Toyota C-HR in production form leaked ahead of debut

Toyota C-HR production 4

You’re finally looking at the Toyota C-HR in production form, after years of teasing. These leaked photos found their way online before the funky new crossover’s official debut at the upcoming 2016 Geneva Motor Show. Looks very close to the concepts, doesn’t it?

Oh yes, as promised, the production version stays true to the bizarre concepts. Though obviously toned down, the concept’s bold face, big wheelarches, sloping roofline, small rear doors with hidden door handles and boomerang-shaped tail lights remain largely intact.

Not much else has been confirmed for now, but it can be assumed that the new model sits on Toyota’s new TNGA modular platform. There’s also a hybrid badge at the back, but it’s yet unclear if it’ll carry the Prius’ latest-gen powertrain or something older.

In any case, Toyota is certainly on to something with this striking design. The C-HR is expected to take on the Nissan Juke, Mazda CX-3, and to a certain extent, the Honda HR-V in Europe. We’ll know more soon, so stay tuned to paultan.org for more.

Updated Toyota C-HR Concept at the 2015 Frankfurt Motor Show
Toyota C-HR Concept at the 2014 Paris Motor Show

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Good design, but dont spoil it wth ur “that”engine and transmission

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Hailat on Feb 28, 2016 at 6:07 pm

If price Rm85k can kick out HRV already.

• Every1canTalk on Feb 28, 2016 at 9:02 pm

Wait long long for selling price RM85k…

• john is otak batu on Feb 29, 2016 at 9:01 am

How to kick? Kick rubbish lah.. low HP.. sluggish paddling ‘ToyoTaik” cosmetic “glamour bottle”

• albag on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:37 pm

wow quite a looker… Sam Loo, you should be proud now

• Same lorr! Look here! Ugly! on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:43 pm

Bizarre mean ugly! Until now Toyota design team can’t beat reality Honda design realistic team! Same lorr! Look at this hideous shit! Wanna beat hrv? In your dream! Reality that price will be 15-20k more expensive n less specs! Too late for production also,crv,hrv,cx3,cx5 already cater those customers la.Keep selling your avanza la.Heard it still sell like goreng pisang in indon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 56
  • ongtk on Feb 27, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Wow! This is one cool car. Hope it will be selling in Malaysia in the not too distant future. The Toyota domestic lineup could well do with some pizzaz – good looking and equipped safety will all the safety bells and whistles.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 27, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Wah wah wah…. I must be dreaming or something… this is a Toyota ? … ok lah, I’ll be honest; it looks revolutionary for a Toyota. And the interior will probably look just as radical.

When this gets here, it will probably squash the plain-looking HR-V. Then again, maybe not… it could still get 2 airbags and no ESC for all we know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
  • mig29_ria on Feb 27, 2016 at 1:34 pm

I believe this is not for Malaysia market. I think Malaysian market will be come thru re-condition car and cheaper.

• Turok on Feb 27, 2016 at 1:52 pm

Fugly, pls don’t roll out fr factory n remain as prototype for as long as u can..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
  • Jobless on Feb 27, 2016 at 2:10 pm

Drive tis Toyoda to yur moomy in law home during CNY and u will be treated like VIP..try it to believe it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Wow…like this better than the concept. IMHO, on par with cx3 in design, much better than HRV. Hope they dont ruin the interior with cheap plastics

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • FIST (Member) on Feb 27, 2016 at 2:42 pm

FUgly, i’m getting the HRV if I have to choose from this segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
  • shawal on Feb 27, 2016 at 3:15 pm

new platform spells neater packaging, it needs to be on par with the competition in terms of packaging and practicality as well…..

hopefully the interior is just as funky but useful as well

• Benar k on Feb 27, 2016 at 3:38 pm

back seat sure for babies or small kids

• Is that a HR-V with civic 10 rear?

• DPCraft on Feb 27, 2016 at 3:56 pm

The taillights is like a polish version of 2016 Civic. But seriously, the rear of this car is good looking.

• Honestly it is a good looking vehicle but I am pretty sure UMW will ruin it with crazy pricing and under equip car.

• Not a bad design at all. Different in a good way.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 27, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Very nice looking and I’m sure it will do well overseas but when arrive here it’ll be another moving coffin for the owner and occupants in it.

• Toyota is slow. By the time this CH-R reaches Malaysia, Next new generation HR-V already will be in showrooms. Sales will be much higher than before because Malaysians Love HONda very much compared to other countries. Empty spec Honda models also sell well here. Thousands of Hondas all around Malaysia.

• Silthice on Feb 28, 2016 at 8:37 pm

Empty is sounds more like Toyota & perodua rather than Honda. .

• Consumer on Feb 28, 2016 at 12:49 pm

The outlook is subjective, undoubtedly it is pretty for me. By looking at the design, it seems like doesn’t have much room at the back, this will be a very challenging subject for the packing design team to make use of every bit of space. And how marketing team want it to compete in the market. Nissan do offer juke with performance orientated, Honda do offer hrv with practical orientated, and mazda do offer cx3 with drive orientated. Toyota to choose a new target group or to share whos cake?

• davidoberry on Feb 28, 2016 at 6:04 pm

However, whoever, whatever,whichever…

TOYOTA how to design, malaysian also say nice design, who dare to say ugly… so in the review, u wont see any “ugly” word
    ╮(╯_╰)╭

Buy la toyota, how low end also champion brand, your parent wont complain you, they will praise Smart son !!

• helmi on Feb 29, 2016 at 12:57 am

Personally I like the design. It’s Toyota anyway. But when I think of greedy UMW with their ripped off pricing against spec, it’s really a nightmare to me.

• sepul on Feb 29, 2016 at 9:19 am

Why look like Honda one? Japs are copying each other?