VIDEO: Tun M discusses the next-gen Proton Exora

One of the more popular MPVs offered to Malaysians is the Proton Exora. Launched back in 2009, the seven-seater has received a series of mechanical and aesthetic upgrades over the years to keep it fresh for the market. However, there’s no denying that the MPV is a little old by now, and a new model should be in Proton’s pipeline, right?

According to Proton chairman, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, a new Exora is expected to appear after the launch of three other models in 2016, namely the new Perdana, Saga and Persona. This is because the chairman wants to ascertain the public’s response to the new models before deciding what needs to be done with the new Exora.

Proton wants to avoid the fiasco involving the Preve, which was rushed to market, resulting in less than favourable opinions of it. Tun Mahathir admits that even the Exora wasn’t perfect at the start, requiring modifications in its continued life cycle to answer the complaints from consumers, like the introduction of the turbocharged CFE engine to cope with its heft.

The new Exora will wear a reshaped body which may not be of an in-house Proton design, but an outsourced job instead. Nonetheless, Tun Mahathir admits that what may look good to his eyes initially, others may not share the same sentiment. Therefore, rather than rush out the first design of a new Exora that impresses him, Proton will take the liberty of ensuring it gets things right before revealing the product, as exemplified with the new Perdana.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• yangsfx on Feb 19, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Proton Week

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • all i can is… all the Proton.

• farghmee on Feb 19, 2016 at 5:35 pm

“The new Exora will wear a reshaped body which may not be of an in-house Proton design, but an outsourced job instead.”

facelift?
    rebadge?

• Mimau on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:52 pm

Probably just like 2nd gen Saga, it’s not a rebadge but a some aspects of the RnD is outsourced to LG Korea.

• BeemerFreak on Feb 19, 2016 at 5:43 pm

If it is not previewed to the masses, how do you gauge….many buy mpv because of the brand, like Toyota, so no matter what Toyota produces people would buy. Proton on the other hand must be smart in how they gauge

• potong on Feb 19, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Proton Mindset changing in progress, only if proton learn this earlier–> it takes years to get a customer and seconds to lose one

Hopefully Tun live long enough to witness that Malaysia will have confident to proton again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Same L0rrrr on Feb 19, 2016 at 5:58 pm

discuss here discuss there, end of the day, nothing improved. Ain’t first time for Proton, won’t be last.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • Tricky on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:34 pm

What’s so proud of Toyota then? Nothing! Car of the award? No! Cut cost?Yes! Underpower?Yes.Overprice?Yes! No longer no 1 in Thai & Malaysia la.Only perception that toyotat is good,reliable but still many complains in service centres nationwide! Not JD Power winner every year also..So? Shows that rushed for quality than quantity.Only old uncles forced their kids to buy coffin toyotat believing that toyotat is good can.Camry hit a tree still die la!Long live the tree!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 20, 2016 at 6:32 am

Why Toyota so expensive? Ask your beloved Proton lar. You think we can’t sell the vios at saga price? GT86 only RM 66k in Japan. What car hit tree also die. Not every car will hit tree, but every proton will break down at roadside and block the traffic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • plo tong on Feb 21, 2016 at 9:19 am

Why? the answer is simple… Because u never improve..sim lor

• plo tong on Feb 21, 2016 at 9:14 am

so much thing improved. its just ur eyes never improve

• plo tong on Feb 21, 2016 at 9:20 am

discuss for improve.. is it a sin?

• BBQ 2.0

• my exora CFE is just 3.5 yrs old.. the cooling hose broke twice. Once was when it still in warranty period, and the second time was few weeks ago while I was driving from kl to kb. It happened somewhere at setiu, terengganu.

Now my lovely exora at SC , and I was told that the repairing works has completed. And now, they are waiting confirmation wheather my car is on the list of proton recall program or else. I hope my car is on their list so that I dont have to pay rm 1000++ . If it on the other way round…. definitely will trade in my lovely exora for another foreign car. no more proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • Mimau on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:03 pm

i think your SC is trying to scam you. even if you have void warranty, hantar service at workshop ahpek bawah pokok, and not on the list, the charge for the OCH recall is only RM16 including labour.

