VIDEO: Nissan NP300 Navara M’sian walk-around tour

We’re back with a new in-depth walk-around video, this time featuring the new Nissan NP300 Navara. You’ve seen just how good the new Mother Trucker is in our Driven Web Series – against the revamped Ford Ranger and new Mitsubishi Triton, no less – as well as our comprehensive written review, but which variant should you actually put your money on? Watch the video to find out.

The Navara was launched in November in base single cab and E, SE, V and VL double cab variants – all featuring the 163 PS/403Nm (190 PS/450 Nm on the VL) 2.5 litre YD25DDTi four-cylinder turbodiesel and four-wheel drive. A six-speed manual gearbox is standard on the single cab, E and SE models; the SE also has a seven-speed automatic as an option, while the V and VL models have it as standard.

It’s a handsome thing, with available equipment including LED projector headlights with LED daytime running lights, 18-inch alloy wheels, keyless entry and start, leather upholstery, dual-zone automatic climate control, rear air-conditioning vents (first for the segment), dual airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist as well as stability control. Do note, however, that a lot of these are only available on the top VL.

The Navara is unique in that it’s the only mainstream pick-up truck sold in Malaysia (the oddball SsangYong Actyon Sports notwithstanding) to come with a multi-link rear suspension with coil springs. This results in a better ride, but also makes the rear sink under heavy loads.

Prices start from at RM79,000 for the single cab model, while the base double cab E retails at RM89,800. Moving up the range, there’s the SE that costs RM97,800 for the manual and RM102,800 for the automatic model, followed by the automatic-only V priced at RM109,800. The VL with all the bells and whistles tops the range with a retail sticker of RM120,800. All prices are on-the-road without insurance.

You can see the NP300 Navara’s full specifications, options and colour choices on CarBase.my. But enough writing – watch the video above to find out which one you should buy, and sound off in the comments after the jump. Thanks for watching.

GALLERY: Nissan NP300 Navara VL

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• steamafication on Feb 24, 2016 at 9:28 pm

Lidah pendek ke? I can hardly understand what you are talking about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • You guys may want to recheck the info in the spec sheet at the end of the video. The grade V certainly doesn’t cost RM120k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • How nice if 190ps 450nm comes with manual transmission. I definitely will get 1.

• More walk around video please.
    By the way…that hair! better looking than Navara hahaha.

• ben yap on Feb 25, 2016 at 8:57 am

the host really need a haircut.

this is a car review blog, not some rockers website.

• Sam Hailat on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:19 am

Looks great if hair dyed in light blonde colour.

• john is otak batu on Feb 25, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Would recommend Elizabeth Tan to give presentation next time. Sorry Johnny. .

• Hadi75 on Feb 25, 2016 at 9:14 am

still prefer the looks of the navara d40

• Only 2 airbags? Hilux & Ranger got 7 airbags..

• Only 2 Airbags? Hilux & Ranger already got 7 airbags.

• Battu on Feb 25, 2016 at 11:16 am

i distracted by the hair the whole damn time.

• Jeng jeng jeng on Feb 25, 2016 at 2:22 pm

Please get a haircut. If you like that long floppy hair look, at least hire a nice stylist tfor make it look stylish and updated.