VIDEO: Volkswagen surprises owners stuck in traffic

Volkswagen traffic jam treats-01

No car wash this time. In a second instalment, Volkswagen Group Malaysia decided to go up to owners in their cars to treat them to, well, a few treats. The video entitled, “Why these Malaysians enjoyed the traffic jam,” is the second clip that aims to underline the company’s tagline – Always by your side.

UPDATE: The video has since been removed from YouTube.

From the looks of it, the act was shot in-and-around the areas of Kuala Lumpur, and the Klang Valley for that matter. The video goes on to note that Malaysians waste an average of two hours in (traffic) jams everyday – something that most of us can attest to.

It then highlights the main objective of the rationale behind the video, “Volkswagen Malaysia wanted to lift the spirits of customers who were stuck in traffic.” Placards that read “have a treat!” were then taken to the streets, along with a bagful of tidbits for owners.

While some appeared a tad stunned, many were left with a smile on their faces, and the words “thank you.” So guys, what do you think of this latest act by Volkswagen Malaysia to help illustrate their #AlwaysByYourSide motto?

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• VGM Please Close Shop on Feb 24, 2016 at 3:57 pm

What nonsense is this? from car wash to this? Is VGM insulting people and owners of their lemons?

Better for VGM to close shop. Lie after lie. Dieselgate is just one lie. For years VGM lying about DSG also. Nobody wants this surprise. Surprise us with 10 year warranty on our faulty lemons

Let me remind everybody here, please tell everybody you know about DSG. Let VGM suffer. Even with continuous breakdowns, they increase their prices. That is arrogance.

DSG cannot be sold in Malaysia as DSG is inherently faulty in hot countries. This has been confirmed by VW AG.

This year, VGM better close shop. Everybody is now staying away from a company that lies lies lies lies

We are stuck in jams because half your cars stall because of DSG and these cars cause massive jams lah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 21
    • shut the f up on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:37 pm

shut up lah! stop talking about DSG here and there lah.. it shows that you have no idea on the take out for the gearbox. Please comment accordingly and if you don’t know how, here is how you comment,

“what a GREAT effort Volkswagen do. Even my other make car don’t do this” or “a great way to bring back the customers trust”

in fact, your comments are all negatives and condemnation where this would not only jeopardizing volkswagen sales that would contribute a little sum of economy to the country and also you have shown people you are being ignorant and just-know-how-to-condemn-other-brand-and-make-things-worst! just like a cockroach.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 81
      • Emotional Pondan on Feb 24, 2016 at 7:43 pm

Brader, someone sell you poison, how to contribute and be positive? You are the one ignorant. At least, he is fighting for the poor people who bought a car that was misrepresented to them bein high quality and reliable when it was not!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
        • Same L0rrrr on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:11 am

Pay RM 100k just to get a treat, maybe a few times more on traffic jam. While you have so much problem on gearbox and service booking? I can only say good luck. Assume the treat worth RM 500, you already save RM 50k (1000 bags) from repair, service and RV buying a Toyota.

• Steven see on Feb 25, 2016 at 4:20 pm

Your son proton saga has best RV. Perhaps pakcik you can explain why you hate proton but bought saga for your son? He parks outside your cheras flat every nite?

• VW nightmare on Feb 25, 2016 at 6:34 am

VW owners not only ALWAYS get stuck in traffic … they are the cause of traffic jams. Breakdowns all the time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Pls Fix Glenmarie aircon on Feb 25, 2016 at 9:19 am

Aiyaa, tow truck driver and me already become buddies lah. He is on my speed dial. New Year also I call him to my house.

I think since I bought my junk, 8 times I have called him in 3 years.

• Pls Fix Glenmarie aircon on Feb 25, 2016 at 9:26 am

You should also give sweets to the tow truck drivers. They have helped owners a lot too.

• Pls Fix Glenmarie aircon on Feb 25, 2016 at 9:17 am

This is typical VW salesman. I see they are mostly faggoty. Like to talk like soft soft one.

