Tesla Model S fined RM45k in Singapore for emissions

Tesla Model S 85 drive-4

Yes, you read the headline right – the electric-powered, zero-emissions, guilt-free Tesla Model S has been slapped with a S$15,000 (RM44,700) carbon dioxide emissions surcharge in Singapore, due to the country’s Land Transport Authority (LTA) taking into account upstream emissions at the electricity power plant in calculating a car’s CO2 emissions.

According to The Straits Times, the owner, Joe Nguyen, was hit with the fine after reportedly spending some seven months importing the sedan from Hong Kong and going through type approval. The Model S was the first electric vehicle in the island nation to be levied that surcharge, instead of a rebate of the same amount offered to EV owners under the country’s Carbon Emissions-based Vehicle Scheme (CEVS).

“Honestly, it’s stupid,” said Nguyen. “I went back to them [LTA], and they cited a UN emissions test regulation. They also factored in carbon emissions at the power station. We don’t apply a carbon penalty to people charging their iPhones, do we?”

An LTA spokesperson said, “Based on tests conducted under the UNECE R101 standards, the electric energy consumption of his imported used Tesla car was 444 watt-hour per kilometre. [To] account for CO2 emissions during the electricity generation process, a grid emission factor of 0.5g/watt-hour was also applied to the electric energy consumption.”

As such, the Model S was judged to be emitting a heady 222 grams of carbon dioxide per kilometre, slotting it under the CEVS’ C3 bracket – where the S$15k surcharge is applicable. By contrast, the Peugeot Ion (a rebadged Mitsubishi i-MiEV) was granted a S$20,000 (RM59,600) rebate after undergoing the same emissions tests, while the BMW i3 and i8 both qualified for the maximum rebate of S$30,000 (RM89,400).

Since then, Nguyen has elected to pay the surcharge to expedite the already-protracted ordeal of obtaining and driving the car. “I’ve given up on getting the money back,” he said. “I just want LTA to improve. There is a lot of interest in the Model S.”

On Friday, Tesla CEO Elon Musk tweeted that he had heard of the case and spoken to Singapore prime minister Lee Hsien Loong, claiming that the premier would “investigate the situation.”

Nanyang Business School adjunct associate professor Zafar Momin commented on how Singapore may now have missed out on becoming a leader in EVs as a result of this case. “Given Singapore’s land size, great infrastructure and commitment to sustainability, we would not only have been the perfect test bed for EVs, but also an ideal market for their wider application and usage.

While we have initiatives and incentives for EVs, we may already have missed the big opportunity to be a leader in EVs as a nation. The Tesla importation case is perhaps indicative of why we may have missed the opportunity,” he said.

Closer to home, the government has recently agreed to waive import and excise duties on 100 units of the Model S that will be brought in by the Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia). The cars are to be leased to government-linked companies (GLCs) to increase awareness of EVs and the tech among policy makers, and will not be sold in direct fashion to the public. GreenTech Malaysia already has two units of the Model S 85 in Malaysia, and you can read our exclusive review of the electric sedan here.

GALLERY: Tesla Model S in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• tokmoh. on Mar 09, 2016 at 2:07 pm

Power plant punya salahan, owner Tesla kena bayar, topkek.

Kiasuland learnt well from sifu maslan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • Is stupid to think driving electric car is doing good for the environment. Would you really think driving a hybrid car is saving the planet? Hell NO!!! Take bicycle la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
      • Nikolai on Mar 09, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Well at least it’s a step forward. And besides, it’ll be fully achievable if the charging stations are solar-powered. Tesla”s Supercharger network is solar powered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • I found this online. Here goes.

… A Leaf has a 24 kilowatt hour battery. If you have a 1 kilowatt solar array, at maximum production, it would take 24 hours (of peak sunshine) to fill that 24 kilowatt hour battery.

• Not to mention the amount of ‘hard to dispose as of now’ waste when the batteries expired.

• Look, it’s like this.

For every advance in technology, there is a price (financial or otherwise) to pay.

Take Take the prius for example, it it was widely written that the production of batteries created vast areas of barren wastelands (unverified) in Canada.

I feel it’s it’s a fair price to pay panas technology will improve, and and soon production will be able to run at low environmental costs.

In this case, a normal car engine goes goes from 15-25% efficiency, while whileathe larger power plant would be easier to optimise.

