“Proton is not doing well, I don’t want to give too many excuses, but there are many reasons” – Tun Mahathir

In an interview with paultan.org, Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad gave us a rather frank admission of the current state of Proton and its various issues, as well as revealing what the national carmaker plans to do about them.

“We admit that Proton is not doing well. I don’t want to give too many excuses, but there are many reasons,” said the former prime minister.

Mahathir claimed that the company has inherited a detrimental brand perception among the public, especially with regards to quality. He added that the most infamous complaint – power windows not working – still make the rounds, despite the problem not occurring anymore. “Realising all this, we have made every effort to overcome these problems, and we have indeed overcome most of them,” he said.

One of those issues concerned the Preve, which Mahathir said was launched too early without proper testing, and hence caused teething issues to crop up. “Today the Preve is quite a popular car, and that is because we have made corrective actions,” he said.

2016-Proton-Perdana-full-media-preview-7

Despite having taken steps to fix those issues, Mahathir said that the company is still “bugged by a bad reputation” – hence, he said that Proton will listen to the public with regards to their criticisms and correct whatever failures it has made.

As previously reported, Proton will launch at least three new cars this year, these being the Perdana – expected to be launched by the end of March – as well as the Persona and Saga. Mahathir said that he hopes the public will test drive these cars, adding that they should not pass judgement on them until they tried them out.

“Our tagline is ‘It’s in the Drive.’ If we were not convinced in the car, we wouldn’t say that – we would say that it is cheap, or that it is a national car. But we are saying that they are good to drive,” Mahathir said.

Watch the video above to see the full interview with Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• plainbullshit on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Boy I am tired of Proton news. I love Tun M but not Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 18
    • hailthepurist on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:27 pm

lol, no Tun M no Proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
      • Ini semua salah Proton supporters. Why they don’t buy more Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Betol Tak? on Feb 18, 2016 at 8:54 pm

Here’s how to save the new Perdana:

1. Its confirmed that the rear bonnet design is lame ugly like Persona Gen2 and surely annoy lots of potential buyers. Proton should redesign and move the number plate on bootlid above instead. Can you please for once get your design right?

2. It was revealed also black colour interior only for 2.0L model. Again another stupid decision that highly likely to annoy potential buyers. Damn it Proton just do it for 2.4L also lah. People here mostly hate white beige interior! Look at how Toyota scrambled to change Vios 1.5G interior to black colour from lame beige colour.

3. Why you delete ESC from 2.0L model? Put it back for God sake! So much for your slogan safety features for all regardless of price level.

4. That huge sloping teardrop C-pillar glass. Nobody did that kind of design anymore now. Look at the trend nowadays either cut-through C-pillar small line like Lexus/Nissan or that BMW kink glass. What, dreaming yourself as Asian Jaguar kah?

5. The rest is okay. Front, side profile is fine. Oh yeah, put chrome door handle too. It’s a must for such car. Entire window strip lines also should be in chrome.

6. Unsure about sunroof. Did you put it? Better do it as well. And for both model too! Then your car is luxuriously complete ready for global market offensive.

If you follow all the above rest assured you can steal lots of sales not only from individual buyers but from corporate company cars too. Don’t get us wrong, we like to see you succeed rather than ends up being lelong to some China firms for 1 Euro. Cheers::::!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
      • Dun talk as like proton only got cosmetic problem. Their main problem are reliability, wire harness, transmission…. all quality issues.

• Most people will buy 2.0 car but alas still using halogen light. If it is led light, both front and back, it will be a hit. Trying to reserve led light for 2.4 is a mistake.

• This is another one giving false hope to Proton. Change the light to LED and it will be a hit? You mean Proton cannot sell all these while all because it did not have LED?

• lilytan on Feb 19, 2016 at 8:36 am

Proton should making it right the first time. No more guinea pigging the customer. Period.

• Dr Mamak on Feb 19, 2016 at 3:21 pm

Apanama power window how?

• mig29_ria on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:10 pm

There are different perception about PROTON during Tan Sri Zainal Abidin as CEO. But why now? after Tan Sri Zainal Abidin left the company?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Bcos Tan Sri Zainal Abidin do shit at P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
      • Well, i am sure one day when TM is gone and proton is still bad, you will blame him too.

• Betol Tak? on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:13 pm

The cost to hire world class car designer is only US$5 million per year. Or around RM20 mil here.

That’s why Hyundai Kia hired Peter Schreyer which lead to 7 million cars sales worldwide. It proved that good design really sells and simply priceless strategic decision.

It’s time for Proton to do the same also. You got 2 factories running at below capacity exactly for not doing the above. Start it by removing whoever your designer now.