VGM, I am a VW owner, besides the perpetual breakdowns and crap car you have sold to me, your Glenmarie centre got no aircon ah? I service there last week, so panas lah. 3 hours wait got no aircon. The last 2 months ago I went there for my DSG, still no aircon in SC

What a crap car from a crap company

• james on Feb 24, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Dont do stupid gimmick already la. Delight us with free 10 years warranty straight…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
        • Pls Fix Glenmarie aircon on Feb 25, 2016 at 9:22 am

It is like a slap on our faces. Give gula gula to calm us down. I pay RM180k for my car. My wife’s Accord, 3 years also, not even once got problem.

3 years of non stop problems.

• Henry on Feb 24, 2016 at 10:51 pm

Judging from the negative votes you get your comment is not positive either. What is this about jeopardising VW’s contribution to the economy? The country’s economy will not suffer. Buyers will just buy another make. You can always put your money where your mouth is by buying a VW and help their revival. Maybe you are already an owner.

• shut the f up on Feb 26, 2016 at 3:46 pm

seriously, sick and tired of people condemning instead of commenting according to topic.

yes, i owned a VW and it is already 3 years.. never been on the phone for towing and to be honest, it is quite a nice car to drive. Although i heard so many stories and sharing problems, I guess it all narrow down to the driver driving style instead. I wonder how you guys get the idea of problematic cars when one dont own one.

to answer your questions, there are buyer who only buys vw and every cars does contribute to taxes. and yes, i’m planning on another vw model, just not figuring on time to purchase.

you guys should do the test driving. perhaps if you want problem free cars, build your own cars

• I’m with you. I’m an owner of the Golf Mk7 1.4 TSI myself for 3 years already and I have not had any problem with it. My experience with after sales and service centre has been pleasant. I would like very much to see intelligent and constructive comments according to the topic and based on the merits and demerits of the car in question. We can criticise a car, but do it constructively. Editors of paultan.org, can you do something about this? All the sarcastic and unhelpful comments here are defeating the purpose of having a comment section.

• Edwardo on Feb 24, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Free Sweets ? It will take more than that… Wouldnt touch a VW with a 1000 foot pole.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Pls Fix Glenmarie aircon on Feb 25, 2016 at 9:25 am

No amount of sweets can heal the trauma I have gone through with my toilet car. Now, trade in also cannot. 2nd hand dealer said he rather take Lada Riva, Russian Made junk instead of my VW junk

• Open Letter to VGM on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Hello VGM, please give your owners at least 10 year warranty. We have suffered more than daily 2 hours of jam. We have waited countless of hours for the tow truck to come.

We have wasted all our annual leave in the SC trying to repair our faulty DSG boxes.

Two things you can do for VW owners. Give us 10 years warranty and gurantee a buyback at fixed value after 7 years. This is because nobody wants VW anymore.

Even 2nd hand dealer laugh at my face whn I wanted to trade in my Passat. 2014 Passat he offering RM90k. I bought RM170k brand new.

Used car dealers strictly don’t want to touch any VW cars. they know about the faulty DSG

Please lah VGM. Stop your nonsense. We don’t need treats. You promised German quality but we all feel cheated. Even Proton cars have better quality than VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
  • Kuinosan on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:17 pm

I’ll say nice try! But many would take it as desperation on the part of VW to cheer up their frustrated customers. At the end of the day, we the customers only want a reliable and “trustworthy” car to take us where we want to go without much fuss. VW should spend more time resolving their DSG gearbox and dieselgate issues!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • gaviny on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:24 pm

can spend on these but cant spend to keep bigger spare part inventory to not tell owners to wait months and months for parts.

• Ongtk on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:25 pm

What about VW owners from other states or is VW selling only in the FT? Half hearted attempt to be at customers side.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 24, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Cause only the VW owners in KL that dare to sue VGM and dare to stage a protest outside VW Bangsar with banners and pickets.

If I were owners of VW, I would be offended. Giving sweets to you to compensate the nightmare you go through. Also, 10 sen sweet does not compensate the Rm50k RV loss you have to endure.

• waters on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Again, this is news?

• Disgraceful Company on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Disgraceful company. Nobody can complain or sue them because VGM is DRB. And DRB is Gomen. Poor VW owners in Malaysia, kena con buying a German trash that is so so so faulty and yet they got no where to complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Hmmm.. the same bettle again.. hahahaha.. nice catch

• Disgraceful Company on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:37 pm

What VGM is doing is simple. You rape someone (sell lemons) but after the rape, you take the person to the restaurant and belanja makan and say sorry.

