Gov’t looking into mini taxi service for cheaper rides

Perodua_Axia_Advance_ 001

The government is looking into a plan to introduce a new small car-based taxi service in major cities around the country, Berita Harian reports. The proposal for the ‘mini taxi’ service is to utilise small engine displacement models such as the Perodua Axia as they are cheaper to maintain, and benefits will include cheaper rates for customers.

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) is currently drafting a plan on the proposal, Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi said. He explained that the implementation of mini taxis will ensure a cheaper fare rate, which would help in addressing the rising costs of living.

“Many people had questioned the government’s role in addressing the rising cost of living. which also includes transportation cost. The rate for motorcycle taxis or a tricycles in Indonesia and Thailand is cheap, but we do not offer such service as it is deemed to be hazardous. The mini taxi is a good idea as the maintenance fee is cheap, thus it would indirectly reduce the fare,” he told the publication.

He added that the new service will not affect conventional taxi businesses, as it will cater only to those traveling from any Light Rail Transit (LRT) station to their home, within a certain proximity. He also said that the service will give taxis a competitive business boost in competing with ride-sharing services such as Uber and Grabcar.

What do you think of the idea of introducing a mini taxi service? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Nasi Lemak managed country! on Mar 07, 2016 at 9:58 am

No Never Not Interested! We have Uber… Just stop all normal taxi services. Thank you Nasi Lemak MANAGEMENT!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 7
    • George Abdul on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:16 am

Rakyat knew but the Government just ignore the Rakyat comment “STOP or REDUCE the heavy high TAX SYSTEM” !!! The system are corrupted, Rakyat please wakeup !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 07, 2016 at 2:40 pm

Uber oso govt already invest through Khazanah.

• SPAD is run by a bunch of idiots.
    What’s the point of having mini taxi if they don’t follow the meter anyway??

Since when we complain about expensive taxi fare?? If they use the meter I have no problem with the fare.

We complain about taxi not using meter, taxi refuse pickup, bad service.. and you don’t do nuts about it! Tell me, how mini taxi will solve this?? It just add to the problem

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • Driv3r on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:47 pm

And I don’t understand why taxis in Malaysia must be of a really poor in safety aspect. Seriously, what does axia have? At least with Uber or grab, mostly got airbags, mostly got abs, and some got vsc. So with Uber or grab, I have a higher chance of getting a safer car.

• hailthepurist on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:14 am

a good move, understand now why they cut the food subsidies..

• blue ocean on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:25 am

just let our Mat Rempit buddies provide their motorbike taxi servis in congested KL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • dodgeviper88 on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:27 am

Just a way to try and compete with ridesharing services. Ultimately better for consumers and keeps everyone on their toes

• c.p.mohan on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:47 am

……and Proton saga is a big car.

• Panda Po on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:49 am

First thing … do these people have PRACTICALITY on their minds?

HELLO … BOOT SPACE & REAR LEG SPACE … is this enough in a mini taxi ??

All these foreign tourist come to our country just to be squeezed inside a stupid mini ?? And you know most of the 6 ft tall or above …

Please use your brain SPAD … I guess ur doing this for personal (and not public) interests again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • gaviny on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:10 am

yes please

this will make uber a bigger success,

• Sewel on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:14 am

Not suitable use for taxi

• Sam VHL Loo on Mar 07, 2016 at 12:37 pm

Axia still ok to be used as taxi, just need to limit to 4 persons on board (including driver). 5 persons, car might be struggle to move around.

• nabill (Member) on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:23 am

Half of the cars on road, specially in kl, are taxis…. How many u want to have??
    Im sure other countries are jealous of us, bcos they dont have geniuses who think like we do…

• akule_sapelagi on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:44 am

PARRLUU kaaa???… will it solve current issue or just make another sad story….. no standardization in taxis service. I think everybody now can give a suggestion or innovation concept then they will apply it soon.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:44 am

Lol what’s the use of public transport when people need to ride in cars to go home in the end???

• Andrekua on Mar 07, 2016 at 12:02 pm

Government really banggang… Taxi is cheap too but they dont want to use meter. Any difference if you change to smaller car when they dont want to use meter?

• We should have more frequent feeder bus from the LRT/MRT station. Having mini taxi will make the road more congested; more traffic jam.

• vincentkoh79 on Mar 07, 2016 at 12:29 pm

simply legalize Uber/Grab like trying to legalize mat rempit…

• kzm (Member) on Mar 07, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Uber is legal..what make uber illegal is the driver n car.

• terra on Mar 07, 2016 at 12:42 pm

We dont need more taxi, mini or otherwise, there are too many congesting the road. We need more enforcement.

• nice try.. on Mar 07, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Try to boost P2 sales?

• Will the cheapest axia bring the cost down? also is not good for taxi driver, if need a boot how? Only way is Uber..u wan boot u order boot, u wan cheap u order cheap. SPAD all shit PPL..

• stupid minister on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Another dumb suggestion on the table

• Leonardo on Mar 07, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Maybe Govt got this idea from Autorickshaw in India or Tut Tut in Thailand? So how much cheaper will the taxi fare be? Half price?
    BTW, will the maintenance really be cheaper? Are studies being done?

• girlie girl on Mar 07, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Honestly, anything the BN govt touches, surely becoming more expensive (barang naik) OR losing money (rugi) at the end….

Yes, it is THAT predictable…..

• Hadi75 on Mar 07, 2016 at 8:17 pm

So….who’s getting the permit for this mini taxi???

• paanjang16 on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:03 pm

I won’t be surprised if the next thing they come up will be something like Uber Moto in Bangkok. On the bright side atleast our Mat Moto can earn some honest income rather than racing.