VIDEO: Buckle up for life – always use your seatbelt

Clip every trip

This is why it's the law to wear a seatbelt. Clip every trip.

Posted by NSW Road Safety on Friday, 29 January 2016

When driving, the primary item of safety equipment in a car is the seatbelt. No matter how many airbags, electronic safety aids, driving aids, and so on, that a vehicle might have, the effectiveness of all these safety devices is immediately negated, or diminished, if a seatbelt is not used.

The video above, posted by New South Wales Road Safety, Australia, on their Facebook page, dramatically shows the consequences of not wearing a seatbelt. In the video, it can be seen that crash test dummies who are not buckled in are immediately flung foward at the moment of impact, while the dummies on the other side, safely wearing seatbelts, stay seated.

Child-car-seats-paultan.org-009-850x526

As for children, the seatbelts in a car are not designed to safely restrain them during an accident, and child seats, or booster seats for older children, should be correctly used. Most modern cars will have Isofix points for installing child seats, which securely and safely mount the seat in place.

Safety on the road should not be taken for granted, and drivers should always ensure that their vehicle is properly maintained and safe to drive. Front and rear seat occupants should fasten their seatbelts, and children should be safely restrained in properly sized child seats.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• ben yap on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:55 pm

i see a lot of parents, especially fathers, like to put their kid on their lap while they drive.

these are called “brainless fathers”.

• anonymous on Feb 18, 2016 at 6:57 pm

Sometimes it’s a bit annoying when your friends are laughing at you “Why fasten seatbelt at the back la so good boy”. When accident happens (touch wood), you will then know why.

• No need lah! Cuz Sam Loo says hi-RV & almighty T badge is gonna protek u from injuries or accident. Not like useless P1 with 6 airbags, TC, VSC, HPF, 5-star ANCAP