Or even better, you rob someone (sell lemons) but you give your victim some teksi money to take a teksi home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • shut the f up on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:40 pm

Although i’m not a fan of volkswagen but I think this is quite creative and a good move to bring back customers who have lost their loyalty. Past is past and at least they are rectifying problems and get it right. I’m still giving chance on vw to build honest cars and cheaper to maintain cars. well done VW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
    • Emotional Pondan on Feb 24, 2016 at 7:44 pm

You murder someone, then you give sweets to his children as compensation?

• shut the f up on Feb 26, 2016 at 3:48 pm

ya ya.. the recalled airbags that kills 4 and there is no sweets to it..

• Acrix on Feb 25, 2016 at 9:52 am

You think by giving sweets and snacks VW will get back the customer loyalty?? As a current 2012 Scirocco 1.4TSI owner and no amount of sweet and snacks will compensate for the average 1 month a year my car is stuck in the service center waiting for the parts. Courtesy car is always unavailable, service is poor, takes forever to wait for parts, empty promises given are just some of the problems i have faced before.
      2 Mechatronic issue, 1 clutch replacement, leaking turbo, faulty ABS, faulty electronics, where each problem took between 3-6 weeks to rectify and no courtesy car was given due to it being fully booked. Before some VW salesman harp about mineral oil, my car was on mineral oil since 2013 but still had mechatronic and clutch issue with DSG 3 times so DSG issue is still an ongoing problem.

• Advice to VGM on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:47 pm

Please also go around Klang Valley and give bottles of water, wet wipes and a chair for people to sit while waiting for the tow truck to come.

Quite easy to find cause everyday got so many VW breakdowns. VW Malaysia facebook got accounts of peoples ordeal waiting for tow truck to pull their DSG juddering cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Syukur lah.

• NiceNice on Feb 24, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Give me a 10 years warranty on the gear box. I don’t want potato chips.

• Desperate time needs desperate measures..so desperate to bring back their reputation. What next?..polish owners shoes?

• CK Dave on Feb 24, 2016 at 9:58 pm

Still doesnt help with the resale value… duhh..

• Ah Pek on Feb 24, 2016 at 10:34 pm

Speechless..starting lion dance…bless the car…then free car wash…wash away bad luck….now free tidbits…eat already don’t complain so much brader…Next?? Free insurance…lol..macam macam nowadays!

• Not Gran Prix, but general practitioner. on Feb 25, 2016 at 6:09 am

Imagine if Perodua has the same campaign. They’d probably cause more traffic. And then dive into a huge bankruptcy. Then probably get a government bail out. Most likely not cause Proton only does these things. Ok i shall stop rambling.

• alex chan on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:11 am

nice & creative effort from VW!. their service are improving significantly from last year.

well, there are a lot of lies from the commentators here that full of hatred, doest matter is it from Band A or brand Z, they will love to bash and spread lies and hatred at the same time telling stories that he heard from uncle A stories that this car brand have prob.

hahah..kesian rite?

and if i believes most of the rakyat here knows it is the same person that is keep repeating and spreading the lies over and over again..with different names and nick.

Yeah its you!..we rakyat know who you are..just stop the negatives built up positive..doesnt care which car brand u love.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Golf MK7 Owner on Feb 25, 2016 at 12:25 pm

Saw that once at hartamas area last year early Jan I think. This is pure nonsense and such desperate gimmicky action imo. This doesn’t boost any confidence in me if I am suffering from the constant torture of sending my car to service centre. Furthermore, this surprise actually causes traffic jam in the hartamas area as drivers tend to slow down to take a peek while these people are handing out the whatever bags. They even do that near to the cornering area. That’s so dangerous and may cause accidents leading to worse jam….not sure whether that’s their objective though….

• Das Autar on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Can you ask those clowns to perform some shows in their service centers? Or those clowns can also station in their service center to pick-up the bl**dy phone calls who nobody pick-up! VisitWorkshop jokers!

• Cindy Wong on Feb 25, 2016 at 8:15 pm

During traffic jam, DSG shuddering and jerking.