VIDEO: Mercedes-Benz pokes BMW on its 100th b’day

Happy 100th birthday, BMW! Here’s to another 100 years of competition.

Posted by Mercedes-Benz on Sunday, 6 March 2016

So, as you may know by now, BMW is about to celebrate its 100th anniversary, and it plans to do so with a bang. In a matter of hours, the car maker will unveil its grand plans for the next 100 years of its existence, as well as make several other key announcements surrounding its future.

On a lighter note, Mercedes-Benz, arch-rivals of the Bavarian Motor Works and celebrating its 130th anniversary itself this year, has dedicated a video to its prime German rivals just hours before its big do. As you’ll see, the clip starts out as a decent salute to the brand on its 100th birthday, but then gets cheeky very quickly.

We won’t spoil the punch for you, so do watch the video above to find out what happens. And of course, share your opinions about it with us in the comments section below.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Cheaters on Mar 07, 2016 at 7:12 pm

I think is BMW bored with MB actually

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 41
  • anonoymous on Mar 07, 2016 at 7:21 pm

Competition is always healthy. Without either one of them,I doubt they will be as good as what they’re now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 2
  • Atilla on Mar 07, 2016 at 7:33 pm

Clever copywriting. It acknowledges BMW ‘s long history while underscoring Mercedes’s longer presence and at the same time it recognizes BMW’s arrival meant it had a worthy competitor. It’s not so insulting lah. Well done.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 1
    • superman on Mar 08, 2016 at 10:03 am

very nice move by MB. at least they dont pretend like what Proton does when they say they are better or in par with BMW and Mercedes and all other cars are rubbish except their cars!!!. this is called useless losers campaign over a friendly respected rivalry between two of the best brands in the world MB and BMW. it is a pity that P1 never learn and always show off that they are SOMEBODY….

• sepul on Mar 07, 2016 at 8:16 pm

A friendly rivalry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Lookyao on Mar 07, 2016 at 8:17 pm

To me MB now design really nice compared to bmw boring look

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 12
    • aaaaaa on Mar 07, 2016 at 9:53 pm

merc design more to uncle taste yuck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 46
      • bbbbbb on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:37 pm

Uncle,please update your knowledge. Your mindset still remains in between 90s ,is it?

• Add A Comment on Mar 08, 2016 at 8:12 am

Go to the showroom and actually look/see/touch an Merc….then go have a look at BMW showroom.

If you dare to walk in one…..

-I Have Just Added A Comment-

• Touch? Nope. I’ll get sued for touching the car all over it. I mean, come on, Merc’s newest designs are hot and sexy, who can resist not scraping your body all over it?

• nabill (Member) on Mar 07, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Nice banter, i bet there is huge respect between them although they are rivals…. Must be great being german!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Very smart free ad from MB..

• MB boring with ugly shaped vehicles suitable only for the blind or the retired

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Hahaha celaka pnye Merc.. =D

• In progressive countries, when one does this kind of add, is considered as friendly banter. Try doing this kind of add in M’sia on Proton. Next think you know you have some half bake minister saying you need to censor the add as it would create confusion and people will be sensitive. Anyways, I enjoyed the add MB :)

• Very Smart marketing video. this is how its done… Well done to both MB and BMW.I wonder what Porsche and VW will do

• matjava on Mar 08, 2016 at 9:52 am

During younger days I frequently say Mercs is uncle car but I don’t why I’m driving Mercs now. Be it BMW, Mercs or Audi or VDub…you won’t go wrong..all made in Germany. Mine is made in Pekan aka Najib town.

• Celtro09 on Mar 08, 2016 at 10:13 am

Hahahahah… Tak guna btul MB ni…

• Sapphire Black for now. on Mar 08, 2016 at 10:52 am

Owned, driven, several of both models old and new. Both are good cars but somehow BMW is more pleasurable to drive. BMW feels young, energetic, sporty, and naughty. Merc makes me feel uncle-ish, sedate, boring, and decent. Presently driving a BMW after months of considering Merc, BMW, and Audi. All are good cars, but BMW has a bit more oomph. Well, that’s how I feel and perceive anyway. But seriously, I wouldn’t mind driving any of those 3 brands.

• stasta on Mar 09, 2016 at 10:29 am

am driving a 2015 e250 amg. the throttle pedal is heavy and stiff, it really discourages you from enthusiastic driving, even using sport mode.

• Samang on Mar 08, 2016 at 12:55 pm

Somebody should make a police report against MB for sedition ;-)

• guest on Mar 08, 2016 at 7:46 pm

Bmw came 30 years late, but still end up on top of merc. Burn??

• Shaun on Mar 10, 2016 at 2:23 am

1M , M2 , M3 , M4 , M5 , M6 , 7Series, i8 <3 beautiful cars by BMW.