car…try upgrade your products and after sales service…bodoh pnya statement…

• Henry on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:28 am

It is the brand! Once sullied it is difficult to rebuild.

The only way for Proton to gain market share is to have punitive taxes on other brands but this is not going to happen. Malaysia is a signatory to WTO, all the FTAs and now the TPPA. Increasing taxes arbitrarily will invite retaliatory actions from other member countries.

Realistically, how can a mass market car manufacturer survive by producing 150,000 cars a year? Toyota sells more cars in a week.

• xoxox on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:34 am

This is Malayasia. Always blame on other things/people than finding themselves wrong

• choong hui ken on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:56 am

Wow, the moment p1 open their mouth, discontent or dissatisfaction to their product were highly rise by everywhere.
    This is the sign that P1 is not require to be existed anymore.. just close down and save our nation.. p1 been offering lower
    Quality to Malaysian despite buatan Malaysia product.. the damage been extremely overwhelming until your brand perception
    Unable to be restore… new generation not prefer to buy your product.. old generation been suffering enough from your policy..

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:57 am

It is usual trick for loser to put the blame on others, this time P1 put the blame to bank negara who allow bank offer longer tenure. P1 CEO forget that they have been benefited by our government putting higher exercise duty tax on foreign car, in order to protect P1.

Why other foreign automakers can sell lower price gradually meanwhile the exercise duty is still higher? It is because the global market competition is very intense and foreign automakers have to find their way to reduce the price and yet provide more features to keep their product competitive. That is why foreign automakers have to penetrate into more countries in order to achieve greater cost of production to reduce its cost.

P1 lost value for money proposition is not because of longer tenure of other foreign brand, it is more on their cost of production unable to compete with foreign brand.

If P1 want to survive, few things they have to do

a. quality and after sales service. P1 is famous with its lousy quality and ineffective after sales service.

b. new engine. they need to act fast on the direct injection turbo engine development.

c. penetrate into global to achieve greater cost of production.

d. increase their brand awareness and image like what Korean brand done in recent years. Spent million of dollar on advertisement in global.

Btw I dont think P1 will listen to public as they are ego and unwilling to change or too slow to adapt the change of the market.

• “Proton lost value for money proposition to foreign makes due to longer loan tenures – CEO”

The statement is true but it’s the other way round. Longer loan tenures allow the people to get out of Proton trap as they can now afford foreign brand with much better reliability.

This is another example of blaming other people when their craps cannot sell.

• kolejeon on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:08 am

Improve your sales personnel. They lack product knowledge, never offer a test drive, no follow up after customer visit. Foreign brands offer attractive trade in value.

• sparcov on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:16 am

The problem with Proton is they screwed up the company reputation starting from the year 2000s when they launched the Waja and Gen2.

They are too rush into intro new model to the market without properly done the research and testing during the implementation phase.

As a result, Waja are known for its door handle, power windows and air cond vent problem.
    The earlier batch of waja drive train are excellent due to its 4G18 engine and gearbox pair with Lotus tuned suspension. It is a reliable car at that time. Even, the waja still “Ok” until to date.

Again, Proton never listen to the consumer and roll out the Gen2. A poor economic design exterior and interior pair with the notorious Campro engine further sending the company reputation downhill. The campro engine is powerful on paper but not for every day driver where power needed in between 2000 – 4000 rpm most of the time for city driving.

Why Proton dump Mitsubishi in the first place? and design its own engine where the campro engine are not even matching the outdated 4G92 used in the Wira?

Proton make the biggest mistake dumping its Partners “Mitsubishi” when they start talking with Citroen “Proton Tiara” and Renault “Waja 1.8”.

Even the Wira during the year 2000s unable to match the quality from the batch produced between the year 1996 – 1999. I can said, the Wira 1.6 XLi from the batch of year 1997 is the most reliable and long lasting. Why can’t Proton continue its legends as a national car maker back in the 1990s?

Wira, Satria, Waja still can be exported. Come to Preve, Gen2, Iriz, how many units we sell oversea?

After so many years of learning, from car manufacturer to in house car designer, Proton cannot blame the consumer or the market, they should hear what the consumer want.

now the reputation are spoilt, but instead of improving and gain the market share, proton now blame the banking system?

• CFE or campro turbo got max torque from 2000-4000rpm more powerful than 2.0l engine but drinks fuel lesser. In Australia almost no stock of preve left. So?

• sparcov on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:41 am

I have the preve with me. It is IAFM
        auto. I know how it behave.

For CFE. I agree the engine has the power, but you have forgotten the gearbox and fuel consumption

• sparcov on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:55 am

Also to add on, when Proton hired the then Ex Staff of Perodua to head Proton, we can see improvement from there when they roll out the Preve “Asia answer to BMW”. Preve, have the build up quality but get screwed because of the PUNCH CVT system.

I agree with some critics said, In order for Proton to compete, They have to offer more, good quality, low profit margin and affordable price to the Rakyat.

A very good example, Thailand, they promote eco car and allow a nissan march to be sell at less than RM 45K. Remember that is a Nissan.

