Kejara Demerit Points System confirmed, says gov’t – Transport Ministry wants immediate implementation

malaysian-driving-license-001

The government has confirmed that the Kejara Demerit Points System will be implemented as soon as possible. According to The Star, transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai confirmed the move which is expected to encourage Malaysians to strictly adhere to traffic laws and regulations.

“We will implement Kejara because it makes motorist obey the rules and traffic procedures, indirectly creating more awareness on road safety and build better road culture,” said the transport minister.

For those who do not know, Kejara is a demerit points system whereby drivers who commit specific traffic offences are given demerit points under the Motor Vehicles (Demerit Points) Rules 1997. Each driver starts off with a clean slate, and then accumulate demerit points based on traffic offences.

According to the Road Transport Department’s (JPJ) website, driving over the speed limit by one to 25 km/h gets you six demerit points, for example. More serious offences, such as driving under the influence of alcohol gets you 15 points. Adversely, seven points can be deducted from your tally by maintaining a clean sheet for 24 consecutive months.

Click to enlarge.

Young and new drivers also need to take note that accumulating 10 demerit points could mean the revocation of your CDL or P license without being able to drive again for up to a year. Refer to the list above for more details.

The implementation of the system is also fully supported by the JPJ. “It is definitely a good suggestion. We will prepare an in-depth study of the system but its implementation is subject to Cabinet approval,” said Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad, JPJ’s director-general.

Bukit Aman equally shares the sentiment. Internal Security and Public Order Department director Comm Datuk Muhammad Fuad Abu Zarim said that the timing couldn’t be better in order to curb the growing rate of fatal accidents on the road.

“We have to look at the results and statistics of this year’s Ops Selamat, which ends this Sunday, and see which areas need to be improved. Our priority has always been to save lives, as many as possible. We want to prevent fatal accidents as much as possible,” said the officer.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• If caught on camera hurling abuse & throwing money at enforcement officers, how many points kena tolak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Come on, driving over speed limit by 1km/h also got penalise? Should consider giving a 5km/h window. Starting 6km/h over the speed limit only penalise. The speedo is also sometimes not accurate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • BAMyouhaveAIDS on Feb 17, 2016 at 11:27 am

In Malaysia, if you have money, everything is solve-able. If the corrupted leaders are not thrown out, Malaysia will keep going down the drain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Shud show example by throwing out corup leaders in Party Hard. Then pipu can belip. Otherwise 2X5 = 5X2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • 4G63T DSM on Feb 17, 2016 at 5:19 pm

This so begs the question….. just how much donation you need to contribute to have the points taken off.

• Aess kacang on Feb 17, 2016 at 11:30 am

Ok.. And then do more speedtrap on 60km/h 3lines long strech road.. Or even better on 30km/h school section.. So that malaysian will be lesen-less state

• karam singh on Feb 17, 2016 at 11:30 am

can we check who were the transport ministers for the last 25 years?

the kejara system has been there for donkey years but never enforced. stupid ministers. stupid donkey. stupid donkey kong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Bijan on Feb 17, 2016 at 12:18 pm

It’s-in-the-Drive for Cash-is-King.

• How about driving under the speed limit on the right lane? This is as dangerous if not more dangerous than those speeding, not to mention inconsiderate to others.

Ever so often there are people going 60 on the overtaking lane of a 110 highway! Worse still, these people REFUSE to move to the left after being flashed at, horned at or even undertaken by countless motorist!

Also, by the point system, 6 for 1kph over, 10 for 40+, may as well just drive 100kph over and get 10 points deducted!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Jackson on Feb 17, 2016 at 2:37 pm

I think this issue is covered in item number 8. where it says, “Offences related to overtaking and obstructing an overtaking vehicle” – 8 points.

• Your point is spot on!! We should have a more reasonable speed limit on highway and most importantly are driving skills and attitude. Can those in the power have a look at Germany, how they drive on highway and the driving lessons they have to gone through? those fast lane hogging driver definitely pose risk to others!

