Police to prosecute traffic offenders without licences

polis operasi PT

The police is pushing to have stern legal action taken against traffic offenders caught without valid licences, according to a report by The Star. Recently, it was revealed that the lorry driver who rammed his way through several indiscriminately parked cars in Taman Berjaya, did not have a valid driving licence.

“We do not want to issue compounds to offenders who do not have proper licences anymore. We are proposing that we charge them in court,” said Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar.

The IGP said this is to ensure that road users took the matter seriously and be responsible on the road, saying, “there are many accidents and fatalities caused by those without licences.”

Therefore, action would also be taken against those who allow others to use their vehicles without valid licences. This includes parents who let their children use their vehicles despite not having the licence to drive or ride a motorcycle, which should include informal driving lessons.

What are your thoughts on the matter? Should the police enforce a stricter punishment for traffic offenders caught without valid licences?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mann Bell on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:18 am

this is gonna fail miserably… when u get pulled over, u belanja minum kopi, all settled!

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:35 am

In previous reports, it is estimated there are 2 million people without license driving or riding. Yes, shockingly 2 million. Those are official figures. As always, unofficial figures should be 4 to 5 million road users without license.

Now do you wonder why there are so many accidents??

But the key point here is this. How did this figure balloon up to millions? Well you know and I know. It is duit kopi and songlapping over 30 years. Gradually, the problem grew and grew until it becme 2 million (official) with no licence.

If PDRM was clean and did their job from day one, such a large figure would not even eist in today. At most, maybe 10 to 20 thousand road users with no license.

• hahaha on Feb 25, 2016 at 12:48 pm

if only the police will melaksanakan tugas sewajarnya… negara kita aman. but of course reality bites.

• George Abdul on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:48 am

Most of them are Mat Rempits this should be use a decade ago… Now if the police “Really will take action on them?” Mat Moto praise by Tengku…

• hailthepurist on Feb 25, 2016 at 11:47 am

‘donation’

• Ferrero on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:33 am

“there are many accidents and fatalities caused by those without licences.” – there are many crime cases caused by illegal immigrants too, so go catch and prosecute them lar..

• Please go and wait at school … lots of students without license with motorbike or even a car!

• thepolygonal on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:48 am

You mean they weren’t doing this all this while and letting them off with a compound?.
    They should just stop them on the spot and take their vehicle.

• Samm Lorh on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:53 am

Totally agreed with this ruling but for the underage kids driving without a licence i believe the parents deserve a slap on the wrist as well.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 25, 2016 at 10:55 am

there are about 10 million road users in Malaysia. Out of that, official figures, 20% have no license. That is 2 million

All the road blocks you see, many of them, it is good money for the PDRM officers. Some officers earn RM5000 per day.

Why do you even want to study or go to school? Just join PDRM. Can earn RM5k per day tax free.

• tokmoh. on Feb 25, 2016 at 11:22 am

Protek protek lorry driver!

The hero we need to padan muka double parkers and lazy arseholes, park suka hati bapa dia punya jalan.

• Purbka on Feb 25, 2016 at 11:40 am

Damn you police (not all but most). When i was 18 years old i ride my bike and some kids with his father bike hit me. He dont have license only school kids. When i go to police to help the case the police blame me, where all the witness admit the kid enter my lane without any signal and hit me. The kid’s father paid the police and thus police blame me and the kid go away without any problem. Damn you police. I used to being pulled by police on side road and he will find all fault he can so he can ask me money. I refuse to pay and get many summon. Damn you police. Yes damn you and all people in this corrupted system.

• power rangers on Feb 25, 2016 at 11:19 pm

yup, all hit and run case in PJ traffic department, the inspector wont even take your case even you have photo of the car and IC..unless you pay them or use their appointed contractor to fix your car..so insurance company will pay the police indirectly.

• Perlisian on Feb 25, 2016 at 11:46 am

So, illegal parking is now legal and only the lorry driver is guilty?

• Jeng jeng jeng on Feb 25, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Wow, you mean breaking the law will get you prosecuted? Shocking.

• transformer on Feb 25, 2016 at 12:56 pm

it should be like this long long time ago…. just lock them up for 24Hours

I have seen “wife” drives sending children to school, when accident happened “wife” gone, husband came settle, report police using husband license….. that “wife” doesn’t owns driving license or either expired long time ago….

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Feb 25, 2016 at 1:06 pm

It’s interesting that our security forces is coming up with all these news about better and more efficient systems only to indirectly inform the people that they have been ignoring all these wrong-doers for decades. Not to mention occasional reminders of their inability to properly enforce existing laws as well as their leaders ability to govern the division properly. And then there’s the overlapping authority or even agendas with no official authority to hold responsibility for.

All in all the news of our automotive related authorities has been rather amusing, HAS, I’m expecting more…

• Kami Bukan Penghasut! on Feb 25, 2016 at 5:30 pm

To get driving license in malaysia is so expensive, Governments make money from rakyat. Please reduce the price if you want more ppl have license.

• power rangers on Feb 25, 2016 at 11:17 pm

now only we know driving without license penalty is so easy…