B9 Audi A4 teased on Malaysian website; coming soon

Audi A4 teaser

Browse the website for Audi Malaysia’s new progressive financing plan and you’ll find offers for the entire Malaysian lineup – with the sole exception being the current B8 A4, which is listed as having been sold out.

Interestingly, however, the website also mentions that the new B9 Audi A4 will be launched soon, marking the first time the upcoming arrival of the new compact executive sedan has been acknowledged.

Built on the revised modular MLB Evo platform, the larger, sharper-looking B9 is all-new under the familiar skin, with a thoroughly-revamped interior now featuring Audi’s 12.3-inch virtual cockpit instrument cluster, an 8.3-inch tablet-style display for the MMI infotainment system as options, a Qi wireless smartphone charger and a Bang & Olufsen audio system with 3D sound technology as options.

In total, seven engine options are available, including three petrol mills – 150 hp/250 Nm 1.4 TFSI, 190 hp/320 Nm 2.0 TFSI ultra and 252 hp/370 Nm 2.0 TFSI.

All three could possibly be offered here (with a seven-speed S tronic dual-clutch transmission and a choice of either front-wheel drive or quattro AWD) to take on the BMW 318i/Mercedes-Benz C 180, 320i/C 200 and 330i/C 300 respectively, all with similar engine outputs.

Plenty of new to be found underneath as well, from newly-developed continuous damping control (CDC) shock absorbers with electromagnetically-controlled valves to an electromechanical power steering system that is lighter and much more responsive than that of the B8s. You can read our review of the B9 Audi A4 here.

GALLERY: B9 Audi A4 in Venice, Italy

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• omegle on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:21 pm

It’s finally here, can’t wait to see it!

• Dieselgate on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:58 pm

just a glorified Passat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • ABTguy (Member) on Mar 07, 2016 at 4:29 pm

As far as I know from Audi SA, all 3 petrol models will be offered here.

1. 1.4T FWD with S-Tronics 7 speed wet-clutch, 150HP
    2. 2.0T FWD with S-Tronics 7 speed wet-clutch, 190HP with ultra low FC (due to miller cycle engine configuration)
    3. 2.0T Quattro with S-Tronics 7 speed wet-clutch, 252HP

BMW and Mercs are soon to be tapao by the Quattor A4 !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • hazamiey on Mar 07, 2016 at 5:13 pm

German design is so boring. Be it audi, merc or bmw. Porsche included. But looking at the comments from paultan readers it reflects that majority of malaysians prefer “brands” even though its boring as hell. Just like women drooling on LV handbags with us men cannot fathom the price tag and the so so design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • cendol (Member) on Mar 07, 2016 at 7:23 pm

Can you name me ONE car which is not boring in your opinion?
      Perodua Myvi?

• hazamiey on Mar 07, 2016 at 7:47 pm

Citroen DS design is awesome. Hot hatch? Renault megane over shopping cart Vw golf GTi. Sportscar? Evora 400 looks the part, more exotic and sounds better than cayman or carrera. Supercar? Any mclaren over ferrari or lambo. Grand tourer? Aston martin v12 vantage. Saloon? Lexus with that striking spindle grille anytime over bmw merc or audi. Jaguar XE? Hah, no need to say. Girls show their panties just looking at it. Myvi is out of context as we are talking about boring Audi here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • Cool it now on Mar 08, 2016 at 9:52 am

Those cars are dull or awkwardly designed. Maybe you’re the type who approves awkward designs.

• aqeef on Mar 09, 2016 at 8:19 am

looks are subjective, bro.

• ThatDAMNGuy on Jun 26, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Swedish design is more boring than Germans.

• Another VW with a fancy dress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11