C346 Ford Focus facelift launched in Malaysia – Trend, Sport+ hatch and Titanium+ sedan, from RM119k

2016 Ford Focus facelift launch 1-1

Sime Darby AutoConnexion has officially introduced the facelifted third-generation Ford Focus in Malaysia – the reworked C346 arrives seven months after its ASEAN debut in Jakarta, with three variant forms in both five-door hatchback and sedan body-styles available in this market. All are powered by a turbocharged 1.5 litre EcoBoost engine, which replaces the 2.0 litre normally-aspirated Duratec unit seen previously.

Aside from the new mill, plenty in the way of revisions and improvements over the original Mk3, which was launched in Malaysia in September 2012. We’ve covered the changes brought about by the mid-cycle rework – which was revealed in February 2014 ahead of its working debut in Geneva – in great detail through our Australian test drive report on the car, but a recap, starting with the exterior.

There’s a new face, which is far better resolved than that on the previous outing. The facelift gets new, slimmer headlamps, a revised bonnet and a new bumper. Here, the split front grille has been ditched in favour of a one-piece frontage with a trapezoidal honeycomb grille, reminiscent of the pre-facelift Focus ST, albeit much tauter-looking. Also on, new rectangular fog lamps, replacing the pre-facelift’s round units.

C346 Focus FL Hatch MY-1

At the back, the car gets new tail lamps with a slimmer profile, a redesigned tailgate (which drops the central plastic rib panel seen before) and a reprofiled rear bumper, which features larger rear fog lamp/reflector assemblies.

The interior has also undergone a rework, with the presentation now less busy that before, especially with regards to the audio switchgear and central stack. Changes include the handbrake being relocated off the front half of the centre console and placed further back. The console itself now has a narrower profile and more uniform look compared to the pre-facelift.

Elsewhere, the audio system ditches the button-fest and now has only minimal function switches, and the AC system controls have also been redesigned. The 12V socket is now placed forward of the gearshift, and the dual cupholders are now positioned in a fore-aft layout, though the central storage box holds less than before. A redesigned glovebox design (one piece, as opposed to the latch and horizontal stowage area before) and a new three-spoke steering wheel round off the primary changes.

C346 Focus FL Sedan MY-2a

The three available variants in Malaysia are the entry-level Trend and Sport+ hatchbacks as well as a Titanium+ sedan – the latter two trim designations have been seen before, but the previous non-plus Sport/Titanium versions have been dropped as Ford attempts to adopt a more unified approach to having a common naming convention for the car across the APA region.

There are differences in specifications, of course, so let’s take a closer look at them. The Malaysian Trend model is closer to the Indonesian version of the type than the Australian Trend. Like the model sold in the republic, the local Trend rides on 17-inch wheels and 215/50 profile tyres and comes equipped with the original SYNC and a 3.5-inch dot matrix monochrome central display (Indonesia, 4.2-inch TFT display), complete with a six-speaker Ford Audio system.

The specs list for this one is rather basic, despite the series denoting a mid-line trim level – the Trend gets manual air-conditioning, fabric seats, non auto-folding side view mirrors, a polyurethane three-spoke steering wheel and two airbags (the latter, same as Indonesia), among other things.

Elsewhere, the Trend makes do without door sill scuff plates and even rear overhead grab handles. There’s no roller shutter for the front cupholders, the driver’s seat is a basic manual four-way adjustment unit, and it also doesn’t come with illuminated sun visors or an overhead sunglasses holder.

Like the other Trend models found in other markets, no keyless entry on this one – it’s equipped with a keyed ignition, and bulbed pilot lamps make do as daytime running lights. It sounds rather bare-boned, but doesn’t look it in the metal, as a quick walk-around the variant during the launch earlier today showed.

Standard equipment across the local Focus range include a bodystyling kit and complex surface reflector halogen headlamps (no bi-xenons present in the new Focus line-up, or projectors for that matter, as is the case elsewhere with Australian and other ASEAN region models). An active grille shutter, ABS, dynamic stability control (DSC), Hill Launch Assist and Isofix mounting points (on both outer rear seats) are also standard fit.