Yes, both are producing pollutants, but I trust the large, immobile plant has better emissions control compared to a car.

Yes you do have a point that hybrid cars at at this moment does not contribute to the environment, but you may want to relook your choice of words.

• azrai on Mar 09, 2016 at 4:30 pm

The owner, Joe Nguyen should instead told the Singapore’s G he charge his Tesla at Johor. No emission in Singapore meh.

• I’m not surprised. Many Singaporeans hate the LTA to death, as they make Malaysian-minister standard statements which just stupefies people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Mar 09, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Stupid is as stupid does.

• Nazee on Mar 09, 2016 at 8:25 pm

malaysia certainly doesn’t have a monopoly on stupidity. some of it is exported down south. and then vice versa.

• Well its hard for manufacturer to claim its CO2 emission then.

If country goes nuclear, then there is no emission then.
    Well, singapore just being singaporean.

• taboogen on Mar 09, 2016 at 2:22 pm

people of kiasu land.. many malaysian want to stay there whoah.. hahaah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • farghmee on Mar 09, 2016 at 2:30 pm

Wow. Much genius.

• road user on Mar 09, 2016 at 2:43 pm

is a good move from Singapore LTA. and it’s true that the CO2 produced during the electric generation to charge the battery is more than a normal IC engine. and this number will goes up by years because the battery will eventually lose out the ability to store the energy thus more charge frequency due to lower range. malaysia should have similiar thing in place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
    • Well if we based on their claim,

battery manufacturing produce co2
      steel manufacturing produce co2
      everything produce for making cars produce co2
      even electric in the factory get from power plant produce co2

Then it is not fair to say electric car batter produce co2 and need to include in the car emission.

Normal IC engine produce co2 while running and also while manufacturing. U have to consider the spare parts, the engine oil produce also from plant that emit co2.

Thats why we say car emission, because it is measured on the car. genius!

• Duh.. on Mar 09, 2016 at 6:06 pm

What you are basically saying is IC engine is more efficient than those huge power plant fitted with reheat-regen cycle? That’s not true at all. ICE is waayyy less efficient than power plants, even if you generate 100℅ from coal/gas, the difference would still favor EV by atleast twice the efficiency. That still doesn’t count for alternative sources (which are becoming more abundant), and the fact that it is much easier to fit all sort of filters to power plants than to cars to prevent all those gases from being airborne. Besides, who doesn’t want roads free of smokes?
      Lastly, just to address batteries capacity depletion over usage, yes they do. But, charging more frequently doesn’t mean more power is consumed.. Once the battery stop charging, no power is consumed..

• What you’re talking about is the long tailpipe theory that an electric vehicle just makes the CO2 emissions at the power plant instead of from the car.
      Its already proven that burning fossil fuels in an internal combustion engine is very much more inefficient than in a power plant so the long tailpipe theory is no longer valid.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 09, 2016 at 3:04 pm

I totally agreed with the car owner. Imagine, the way of CO emission calculation is applied to all your household and office electricity usage! Also, what happens if owner decides to charge the car with solely SOLAR derived power source? Since Singapore is so small, the charged range would be enough for day to day commuting.

• Aaahh.. I feel much better.
    Singaporeans are not so smart after all.

So is a choice of wearing a sarong, or being slapped with a RM45k fee… JPJ vs LTA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Kancil Hybrid on Mar 09, 2016 at 3:19 pm

It is hard to argue. But I think Singapore Gov got things right 95% of the time. So, the chances of them getting wrong on this is very low.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
    • Blastoise on Mar 09, 2016 at 3:35 pm

SG govt got things right 95% of the time? Bullcrap. Go to SMRT fb page and see for yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Kancil Hybrid on Mar 09, 2016 at 4:51 pm

Yeah, correct. That is where their 5% at.

I mean, cars are not electrical appliances. You cannot compare Tesla to iPhone. Yes, Tesla has 0% emission, but the powerplants used to generate electricity are not emission free. They are more efficient but still produce GHG.

For that reason, Singapore Gov might be right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • They should penalise the power generation company.
          When I plug my appliance to the wall socket, I wouldn’t know (neither do I have a choice of) where is the source of the power coming from, whether is Coal plus hydro plus other renewable energy…
          should they also go audit and see which showroom consume more electric? Since they want to look at upstream and downstream sources…

This is a typical example of Singaporean trying to act smart and be so kiasu… looking at upstream sources konon…

• Kancil Hybrid on Mar 09, 2016 at 7:12 pm

Why penalise power generation companies? Their business is to generate electricity, and they pay tax by doing so.

