Proton recalls Suprima S, Preve, Exora – CFE-powered variants equipped with faulty oil cooler hoses

Proton upgrades customer service 14

Proton has announced that it will be recalling some 94,577 vehicles in Malaysia over a faulty CFE oil cooler hose. The car maker said that once the hose has degraded to a certain point, usually around the 40,000 km mark, it has been known to burst in affected vehicles.

The models affected include CFE-powered variants of the Proton Exora (59,663 units), Preve (28,642 units) and the Suprima S (6,290 units). Proton has admitted that a mistake was made when selecting the right material for the oil cooler hose.

The issue is said to occur when the lubricant in the rubber hose turns acidic (corrosive) and the hose itself is subjected to high-temperatures. Proton is considering to replace the faulty rubber hose with a metal unit instead, and claimed that a permanent fix is expected to be ready by the end of the month.

Proton upgrades customer service 15

Customers will be informed either via SMS or through mail. For owners of affected vehicles still covered by their warranty, Proton says that the fix will come at no cost to them. For owners of affected vehicles that are no longer covered by the warranty, Proton says that it will only perform the fix for free should your recommended service intervals be adhered to.

Recalls are set to begin by the end of the month, with the national car maker focusing first on vehicles nearest to the 40,000 km mark – being the ones most likely to have their hoses blown out.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Lifetime warranty on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:26 pm

FOC to all owners lah, not their fault also.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • Agreed. Should be free to all owner. Will bring mine to Proton Center even though my warranty already expired

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:52 pm

I have to give credit to Proton finally be a responsible car maker and issue recall! But recalling those showroom + warehouse cars don’t do any good. NO ONE driving these Poton.
        When Proton will recall Saga, Persona, Exora?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • karam singh on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:46 pm

if warranty exceeded they said can be repaired for free if the the car serviced in interval at Proton SC.
          if your car serviced outside SC, repair need to be done yourself, get better Hose like Samco.
          Original Samco better than OEM hose ;)

• komarad on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:26 pm

mine already exceed 80,000km……………….

• Salah kita on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:00 pm

It’s your fault for buying Proton. Actually, it’s Malaysians fault for supporting Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 35
    • gajen on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:30 pm

‘For owners of affected vehicles that are no longer covered by the warranty, Proton says that it will only perform the fix for free should your recommended service intervals be adhered to.’

It’s free if the service intervals are followed.

• OMG…kiss goodbye to P1…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
  • So bashers dun say P1 dun do recall. At least havent kirr pipu yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 21
    • hailthepurist on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:57 pm

first recall, major engine bay problems..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
      • Atilla on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:13 pm

Recall with terms and conditions. It sounds more like a warranty coverage which is something they need to do anyway. I wonder how many free out of warranty fixes they need to do?

• George Abdul on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Luckily I don’t buy Proton cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 62
      • Yes. U buy moving coffin. Congrats

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 30
        • john otak batu on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Proton IS moving coffin. See the spec of ‘new’ Perdana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
          • 4 airbags with ESC compared with Camry 2 airbags w/o ESC. Which is the moving coffin here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
          • john liar on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:21 am

Don’t lie. Perdana 2.0 where got ESC?

• john true on Mar 18, 2016 at 3:06 am

it’s stated in the car’s brochure, by full name…electronic stability control..

• Ollie on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:00 pm

Kawan. Proton is the safest carmaker in the world. Their first recall. Happy? Go to the playground and suck on your Proton lollipop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • sohhai on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:38 pm

‘For owners of affected vehicles that are no longer covered by the warranty, Proton says that it will only perform the fix for free should your recommended service intervals be adhered to’.

So if you never serviced your car with Proton, it’s your own problem.

Hello Proton, Honda fixed my 11 yr Accord’s airbag inflator for free even though I stopped bringing them to Honda service centers 3 years ago.

With this kind of attitude and mentality, how do you expect to be a global player? The faulty oil cooler hose is your fault from the start

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 38
    • kazanixm on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Honda recalled due to Takata air bag issue and it is related to safety which is why they fixed it for free. (due to they do not want the owner sued them if there is any fatality)

As for Proton case here, at least they admit it and take action for it. I would say it`s a good start for integrity behavior (Yes, i`m looking at you PROTON!)

Although, if the T&C of the OCH recall can be much more ‘friendlier’ to those that have already expired warranty (regardless of servicing outside), it will be much awesome (free parts & labors specifically for the OCH issue)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
      • john eat sh** on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:23 pm

Oil cooler hose failure can result in engine overheating and ultimately car on fire (like the Exora on fire). Isn’t this also safety-related?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
    • Honda Fan on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:28 pm

What is so great about Honda airbag recall? I have to register myself at Honda website to tell them that my car is affected. After that I have to wait 5 months to get a letter confirmation from them. Then I have been calling up the Service Center multiple times but being told to call back the next month because the slot for replacement is full. It has been few months since then and I’m still wondering when will I be able to send in my car for the replacement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Dun worry. Macais says u will proudly die when ur airbag rupture than live shamefully cuz ur airbag deploy properly. All becoz u dun have P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Ta-mama on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:47 pm

Hello, answer this simple question: does ur under big tree 3rd party service center touch your airbag or engine during the periodic service?