The ‘plus’ models, as you’d expect, are more comprehensively equipped – aside from adding virtually all the omitted items above, the models have headlamps shod with integrated LED DRLs (half strip, sitting on the upper part of the headlamp assembly). The cars are also equipped with a SYNC 2 infotainment system and corresponding eight-inch touchscreen, though navigation is unavailable on the Malaysian cars.

Other items on the list are a nine-speaker Sony audio system, keyless entry with push-button start, a leather-wrapped steering wheel and gear shifter, auto headlights and wipers, dual-zone auto air-con, ambient lighting and leather upholstery for both the Sport+ (Australia, fabric) and Titanium+, with a Charcoal Black interior on the former and a beige-coloured one – known as Medium Light Stone – on the latter.

Some minor differences between the hatch and sedan – the Sport+ gets manual four-way sports seats with lumbar adjustment as well as rear LED tail lamps, while the Titanium+ has a six-way power-adjustable driver’s seat (front passenger seat is manual two-way, all variants) and is configured with a smaller wheel size, riding on 16-inch alloys and 205/60 profile rubbers (Australia, 18-inch five-spoke alloys and 235/40 rubbers).

Both Series 15 and Series 40 versions are kitted out with four extra airbags (side, curtain, to make it six) and a host of driver assist tech – there’s Enhanced Active City Stop, the ‘enhanced’ prefix denoting that the collision avoidance system now operates at speeds of up to 50 km/h, up from the 30 km/h in the outgoing car.

Also on, Blind Spot Information and Rear Cross Traffic Alert, and Active Park Assist now gets an Enhanced prefix as it adds on reverse perpendicular parking to the existing parallel parking as well as Park-Out Assist, which helps drivers exit a parallel parking space.

The two models also feature MyKey technology, enabling owners – or parents – to programme a key for younger drivers, tailoring it to restrict the top speed, reduce the maximum volume of the audio system or disable the vehicle altogether if occupants are not using safety belts.

Next, we finally get to the car’s drivetrain and powertrain, both of which are new to the Focus – as mentioned earlier, the 2.0 litre Duratec 20 normally-aspirated Ti-VCT GDI engine has been replaced in markets across the entire APA region by a blown Sigma-derived mill, the EcoBoost 15, first seen here in the 2015 Kuga.

The Romanian-assembled 1.5 litre GTDI four-pot, essentially a variation of the Welsh-built 1.6 litre EcoBoost, trumps the 2.0 NA in terms of output, with 180 PS at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm at 1,600 to 5,000 rpm compared to the old unit’s 170 hp at 6.500 rpm and 202 Nm at 4,550 rpm.

As for the transmission, the Getrag 6DCT250 dry-clutch six-speeder has been replaced by a torque converter automatic, in this case the SelectShift 6F35. Designed in collaboration with GM more than a decade ago, the six-speed unit can also be seen in its mid-range application on the C520 Kuga, CD539E S-Max and the facelifted CD391 Mondeo sedan.

Interestingly, in the case of the Sport+ and Titanium+, the gearshift is also new, with the toy-ish gearknob manual override SelectShift buttons nowhere to be found – the reason for this is the inclusion of steering-mounted paddle shifters on the two models. The Trend, however, continues on with the gearknob shift buttons.

A total of six exterior colours are available for the Focus in Malaysia, with Frozen White the only common choice across the model range. Panther Black and Candy Red are available only for the two hatchbacks, while Winning Blue can only be had with the Sport+. The sedan, meanwhile, gets two colours that are unique to it – Ingot Silver and Magnetic.

Finally, pricing. The Ford Focus 1.5L EcoBoost is priced at RM118,888 for the Trend, while the Sport+ and the Titanium+ sedan are priced at RM139,888, on-the-road without insurance – until April 30, SDAC is offering a cash rebate of RM3,000 on the car, but the offer is only valid for existing and current Ford owners who purchase the new Focus. The C346 Focus facelift comes with a five-year/200,000 km (whichever comes first) warranty as well as a three-year/60,000 km Ford Extended Service Plan (ESP) programme.

You can compare the specifications of the Trend, Sport+ and Titanium+ variants at Carbase.my.