My point is that although Tesla S itself is 0% emission, to get it moving it is not 0% emission. It just transfer the emission from it to power plant, whereas normal ICE cars create its own emission.

Unless solar powered the car directly, in this case calculation for emission still prevails, IMHO.

• Then MRT & LRT should be fine more.

• John Woo on Mar 09, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Im singaporean. I hate singapore, its politics, its authorities to bits. I work in KL and i have to say u guys are so much laid back in terms of power compared to singapore. Once ur a singaporean u will end up commiting suicide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Facebook on Mar 09, 2016 at 5:39 pm

John Woo, please migrate to Malaysia… sold all ur SG properties and only work in Malaysia, do not depend on ur properties earning from SG…then only tell us whether is Malaysia easier to survive or not…send ur kids to Malaysia local schools not international schools…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • doctorproc on Mar 10, 2016 at 7:35 pm

you are saying that as though majority of working class singaporeans can even afford a property lol. In malaysia it is still possible for now

• maxoil on Mar 09, 2016 at 4:17 pm

if they are allowed to charge humans from breathing out CO2….they definitely will?

• Probably just some LTA officer trying to get attention for promotion.

• Aero (Member) on Mar 09, 2016 at 5:06 pm

I think they made a bad move. Why fine Tesla for something they didn’t do ? The fact is, many Asian countries still rely on non-renewable or environmentally-damaging energy sources for the electricity that powers EVs. Meanwhile, in Western Europe, the governments are giving big rebates for Tesla private and fleet buyers. Some have built thousands of windmills and huge solar panel fields. As a small country, I can see why Singapore has not been too keen on solar or wind power, the cost of land is too high to ‘waste’ on huge power farms… but then, they shouldn’t penalise Tesla either. It’s hardly fair.

• Fafau80 on Mar 09, 2016 at 5:27 pm

Small country, think small and scare to death if pollution sorround them…kiasuland.

• saladin on Mar 09, 2016 at 5:42 pm

i thing LTA also need to consider the existing petrol car CO2 emission. U see the petrol from petrol station come from refinery that process the crude oil. So they need to consider also the amount of CO2 generate during the process. During transporting the petrol must consider the truck that carry these thing which also emitt CO2. Then at petrol station the electric used to pump the petrol inside the car also comes from power plant that generate CO2. Then the person who pay for the petrol uses credit card which need electric for all the devices to be working get its power from power plant which generate CO2. This never ending one. Singaporean is kiasu enuf said.

• Dicci on Mar 09, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Singapore’s vision of a zero emission vehicle: A bicycle, provided the rider does not exhale. Any attempt to exhale by the rider will be slapped with a S$15,000 fine.

• Lance on Mar 09, 2016 at 6:24 pm

I think it’s fair to charge him. The amount of electricity use to charge the car is quite enormous and therefore contributing to co2 emission. You may think hybrid is doing something good to the environment but the process of manufacturing the battery are far more damaging and we haven’t even talk about disposing this harmful item.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Carbonman on Mar 09, 2016 at 7:46 pm

Wah like that then you have to calculate a car CO2 emission from ICE combustion + the emission from diesel tanker that transport your petrol from refinery to petrol station + emissions from the refinery plant for refining crude oil to petrol.

Like that ho, your children electric toy car also have to be charged for CO2 emissions lo.

• john is otak batu on Mar 10, 2016 at 8:33 am

Can afford to import tesla for himself,SGD15k is just peanut for him! Since he has chosen residency in kiasuland just feed the gomen & keep quiet, that’s it.
    If not take public transport. No point make a fuss outa this

• kanazai2001 on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:15 pm

even if joe doesnt own tesla model S ev…
    SG powerplant STILL generate CO2!!!
    ask ur powerplant 2 pay lar!!!
    idiot LTA!!!

• What kind of retarded comments are these? if you include emissions from fuel creation on the EV, that is totally fine, DO IT FOR THE IC ENGINE AS WELL.

how much CO2 comes out of an oil refinery? how much electricity is needed to pump fuel into your tank and whatever the gas station eats up? how much electricity to run those 24/7 tanker stations? how much CO2 does the diesel semi truck put out to transport your fuel?

you idiots need to learn how to properly compare emissions figures.