DBKL: 1,136 abandoned vehicles towed-away in 2015

Abandoned-cars

Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) has revealed that it has towed away a total of 1,136 run-down, abandoned vehicles last year. According to a report by Bernama, DBKL enforcement director, Datuk Mohd Sauffi Muhamad said that the amount of towed-away abandoned vehicles has almost doubled in 2015 compared to the year before.

In 2014, a total of 634 abandoned vehicles were towed away by DBKL, while 415 vehicles were towed in 2013. The vehicles are said to be found mostly in car parks and public housing areas around the city.

Worryingly, the growing number of abandoned vehicles doesn’t seem to be slowing down. In January and February 2016 alone, DBKL reports that there were a total of 266 abandoned vehicles that have been towed away. A sum of 196 vehicles were detected via complaints made by the public, while the remaining were found through DBKL’s own surveillance.

kl-city-jam

The DBKL chief explained that when a vehicle is found to be abandoned, the administration, with the help of the Road Transport Department (JPJ), will issue a notice to its owner to collect the car.

If no action is taken, the vehicle will then be towed away to a DBKL storage depot in Salak Selatan. Another notice will be sent, and should the owner respond, an RM100 claims charge would be imposed, and a further RM10 per day for each day that the vehicle has been in DBKL’s storage.

“If no claim is made in one month after the notice is issued, the vehicle will be scrapped. In the case of vehicle frames and those without engines or number plates, it will be scrapped immediately,” Sauffi explained.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 11, 2016 at 3:02 pm

There’s a lot more in Selangor….

• rajerlaut on Mar 11, 2016 at 3:27 pm

bolih jual besi buruk..tambah pendapatan DBKL

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Mar 11, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Pls tow away all 20+ year old wiras and sagas that are all kept artificially alive by abang workshop. Selalu rosak bikin traffic jam lah.

Beli alza dan pakai topi macam saya!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • George Abdul on Mar 11, 2016 at 3:38 pm

This problem happen to my housing area too… The car is abandon but it actually own by the neighbour neighbour’s tenant even the tyre were flat it still park at the parking lot… really wasted the parking space !!!

• Subramaniam Alagappa on Mar 11, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Firstly, DBKL is a disgrace. All over the world, you call the council to demolish your car. This is either free or you pay a nominal sum. In the UK, this is free.

But our DBKL, instead of doing service like this officially which would discourage abandoned cars, DBKL officers are more interested in makan suap or duit kopi. The whole of DBKL is just that. Money money money. Not just enforcement officers who harrass stall owners but even the housing division and planning division all interested in duit kopi.

This is why DBKL cannot come out with good schemes to demolish cars officially. The officers are too interested in making money elsewhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • faiz puat on Mar 11, 2016 at 5:23 pm

This is a false statement.even in the u.k an independent 3rd party contractor will come and scrap for you.done that 3 times and got £50 each time.not done by their local council.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Mar 11, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Malaysians don’t scrap because cars need to be amortized over 35 years to get payback. Today 22 year old wiras are still worshipped like the golden calf.

10 years from now abang wiras will still be busy skimming their wira engine heads and doing top overhaul to keep it alive.

• nabill (Member) on Mar 11, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Abandoned? More like stilen from one area n thrown in other areas… Then in couple of weeks u see smashed windows, no rims, bonet open reveals main block missing… Funny thing is, theres police cars that come our roads every nite, they see the damn thing n like its not thr..cant police n dbkl collaborate on thin, it doesnt cost a thing, bt no fxxxing willingness to do/help n ‘its not my business’ attitude shines through…

• I ask before, and that if the car got no polis report, means not stolen. If not stolen, means somebody park there and its not illegal to park at housing areas (houseowners oso do that too).

If stolen, polis need the car for siasatan and for owner to come claim. Usually by then, alredi claim total lost from insurans and cannot claim the car back. Insurans oso dun wan. So its left at DBKL to rot. Thats why cannot tow all abandoned cars to DBKL compound.

• Consumer on Mar 11, 2016 at 8:21 pm

It does come across my mind as well some of them might be stolen vehicles. If the police has the system to track back their chasis/engine or whatsoever number thats is uniq to a vehicle, they should able to match back some unclosed aging stolen case.

• BOYRACER on Mar 11, 2016 at 6:43 pm

That is a lot of abandoned cars.There are many reasons of why there are so many of them.Sometime the owner can’t afford to repair and keep up with the maintenance cost.
    But there are reasons which I can’t understand,such as some people do not want to sell their cars even though the cars themselves are not in running condition. Reason is nostalgia.I do understand the feeling but if you can’t afford to run it might as well just sell it because the car will deteriorate with time.The longer you keep them the worse it gets until it becomes worthless.Even people offer to buy also refuse to sell.
    I’ve seen many cases like this.The cars just become worthless junk.

• instead of just saying is a worrying trend, can DBKL sheds some lights in terms of why people abandon their vehicles?
    You can’t tackle the problem if you don’t know the cause.

Can they offer a place for people to dump their scrap?

• No Brain Driver on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:24 pm

Sometimes DBKL also blind. I have been abandon cars in my housing area windscreen filled with saman. Either the person who is issuing the saman is blind or just never bothered that it is an abandon car.