GALLERY: C346 Ford Focus Mk3 facelift, 1.5L EcoBoost Trend hatchback
GALLERY: C346 Ford Focus Mk3 facelift, 1.5L EcoBoost Sport+ hatchback
GALLERY: Ford Focus Mk3 facelift, 1.5L EcoBoost Titanium+ sedan

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 1.5L turbo torque conv.. no more dry clutch gearbox..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • Ford 3 Month Wait on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:01 pm

I was a Ford Focus owner. I sold my car last year. Whilst the car maybe good, beware of very poor service and quality.

The rumuour about 3 months wait is true. Virtually any part. So, if you car cannot move without the part, be prepared for Ford to hold your car for 3 months. That is their policy.

Make sure you buy Ford if it is your 2nd car and you have a spare car at home to take you to work cause, 90% probability, they will hold your car for 3 months.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 22
      • BMW vs Ford on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:22 pm

I hope potential buyers are aware that Ford parts as pricier than BMW parts. I have a 520i and a Ford Focus. My Focus maintenance is far higher than my BMW.

Don’t be fooled like the Fiesta owners. All rushed to buy the Fiesta cause price kononnya was cheap. But all cry now cause the dry clutch break down everyday and the parts are super expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 24
        • Same L0rrrr on Mar 10, 2016 at 3:24 pm

That’s why wise one will stick with Toyota. We don’t offer fancy technologies which could be troublesome, we offer RELIABILITY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 34
          • Altis sales drop again…close shop laa…

• How much is the gearbox for 520i? And which generation?

• bullshit on Mar 10, 2016 at 8:04 pm

don’t listen to those negative comments, they never own ford before

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
      • Experience of Ford Focus Owner on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:58 pm

stay away from dual clutch or dry clutch. This is the same technology of the infamous DSG in VW cars.

My 2013 Ford Focus has broken down like 5 or 6 times. Each time, besides breaking down, the gear locks. You cannot even release the gear. I have been stuck in the middle of Federal Highway at 8am in the rush hour. So many people curse me asking me why I never push my car to the side of the road. How to push? Gear jam and lock!

I advice anybody here, please please stay away from Dry Clutch

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 25
        • bodoh never read. bogus account on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:18 pm

toyota honda salesman detected. always come together with the 3 months story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 36
          • Sore Ford Salesman on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:40 pm

sori mate. I am a focus owner. I have waited 3 months for my bumper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 13
          • I passing federal everyday, have not seen Ford nor VW breakdown by roadside. But some Proton without fuel one caused massive traffic got la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 43
          • Genuine Ford Owner on Mar 10, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Biasalah, he has been saying the same thing since 2012. He claimed himself owned Fiesta, Focus Averest and all sorts of Ford vehecles. He claimed his Focus broke down lah, bumper bang lah, Fiesta side mirror broke lah, gear box problem lah, stranded at federal high way lah, 3 months wait lah, always the same bullshit.

For the past 4 years, he has been recycling the same shit. Go google, is the same person. My Fiesta waterpump leak and claim under warranty, it takes one week for the parts to arrive (although Ford service not as good compare to T&H, but definitely not 3 months as claimed by his 4 years old recycling shit)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 45
          • Ford Fiesta Owner on Mar 11, 2016 at 8:46 am

I don’t know who is lying but my fiesta side mirror took about 2 months plus to come. I sent in January 5h. I am so disappointed with their attitude. People may recycle comments but truth is truth. Truth hurts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
          • Kurang on Mar 22, 2016 at 4:34 pm

1 week is also not good for a part to be fitted.

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Mar 10, 2016 at 4:51 pm

this one doesn’t use dry clutch, it uses the old school torque converter lah. How many times you have been recycling ur Federal Highway and Len Seng bus stories since 2015? Want troll, please read the content first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
      • Penipu la. Fiesta aku ok je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
      • why bother to sell when no 1 is buying. 10 year old Auto gearbox, as bad as Vios

• RM140k for a range-topping C-segment hatchback or sedan eh? At those prices, people rather get a C-segment SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
    • Jilake on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:50 am

Yeah sure, go ahead and buy your uncles and auntie cars..oh you know what Nissan Venette is doing a promo now ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
    • Ford - King of RV Depreciation on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Waste of money. go and buy a Nissan Teana or a Honda Accord. After discounts, the price is almost so close. Nissan Teana OTR is RM123 now. These are proper D segment cars. Real proper size compared to tiny Ford Focus.