I found that it was those in the middle lane that hogging the road. for example, they drive 80-90km/h in the middle, and those on 90-100km/h naturally will go to 3rd lane. Those driving slowly in the middle always created a ‘wall of car’ and wasted 1/3 of the highway capacity.

Car performance had greatly improved over the years but our speed limit stays at 1980’s or 70’s limit. Unreasonable low speed limit will only give more problem!

• Yes thank you. Those cars in the middle lane are annoying. in a 3 lane road, the middle lane will be packed, right lane will have road hoggers, while the left will be empty. if it’s a 2 lane road, the right lane will be packed. why can’t cars stick to the left unless overtaking. i don’t get these people.

• Edit:

JPJ also needs to improve on their logic.

5 lane NKVE stretch at 90kph?

Worse still, 3 lane stretch at 60kph? Who came up with all these speed limits? Flavour of the month? Which sign is on sale and discounted gets bought and installed without any studies?

I bet with you there will be more accidents if people follow those crazily boring slow speed as they’ll fall asleep or get distracted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Captain Obvious on Feb 17, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Bro, come visit our glorious Silk highway. 3-4 lanes at 70km/h. Logic?

• Adlan on Feb 17, 2016 at 1:03 pm

how much is the maximum points that will make the license get revoked?

• TheDean on Feb 17, 2016 at 1:24 pm

How to make ‘donation’ to pdrm if enforcement is auto?

• Vikky on Feb 17, 2016 at 2:17 pm

No offense in relation to driving against the flow of traffic? It is a daily and dangerous occurrence in my area. People just ignore the 1-way-sign.

It is interesting to note that some people are of the opinion that we can reduce the chance of traffic accidents by raising the speed limit.

• polisi on Feb 17, 2016 at 4:35 pm

there are a few vague offence description in the list. so i’m guessing driving against the flow of traffic can be a offence under item 2 and 3 “Reckless driving” and “Inconsiderate driving”.
      What does item 11 even mean? “Offences related to driving on the left lane” are they referring to the emergency lane?

• Nasi lemak managed country on Feb 17, 2016 at 2:53 pm

Implement vep to foreign vehicle first la sholes…. Anything want to makan own rakyat money is immediate…. Tak tau malu punye nasi lemak gomen

• jobless on Feb 17, 2016 at 2:57 pm

One group of motorist tat endangers others are those who weave in and out at high speeds or tailgating at highspeeds on purpose…these idiots are almost never caught never becoz traffic fines tend to focus on straight line speed and no seatbelts or using hp

• notjobless on Feb 17, 2016 at 4:31 pm

I’m sorry to say but if you actually notice many tailgaters behind you, you may actually be the problem.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 17, 2016 at 5:27 pm

So why no statement to say what is the maximum demerit points you can accumulate before your driving licence is shredded?

• How come start with 0 points? I thought demerit is to reduce the points? Example in China, every driver have 16 points to start with..but anyway anything can be happen in Boleh Land…

• stasta on Feb 18, 2016 at 1:01 pm

does it matter whether u start with 0 and max allowed is 16 ? or if u start with 16 and min is 0 ?
      obviously u have double digit IQ.

• Guest on Feb 18, 2016 at 12:15 am

Wow nice. I supposed all the ministers will be exempted from this?

• No license no demerit on Feb 18, 2016 at 1:40 am

Seriously, our gomen is stupid or blind ar? Demerit system, ha! So, no license means no demerit points la. Should have curb those ppl with no license 1st. I have known some ppl who have been driving around for years without license and never had an issue with the authorities. Most teenagers nowadays are riding the kapcai without license and are not afraid of saman. Raking up to thousand of ringgit in saman also not takut one. The roads are owned by their datuk one. Demerit system are targeted at middle and high income group. Useless system. Lower income group can ride around with their kapcai without license, and yet nothing they are being let off without saman. Even if they kena saman, they no need to pay one. Why? Our relevant authorities suck at their job lo

• FaizalMisman on Feb 18, 2016 at 2:33 am

Can I redeem the demerit point that i’ve?

• I just got one summon for not fasten seatbelt. Will they barred my p licence?

• I rather give my 3 demerit points to Liverpool, they r desprate now!!