Hyundai Elantra SR – 200 hp turbo confirmed for Oz

2017 Elantra Sedan

The new Hyundai Elantra will get a hot SR version Down Under, Hyundai Australia has announced. The range-topper will arrive around August this year. Prior to this, the SR badge has been used on sportier variants of the i30, Veloster and Santa Fe SUV in Australia.

The Elantra SR will be powered by the 1.6 litre turbo engine found in the Veloster SR Turbo and Euro-spec i30 Turbo facelift, with 200 hp and 265 Nm of torque. Two gearboxes will be offered – a six-speed manual or a seven-speed dual-clutch auto.

According to CarAdvice, Hyundai Australia’s suspension tuning team are finalising a unique chassis tune with specific suspension, damper, strut and bushing configurations, with help from former WRC engineer David Potter. The Elantra SR will also get independent rear suspension to replace the regular sixth-gen sedan’s torsion beam. Quicker steering could also be on the cards.

To emphasise the performance on tap, the Elantra SR will get 18-inch alloys, a bodykit, sports seats and a flat-bottom steering wheel, among other things. Equipment levels should be equivalent to the Aussie range topping Elantra Elite.

A 200 hp version of a mass-market sedan is pretty unique in the market, and the publication notes that it will be interesting to gauge buyer response, given that the average Elantra buyer is from an older demographic. A brand-building exercise, it notes.

Earlier this month, reports from the US suggested that a performance-oriented version of the Elantra is being planned and will make its American debut late this year at the SEMA show. The points – 1.6L turbo, 200 hp, 6MT or 7DCT – checks out with this Australian-market Elantra SR. Hot Elantra, what do you think?

GALLERY: 2017 Hyundai Elantra

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 1.6T with 200hp and manual gearbox! so attractive! but don’t think Malaysia will get it.

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 26, 2016 at 3:07 pm

No matter how much power, kimchi no RV is still a fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • abg gagah on Feb 26, 2016 at 11:40 am

u see, hyundai n proton start around same time ( maybe proton older), but u see the quality of hyundai car compare to proton, WHY?

• hahaha on Feb 26, 2016 at 12:46 pm

monkeys ruining the company…

• I din know P1 started during Merdeka era. Which history book did u read that from?

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 26, 2016 at 2:45 pm

Woi budak otak udang. Merdeka was 1957. I don’t see any comment above that hints that Hyundai or Proton was started in 1957.

• U r right. Hyundai started in 1947. 10 years b4 merdeka. So u r right.

• ong chin aun on Feb 26, 2016 at 12:04 pm

Too good, but sad it probably not in Malaysia market. Honestly i love the car with manual , 1.6.with turbo charger. Mercedes, CLA 200 , Cost Rm 240K. if in M’sia sell rm 100K. Sure, like hot cakes. But, proton ???? Our car market value is among the top. our earning power low, but pay car price high, M’sia boleh. Hai……ONLY CAN ADMIRE, Not buy car anyway,

• hahaha on Feb 26, 2016 at 12:49 pm

Mr Ong, to get fair pricing… all of us have to go to bed. only there we’ll find it

• ss427 on Feb 26, 2016 at 1:44 pm

So Sam Loo, this one still no RV right? Only your Avanza, Innova and Proton Saga gets the best RV right?

If it do come to Bolehland, kindly remind me to look for you 1 yr down the road. I want to buy a used one from you at RM$20k

• Sam Loo on Feb 27, 2016 at 9:18 am

Please, bring more new kimchi models in

12 month old used kimchis getting lesser and lesser due to poor sales of new models.