If Proton Iriz could be sell at RM 25-30K, buyer will change their mind. Imagine, 6 airbags, ABS,EBD, TC, Full accessories, 7 years warranty, retain resale value.

Proton may loss a lot money, but they will gain the reputation back and prove to people, a cheap car not necessary cheap in quality.

Look at how Korean car maker flood the european market in the very beginning stage.

Proton has to find buyer out from Malaysia. Doesn’t really matter where the car will be exported to, Kenya, Nigeria, Bangladesh, Pakistan…..Build the World for Proton brand

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:17 am

CEO, please declare how much you are earning cause every CEO in the country is laughing at you today

• BanRep on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:26 am

Reduce loan period for non national make cars, possible? then abolish the import tax/ duty/ etc for foreign brand. Say Honda CRV drop to RM70K fullspec, Accord RM80K… Proton Sage full spec RM55K. Let’s see who can survive? This guy need to go hospital to get his brain check. Please close shop and go play golf for the rest of your life.

• Proton Cars UK on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:38 am

Ha4……

• slumber on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:38 am

The statement ‘long-held prejudices’ is not established without a valid cause, and I personally do not think 9 years of loan is the reason why buyers are avoiding locally made cars.

• Hamdan on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:44 am

If P1 wanna complain & whine about unfair this and unfair that , expecting another 30 years of govt protection & favour then why were we so gung-ho wanna sign the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPPA) & even bother to be in AFTA ?
    Simple fact. If you cannot compete then just close shop. No use using the same recycled threat that thousands will lose their job etc etc
    Time to open up the local market and move on.
    Which is more relevent ?
    Granting hundred of millions a year to P1 for R&D or to provide scholarships to students to further their studies ?
    Time has come for the govt to make a stand and not bow to these unnecessary pressure from Proton. Apa lagi Proton mahu ?

• Henry on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:56 am

He forgot 6,000 people lost their jobs in MAS.

• Anonymous on Feb 17, 2016 at 11:36 am

Dude… P1 didn’t sign the TPPA all FTAs n AFTA… the govt did…

P1 just need to export more. If they can sell more out there then it would confirm the quality of P1 cars. Older local consumers are well too jaded with P1 theru experience.

• power rangers on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:47 am

when a car manufacturer CEO comes out his mind only loans period and value of money for a car company…it shows how pathetic he is and how logic and brainless he is…

its all about earning money for the cronies suppliers…

• Sompua on Feb 17, 2016 at 10:23 pm

Harith, he talk kok all the time, since modenas time, but he survived becoz he is the king of jilat and kipas, but now sadly the whole world know he is the dumbest ceo of all time

• Blame the banks, blame other brands, blame everyone but their own rubbish cars.
    Only their cronies make money out of everyones misery.

Close Plotong tomolo and all will be happy, except Mahatir and cronies

• everyday driver on Feb 17, 2016 at 9:56 am

Dear Proton,
    it’s not in the drive, it’s in the reliability!
    People are sick and tired of your self praised product how great they are, OF COURSE LA! NEW CAR MA! ALL NEW CAR TEST DRIVE ALSO SHOCK MA! WALAO EH, WHAT DA HELL R U KIDDING MAN!
    The fact is very simple, good car will sell good, bad car will go down the drain. It’s as simple as this.
    By the way, how is your figure doing in oversea?? good?

• Hondana on Feb 17, 2016 at 11:28 am

All of us have given Proton chances. Infact many chances. My first car was an Iswara. Many times I sent my car to Proton Glenmarie to do full service, even though they sneakily leave an empty cartoon of Petronas oil in my car, when I go home, I check, got NO black oil in my engine and oil tak cukup. Many times complained, SC just say, “Ini Proton lah, what do you expect”

TOTALLY AGREE WITH ABOVE COMMENT. I HAVE GIVEN PROTON 3 CHANCES FROM SAGA, WIRA AND WAJA. AND NAP SUCKS AND RAKYAT SUFFERS FOR FAR TOO LONG.

• horrayooi on Feb 17, 2016 at 11:55 am

You put everthing in the car? Don’t forget your timing belt engine is more than 10 year olds. Tweaking here and there with IAFM, CFE and lastly add in VVT with the same Campro engine. Then claimed it was new engine for so called GLOBAL CAR. How can it be global when it cannot sell in Europe and USA because of the of emissions stardard which Campro don’t qualify. What kind of engineers ( thousands in Proton) do we have. That is the result when there is no meritocracy when they are admitted to universities. No quality engineers are produce. Have to source engines from Ricardo, United Kingdom. Yet dare to claim join designing the engine. Proton engineers are sent there to makan angin.Anyway maybe still better than Campro. We wait for the product in 2017 and2018.

• Base on all the bad comments/bad reception of paultan fans. CEO, your days r numbered. Sad to C this guy talking like “Shot his own foot”.
    Good luck. Oh by the way, don’t forget to tell the old man seated next to can “retired permanently”

• Azhar on Feb 17, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Yes. Should follow singapore. 5 years loan. 40% deposit. Then we know who can afford or not. But here so many car got stolen without any solution. Maybe there is some connection

• paultan, when your team interviewed mr eco n tun m, did u ask them whether theyv read all d comments here arr? they r so shyiok sender men