• redidiot on Feb 19, 2016 at 2:26 am

I think they should fire the decission makers, not the egineers or designers

• camtakpro on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:35 am

Wrong. If it were just good design, Proton cars will be just looking all great only in the service centre.

Ok, I admit at least Proton models shouldn’t be butt-ugly in the service centre.

• Apasudahmacam on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:18 pm

all the reasons that Dr M didn’t want to give can be summarized to one and only one word

CRONYISM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • Betol Tak? on Feb 18, 2016 at 7:22 pm

Another reason: Signal stick on left side steering

Macamlah boleh jual 1 juta export units

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • menee on Feb 18, 2016 at 7:57 pm

Nothing wrong with left side signal stick

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
        • Betol Tak? on Feb 18, 2016 at 8:18 pm

Export units 5,000 only. Local units 100,000.

Why Proton like to annoy local buyers with left stick signal over small puny export market. Memang nonsense lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
          • lol. bende mcm tu nk jd issue ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
          • Im not annoyed. In fact, after getting used to it, its more intuitive for me rather jepunis style use right hand to control steering AND signal at same time.

• Me la on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:14 pm

I like left side stick. Right hand free to hold ciggy hahaa

• Failed State Citizen on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Please do Malaysians a favor. Close it down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 27
    • Tabouleh! Anti-P1 = Anti-Tun M = Anti-Bersih = Anti-Party Hard = Anti-Dear Leader becum PM = Anti-ABU

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • goaway on Feb 18, 2016 at 8:08 pm

Please do Malaysians a favor. GTFO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • His many reasons is ini mesti semua salah Najib/ Rosmah/ UMNO/ TPPA/ GST/ Liberalising of markets/ 1MDB/ Malaysians now got more money/ Melei mudah lupa & malas/ Najib more focus on public transport/ Najib no gip him money/ Najib threaten to get other brands for Gov fleet unless P1 out new Perdana (Accordana)/ ini mesti semua salah Najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
  • 4G63T DSM on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:28 pm

“Our tagline is ‘It’s in the Drive.’ If we were not convinced in the car, we wouldn’t say that – we would say that it is cheap, or that it is a national car. But we are saying that they are good to drive,” Mahathir said.

Yes we get you. Protons are good to drive.

But let’s work on the “GOOD TO OWN” part a little more will ya?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
  • Tun M, please just go retire already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
  • c.p. mohan on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:38 pm

To move forward accept past mistakes and don’t make excuses. Proton, you are in the right direction!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
  • Anonymous on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:39 pm

Many reasons? I’ll give you one… UNINSPIRING LEADERSHIP… you say you want to listen to the consumers…? Then step down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
  • Bujingyun on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:46 pm

Please lower down the price..people will make comparison if the price still high..new perdana or accord..if the price is similar,for sure people will choose accord..yes,the quality is the most important thing..honda is proven,not proton..lower down the price,people will buy,if people said the quality is good,then you go..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Ollie on Feb 18, 2016 at 7:32 pm

Firstly, get a better videographer. A kindergartener would do a better job with the audio and video.

1. Inherited problems??? WHAT THE __________________________. YOU CREATED YOUR OWN PROBLEM YOU F___ I_____. WHAT THE F___ DID YOU INHERIT??

2. Launch Preve too early? REFUND ALL THE BUYERS

3. Priced below imported cars – OBVIOUSLY YOU F_______ I______. YOU HAVE LOWER TAX

4. Launch 3 cars this year – REBADGE EVERY F____ CAR IN THE WORLD LA.

5. INITIALLY, MECHANICAL CARS, QUITE EASY – WHAT THE F________.. EVEN THAT YOU CANT DO RIGHT

6. WIFI CONTROL CAR WITHOUT CONNECTION. RETARDED?

7. ITS IN THE DRIVE? ITS IN YOUR BLOODY SARONG LA

8. VERY EXPENSIVE TO CHANGE TUBE – YA LA YOU F___ I_____ YOU PUT AN ESSENTIAL PART WITHOUT TESTING??? F____ I____

9. SEEK INDULGENCE? _______ *CAN’T PUBLISH IF NOT WILL GO TO JAIL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
    • mentalproblem on Feb 18, 2016 at 8:01 pm

I suggest you go to psychiatrist, and if you cannot afford your dream car, work harder

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • Henry on Feb 18, 2016 at 8:02 pm

A name change may help. How about Neutron?

• Jobless on Feb 18, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Have anyone realized that the poblem pobably lies in the entire managment, marketing and engineers/designers/advertising firms involved in the decision making to design and launch the failed Gen2 Preve, Supima, Iriz and nw Perdana?? Most probably the same design team who flunked the Gen2 ergonomics retained to design the super ugly butt of Preve Supima and Iriz…they failed to read the market..they failed in their jobs..in other more advanced countries these bunch of clowns already sacked long long time ago…they even failed their English just look at their advertisments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Meritocracy is put aside in favour of NEP. So how can Proton achieve the best it can be?

