Mercedes-AMG A45 facelift in M’sia – 381 hp, RM349k

Mercedes_A45-2

In conjunction with the launch of its facelifted W176 A-Class, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia also took the opportunity to unleash its most hardcore version of the model here, the Mercedes-AMG A 45. The significantly updated baby AMG is priced at RM 348,888 (OTR without insurance).

At just RM1,000 more than the original model, the facelifted A 45 has been injected with more power, protecting the M133 turbo engine’s reputation of being the most powerful 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine in mass production. The turbocharged unit gets a 21 hp/25 Nm bump, resulting in a total 381 hp at 6,000 rpm and 475 Nm between 2,250 to 5,000 rpm.

As such, the new baby AMG is 0.4 seconds quicker at performing the century sprint than the outgoing one – 4.2 seconds is all it takes to go from zero to 100 km/h, with its top speed limited to 250 km/h. The AMG Speedshift DCT seven-speed dual-clutch transmission has also been updated with shorter, more aggressive gear ratios. Even activating the Race Start (launch control) function is now simpler than before. The 4Matic all-wheel drive system has been retained.

Mercedes_A45-12

Also new to Affalterbach’s hot hatch is an AMG Ride Control Sports suspension with adaptive damping. The system is included as standard only in the A 45 here, and features two-stage damping – Comfort and Dynamic. A revised two-stage speed-sensitive steering is also added, and is part of the AMG Ride Control package. As you’ll read in our review of the A 45, the new steering considerably improves its driving.

The AMG Performance Exhaust system is also standard fare for the hot hatch, featuring variable exhaust flaps that manipulate the exhaust note according to your preferred driving mode. Both the AMG Ride Control and Performance Exhaust, as well as transmission, throttle and steering characteristics can be managed by the Dynamic Select knob (replaces the E-S-M button) on the centre console – Comfort, Sport, Sport+, Race and Individual modes are available in the A 45.

Outside, the new car gets full AMG styling, adding on AMG-specific front and rear bumpers, 19-inch multi-spoke AMG alloy wheels and red-painted brake calipers. There’s also the addition of an AMG Aerodynamics package, which adds front and rear flics as well as a rear spoiler finished in high-gloss black. The front also features the signature dual-bar AMG grille with a central Three-Pointed Star.

A standard-included Night Package adds further high-gloss black items in the form of wing mirror covers and belt line trim, while LED High Performance headlamps up front and LED tail lights are also included — both fashioned according to the model update’s new design and graphics.

The A 45’s AMG appointments continue inside the car, most notably with AMG Performance Seats in leather upholstery, designo red seat belts, AMG floor mats and carbon-fibre trim with red detailing on the leather-wrapped dashboard.

As updated on the regular A-Class facelift, the A 45 also gets a new three-spoke, flat-bottomed multi-function AMG-specific steering wheel with Alcantara grips. There’s an eight-inch free-standing media display screen, equipped with COMAND Online infotainment with a DVD changer. The screen also displays views for the reverse camera.

For safety, the A 45 continues to offer a total of eight airbags and Attention Assist as standard. Just like the brand’s remaining compact models, Collision Prevention Assist Plus is now featured, with the forward collision warning system with braking assistance now updated with autonomous partial braking to reduce the risk of rear-end collisions.

Active Parking Assist is also available as standard. No spare tyres are included here, with a TIREFIT tyre repair kit available under the cargo floor. Also, if you were hoping that the new A 45 would include keyless entry or at least an engine push-start button, sorry to disappoint you, but no such features are available here.

To recap, the Mercedes-AMG A 45 is priced at RM 348,888 (OTR without insurance), inclusive of Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s four years, unlimited mileage warranty. Available body colours include Cosmos Black, Polar Silver, Cirrus White, Mountain Grey, Jupiter Red. You can also read about the rest of the new A-Class models here. Also, visit Carbase.my for full specifications of the new AMG A 45.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• BAMyouhaveAIDS on Mar 03, 2016 at 12:07 pm

what a badass car. More worth it than the overpriced M2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
  • Samang on Mar 03, 2016 at 12:13 pm

And the BMW M2 costs RM150k more and 11 HP less, why, because it has a bigger boot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 03, 2016 at 12:36 pm

This much more “berbaloi” compare to M2, yalah some might comment FWD vs 4Matic is different. But extra RM200K really deter sales a bit. Anyway will Mercedes introduce Petronas edition? Is look cool in that green. Well done Mercedes, keep it up and we waiting CLA facelift pulak!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Excellent Looking Car overall. Monstrous engine under the hood too.

• shawal on Mar 03, 2016 at 12:45 pm

awesomeness in abundance…

• I can’t help but wonder how good it is if your import tax and excise duty is not as high… Or at least reduced to the promised 30%. That way we can get if for around 250k… But this is Bolehland with empty promise.

• If u wan, can. Just CKD here like its big brothers. But must depend on volume of sales lah.

• merz 2000 cc 381hp,bmw 3000 cc around 370hp. Is that merz tecnology better than bmw, or bmw haven unlock the potential of 3000cc engine? Both also nice car.

• No more 4 Matic? Ermmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • 4beanie on Mar 03, 2016 at 1:13 pm

350K.
    I can get 1 PRIMA condo + 1spanking new Perdana + family umrah trip

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
  • nabill (Member) on Mar 03, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Actually i see the a45 way more often than it should…its a surprising success for sting costs more than 300k…seeing it first hand,actually it has a very snug interior…bt power brings customers so for most who bought thats not a priority!

• Beemer on Mar 03, 2016 at 3:14 pm

M2 is much sexier.. and the engine note..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Kancil Hybrid on Mar 03, 2016 at 3:22 pm

The gear change sound from this car is very very seductive.

• Inb4 there’s the Evo FQ400 2.0liter 400hp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Standart people* on Apr 23, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Comparison ;

Vw Golf R – 250kmh , 0-100 in 4.9 sec
    Merc A45 – 250kmh , 0-100 in 4.2 sec

Both was a nice car…vw golf r 60k cheaper than this…with nearly acceleration time…i would choose vw over this even 0.7sec slower…i have test drive that vw and it wins for me la….if u looking for powerful hot hatch better u test both…ur choice :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • are u a braindead vw sales person? go drive a myvi its even cheaper

• AZAMIRUDDIN on Jun 11, 2019 at 8:00 am

Hi All, just wanna ask.. I considering to buy used 2016 A45.. does A45 comes with Multibeam LED Headlight?