• Flintstone on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:36 pm

Recall program means responsibility as basher claims.Rite?

• plo tong on Feb 21, 2016 at 9:15 am

dont.worry.. its on the list.read the CEO media,released carefully

• Veneno on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:42 pm

“outsourced job instead” – what’s the meaning of that..?? rebadged..??

• alldisc on Feb 19, 2016 at 10:31 pm

Means. Make new body on current platform. Like proton doing now with accord-perdana

• yummykim on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:56 pm

even the past and current problems (after so many donkey years) are yet to be solved, proton are talking about the future oredi??

Are they smoking weeds or what???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Exora on Feb 19, 2016 at 8:23 pm

One thing I like about Proton Exora is its spaciousness. Space os Exora’s forte. So, please retain this character of Exora.

Perhaps fit in a sliding 2nd row seat for extra space for the 3rd row.

Engine? Need to be upgraded. An 1.6L is a bit underpower for such a big car. The 2.0L engine might be adequate for Exora.

All in all. Exora is quite a nice car. So Proton, please don’t take a step back for such a good car.

• Neutral on Feb 20, 2016 at 12:28 am

I’ve seen this has been more to be a versatile people mover..2nd row sliding seat..just like in the nissan grand livina..i think the designer n the engineers is smart enough to foresee this as an improvement..spacious is undeniably..sliding would add more values to it

• idealtech on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:42 pm

Give us reliability and efficiency, shut up and take our money. Full stop

• pak atan on Feb 21, 2016 at 10:19 am

Reliability and efficiency comes togather with how customer treats their car. Follows regular service with no missed, use recomended oil and parts, driving manner and cares for your car.
      If drives like racing.car.and.expected to have low.fuel consumtion, then you better go to moon.

• Support P1 = Support Tun M = Support Bersih = Support Party Hard = Support Dear Leader becum PM = Support ABU

• Leong on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:08 pm

It is great for Proton to update the Exora…

• bukapintubayartol on Feb 20, 2016 at 5:40 am

Sliding doors. Maybe only one the curb side. Will differentiate it from Alza

• Aiman Hakim on Feb 20, 2016 at 9:21 am

Tun M,the next gen exora should have push start button,more on qc,design to be update and more on safety like abs,ebd,isofix ,6 airbags and etc.

• Potential MPV Buyer!! on Feb 20, 2016 at 10:42 am

To save cost and speed up production of new Exora:

No need to be a complete new model just do a major facelift:
    1. Revised the boot- too bulky look.
    2. Enhance the front look.
    3. Change the dashboard design,give black color interior.
    4. Redesign side profile to put in Sliding Door.
    5. Redesign the interior to maximise the interior space.
    6. Maintain below 1400kg kerb weight.

New Exora Premium Spec should hv:
    1. Sliding Powered Door & Power Boot.
    2. Sliding Middle & Rear Seat.
    3. 16″ or 17″ Max Rim.
    4. Rear Aircond (like current model)
    5. 2.0 NA Engine (less complicated, better reliability)
    6. Six Speed Normal Auto (no CVT plz)
    7. ABS,EBD,TSC,4 airbag(min).
    8. Front & Rear view camera & parking sensor.
    9. Blind spot detector.
    10. Sell below RM75k.

Thanks.

• pak atan on Feb 21, 2016 at 10:53 am

what a shit. request any things and ask for below 75k? Talk like brainsless

• Just rebadge Honda odyssey…

• Im using exora n think overall charecteristic is good. Few improvements may make it better:
    1. Slide 2nd row seat for 3rd row space option
    2. Remove cup holder at 3rd row so that 2nd seat may recline more
    3. Build quality e.g aircond button, engine mounting rubber
    4. Auto window lift-up at driver side
    5. Quiter cvt gearbox
    6. 3rd brake lamp should be mounted on car body instead of rear glass – vibrates after rubber seal shrink/loose

Hmm..quite a lot eh. Hahaha..just my humble 2cent