Toyota C-HR – late to the party, but with good reason

Toyota C-HR Geneva live 1

The Toyota C-HR finally made its global debut recently, announcing the Japanese automaker’s entry into the compact crossover market. While the new model may be late to the party, there is a valid reason behind this – the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) modular platform.

In an article by Autonews, it was revealed that Toyota began working on the C-HR six years ago, where it was originally meant to ride on an existing small-car platform, Hiroyuki Koba, chief engineer on the C-HR, said.

However, midway through the project, Toyota decided to shift to the upcoming TNGA. Koba said, “we were studying which [platform] was best and after looking at TNGA we said, “this is best.’”

The TNGA platform first debuted on the fourth-generation Prius, with the C-HR being the second model to use it. An added advantage of the platform is, it allows Toyota to package a variety of powertrains into the C-HR.

Toyota C-HR Geneva live 7

At its unveiling, the C-HR had three powertrain offerings – a 1.2 litre turbocharged four-cylinder, 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder and a hybrid powertrain that uses a 1.8 litre four-cylinder engine. A six-speed manual and CVT are available as transmission options for the engines.

Another advantage of the TNGA platform is the reduction in production cost and complexity. This is because of the component sharing with other Toyota models that utilise the TNGA platform, including the Prius and next-generation Corolla, which is expected in 2019.

The delay arising from this switch to the TNGA platform means rival companies like Nissan, Honda, Subaru and Mazda all have a head start in the highly lucrative compact crossover segment. The Honda HR-V is a prime example of the popularity of compact crossovers. Although Toyota may be late in introducing the C-HR, it certainly had a good reason for doing so.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Will TGNA translate into cheaper selling price in bolehland? We shall wait and see.

• C-HristianoRonaldo? on Mar 08, 2016 at 10:56 am

Hopefully comes also in 1.8 NA to our shores. With 2.0, price would probably be between Corolla V n base Camry.

• shawal on Mar 08, 2016 at 11:00 am

1.8 hybrid e-four…. ckd dat thing and exempt it from tax

• It looks nicer than HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • First delivery Spring 2017 at US, reach here 2018? too late la

• hailthepurist on Mar 08, 2016 at 11:27 am

just bring in..

• Henry on Mar 08, 2016 at 11:34 am

UMWT should bring in the hybrid version to take advantage of the EEV incentive. They can then price it competitively.

• “Lower production costs” huh? Hope it’s priced the same as HR-V.

• Consumer on Mar 08, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Please dont hope so otherwise u will disappointed again..Toyota not going to place this to succeed the b-segment Rush. I would think it probably fall somewhere right below Harrier? Maybe? Lol…

• Even the vios trd sportivo 1.5 priced at 97k vs hrv s variant 1.8 99k. How can this this will sell at hrv price. Im guessing 140k at least

• Crazy4car on Mar 08, 2016 at 11:50 am

not sure how long we should wait to be in MY

• Tuan Guru Nik Aziz on Mar 08, 2016 at 12:14 pm

somehow i read tgna as tuan guru nik aziz.

no interior spec, hope it has big boot like hrv

• targa on Mar 08, 2016 at 12:16 pm

What is of interest, possibility of getting rear independent suspension, seeing that this is built on the same platform as the current Prius, which is already running rear double wishbones. Hopefully the Corolla gets it too.

Price wise, greedy UMW Toyota will command a premium for this.

• Consumer on Mar 08, 2016 at 12:48 pm

I agree, they gonna price it as premium

• Ya, at least RM 140k and above…..just see the current pricing of Altis. No one is buying. Hrv will still sell like hot cakes

• givethemachance on Mar 08, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Well, seeing that it’s built on the TNGA platform, it’s likely to get independent rear suspension like the Prius, which would make it unique in the class. The 2019 TNGA-based Corolla (as mentioned in the article) should also get independent rear suspension.

As for the CH-R pricing, looking at the more sophisticated base, it’ll likely command a premium over its simpler, B-segment rivals. But this is all speculation – way too early to tell. Best to wait and see. For all we know, UMWT may price it close to its rivals to be competitive.

• Yippi33 on Mar 08, 2016 at 12:36 pm

Hope Nissan will bring Qashqai in..miles better than this and hrv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • skatax on Mar 08, 2016 at 12:45 pm

I don’t think UMWT will bring in this model that has such niche appeal. Yes, the design is revolutionary which may attract younger buyers but not so with the common public. Do note that they have yet to bring in bigger sibling RAV4 which in my opinion tick all the right boxes to compete in our SUV market. Being controlled by PNB surely sucks.

• Packers on Mar 08, 2016 at 2:22 pm

HR-V is for the lady. This one is for the boy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Mampu tengok on Mar 08, 2016 at 2:45 pm

hmm.. harga kereta mesti mampu tengok je ni..

• Interior?

• Will Mac on Mar 08, 2016 at 5:39 pm

Wow. Wait six years and let Honda et al have the market to themselves. What a stupid decision to wait that long.

• Toyol car..so nice u think can b cheap ..they dont even care wether u can pay anot..the thing is that u sure buy 1..u makan wang

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 08, 2016 at 9:31 pm

By the time CHR launch, HRV will have a new design already….

• camtakpro on Mar 09, 2016 at 8:18 am

1st gen CRV was a hit. After that it just gets uglier and uglier. Even now SupremaS and Nissan X-Trail are miles better than CRV.

You never know maybe next gen follows CRV trend – every new gen is an uglier version.