One-way traffic in Seksyen 1, PJ Old Town from Mar 16

MBPJ one-way Seksyen 1-01

To improve traffic flow and reduce congestion during peak hours at the commercial and residential area in Seksyen 1 of PJ Old Town, a number of changes will take effect, come Wednesday, March 16, The Sun Daily reports. According to Bukit Gasing assemblyman Rajiv Rishyakaran, banners and signages have been put up earlier this month at four locations to inform the public of this.

Changes will see a section of Jalan 1/10 and 1/19 converted into a one-way road (nearby Heng Kee Bak Kut Teh and Soon Lee coffee shop). Road users who want to turn into Jalan 1/14 will need to take the first junction of Jalan 1/14, as they will not be allowed to use the second turn off.

Meanwhile, Jalan Dispensary (Jalan 2/38) and Jalan 1/18 will likewise be converted into a one-way road as well. Road users on Jalan 1/12 who want to go to Jalan Othman need to turn off at the junction after C&S Restaurant or after Medan Selera Jati.

Rajiv also said that road dividers are being considered at Jalan Pasar 1/21 to prevent double-parking on that stretch and to restrain motorists from turning in Jalan 2/38. Similarly, a U-turning is also under consideration at the Jalan Othman traffic light to ease traffic congestion. Both matters have yet to be finalised as they are still being mulled over by the city council.

He urged the public and motorists not to make any judgment about the move in the first or second week of its implementation as all changes or policies will take time to be adapted by everyone.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:50 am

DEI THIS IS CONFUSING LA

• safari in PJ on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:49 pm

the Sultan of Selangor should sack the MBPJ exco and the bogus mayor. All waiting for Datukships and awards but 3 years cannot even make roads level and a 1 way system

Driving in PJ is like safari. All the roads are not level. Jalan Templer is like a roller coaster. Close hole also dont know how to level

• Agree with you. But not fair to blame MBPJ alone. The Jalan Templer used to be good, but later come utilities company with their upgrading job that couse the road become bad. Are this utilities company did not aware that their contractor did not know how to tampal balik jalan?

• Malaysia Where? on Mar 10, 2016 at 5:41 pm

you award the contract, you have to be responsible whether they tampal it properly or not.

Unless you award the contract to your friend or crony, then you close eyes. Looks like this is the case.

• MBPJ - Corruption King on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:53 am

Hello MBPJ, sort out New Town lah. Every minute, so many near accidents. It is taking years. Now nearly 2 years. then korek here and korek there. Pavement beside the former Sunway College also korek…for what? The pavement was okey. Just because you want to give the contract to some crony to get millions you ask him to korek the pavement.
    Everyday so many near accidents. No proper lanes. Two lanes just merge into one suddenly.

How come it takes 2 years? Now becoming 3 years. From Jalan Barat to Jalan Utara, 2 lanes suddeenly become 1 lane. No lights in the night also. How to see?

Oh btw MBPJ, in Damansara Utama, so many car park places are reserved with cones by car workshops. Although no red line reservation, they put cones, tayar or even tong sampah.
    I complained to your officers, they laugh at me. That afternoon I saw a particular car workshop who reserve a few bays using tayar lama, eating luch with a few MBPJ enforcement officers.

Come on lah MBPJ. You all so corrupted until now, even parking bays shop owners can reserve with old tayar and tong sampah.

This new town thing also, cost berpuluh puluh million and taking 3 years. What nonsense? To make one way, does not need berpuluh million lah

Please clean up your image MBPJ. And now, you are messing up Old Town??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • MBPJ - Corruption King on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:54 am

There has already been 10 Stop Orders? This would only mean corruption and contract given to some unworthy RM2 company crony contractor.

The whole PJ suffer because of crony practice. The budget for this is over RM20 or RM30 million. Does it take so much of money to make a one way system?
    Why is it taking 2 years?

Any problem in Mayor big mansion house (bigger than MB even) in Jalan Tinggi, the next day it is rectified, but here, it takes 2 years?

Why double standards? The PJ Major should be given a PKNS flat to stay in and not a big mansion bigger than evena Menteri house.

• Rajiv - King of Tok Kok on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Rajiv is King of talk kok. hello Assemblyman, instead of talking rubbish and wanting to start your nonsense in PJ Old Town, try to solve your PJ New Town Problems.

The funny part is, most PJ New Town drivers are old uncles and aunties. Some even 100 years old. Imagine their shock when 2 lanes become 1 lane all of a sudden?

3 years just to do a 1 way system is a joke. People have built 80 storey Skyscrappers in less than 2 years.

Come on Rajiv, don’t talk rubbish

• Stupid Msian Cars on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:44 pm

MBPJ, please paint “black & white” paint all over the curbs, side of pavements, etc….for safety reasons and precautions. Why nowdays no more painting? It is so freaking dangerous! MPBJ please do your job!
    Thanks.

• Resign Mayor on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:19 pm

I also langgar so many times curbs and dividers in the night. Suffered thousands of ringgit in damage. Rajiv and Mayor, please resign. Both like to put their pictures all over banners but never do any real work

• The hell is this YB Rajiv on Mar 10, 2016 at 6:24 pm

Hello YB Rajiv, what the hell are you talking about? the current one way loop in PJ state is the most stupidest system that I’ve ever seen. It makes the traffic so confusing. And now you want to implement a one way loop in PJ old town? Are you really thinking about the people? No consultation with the tax payers and just simply want to shove the project in our throat. Rubbish! Very disappointed with YB Rajiv Rishyakaran.

• oh god…as if pj new town there 1 way loop not confusing n bad enuff…jeez