Or even a Mazda CX5. Now OTR 121k also can get. Yesterday I checked and this is the OTR price.

But the wonder about Ford is this. After one year, the price of RM120k you pay, you try to sell your car, to get RM70k also you are lucky.

Your Teana, Accord, you will lose hardly RM10k in a year on depreciation. So is the CX5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 20
      • bodoh never read. bogus account on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:19 pm

nissan mazda salesman now. 10k not even a year? LIES.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
      • Teana and Accord target different group of buyers. And a car is a liability no matter how good the RV is. Rather than stuck with those boring cars I’d rather have this. And about the expensive parts, people should know that owning a car is not just about monthly installments. If you cannot afford the maintenance then don’t buy la. @#$%^*&

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
      • lolpanda on Mar 11, 2016 at 9:18 am

I don’t get this about Malaysians though.. why is everyone so hung up on getting large sedans or SUVs when 90% of the time I see a single driver in the car with just 1 or no passengers.

it’s not like we have superbly wide and non-congested roads as it is.

• putra on Mar 15, 2016 at 1:55 pm

nissan one problem..the gear box x tahan..talk to many owners..after 2 yrs most of the time gearbox got problem..especially owner of sylphy..

• Which Dump ass will buy a 2nd hand car that less 10k on the purchased price? You take loan already higher interest rate on 2nd hand car….if you add up you rather buy a brand new car. Bullshit all the way….

• Focusing on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:41 am

Much waited car! Will be test driving one this weekend. At 120k it’s cheaper than before. Go for the blue focus and the white chick!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Buy Escape Better on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Better wait 2 years, you can buy this Focus for RM60k. I bought a brand new condition Escape, 4 yrs old for RM40k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • theanswer on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:44 am

suv people and sedan people is different.

• shawal on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:50 am

its 10k more expensive and it lost xenons, passenger powered seats (now only driver is powered) …and 4 airbags…

still cramped tho, but maybe with a new powertrain under the hood, passive safety functions, it remains a competitive if not class leading choice for this segment….

but d avg malaysian’s argument would be d base accord which is a bigger car….

bring on d civic n well see who comes up tops

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • i am pro so listen on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Focus passenger never had a power seat. New focus has 6 airbags. Shut up la doink.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Not quite the pro on Mar 10, 2016 at 3:28 pm

You’re a doink. I had a ford focus tdci and i had electric seats both passenger and driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • i am pro so listen on Mar 10, 2016 at 5:38 pm

Who cares if you have an old tdci.
          The current focus did not have a diesel at launch. Go away idiot.

• Colin W on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:20 pm

I own a Titanium+ 2013… Passenger side is manual adjustment.

• Shawal-ing on Mar 11, 2016 at 9:52 am

What are you taking. Have you test driven the car before ? Read the spec before putting your word!

• Roger Tan on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:50 am

Oh man…what did they do to the price?

A shrinking market (and market share) and the prices didn’t do down?

Blame the Ringgit?

• Veelo on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:52 am

Sports suspension on the sport+

• Sewel on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:57 am

How about new civic..da prize?

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:58 am

Ok so the mid line is crap no point getting it. Top spec looks good but on the pricey side of it like the new Pug 308 which isn’t doing well at the moment…super hard to find out on the road now

• Good Job, Ford on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:00 pm

Heard there is alot review about this car, what Ford Malaysia did the right things is 1.5L ecoboost engine and a dry clutch 6-speeder. Yes, indeed it Pricey, but you do get alot of safety and technology in this cars.
    And don’t forget, with a 5 year warranty or 200,000 km and 3 year free service is worry-free to own this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Frugal on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:04 pm

Hooray…i can go for booking liao

• Perlisian on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Previous version of sport+ using projector type headlamp but this new gen sport+ using reflector type headlamp? how disappointing to consider nowadays trend is LED headlamp and they didn’t implement at lease projector type headlamp..reflector type headlamp is really ugly for a ford focus from my opinion..look OK only axia or myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • applegreen on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:06 pm

whats the 0-100 time for this facelift model?

• Ford focus 1.5t- 8.9 second century sprint tested on 35’c summer weather ,
      New civic 1.5t- 7.3 second century sprint
      Tested on 22’c spring weather .
      I waiting new civic and sell my w204 c200.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
      • nosushi on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Speed is useless without control. Jepunis car = lousy handling.

