2016 Yamaha MT-09 in Malaysia – new colours, RM45k

2016 Yamaha MT-09 Malaysia -8

Hong Leong Yamaha has just announced pricing for the 2016 Yamaha MT-09 at RM44,653, which is unchanged from the 2015 price. The 2016 MT-09 now comes in two new colours for 2016 – Grey Night Fluo and Silver Grey & Race Blu.

The MT-09 comes with a three-cylinder, liquid-cooled, DOHC, four-valve 847 cc engine in its die-cast aluminium diamond frame, driving a six-speed gearbox. Power output is claimed to be 115 hp at 11,500 rpm with 87.5 Nm torque at 8,500 rpm, fed by EFI.

Although the CBU model is equipped with ABS and Traction Control System (TCS) as standard, the CKD model brought in locally doesn’t.The up-right riding position allows the rider full control, and a line of optional accessories is available from the Yamaha catalogue, including items such as a titanium exhaust system and rear carrier.

The 2016 Yamaha MT-09 will be available in the Malaysian market from March. Yamaha have also announced the impending release of the MT-10 and MT-07 Moto Cage Night Fluo in the UK.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• THREE CYLINDERS? REALLY! DISAPPOINTING SYIAL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 59
    • U should test ride it to believe yourself. Triple is awesome

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • sepul on Feb 25, 2016 at 8:26 pm

Mesti tak pernah rasa betapa bestnya enjin 3 silinder. Possibly the best engine config for a motorbike besides inline 4.

• Rempit riding an ex5 talk cock bout 3 cyl bike

• Mitchel on Feb 26, 2016 at 7:29 am

oi

go and try to ride it first
      acceleration is better than Z800

• Asyraf on Apr 16, 2016 at 10:07 am

Dude, triple always beat quad in terms of torque, who needs top speed in bumpy highway, go for test ride first, it’s a matter of preference and your daily application, if it’s just your weekend then no doubt bout it

• “Equipped ABS and Traction Control System (TCS) as standard” is it available here?

• Ootai on Feb 25, 2016 at 9:27 pm

Mt-09 or mt-10?? Better wait for mt-10.

• It’s gonna be around the same price as the R1. RM110k-120k. Not worth it .

• Mitchel on Feb 26, 2016 at 7:34 am

MT-10 will be put up within the price range of the BMW S1000RR, Z1000, GSX-1000. MT-09 is half of that

• Benjamin on Mar 14, 2016 at 9:49 pm

typical malaysian, when buy must buy big cc. deyy, choose the one that is suitable for you la. Frankly speaking MT07 is the best for day to day ride in town. Go read some review or watch some youtube review, not necessary must buy big cc bike
      MT10 only around 61k la, stop scaring ppl away

• HLY pls bring in the MT-09 Tracer!!

• I agree with TJW
      MT-09 best for city ride (short distance)
      Tracer best for touring
      XSR900 best for uncle like me hahaha

• Asyraf on Apr 16, 2016 at 10:09 am

Yeah, been painstakingly holding off my capital for this than Z1000SX, HYL please bring it in~

• Love the sound of inline 3 bikes. But still can’t beat the R1’s croosplane 4 cyl & ducati’s V twin sound

• pengutuk gila on Feb 26, 2016 at 6:29 am

i do more prefer 3cyllinder sounds rather than 4cylinder…..3cylinder like ning baizura….4cylinder siti nurhaliza

• alldisc on Feb 26, 2016 at 8:28 am

upright riding position gives full control? thats bullshit.

it gives better control at low speed where such bikes (including kawasaki z800) are targetted for. in the streets or in slow traffic.

but for full control of the bike it has to be the supersports bike riding position – leaning forward which gives better weight distribution and lower centre of gravity.

• MT-DarkSider on Feb 26, 2016 at 9:44 am

Yamaha parts hard to get, after sales service not up to standard, sikit2 ask us send bike to Sg Buloh, no more Yamaha bike for me

• Will they be bringing in the XSR900 to Malaysia?
    Really hope they do.

• Traction Control? Mohan mohon confirm. :) thanks! HLYM doesnt state anything.

• Jagdeep on Mar 07, 2016 at 12:01 am

ABS and TCS? Hahaha! Malaysian market is too price sensitive. Same price as last year, so why would they put anything extra for our safety? Last year not even ABS available. Tracer CBU has all that but at a crazy price.

• Mat RempitX on May 17, 2016 at 4:33 pm

hey Paul Tan,
    you got the wrong info lah, I already asked around.. this bike does not have any ABS nor TCS (Traction Control System) as you mentioned lah.

Pls double confirm your info before you publish your blog.

• Mohan K Ramanujam (Member) on May 17, 2016 at 6:22 pm

Thanks for pointing out the error. The spec for the CBU/European market model does come with ABS and traction control, while the CKD model brought into Malaysia omits these items. An amendment has been made.

• No Abs No TC ,so dissapointing, pay money & pay your life.

• Ken Wei Gan on Jul 12, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Do you think they’re coming up with XSR900 as well in Malaysia?

• yes i’m in love with the xsr900…vintage bike with all the modern luxury

• one dealer at kuantan sale M09 RM49,000. What is actual price for M09. If I’m using AEON credit. That AEON credit will determine the selling price or motor dealer.
    thanks for our assistant