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:46 pm

Congratulations Proton but what about the Power Windows 20 years ago. Why you never recall all the cars?

Just because now, Proton want the publicity to show it is a responsible company and want the sales, you do it.

The past 30 years, Government protect Proton completely, totally no recall, especially for the power Windows. Don’t even compensate the customers who bought. Don’t even care a damn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 32
    • Mimau on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:58 pm

1: It’s not safety related. 2: Already have lifetime warranty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • Delloid on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:11 pm

Power window problem is not safety related?

It’s more than that dude, it’s about sincerity to solve a problem.

Giving life time warranty simply sweep problem under carpet if the parts still faulty again and you expect owners happily visiting service centre repeatedly?

Really stupid logic anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
        • By automotive definition, power window fail to function is not a safety issue, but a power window that can catch fire IS a safety issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
          • john otak batu on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:54 pm

You’re an idiot. What if you’re in an accident, your door is stuck and you can only get out of the window but your power window fail? That’s not a safety issue?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
          • Then u r a bigger idiot. When accident until door jam, normally electric oso cut-off. How u wanna use ur hi-RV power windows, genius? Firemen will usually smash it to access and save ur sorry ass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
          • john otak batu on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:28 am

You’re the biggest idiot. For a normal accident, power windows will still function. It’s only when it fails that it becomes a safety issue as the passenger is trap in the car. You want to wait for the firemen to save your ass? Sorry, by then you already burst into flames. The end

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Google on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:38 pm

there are many proton haters. so no need to be serious. How great is other car’s power window? My myvi & Vios had fixed the power window numerous time until i give up.

• kazanixm on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Good!

This is something that mostly CFE car owners are looking forward to.

• Just the other day they blame wear and tear and not the material itself. Now admit pulak it’s the material. You flip flop flip flop and still expect people to trust you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • Heating can be considered as wear & tear. But u refuse to notice that the MD oso says it cud be material problems and coolant additives (perhaps by users themselves). Topkek bash onli choose which info that suits them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • olio benzina on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:17 pm

NO WEASEL CLAUSES. Please Proton, you are missing a tremendous opportunity to generate goodwill way beyond the cost of those 60000 hoses. I am an Exora Bold owner from new and no problem so far and I stick to service schedule. Happy that Proton offers recall and makes sense that priority given to vehicles most likely to be affected first. But. Big but here. Proton PR standing and customer confidence would have improved tremendously if they offer recall without weasel clauses though. The additive mentioned as a contributing factor to the hose failure is most likely the X1R that Proton service dealers recommend to put in during oil change.

• ely_lye on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Not interest in Proton Car… all are junk car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
  • Jobless on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:28 pm

Ceo admitted P1 service sucks, than blame the cstomer for not servicing at their service center after warranty expires and nw doesnt want to fix the defect for FREE…langsung x ikhlas…the defect NOT BUYERS FAULT BUT P1 FAULT..If me will drive the P1 car block their main gate to protest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
  • My preve just hit 1k km mark, does this case applies to my car as well?

• dollah tgg on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Proton has no expertise building turbo engines.
    Expect more problems to crop up due to excessive heat build up and this is just the beginning.
    CFE is not a full turbo engine and already facing these heating problems.
    Next to go is transmission system and gearbox.
    Be forewarned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • Syukur lah.

• Low sales volume. Busy pun tak. Memang patut adakan kempen sebegini untuk service centre yang tak ada kerja.

• Atilla on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:02 pm

Yeah supplier untung man. This is a normal warranty cover, not a real recall.

• alldisc on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Proton is doing it wrong. Recall means voluntarily providing a solution to a problem. It is therefore not a part of warranty process, by which should the owner failed to adhere to service schedule proton could decline a claim.

This is lacking in professionalism and this is the reason why after 3 years you sold only a mere 6 thousand units of suprima CFE. That is an average of 2k units a year. That is a huge failure for a car that you claimed to be a game changer and yet failed to make an impact in Australia.

And even worse – can’t even penetrate European markets… For unknown reasons, perhaps?

• Andrekua on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:30 pm

This is Malaysia Boleh standard. They are not sincere to admit that their parts are not up to standard, despite admitting that the parts fail due to reasons beyond owners control.

The reason they cant penetrate European market anymore? Easy… emission… very simple yet too complex for Proton.

• There used to be a German P1 owners club. Shocking isnt it?