Clearly you dun own those cars but axia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • 4G63T DSM on Mar 10, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Clearly you haven’t driven any sporty Hondas hatches and coupes in the last 20 years. Lol.

Refinement, maybe you can make a case against them, but handling????

Even a stock Satria GTI will outhandle many on a tight circuit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • Cleary you dont have axia and w204 c200,new civic managed to achieved 39.2 mpg on road test ,how about ford focus,go google it,plus civic gained 5 star ncap crash test,more leg room space….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • waters on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:09 pm

Pricing is ridiculous. Especially for a car which has the equivalent resale value of a rock. Expect to buy this for keeps. If you’re thinking of changing cars every 5 years, this is definitely not for you. The 1.5 turbo sounds yummy, though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • 1 Year in Mudah on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Ford has the worst RV at the moment. But RV is not the only thing you should worry about. Trying to get a buyer is the main worry. Put in mudah, wait for 1 year also, just 1 or 2 calls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Hmm for that price range, the 308 still wins my heart. Mostly due to the LED headlights, Euro NCAP rating & active cruise control.

• Stupid Msian Cars on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:58 pm

As perdicted Sime Darby came out with profiteering price for this Focus. Especially their parts and service price. Equivalent to BMw’s….
    Good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • bodoh never read. bogus account on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:21 pm

this comment is the most stupid ever.

wanna buy BMW with Proton price with the rubbish-equivalent ringgit.

go drive your myvi la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • Stupid Msian cars on Mar 10, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Bodoh betul bodoh. Information was shared by local mechanics and local ford owners. Over a specific period.

• gaviny on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:58 pm

looking forward to the facelifted ST

manual no gearbox nonsense, CBU Chermany

• Captain Obvious on Mar 10, 2016 at 2:36 pm

“Let’s stick with that hideous interior color combination of the sedan, people will love it!” -Sime Darby AutoConnexion

• erras on Mar 10, 2016 at 3:10 pm

I am a ford owner and will always be a ford owner….straight to the point..no nonsense..thats what I like…

• me too on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:13 pm

i am ford owner too. i have been waiting for this for so long, why not come with bi-xenon, reverse camera, gps? if have all these, u can grab all mazda3, civic, altis buyers! think about it!

• Jobless on Mar 10, 2016 at 3:59 pm

The previous car styling looks so much more sporty, why every car magazine and auto blog review always said the same thing (new facelift looks better than older pre-facelif)

• ahmadjohnson97 on Mar 10, 2016 at 7:49 pm

No manual transmission SDAC?

• To who wan to buy:
    Just wait for year end promotion discount

• ben yap on Mar 11, 2016 at 2:23 am

For RM140K without insurance, that’s freaking expensive.

• why the variants make me so confused @@

they shd allow ppl to select kits as options rather than fit in for all

and the price sux…tot it would be around RM120k ish

• at rm140k, i think i go for mazda3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • The thialand model has sync 3 with reverse camera, l don’t know why here is still sync 2, and halogen headlamps along with 140k price, no electronic seat adjustment makes every ford lovers little disappointed. Hope next Ford Focus correct these weak ponits.

• Fong928 on Mar 16, 2016 at 9:33 am

How about Aston look ford mondeo? Is that a problematic car?
    There are many complains of water leak into engine, bad smell…..
    How about in Malaysia? Any owner can feedback?

• cannot a ford on Apr 02, 2016 at 10:46 pm

still halogen lamp, need cut till like that meh.

• No turn signal on the left on Apr 29, 2016 at 9:22 pm

This new version got a torque conv and the turn signal on the right side. I like I like.

• kuda padi ada on May 09, 2016 at 1:18 am

price mcm tu..
    patut 200hp n above..
    takkan nanti new focus st/rs 240hp harga 200k++?
    3,4 tahun lagi kita search tgk iklan used for sale kot ada buyer dah x enjoy bayaq 1000k++ per month..mcm fd nya harga dulu 120+- jugak la bersepah dah kot jalan.org mampu beli harga 50/60..

• ColaBear on May 16, 2016 at 3:58 pm

why not Sync 3?