• Henry on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:52 am

You can’t win a football match when your best players are sitting on the bench. Hehe ….

• camtakpro on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:39 am

The butt signal lamp should wrap slightly to both side of the car for signal visibility. Not like those merdeka edition Proton Saga or ugly Iriz signal that just constraint to be viewed from the back.

• mrupai on Feb 18, 2016 at 8:38 pm

Malaysians itself are trying hard 24 hours X 365 days to kill their own car makers.. crazy world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • Betol Tak? on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:26 pm

Exactly the same reason why Australians only buying 20-40 units of Proton per month.

But hey, who knows Bangladesh market soon can get better sales though!

• Henry on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:38 am

We should have negotiated to barter Proton cars for the 1.5 million Bangladeshi labour soon to arrive. It would increase the car’s production.

• After 30 years still fail, we need someone like John Connor to lead us

• John Connor becum terminator and was destroyed by his father & mader wohh.

• Connedbyvw on Feb 18, 2016 at 8:46 pm

Tun M, people dont support proton becoz by buying proton we are supporting the protection of auto industry which jack up the car prices and impact our purchasing power. Remove the protection and it will liberate the market, drive car prices down and make proton more competitive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • alldisc on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Power window Rosak. Oh Tidak. Oh No!
    Sumps up P.R.O.T.O.N

• Azhar on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:30 pm

I’m tired of seeing M. In politics,economy, when we will we not seeing his face.

• Here's the key and you are welcomed on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:51 pm

Dear Tun, Let not forget the racial affirmation policy extended into your corporation. Any thriving corporation hire good people based on merit, not race or color or sexual inclination or age or gender. Do that across the corporation and you will fix everything else.

• Alex Lam on Feb 19, 2016 at 1:11 am

This is Proton.
    Proton is not a true National Icon like MAS.
    Proton is not prestigious.
    Proton does not compete internationally.
    Proton has no booth in Tokyo Motorshow.
    Proton has no cars in Gran Turismo.
    Proton is not available in Fast & Furious. Maybe can be in Slow & Dubious.
    Proton cars built feels unsafe due to poor material selection.
    Proton has pretty bad resale value.
    Proton existence has caused everyone to pay alot more for foreign cars.
    Proton’s face is so thick complaining no rakyat support when we had given them 30 years.
    Proton still exist because founder thinks it is a National Icon. Maybe it was meant to be, but it surely is not what he envisioned to be. Nobody is proud of it.
    Don’t be like Proton.

• tun ejuice on Feb 19, 2016 at 1:25 am

Still good and reliable my saga sv..no major problems.

• FireAce on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:46 am

Wow, you are one lucky chap.. Btw, are you being extra careful while opening your rear boot? Saw lots of saga on the road with the rear boot handle (above No. Plate) broken. The ONLY brand/car type with this widespread problem. Wonder what other plastics in the car that was broken too.. Air-cond vents cover?? Anyone??

• demon89 on Feb 19, 2016 at 7:45 am

Reasons mean excuses.Proton please improve your car quality la…

• I dont know why, but i put highly expectation after what Tun M said just like a ‘kene sebijik’ to all protonese but in implicit words. since this i’m eager to see what proton can do for their next projects. Come on proton you can do it.

• Henry on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:50 am

Protection is necessary for any infant local industry. Otherwise it will be dead before it can start to grow when imports flood into the country in a level playing field. Malaysia is not a manufacturing powerhouse like America, Europe, China, Korea or Japan.

Unfortunately Proton did not take advantage of this period of protection to improve and advance. Time, opportunity and money is wasted. With WTO, AFTA, FTAs and TPPA it is now a level playing field whether Proton likes it or not.

• man jojo on Feb 19, 2016 at 12:04 pm

Proton fails because there is no passion about the car…..Proton only created to create vendors, jobs, graduates, make pictures as Malaysia is developed country, proud of nothing, create opportunity and so on….so if Proton go back to basic which is create a ‘true’ car…then it will be different story.

• Proton fails maybe because of you Dr. M still on the helm of Proton. Seriously we don’t want you and tell us mumbo-jumbo you are a politician and a medical Doctor – tell us what the heck do you know about cars apart from telling us some nonsense emission standard in the UK which does not apply to Malaysia even in the foreseeable future?

DRB if you have so much money please go and hire proper German guys like how Kia rebranded their cars, just hire Volkswagen guys (maybe now on the cheap) cos we will believe him more than Dr. M

• Observe on Feb 24, 2016 at 9:45 pm

Strange that nobody mentioned tengku mahaleel anymore despite his multitude of stupid decisions that brought proton to its present state