• Aero (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:01 pm

Well done, this is excellent news to all CamPro Turbo/ CFE Proton owners. But recalls are nothing new, Proton has done many recalls in the past, but I believe this is the first recall under the 2012-present DRB-HICOM management. Proton made a mistake, they admitted and corrected it, and they wish to compensate those affected. That’s about as much as anyone can do. Yes, the damage has been done, but how Proton attempts to fix the damage is just as important.

In the past, during the Tengku Mahaleel era, problems like this were covered up. The Perdana and Waja had sooo many problems, but after a few years, Proton stopped ‘caring’ about their old models and existing owners. Proton knew that they would lose millions on each recall. If this was America, Proton would have been sued millions for a whole host of problems by now… but this is Malaysia, our attitude is “It’s a Proton, what do you expect ? If you want reliability, pay more and buy a Toyota !” This is unacceptable, but it’s all true, and it is still happening today.

I respect and congratulate Proton on their efforts to change Malaysian perception on how Proton values their existing customers. We are the ones who ‘gave you a chance’ and bought your products, it’s us that you should strive to please foremost, not those bigots and badge snobs. If you can treat your existing customers well, they will recommend Proton cars to their friends and family, and maybe, they’ll even buy another Proton in the future. However, if you treat your existing customers like ‘lab rats’, then don’t expect us to support Proton afterwards. We will only feel cheated and betrayed by false promises.

Anyway, I hope that Proton will keep up this attitude, and any future problems should be handled and treated just as seriously. All is not lost yet.

• Rwong on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:24 pm

Is it the same? Oil cooler hose and turbo hose? My CFE exora’s turbo hose burst. Was made to pay almost a thousand to get it fixed. Had to leave my car at service centre for about a week. How do Proton compensate for owners like me who paid to get the problem fixed and now a recall comes along?

• Supplier on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:15 pm

There is a fix for this CFE Leaking issue, its shouldn’t be blamed directly on the manufacturer but instead the reliance of one supplier whom proton trusted. Now the new hose which is being developed will take into qualities from Europe to be implemented in to CFE engines.

• Tracks on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:00 am

Dear Chris Aaron. I am unsure how much knowledge and experience you have in relation to the automotive market.
    You quoted this activity as a “Recall” but actually it is termed as “Service Fix” by Proton. Other manufacturers sometimes calls it “Service Campaign”. I don’t wish to elaborate the difference between the two terms but I guess you will be amending the title soon and most probably my message will be deleted too.

• Buy Branded on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:58 am

A new white Bmw 320 burst in flame at a traffic light in front hospital ampuan rahimah klang 14/04/2016,the front till it windscreen turn to charred metal. It’s the owner fault because it a BMW’s

• Josh YM Leong on Feb 17, 2016 at 8:00 am

My Exora Bold’s warranty just expired on 06 Feb 2016. Driven it almost 80,000km already. Have serviced my car at Proton Edar at the suggested service intervals.

Proton’s CTO was aware of this issue since late Jan 2016. Sigh, hopefully they will fix it for free. This will be the second recall issue for the Exora – the 1st being replacement of radiator hoses about 1 year back.

Any one has technical knowledge if the corrosive/acidic nature of the rubber hose’s lubricant affects the engine or turbo charging unit? That is more of a concern for me as those are much more expensive to replace.

• cheap publicity stunt?
    why recall coincide with their press announcement/advert on new logo?

agreed shd be free

• Ok they never practice this recalls when the for pv6 before.leaving it’s owner digg their pocket for expensive repairs.trust proton nomore

• khazali on Feb 17, 2016 at 7:08 pm

ingin berjumpa datuk harith abdullah

• Hizam on Mar 22, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Semua pusat servis tiada parts untuk ganti, kalau ada pun dalam kuantiti yang amat amat terhad … kereta yang menunggu berpuluh-puluh ribu buah
    Proton perlu ambil tindakan segera untuk mengembalikan keyakinan pengguna …..

• Disappointed on Mar 26, 2016 at 1:26 pm

Proton is not so serious with their recall announcement. Most SC I went keep saying no stock. Spend few minutes check and say no crack. Everyday driving with fear praying hard won’t break down

• Thai buyer on May 23, 2016 at 11:58 pm

How about Proton in THAILAND, its cover?

• Muhammad bin Abdullah on Jun 08, 2016 at 5:35 am

The replacement should be free even after the warranty is over, or the car is not serviced as recommended, because the fault has nothing to do with either; rather the fault lies with the part when fitted to the car when new.

• Atanshahrul on Jul 05, 2016 at 11:35 pm

If compare to other car makers, proton actions such as ” melepas batuk di tangga “. Why its slogan are commitment to be better and dare to changed?? Shame on responsibility shown by proton. Now proton’s owners have no argue anything else. Everything goes down include spirit nation.

• Rachata on Jan 18, 2018 at 4:59 pm

“Proton is considering to replace the faulty rubber hose with a metal unit instead, and claimed that a permanent fix is expected to be ready by the end of the month” is new metal hose available?